Research
VOX’s programming is being developed according to research thrusts that take the form of a program (including exhibitions, conferences, screenings, seminars, Web archiving, mediation activities, etc.) mapped out by working groups, over a two- to three-year horizon. This presentation model follows from VOX’s desire to work in partnership with artists, exhibition curators and other researchers, and to form presentation networks.
Research Axis 1
Conceptual Paradigms

Since 2005, VOX’s programming has strived to challenge the conceptual paradigms at work in the practices of image making from the 1960s to today. VOX has organized many anthological exhibitions that have contributed to a deeper understanding of various artists from different backgrounds and generations. Thematic exhibitions have also established a transhistorical dialogue between the practices of Quebec artists and artists on the national and international scene. Future projects will be developed following these concerns.

Research Axis 2
Exhibitions as Critical Institution

While exhibitions produced by curators are frequently the subject of study, such is rarely the case for those organized by artists, despite the fundamental role they play in terms of experimentation with innovative forms, openness to other disciplines, and creative relationships established with audiences. Today, how can we reposition the artist at the centre of this conversation and, in turn, help advance knowledge of the subject?

Research Axis 3
Critical thoughts

In charting the future development of our programming, we will extend that work, as well as account for various currents of critical thinking in an effort to understand our world today. Since 2012, through a program of exhibitions and conferences, we have been working to implement a new axis of research that investigates the systemic effects of globalization, post-colonialism, economics and politics by analysing them from the perspective of their impacts on society and the art world.

Research Axis 4
Retrospectively

Since 2005, we have been producing retrospective exhibitions that have helped to write new chapters in Quebec and Canadian art history. This work has enabled us to revisit the conceptual practices of N.E. Thing Co., Bill Vazan, Raymond Gervais and Irene F. Whittome. We will continue to mount similar projects that explore the little-known aspects of artists’ work.

Axes de recherche
La programmation de VOX se développe en axes de recherche prenant la forme d’un programme (incluant expositions, conférences, projections de films, séminaires, archives Web et activités de médiation, etc.) élaboré en groupes de travail sur un horizon de deux à trois ans. Ce modèle de diffusion repose sur la volonté de VOX de travailler en partenariat avec des artistes, des commissaires d’exposition et autres chercheurs et de former des réseaux de diffusion.
Axe de recherche 1
Paradigmes conceptuels

Depuis 2005, la programmation de VOX met en question les paradigmes conceptuels à l’œuvre dans les pratiques de l’image des années 1960 à aujourd’hui. De nombreuses expositions anthologiques ont été organisées pour permettre d’approfondir la connaissance de pratiques d’artistes d’origines et de générations diverses. Des expositions thématiques ont également permis d’établir un dialogue transhistorique entre les pratiques d’artistes du Québec et les artistes de la scène nationale et internationale. De nouveaux projets seront élaborés dans cette perspective.

Axe de recherche 2
L'exposition comme institution critique

Si les expositions produites par les commissaires sont abondamment étudiées, c’est peu le cas des expositions conçues par les artistes qui jouent pourtant un rôle fondamental dans l’expérimentation de formes innovatrices, dans leur ouverture aux autres disciplines et dans les rapports créatifs qu’ils établissent avec les publics. Comment aujourd’hui repositionner l’artiste au centre de cette réflexion et ainsi contribuer à l’avancement des connaissances sur le sujet ?

Axe de recherche 3
Pensées critiques

Dans le contexte d’agitation sociale et politique qui secoue de nombreux pays, il nous semble important d’élaborer un programme d’expositions, d’organiser des rencontres et d’encourager la pensée critique pour comprendre le monde actuel. Depuis 2012, à travers un programme d’expositions et de conférences, nous interrogeons les effets systémiques de la globalisation, du post-colonialisme, de l’économie et du politique en les analysant sous l’angle de leur impact sur la société et le monde de l’art.

Axe de recherche 4
Rétrospectivement

Depuis 2005, nous réalisons des expositions à caractère rétrospectif qui contribuent à l’écriture de nouveaux chapitres de l’histoire de l’art du Québec et du Canada. Ce travail a permis de revisiter les pratiques conceptuelles de N.E. Thing Co., de Bill Vazan, de Raymond Gervais et d’Irene F. Whittome. Nous poursuivrons la réalisation de tels projets qui permettent de faire connaître des aspects peu connus du travail d’un artiste.