Jill Magid

Biography

American artist Jill Magid’s work is deeply ingrained in her lived experience, exploring and blurring the boundaries between art and life. Through her performance-based practice, she has initiated intimate relations with a number of organizations and structures of authority, exploring the emotional, philosophical and legal tensions between the individual and ‘protective’ institutions such as intelligence agencies or the police. To work alongside or within large organizations, Magid makes use of institutional quirks, systemic loopholes that allow her to make contact with people ‘on the inside’. It is also typical of her practice to follow the rules of engagement with an institution to the letter—sometimes to the point of absurdity.

With solo exhibitions at institutions around the world, including the Museo Universitario Arte Contemporáneo (Mexico City, 2017), the Whitney Museum of American Art (New York, 2010), the Tate Modern (London, 2009), and the Stedelijk Museum Bureau Amsterdam (2005), Magid has received numerous awards, notably the 2017 Calder Prize. An Associate of the Art, Design and the Public Domain program at the Graduate School of Design at Harvard University, she is also an adjunct teacher at Cooper Union and the author of four novellas. Her first feature film, The Proposal, premiered at Tribeca Film Festival 2018 and received an Honorable Mention for Best Emerging Filmmaker at Hot Docs in Toronto. Jill Magid’s work is included in both private and public collections, and she is represented by LABOR (Mexico City) and Galerie Untilthen (Paris).

Exhibition

The Radical Imaginary: The Social Contract
2018.09.13 - 12.15

The group exhibition The Radical Imaginary: The Social Contract is the first project in a series of exhibitions about the Institution and its history, seeking to understand how artists have either associated themselves with or been opposed to it, gradually inflecting its positions. The judicial system is the institution studied in this initial component.

Read more

Jill Magid

Biographie

Le travail de l’artiste américaine Jill Magid est profondément ancré dans ses expériences vécues, brouillant les frontières entre l’art et la vie. À travers sa pratique performative, elle a noué des liens privilégiés avec plusieurs structures d’autorité, explorant ainsi les tensions affectives, philosophiques et légales entre l’individu et les institutions supposées « protectrices », telles que les services de renseignement et la police. Afin de travailler aux côtés ou au sein de grandes organisations, Magid exploite diverses excentricités institutionnelles et des failles systémiques lui permettant d’entrer en contact avec des « sources à l’interne ». Une autre caractéristique propre à son œuvre est de suivre des règles d’engagement à la lettre – parfois même jusqu’à l’absurdité.

Avec des expositions individuelles à travers le monde, notamment au Museo Universitario Arte Contemporáneo (Mexico, 2017), au Whitney Museum of American Art (New York, 2010), à la Tate Modern (Londres, 2009) et au Stedelijk Museum Bureau Amsterdam (2005), Magid est lauréate de nombreux prix, dont le Calder Prize en 2017. Associée au programme Art, Design and the Public Domain de la Graduate School of Design à l’université Harvard, elle est aussi professeure adjointe à la Cooper Union et l’auteure de quatre novellas. Son premier long métrage, The Proposal, a été présenté en première au Festival du film de Tribeca en 2018, et a reçu une mention honorable dans la catégorie du meilleur cinéaste émmergent au Hot Docs de Toronto. Le travail de Jill Magid compte parmi plusieurs collections tant privées que publiques et elle est représentée par LABOR (Mexico) et la Galerie Untilthen (Paris).

Exposition

L'imaginaire radical : le contrat social
2018.09.13 - 12.15

L’exposition collective L’imaginaire radical : le contrat social est le premier projet d’une série d’expositions sur l’Institution et son histoire, cherchant à comprendre comment les artistes s’y sont associés ou opposés pour peu à peu faire infléchir les positions qu’elle adopte. Le système judiciaire est l’institution observée dans ce premier volet.

Lire plus