Carlos Amorales

Biography

Carlos Amorales lives and works in Mexico City. In his artistic research, he is interested mainly in language and the impossibility/possibility of communicating through means that are unrecognizable or not codified: sounds, gestures, and symbols. Amorales experiments at the limits between image and sign with an array of platforms: animation, video, film, drawing, installation, performance, and sound. His practice is based on different forms of translation: instruments become characters, letters become shapes, and narratives unfold as non-verbal actions.

Among Amorales’ numerous solo exhibitions, we can mention those held at Museo Universitario Arte Contemporáneo (Mexico, 2018), Power Plant (Toronto, 2015), kurimanzutto gallery (Mexico, 2015), Museo Tamayo (Mexico, 2013), Kunsthalle Fridericianum (Kassel, 2010), Philadelphia Museum of Art (2008), and Contemporary Arts Center (Cincinnati, 2008). Some of his most outstanding collective exhibitions are Under the Same Sun. Art From Latin America Today, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum (New York, 2014); New Perspectives in Latin American Art, MoMA (New York, 2007); Mexico City: An Exhibition about the Exchange Rates of Bodies and Values, MoMA PS1 (New York, 2002). Additionally, he has participated in biennials like Manifesta 9 (Belgium, 2012), Havana Biennial (Cuba, 2015 and 2009), Performa (New York, 2007), Berlin Biennial (2001 and 2014), Manif d’art (Quebec, 2017), and the Venice Biennial (2003 and 2017). Carlos Amorales is notably represented by kurimanzutto gallery (Mexico and New York).

Exhibition

The Radical Imaginary: The Social Contract
2018.09.13 - 12.15

The group exhibition The Radical Imaginary: The Social Contract is the first project in a series of exhibitions about the Institution and its history, seeking to understand how artists have either associated themselves with or been opposed to it, gradually inflecting its positions. The judicial system is the institution studied in this initial component.

Read more

Carlos Amorales

Biographie

Carlos Amorales vit et travaille à Mexico. Dans sa démarche artistique, il s’intéresse principalement au langage et à l’(im)possibilité de communiquer au moyen de systèmes cryptés ou non codifiés tels les sons, les gestes et les symboles. Amorales mène ses expérimentations à la frontière entre l’image et le signe avec une multitude de médias : animation, vidéo, film, dessin, installation, performance et son. Sa pratique se fonde sur différentes formes de transposition : des instruments se transforment en personnages, des lettres deviennent des formes et des récits prennent la forme d’actions non-verbales.

Parmi les nombreuses expositions individuelles consacrées à Amorales, soulignons celles au Museo Universitario Arte Contemporáneo (Mexico, 2018), à la Power Plant (Toronto, 2015), à la galerie kurimanzutto (Mexico, 2015), au Museo Tamayo (Mexico, 2013), à la Kunsthalle Fridericianum (Kassel, 2010), au Philadelphia Museum of Art (2008) et au Contemporary Arts Center (Cincinnati, 2008). Certaines de ses expositions collectives les plus remarquables sont Under the Same Sun Art —From Latin America Today, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum (New York, 2014); New Perspectives in Latin American Art, MoMA (New York, 2007); Mexico City: An Exhibition about the Exchange Rates of Bodies and Values, MoMA PS1 (New York, 2002). Il a également participé à de nombreuses biennales, dont Manifesta 9 (Belgique, 2012), la Biennale de la Havane (Cuba, 2015 et 2009), Performa (New York, 2007), la Biennale de Berlin (2001 et 2014), Manif d’art (Québec, 2017) et la Biennale de Venise (2003 et 2017). Carlos Amorales est notamment représenté par la galerie kurimanzutto (Mexico et New York).

Exposition

L'imaginaire radical : le contrat social
2018.09.13 - 12.15

L’exposition collective L’imaginaire radical : le contrat social est le premier projet d’une série d’expositions sur l’Institution et son histoire, cherchant à comprendre comment les artistes s’y sont associés ou opposés pour peu à peu faire infléchir les positions qu’elle adopte. Le système judiciaire est l’institution observée dans ce premier volet.

Lire plus