Nelson Henricks

Biography

Nelson Henricks (1963–) is a Canadian artist, writer, and curator; born in Alberta, he lives and works in Montréal. In his practice, he is concerned with labour as related to questions of representation and aesthetics. His videos and video installations have been presented in numer­ous exhibitions in Canada and abroad. Recent shows include Life Session, Optica Gallery (Montréal, 2017) and A Lecture on Art, Dazibao (Montréal, 2015); he curated Document XXL, Artexte (Montréal, 2017). His works are featured in the collections of the Museum of Modern Art of New York, the National Gallery of Canada, the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, the Montréal Museum of Fine Arts, and the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal. In 2015, he received the Prix Giverny Capital. He is represented by the Paul Petro Contemporary Art Gallery (Toronto).

Exhibition

Nelson Henricks
2009.11.07 - 2009.12.19

I have never failed to be seduced by the images in Nelson Henrick’s videos. They are lush, often shot on film, and edited together in ways that are…

Read more

Exhibition

Time as Activity (*)
2009.12.09 - 07.11

While nowadays, ‘documentation’ has widely been accepted and understood as one of the main paradigms of conceptual art, there has only been few attention for the ‘description’—especially considering how intrinsic this activity…

Read more

Exhibition

MOMENTA | Biennale de l'image. What Does the Image Stand For?
2017.09.07 - 10.15

Focusing on the theme What Does the Image Stand For? proposed by guest curator Ami Barak, the 2017 edition of MOMENTA | Biennale de l’image will be presented in collaboration with VOX and Galerie de l’UQAM…

Read more

Nelson Henricks

Biographie

Nelson Henricks (1963) est un artiste, écrivain et commis­saire canadien originaire de l’Alberta qui vit et travaille à Montréal. Sa pratique examine le concept de travail sous l’angle de la représentation et de l’esthétique. Ses vidéo­grammes et ses installations vidéo sont présentés dans de nombreuses expositions au Canada et à l’étranger. Parmi les plus récentes, citons Life Session, à la Galerie Optica (Montréal, 2017), et A Lecture on Art, à Dazibao (Montréal, 2015), ainsi que Document XXL, à Artexte (Montréal, 2017), dont il était le commissaire. Ses oeuvres figurent dans les collections du Museum of Modern Art de New York, du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal et du Musée d’art contempo­rain de Montréal. Il a reçu, en 2015, le prix Giverny Capi­tal. Il est représenté par la Paul Petro Contemporary Art Gallery (Toronto).

Exposition

Nelson Henricks
2009.11.07 - 12.19

Les images dans les vidéos de Nelson Henricks m’ont toujours séduite. Ce sont des images somptueuses, souvent filmées sur pellicule…

Lire plus

Exposition

Time as Activity (*)
2009.12.09 - 07.11

Si la ‘documentation’ est un des paradigmes qui a servi de fondement à l’art conceptuel, on s’est encore peu intéressé à la ‘description’, pourtant inhérente aux œuvres de plusieurs artistes conceptuels des années 1960 et 1970…

Lire plus

Exposition

MOMENTA | Biennale de l'image. De quoi l'image est-elle le nom?
2017.09.07 - 10.15

Sous le thème De quoi l’image est-elle le nom?, proposé par le commissaire invité Ami Barak, se tiendra l’édition 2017 de MOMENTA | Biennale de l’image, en collaboration avec VOX et la Galerie de l’UQAM…

Lire plus