Conference by Nicolai Punin

April 19, 2012

Malevich in the West

NICOLAI PUNIN

This story could begin in different places and at different times. It could begin today at the Museum of Modern Art in New York, where thousands of visitors see and appreciate paintings by Kazimir Malevich daily—including White on White, continuously on display since 1936. Or it could begin in Moscow, at the Tretiakov Gallery, in the recently opened galleries exhibiting the Russian/Soviet avant-garde, almost empty except for ever-present women-guards. There is hardly anyone to be found these days in front of the “Black Square”, which had not been on display in the Soviet Museums for many decades.

How can one explain these two strangely opposing scenes? How did it come to be that one of the most important artists of the twentieth century is respected and appreciated in the West, while neglected and almost forgotten in the land where he was born and worked his entire life?

VOX is delighted to welcome Nicolai Punin in Montreal. In the context of our inaugural exhibition Art Histories, he has kindly accepted our invitation to give a conference on Kazimir Malevich. Mr. Punin, who lives and works in St. Petersburg, was a friend and contemporary of Malevich. This slide-lecture aims to follow important historical moments of the reception of his work in Western Europe and the USA, from its earliest encounters with Futurism until the present-day appreciations of Suprematism.

The lecture will be in English.

Exhibition

Art Histories
2012.03.16 - 05.19

Of the countless artists who have engaged in institutional critiques, few have paid much heed to art history. And yet the history of art imposes, far less…

Read more

Conférence de Nicolai Punin

Le 19 avril 2012

Malevich dans l’Ouest

NICOLAI PUNIN

Cette histoire aurait pu débuter dans différents lieux, à différentes époques. Elle aurait pu débuter aujourd’hui au Musée d’art moderne de New York, où des milliers de visiteurs apprécient quotidiennement des œuvres de Kazimir Malevich — dont Carré blanc sur fond blanc, exposé depuis 1936. Elle aurait pu débuter à Moscou, au Musée Tretiakov, ayant récemment inauguré des salles dédiées à l’avant-garde russe/soviétique où l’on ne voit pratiquement jamais personne, à l’exception des gardiennes. En effet, l’on trouve rarement des visiteurs devant le Carré noir sur fond blanc, qui n’avait pourtant pas été exposé dans les institutions soviétiques depuis plusieurs décennies.

Comment expliquer ces deux scènes, étrangement opposées? Comment se fait-il que l’un des artistes les plus importants du vingtième siècle soit autant respecté et apprécié dans l’Ouest, alors qu’il est négligé et presqu’oublié sur la terre qui l’a vu naître et où il a travaillé sa vie entière ?

VOX est ravi d’accueillir Nicolai Punin à Montréal. Ce dernier a gracieusement accepté notre invitation et présentera une conférence sur Kazimir Malevich dans le cadre de l’exposition inaugurale Histoires de l’art. Monsieur Punin, qui vit et travaille actuellement à Saint-Pétersbourg, était l’ami et le contemporain de Malevich. Au cours de sa conférence-diaporama, il tentera de retracer les moments historiques qui ont marqué la réception du travail de l’artiste en Europe de l’Ouest et aux États-Unis, de sa toute première rencontre avec le futurisme jusqu’aux appréciations actuelles du suprématisme.

La conférence se donnera en anglais.

Exposition

Histoires de l'art
2012.03.16 - 05.19

Parmi les nombreux artistes qui ont pratiqué la critique institutionnelle, peu d’entre eux ont prêté attention à l’histoire de l’art. Pourtant…

Lire plus