Something to say, something to do

Andrea Geyer, Experimental research lecture and screening of Always in Time. Women, Art and Politics (2012), VOX, December 14, 2012.

Photo: VOX.

The Politics of Authorship and the History of Exhibitions

From December 12 to 15, 2012

Curated and moderated by: Vincent Bonin, Barbara Clausen, Marie J. Jean

BARBARA CLAUSEN

SOMETHING TO SAY – SOMETHING TO DO is a cycle of events—lectures, performances, screenings and conversations—investigating the status of artistic authorship and knowledge production in relation to the institutional politics of art and the historiography of exhibitions. Over four days, artists, historians and writers are invited to present how their interest in the official and hidden histories of exhibitions, and the theoretical discourses they generate, have challenged the authorial status of cultural production—the cultural archive thereby serving as a medium as well as a source material to reflect upon the phenomenological as well as cultural conditions that determine our understanding of the complex fabric involved in the production and mediation of contemporary art.

Topics presented, performed and talked about, will range from early avant-garde exhibition histories to the theoretical discourses generated by art movements and politics since the 1960s, up to current practices and theories of gender and queer studies, institutional critique, and the canonization of curatorial practices. The participants will ask, for example, how the correlation of the institutional politics of art and the historiography of the curatorial, and its discourse of inclusion and exclusion, are reflected and challenged in the “performance” or modes of mediation inherent to today’s artistic modes of production. In so doing they will reconsider the parallel histories of institutional critique and curating in light of the changing function and role of the artist, within “the context of a burgeoning discourse industry in the contemporary art field” (Sheikh, 2008).

One aim of this conference is to discuss how the translation of discursive theories—i.e., of modernism, gender studies, and cultural studies—within the format of the exhibition, as a politically and economically determined site, can simultaneously function as and shift from a proscenium setting, to a site of knowledge production, mediation and contemplation. Each of the four days can consist of a screening, reading and/or a performance, which will be developed in collaboration with the speakers’ interests and research and will be introduced and/or concluded via a lecture and a conversation that will lead to a discussion engaging the participants of the other days, as well as the audience.

This series of events was supported by the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.

Programme

WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 12, 2012, 5 PM – 9 PM

When Artists Talk
Sarah Pierce (artist)
A series of performances, CAMPUS (2011), and an artist talk followed by a conversation with Barbara Clausen

Sarah Pierce presents a group performance, CAMPUS (2011), involving performers that act out the familiar gestures of political protests along with phrases, such as “Exaggerate! Strengthen! Simplify!”, adapted from the one-on-one instruction given to art students during a three dimensional sculpture class. As the instructor moves from student to student ideas about technique and observation merge with other acts that involve ‘seeing’ and ‘doing’.

List of participants:
Anne-Marie Trépanier, Janick Burn, Audrey Wolski, Benoît Courchesne, Anastasia Domerego, Catherine D’avril, Laurent Viau-Lapointe, Valérie Nadon, Fabien Marcil.

Limited places available.


THURSDAY, DECEMBER 13, 2012, 7 PM – 9 PM

Institutional Narratives and the Underlining Politics of Exhibitions
Conversations
, Sophie Bélair Clément (artist)
A lecture followed by a discussion with Vincent Bonin

“An often secondary fragment of a work or an architectural component within an exhibition (generally consisting of sound material or an incomplete scenography) are extracted from their original contexts to become a set of raw data. Mediators—in most cases, musicians—produce a rendition of this recorded information, as accurately as possible.” Vincent Bonin, 2011.

There will be talk of Michael Morris, Vincent Trasov, Paul Wong, Eric Metcalfe, Ed Varney, Robert Filliou and Daina Augaitis; of Christiane Berndes, Jean Leering, El Lissitzky, Connie Butler, Benoit Bourdeau, Birte Endrejat and of a museum attendant not identified on a photography of the Van Abbemuseum’s archives; of Jeanette Bertrand, Jean-Marc Poinsot, Jacob Wren, Catherine Chevalier, Andreas Fohr, Isabelle Graw, C.T.R. Wilson, David Tomas, Christopher William, Richard Hamilton, Dieter Rams, Knowles Eddy Knowles, Maria Eichhorn and Wibke von Bonin; of Eduardo Ralickas, Charles and Ray Eames, Seth Siegelaub, Raphaël Huppé-Alvarez, Ludwig Wittgenstein, Marie Claire Forté, Adrian Piper, Lawrence Weiner, Donald Barthelme, Peter Frank, and al.

Que nous apporte l’histoire des expositions?
Elitza Dulguerova (art historian)
A lecture followed by a conversation with Marie J. Jean
.

Discussions will be held in French. Limited places available.


