Chto Delat?

Biography

The collective Chto Delat? (What is to be done?*) was founded in early 2003 in St. Petersburg by a workgroup of artists, critics, philosophers, and writers from Russia with the goal of merging political theory, art, and activism. They create interventions in public spaces, video projects comprising theatrical mises en scène, and monumental installations blending architectural elements, documents, timelines, and murals. Chto Delat sees itself as an artistic cell and also as a community organizer for a variety of cultural activities intent on politicizing “knowledge production”. The works of the collective are always case based analyses of a concrete social and political struggles. In 2013, Chto Delat initiated an educational platform in St. Petersburg, School of Engaged Art, and also runs a space called Rosa’s House of Culture. From its inception, the collective has been publishing an English-Russian newspaper focused on the urgent issues of Russian cultural politics, in dialogue with the international context.

Chto Delat recent solo exhibitions include: Museo Universitario Arte Contemporaneo, MUAC (Mexico, 2017), Centro Andaluz de Arte Contemporáneo, CAAC (Sevilla, 2017), KOW (Berlin, 2017), Secession (Vienna, 2014), Kölnischer Kunstverein (Cologne, 2011) and Institute of Contemporary Art (London, 2010). The collective also participated to many significant group exhibitions and international events: Nuit Blanche Toronto and Paris (2017), San Paulo Biennale (2014), Art, Really Useful Knowledge, Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía (Madrid, 2014), Art Turning Left: How Values Changed Making 1789–2013, Tate Liverpool (Liverpool, 2013), FORMER WEST: Documents, Constellations, Prospects, Haus der Kulturen der Welt (Berlin, 2013), 10th Gwangju Biennale (2012), Ostalgia, New Museum (New York, 2011), Morality, Witte de With (Rotterdam, 2010), Plug In, Van Abbemuseum (Eindhoven, 2009) and 11th Istanbul Biennale (2009).

*The collective’s name refers to the titles of two writings about social emancipation: a novel by Nikolay Chernyshevsky published in 1863 and an essay by Lenin published in 1902.

Exhibition

Chto Delat? Performative Practices of Our Time
2018.02.14 - 03.31

The collective known as Chto Delat? (What is to be done?) employ narrative strategies borrowed from the theatre of Bertolt Brecht and reclaim elements of the aesthetic vocabulary of the avant-garde to open up a critical space in Russian political discourse, both historical and contemporary…

Read more

Chto Delat?

Biographie

Fondé en 2003 à Saint-Pétersbourg par des artistes, critiques, philosophes et chercheurs, le collectif Chto Delat? (Que faire?*) développe des projets à la croisée de l’art, de la théorie politique et de l’activisme. Il réalise des interventions dans l’espace public, des projets vidéographiques comportant des mises en scène théâtrales, ainsi que des installations monumentales dans lesquelles s’articulent des éléments architecturaux, des documents, des lignes du temps et des murales. Chto Delat se voit à la fois comme une cellule artistique et un agent communautaire. Ses œuvres, basées sur l’analyse de luttes sociales concrètes, visent à politiser la production de connaissances. En 2013, le collectif a fondé School of Engaged Art (école d’art engagé) à Saint-Pétersbourg et un espace d’exposition autogéré, Rosa’s House of Culture (maison de la culture Rosa). Depuis ses débuts, il publie sous son nom une revue bilingue (russe-anglais) qui traite de l’actualisation des théories critiques par les pratiques artistiques.

Chto Delat expose son travail internationalement. Parmi les lieux qui lui ont consacré des expositions individuelles, on compte le Museo Universitario Arte Contemporaneo – MUAC (Mexico, 2017), le Centro Andaluz de Arte Contemporáneo – CAAC (Séville, 2017), KOW (Berlin, 2017), Secession (Vienne, 2014), Kölnischer Kunstverein (Cologne, 2011) et le Institute of Contemporary Art (Londres, 2010). Chto Delat a également participé à d’importantes expositions collectives et événements internationaux, tels que les Nuits blanches de Toronto et de Paris (2017), la Biennale de Sao Paulo (2014), Art, Really Useful Knowledge, Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía (Madrid, 2014), Art Turning Left: How Values Changed Making 1789–2013, Tate Liverpool (Liverpool, 2013), FORMER WEST: Documents, Constellations, Prospects, Haus der Kulturen der Welt (Berlin, 2013), la 10e Biennale de Gwangju (2012), Ostalgia, New Museum (New York, 2011), Morality, Witte de With (Rotterdam, 2010), Plug In, Van Abbemuseum (Eindhoven, 2009) et la 11e Biennale d’Istanbul (2009).

* Le nom du collectif fait référence aux titres de deux textes porteurs de projets d’émancipation sociale : un roman de Nikolay Chernyshevsky publié en 1863 et un texte de Lénine publié en 1902.

Exposition

Chto Delat? Pratiques performatives de notre temps
2018.02.14 - 03.31

Multidisciplinaires et politisées, les œuvres du collectif Chto Delat? (Que faire?) empruntent leurs stratégies narratives au théâtre de Bertolt Brecht et rejouent certains éléments du vocabulaire esthétique de l’avant-garde afin d’ouvrir un espace critique dans l’histoire et l’actualité de la Russie…

Lire plus