Véronique Leblanc

Biography

Véronique Leblanc is an independent curator, writer and lecturer at Université du Québec à Montréal. She is interested in context, process and relational-based practices as well as connections between art, ethics and politics. Her recent curatorial projects include: Gilberto Esparza. Plantas autofotosintéticas (co-curated with Nuria Carton de Grammont, Galerie de l’UQAM, Montreal, 2017), Richard Ibghy & Marilou Lemmens, Putting Life to Work (Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery, Montreal, 2016), Polyphonies (Optica, Montreal, 2015), and faire avec (AdMare, Magdelen Islands, 2013). In 2017, she was one of the five canadian curators of LandMarks 2017/Repères2017, a nationwide project initiated by Partners in Art in Toronto. She holds an MA in Art History from the Université du Québec à Montréal and was awarded the 2015 Prix John R. Porter from the Fondation du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, as well as the Canadian Art Writing Prize in 2011. She lives and works in Montréal.

Exhibition

Chto Delat? Performative Practices of Our Time
2018.02.14 - 03.31

The collective known as Chto Delat? (What is to be done?) employ narrative strategies borrowed from the theatre of Bertolt Brecht and reclaim elements of the aesthetic vocabulary of the avant-garde to open up a critical space in Russian political discourse, both historical and contemporary…

Read more

Event

Discussion with Erdem Taşdelen, Oxana Timofeeva and Véronique Leblanc
2018.03.23

VOX invites you to a discussion around the analogous issues raised by the exhibitions The Curtain Sweeps Down and Chto Delat? Performative Practices of Our Time. This roundtable will bring together artists Erdem Taşdelen (Toronto) and Oxana Timofeeva (St. Petersburg), as well as curator Véronique Leblanc.

Read more

Véronique Leblanc

Biographie

Véronique Leblanc est commissaire indépendante, auteure et chargée de cours en histoire de l’art à l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Elle s’intéresse aux pratiques contextuelles, processuelles et relationnelles ainsi qu’aux liens qui se tissent entre art, éthique et politique. On retrouve parmi ses plus récentes expositions : Gilberto Esparza. Plantas autofotosintéticas (co-commissariat avec Nuria Carton de Grammont, Galerie de l’UQAM, Montréal, 2017), Richard Ibghy & Marilou Lemmens. La vie mise au travail (Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen, Montréal, 2016), Polyphonies (Optica, Montréal, 2015) et faire avec (AdMare, Îles-de-la-Madeleine, 2013). En 2017, elle était l’une des cinq commissaires du projet pancanadien Repères2017/LandMarks2017, initié par Partners in Art, à Toronto. Détentrice d’une maîtrise en études des arts de l’Université du Québec à Montréal, elle était la lauréate du Prix John R. Porter en 2015, remis par la Fondation du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, et du Canadian Art Writing Prize en 2011. Elle vit et travaille à Montréal.

Exposition

Chto Delat? Pratiques performatives de notre temps
2018.02.14 - 03.31

Multidisciplinaires et politisées, les œuvres du collectif Chto Delat? (Que faire?) empruntent leurs stratégies narratives au théâtre de Bertolt Brecht et rejouent certains éléments du vocabulaire esthétique de l’avant-garde afin d’ouvrir un espace critique dans l’histoire et l’actualité de la Russie…

Lire plus

Événement

Discussion avec Erdem Taşdelen, Oxana Timofeeva et Véronique Leblanc
2018.03.23

VOX vous convie à une discussion autour des enjeux analogues soulevés par les expositions The Curtain Sweeps Down et Chto Delat? Pratiques performatives de notre temps. Cette table ronde rassemblera les artistes Erdem Taşdelen (Toronto), Oxana Timofeeva (Russie), ainsi que la commissaire Véronique Leblanc.

Lire plus