FRIDAY, DECEMBER 14, 2012, 5 PM – 9 PM

The Politics of the Construction of Time

5 PM – 6 PM, organised and presented by Artexte
Marie Claire Forté (choreographer)
Performance, Continuous Show (2012)
In the context of the exhibition “2 rooms equal size, 1 empty, with secretary” by Sophie Bélair Clément

7 PM – 9 PM, at VOX
Andrea Geyer (artist)
Experimental research lecture and screening of Always in Time. Women, Art and Politics (2012), followed by a conversation with Barbara Clausen

Andrea Geyer will present an experimental research lecture. Materials include but are not limited to scholarship, readings, photographs, poetry, videos, drawings and speculations. The materials presented derive from several recent projects. They include contemplations about the politics of the construction of time, approximations of archives, and investigations into the intricate relationships of a far reaching group of artists, collectors, visionaries, writers, activists, politicians, patrons, poets, educators, philanthropists, troublemakers, intellectuals and organizers. Featured are among others Katherine Dreier and the Société Anonyme, Gertrude Stein and the salon, The Cone Sisters, Gertrude Vanderbilt Whitney, Hilla Rebay, Peggy Guggenheim, the Museum of Modern Art as constructed by Lillie P. Bliss, Abby Aldrich Rockefeller and Mary Quinn Sullivan.

Limited places available.


SATURDAY, DECEMBER 15, 2012, 1 PM – 4 PM

On Knowledge Production and the Historiography of Discourse in Art

Simon Sheikh (theorist and independent curator)
Lecture Conceptual History or Genealogical Critique? Two Approaches to the History of Exhibition-making

Gerard Byrne (artist)
Artist talk and screening, A Thing is a Hole in a Thing it is Not


The two presentations will be followed by a discussion with Vincent Bonin

Gerard Byrne will discuss his on-going project A Thing is a Hole in a Thing it is Not(2010–), a draft of which was shown at Vox last spring. The project makes use of common idioms of dramatisation from television and theater to re-appraise before the gaze of a camera, the production of Minimalism as a cohesive object through discourse.

Limited places available.

Quelque chose à dire, quelque chose à faire

Andrea Geyer, Conférence sur une recherche expérimentale et projection de Always in Time. Women, Art and Politics (2012), VOX, le 14 décembre 2012.

Photo : VOX.

La politique de la fonction auteur et l’histoire des expositions

Du 12 au 15 décembre 2012

Commissarié et modéré par : Vincent Bonin, Barbara Clausen, Marie J. Jean

BARBARA CLAUSEN

QUELQUE CHOSE À DIRE – QUELQUE CHOSE À FAIRE est un cycle d’événements – conférences, performances, projections – ayant comme objectif d’investir la production du savoir, le statut de l’auteur, les politiques institutionnelles de l’art ainsi que l’historiographie des expositions. Pendant quatre jours, des artistes et des chercheurs présenteront des performances, des projections de vidéos/films et prendront part à des discussions pour réfléchir sur la façon dont ces histoires – officielles ou occultées – et leurs discours théoriques afférents problématisent les fonctions auctoriales. Ces intervenants utiliseront l’archive à la fois comme médium et matériau afin de redéfinir les conditions phénoménologiques et culturelles sous-jacentes à la production et à la médiation de l’art contemporain.

De nombreux enjeux seront abordés, allant des mises en récit des premières expositions des avant-gardes, aux discours théoriques émanant des mouvements artistiques et politiques depuis les années 1960, en passant par les théories du genre, les études queer, la critique institutionnelle et la canonisation des pratiques curatoriales. Ces intervenants se pencheront sur la manière dont les politiques institutionnelles et l’historiographie du commissariat d’expositions (ses discours d’inclusion et d’exclusion) deviennent manifestes et sont mises à l’épreuve par la « performance » et les modalités de médiation de la production artistique. Ce faisant, selon que l’ « industrie des discours » dans le champ de l’art contemporain redéfinit la fonction et le rôle de l’artiste (Sheikh, 2008), les participants investiront également des histoires parallèles de la critique institutionnelle.

L’un des objectifs de la conférence consiste à mesurer les conséquences de la traduction de propositions théoriques – la réévaluation du modernisme, l’étude des genres et les études culturelles, entre autres – au sein du format de l’exposition déterminé à la fois sur les plans politique et économique. Ces formations discursives pourront dès lors fluctuer d’un dispositif scénographique vers un lieu de production de savoir, de médiation et de contemplation. Les quatre journées feront s’enchaîner des projections de films/vidéos, des communications et des performances témoignant des intérêts ainsi que des recherches des participants. Chaque séance donnera lieu à des discussions engageant tous les intervenants ainsi que le public.

Cette série d’événements a bénéficié de l’appui du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.

Programme

MERCREDI 12 DÉCEMBRE 2012, DE 17 H À 21 H

Quand les artistes prennent la parole
Sarah Pierce (artiste)
Une série de performances CAMPUS (2011) et une conférence suivie d’une conversation avec Barbara Clausen

Dans sa performance de groupe, CAMPUS (2011), Sarah Pierce travaille avec des acteurs qui exécutent des gestes typiques de manifestations politiques. Parallèlement à ces gestes, ceux-ci réitèrent également des consignes (exagérez! renforcez! simplifiez!) qu’un professeur donne individuellement à ses étudiants lors d’une classe de sculpture aux Beaux-Arts. À mesure que cet individu donnant les consignes se déplace d’un étudiant à l’autre, les idées de technique et d’observation se confondent graduellement avec d’autres gestes, qui suggèrent les activités de « voir » et de « faire ».

