Milo Rau

Biography

The Swiss director and author Milo Rau studied sociology, German and Romance languages and literatures in Paris, Berlin and Zurich under Pierre Bourdieu and Tzvetan Todorov, among others. Since 2002, he has put out over 50 plays, films, books and actions. His productions have appeared at all of the major international festivals—including the Festival d’Avignon, the Biennale Teatro (Venice), the Wiener Festwochen (Vienna), and the Kunstenfestivaldesarts (Brussels)—and have toured more than 30 countries worldwide.

Rau has received many honours, most recently the Peter Weiss Prize, the 3sat Prize and the Saarbrucken Poetry Lectureship for Drama (2017). He also received the prestigious World Theatre Day ITI Prize (2016), of which he is the youngest winner,. In 2016, “Five Easy Pieces” became the first non-Belgian production to be selected for the Belgian Theatre Critics’ Special Jury Award, and was also invited to the Berliner Theatertreffen (2017). Milo Rau assumes the directorship of the NTGent.

Exhibition

The Radical Imaginary: The Social Contract
2018.09.13 - 12.15

The group exhibition The Radical Imaginary: The Social Contract is the first project in a series of exhibitions about the Institution and its history, seeking to understand how artists have either associated themselves with or been opposed to it, gradually inflecting its positions. The judicial system is the institution studied in this initial component.

Read more

Milo Rau

Biographie

Le metteur en scène et dramaturge suisse Milo Rau a étudié la sociologie ainsi que les langues et littératures allemandes et romanes à Paris, Berlin et Zurich, notamment avec Pierre Bourdieu et Tzvetan Todorov. Depuis 2002, il a réalisé plus de 50 pièces de théâtre, films, essais et assemblées générales. Ses productions ont été présentées dans de prestigieux festivals internationaux – le Festival d’Avignon, la Biennale Teatro (Venise), le Wiener Festwochen (Vienne) et le Kunstenfestivaldesarts (Bruxelles), entre autres – et ont tourné dans plus de 30 pays à travers le monde.

Rau a reçu de nombreuses distinctions, les plus récentes étant le Prix Peter Weiss, le Prix 3sat et le Saarbrücken Poetics Lectureship for Drama (2017). Il est également le plus jeune lauréat du célèbre prix ITI de la Journée Mondiale du théâtre (2016). En 2016, la pièce « Five Easy Pieces » devient la première production non-belge à se voir décernée un prix spécial du jury des Prix de la Critique (Belgique), puis est invitée au Berliner Theatertreffen (2017). Milo Rau assume actuellement la direction du NTGent.

Exposition

L'imaginaire radical : le contrat social
2018.09.13 - 12.15

L’exposition collective L’imaginaire radical : le contrat social est le premier projet d’une série d’expositions sur l’Institution et son histoire, cherchant à comprendre comment les artistes s’y sont associés ou opposés pour peu à peu faire infléchir les positions qu’elle adopte. Le système judiciaire est l’institution observée dans ce premier volet.

Lire plus