Sven Augustijnen

Biography

Sven Augustijnen (b. 1970, Belgium) lives and works in Brussels.

He studied at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Antwerp, the Hoger Sint-Lukas Instituut in Brussels, and the Jan van Eyck Academy in Maastricht. His work focuses on the tradition of portraiture and the fluid boundaries between fiction and reality. Taking on a multiplicity of media (films, photographs, installations, publications), his practice addresses the ambiguity of documentary observation. He effects collisions of discourses and overlaps historical references with historical gossip. Discourse, as a vehicle for embodied social memory and symbolic experience, plays a key role in Augustijnen’s works, in which the predominant figure of the guide (as narrator of a story or interlocutor of a community) manifests the importance of mediation in the production and activation of a given territory’s identity. Fictions, rumours, personal comments and vague remarks are all inseparable from these forms of living memory. Led by each character’s verbal performance, his films emphasize the plasticity of the narratives through which reality is collectively constructed, described and shared.

Augustijnen’s feature-length films include Spectres (2011), Une femme entreprenante (2005), Le guide du parc (2001), and L’école des pickpockets (2000). Recently, his work has been shown in solo exhibitions at Malmö Konsthall, Sweden (2012); WIELS, Contemporary Art Centre, Belgium (2011); de Appel arts centre, Netherlands (2011); Kunsthalle Bern, Switzerland (2011); and Kunsthalle Sankt Gallen, Switzerland (2011). Exhibitions and screenings have been held at the Tate Modern, London (2011); Witte de With, Rotterdam (2011); Basel Kunsthalle (2009); MuHKA, Antwerp (2010); Bozar, Brussels (2009); Contemporary Art Museum St. Louis (2009); Documenta 12, Kassel (2007); Museo Reina Sofia, Madrid (2004). Sven Augustijnen is also the recipient of the Fernand Baudin Prize (2012) for his publication Spectres and was awarded the Evens Prize for Visual Arts (2011). He is represented by Jan Mot, Brussels.

Exhibition

Sven Augustijnen. Spectres
2013.05.11 - 07.13

Spectres is Sven Augustijnen’s most recent in a series of projects to picture the reverberations of colonialism in present-day Europe…

Read more

Event

Discussion with Sven Augustijnen
2013.05.10

The exhibition will open with a discussion with Patrick Beauduin, executive director of radio at Radio-Canada, on the issues surrounding Sven Augustijnen’s pratice and the history of Congo’s decolonization.

Read more

Sven Augustijnen

Biographie

Sven Augustijnen (1970, Belgique) vit et travaille à Bruxelles.

Il a étudié à l’Académie Royale des Beaux-Arts d’Anvers, au Hoger Instituut Sint-Lukas à Bruxelles et à l’Académie Jan van Eyck à Maastricht. Son travail est principalement axé sur la tradition du portrait, les limites floues entre la fiction et la réalité ainsi que l’utilisation de styles et de techniques hybrides.

S’inspirant d’une multitude de médiums (films, photographies, installations, publications), sa pratique aborde l’ambiguïté de l’observation documentaire. Dans son œuvre, les dialogues se confondent et les références historiques se chevauchent avec les anecdotes. Le discours, en tant que véhicule d’une mémoire sociale et d’une expérience symbolique, joue un rôle clé dans cette pratique, dans laquelle la figure du guide (narrateurs de l’histoire, interlocuteurs de la communauté) manifeste l’importance de la médiation dans la production et l’activation de l’identité d’un territoire. Les fictions, rumeurs, commentaires personnels et remarques vagues que nous présente Augustijnen sont tous inséparables de ces formes de mémoire vivante. Menés par la performance de la rhétorique de chaque personnage, ses films mettent l’accent sur la plasticité des récits à travers lesquels une réalité est construite, décrite et partagée de façon collective.

Augustijnen a produit plusieurs longs métrages notamment Spectres (2011), Une femme entreprenante (2005), Le guide du parc (2001) et L’école des pickpockets (2000). Récemment, son travail a été montré dans des expositions individuelles à Malmö Konsthall, Suède (2012); au WIELS, Centre d’art contemporain, Belgique (2011); à de Appel arts centre, Pays-Bas (2011); au Kunsthalle Bern, Suisse (2011) et au Kunsthalle Sankt Gallen, Suisse (2011). Il a été aussi présenté entre autres à la Tate Modern, Londre (2011); au Witte de With, Rotterdam (2011); à Basel Kunsthalle, Bâle (2009); au MuHKA, Anvers (2010); au Bozar, Bruxelles (2009); au Contemporary Art Museum St. Louis (2009); à la Documenta 12, Cassel (2007) et au Museo Reina Sofia, Madrid (2004). Augustijnen est lauréat du prix littéraire Fernand Baudin (2012) pour sa publication Spectres et du Evens Prize for Visual Arts (2011). Il est représenté par Jan Mot, Bruxelles.

Exposition

Sven Augustijnen. Spectres
2013.05.11 - 07.13

Spectres est le dernier projet de Sven Augustijnen dans le cadre d’une série visant à illustrer les répercussions du colonialisme sur l’Europe actuelle…

Lire plus

Événement

Discussion avec Sven Augustijnen
2013.05.10

Le vernissage sera introduit par une discussion avec Patrick Beauduin, directeur général de la radio de Radio-Canada, sur les enjeux du travail de Sven Augustijinen et l’histoire de la décolonisation du Congo.

Lire plus