Liste des participants :
 Anne-Marie Trépanier, Janick Burn, Audrey Wolski, Benoît Courchesne, Anastasia Domerego, Catherine D’avril, Laurent Viau-Lapointe, Valérie Nadon, Fabien Marcil.

Les discussions se tiendront en anglais. 
Nombre de places limité.


JEUDI 13 DÉCEMBRE 2012, DE 19 H À 21 H

Récits institutionnels et politiques sous-jacents à l’exposition
Conversations
, Sophie Bélair Clément (artiste)
Conférence suivie d’une conversation avec Vincent Bonin

« Un fragment souvent secondaire d’une œuvre, d’une composante architecturale, voire d’une exposition, est exproprié hors de son contexte d’origine sous forme de données brutes (en règle générale, il s’agit d’un matériau sonore ou d’une scénographie lacunaire). Des médiateurs – dans la plupart des cas, des musiciens – produisent une interprétation aussi fidèle que possible de cet enregistrement. » – Vincent Bonin, 2011.

Il sera question de Michael Morris, Vincent Trasov, Paul Wong, Eric Metcalfe, Ed Varney, Robert Filliou et Daina Augaitis; de Christiane Berndes, Jean Leering, El Lissitzky, Connie Butler, Benoit Bourdeau, Birte Endrejat et d’un gardien de musée non identifié sur une photographie des archives du Van Abbemuseum; de Jeanette Bertrand, Jean-Marc Poinsot, Jacob Wren, Catherine Chevalier, Andreas Fohr, Isabelle Graw, C.T.R. Wilson, David Tomas, Christopher Williams, Richard Hamilton, Dieter Rams, Knowles Eddy Knowles, Maria Eichhorn et Wibke von Bonin; d’Eduardo Ralickas, Charles et Ray Eames, Seth Siegelaub, Raphaël Huppé-Alvarez, Ludwig Wittgenstein, Marie Claire Forté, Adrian Piper, Lawrence Weiner, Donald Barthelme, Peter Frank, et al.

Que nous apporte l’histoire des expositions?
Elitza Dulguerova (historienne de l’art)
Conférence suivie d’une conversation avec Marie J. Jean
.

Les discussions se tiendront en français. 
Nombre de places limité.


VENDREDI 14 DÉCEMBRE 2012, DE 17 H À 21 H

La politique de construction du temps
17 h à 18 h, organisé et présenté par Artexte

Marie Claire Forté (chorégraphe)
Performance Spectacle continuel (2012) dans le cadre de l’exposition « 2 rooms equal size, 1 empty, with secretary » de Sophie Belair Clement
.

19 h à 21 h, à VOX
Andrea Geyer (artiste)
Conférence sur une recherche expérimentale et projection de Always in Time. Women, Art and Politics (2012) suivie d’une conversation avec Barbara Clausen

Andrea Geyer présentera une conférence sur une recherche expérimentale dont les matériaux incluent, sans y être limités, des bourses d’études, des conférences, des photos, des poèmes, des vidéos, des dessins et des spéculations. Les documents présentés proviennent de plusieurs projets récents. Ils comprennent des réflexions sur les politiques de la construction du temps, des approximations d’archives et des enquêtes sur les relations complexes d’un important groupe d’artistes, de collectionneurs, de visionnaires, d’écrivains, de militants, d’hommes politiques, de dirigeants, de poètes, d’éducateurs, de philanthropes, de fauteurs de troubles, d’intellectuels et d’organisateurs. Y seront notamment mis en vedette Katherine Dreier et la Société Anonyme, Gertrude Stein et le salon, les Cone Sisters, Gertrude Vanderbilt Whitney, Hilla Rebay, Peggy Guggenheim, le Musée d’Art Moderne construit par Lillie P. Bliss, Abby Aldrich Rockefeller et Mary Quinn Sullivan.

Les discussions se tiendront en anglais. 
Nombre de places limité.


SAMEDI 15 DÉCEMBRE 2012, DE 13 H À 16 H

Sur la production du savoir et l’historiographie des discours dans le champ de l’art

Simon Sheikh (théoricien et commissaire d’exposition indépendant)
Conférence Conceptual History or Genealogical Critique? Two Approaches to the History of Exhibition-making

Gerard Byrne (artiste)
Conférence et projection A Thing is a Hole in a Thing it is Not


Les deux présentations sont suivies d’une conversation avec Vincent Bonin

Gerard Byrne discutera de son projet en cours A Thing is a Hole in a Thing it is Not (2010 – ), dont une version fragmentaire a été présentée à VOX au printemps dernier. Le projet fait usage des idiomes propre à la dramatisation de la télévision et du théâtre afin de réévaluer au travers du regard de la caméra, la production du Minimalisme comme un objet cohérent du discours.

Les discussions se tiendront en anglais. 
Nombre de places limité.