Carey Young

Biography

Carey Young has developed her artistic practice from a cross-fertilization of disciplines including business, law, politics, science and communication. The tools and language of these different fields act as material for her installations, performances, text works and photographs, as well as for videos in which absurd relationships develop between the performer or subjects, and the rhetoric of political, commercial or legal discourse. Recently, she has explored relations between law, gender and the cinematic, most notably with Palais de Justice (2017), in which the artist surreptitiously filmed female lawyers and judges working at the main courthouse of Belgium.

Young’s work has been exhibited widely, including solo shows at Dallas Museum of Art (2017), Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst (Zurich, 2013), The Power Plant (Toronto, 2009), Contemporary Art Museum St. Louis (2009), as well as in group shows at Centre Georges Pompidou (Paris, 2018 and 2015), Front International: Cleveland Triennial (2018), Walker Art Center (Minneapolis, 2018), Tate Liverpool (2014-15), San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (2012), New Museum (New York, 2011), Tate Britain (London, 2009–10), etc. A monograph on her work, Subject to Contract, was published by JRP | Ringier (Zurich, 2013). Carey Young lives and works in London, and is represented by Paula Cooper Gallery (New York).
www.careyyoung.com

Exhibition

The Radical Imaginary: The Social Contract
2018.09.13 - 12.15

The group exhibition The Radical Imaginary: The Social Contract is the first project in a series of exhibitions about the Institution and its history, seeking to understand how artists have either associated themselves with or been opposed to it, gradually inflecting its positions. The judicial system is the institution studied in this initial component.

Read more

Carey Young

Biographie

Carey Young fonde sa pratique artistique sur un foisonnement de disciplines incluant les affaires, le droit, la politique, les sciences et les communications. Les outils et le langage propres à ces différents domaines sont à la base même de ses œuvres installatives, performatives, textuelles, photographiques et vidéographiques, dans lesquelles se développent des relations absurdes entre un performeur ou des « sujets » et la rhétorique de discours politiques, commerciaux ou juridiques. Récemment, elle a exploré les liens entre la loi, le genre et le filmique, notamment dans Palais de Justice (2017), où l’artiste filme furtivement des femmes avocates et juges travaillant au Palais de Justice de Bruxelles.

Le travail de Young a été présenté de par le monde, notamment dans le cadre d’expositions individuelles au Dallas Museum of Art (2017), au Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst (Zurich, 2013), à la Power Plant (Toronto, 2009) et au Contemporary Art Museum St. Louis (2009), ainsi que lors d’expositions collectives au Centre Georges Pompidou (Paris, 2018 et 2015), au Front International : Cleveland Triennial (2018), au Walker Art Center (Minneapolis, 2018), à la Tate Liverpool (2014-2015), au San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (2012), au New Museum (New York, 2011), à la Tate Britain (Londres, 2009-2010), etc. Une monographie sur son travail, Subject to Contract (2013), a été publiée par JRP|Ringier (Zurich, 2013). Carey Young vit et travaille à Londres, et est représentée par la Paula Cooper Gallery (New York).
www.careyyoung.com

Exposition

L'imaginaire radical : le contrat social
2018.09.13 - 12.15

L’exposition collective L’imaginaire radical : le contrat social est le premier projet d’une série d’expositions sur l’Institution et son histoire, cherchant à comprendre comment les artistes s’y sont associés ou opposés pour peu à peu faire infléchir les positions qu’elle adopte. Le système judiciaire est l’institution observée dans ce premier volet.

Lire plus