Naeem Mohaiemen

Biography

Naeem Mohaiemen (born: 1969, London) works in Dhaka (Bangladesh) and New York (USA). Mohaiemen’s work as a writer and filmmaker ranges across essay films, academic debates and mixed media installations. He uses these forms to research the revolutionary left, and states of belonging, at the edge of postcolonial markers. The written word, in translation, collage and footnote, is an obsession underlining his projects.

Chapters from an ongoing project, The Young Man Was (2006–), have been exhibited at the Museum of Modern Art, New York (Doc Fortnight, 2014 and 2016), the 56th Venice Biennale (2015) and the Sharjah Biennial, UAE (2011), among other venues. Project themes have been described as “revolutionary past meaningful in the sudden eruption of a revolutionary present” (Kaelen Wilson-Goldie, Bidoun), “a reflection on the conditions of masculinity that shape these cultures of radicalism and, possibly, doom them to failure” (Murtaza Vali, Modern Painters) and “their materiality performs the indeterminacy of the event they record” (Sarinah Masukor, West Space).

Historian Afsan Chowdhury has bracketed the work of Naeem Mohaiemen, Nayanika Mookherjee, Bina D’Costa, Dina Siddiqi and Yasmin Saikia as a “second wave of history writing” about Bangladesh. In 2014, Adam Szymczyk curated a survey show of Mohaiemen’s research project Prisoners of Shothik Itihash (Correct History) at Kunsthalle Basel. The work is in the permanent collection of the British Museum and the Tate Modern. Naeem Mohaiemen is represented by Experimenter Gallery (Kolkata), and his films are distributed by LUX (London). He is a 2014 Guggenheim Fellow (film) and a Ph.D. candidate in Historical Anthropology at Columbia University.

Exhibition

Naeem Mohaiemen
2016.05.11 - 06.25

In his practice as a historian, writer and visual artist, Naeem Mohaiemen explores failing utopias and the historical narratives of the international left…

Read more

Naeem Mohaiemen

Biographie

Naeem Mohaiemen est né à Londres en 1969; il travaille à Dhaka, au Bangladesh, et à New York, aux États-Unis. Sa production en tant qu’auteur et cinéaste prend diverses formes allant de l’essai filmique au débat théorique en passant par l’installation multimédias. À travers ces différents médiums, il se penche sur l’histoire de la gauche révolutionnaire et les états d’appartenance associés à des moments marquants de l’histoire du post-colonialisme. L’écriture, dans les traductions, les collages ou les notes de bas de page, est une obsession sous-jacente à chacun de ses projets.

Les différents chapitres du projet The Young Man Was, auquel Mohaiemen travaille depuis 2006, ont été présentés au Museum of Modern Art de New York (festival Doc Fortnight, 2016 et 2014), à la 56e Biennale de Venise (2015) et à la Biennale de Sharjah, aux Émirats arabes unis. Les thèmes de The Young Man Was ont été décrits par Kaelen Wilson-Goldie comme étant la manifestation d’un « passé révolutionnaire à travers l’éruption soudaine d’un présent tout aussi révolutionnaire » (Bidoun). Murtaza Vali, quant à lui, parle d’une véritable « réflexion sur les conditions de la masculinité qui façonnent les cultures du radicalisme et qui, peut-être, les vouent à l’échec » (Modern Painters). Sarinah Masukor souligne que la « matérialité [de ses images] traduit le caractère indéterminé de l’événement dont ils témoignent » (West Space).

D’après l’historien Afsan Chowdhury, le travail de Naeem Mohaiemen, Nayanika Mookherjee, Bina D’Costa, Dina Siddiqi et Yasmin Saikia constitue une « nouvelle vague d’écriture de l’histoire » du Bangladesh. En 2014, le commissaire Adam Szymczyk a présenté un survol du projet de recherche de Mohaiemen Prisoners of Shothik Itihash (Correct History) au Kunsthalle Basel; cette œuvre fait maintenant partie de la collection permanente du British Museum et du Tate Modern. Mohaiemen est représenté par la Experimenter Gallery, à Kolkata, et ses films sont distribués par l’agence LUX de Londres. Récipiendaire d’une bourse en cinéma du Musée Guggenheim en 2014, Mohaiemen est doctorant en anthropologie historique à l’Université Columbia de New York.

Exposition

Naeem Mohaiemen
2016.05.11 - 06.25

Dans sa pratique d’historien, d’écrivain et d’artiste en arts visuels, Naeem Mohaiemen explore les utopies défaillantes ainsi que les récits historiques de la gauche internationale…

 

Lire plus