Alain Declercq. Embedded Versus Wildcat

Alain Declercq, I am Mike, 2005, photography. Courtesy of Galerie Lœvenbruck.

Alain Declercq, Sheraton Hotel, Pentagon West-South West, 2005, photography. Courtesy of Galerie Lœvenbruck.

Alain Declercq, Mike’s suitcase, 2005, photography. Courtesy of Galerie Lœvenbruck.

Alain Declercq,  Hidden Camera, 2005, photography. Courtesy of Galerie Lœvenbruck.

View of the exhibition Embedded Versus Wildcat, VOX, from September 9 to October 21, 2006.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Embedded Versus Wildcat, VOX, from September 9 to October 21, 2006.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Embedded Versus Wildcat, VOX, from September 9 to October 21, 2006.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Embedded Versus Wildcat, VOX, from September 9 to October 21, 2006.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.
2006.09.09 - 10.21

Alain Declercq

Opening September 9, 2006

This exhibition is presented with support from the Consulat général de France à Québec.

NINA FOLKERSMA

Saturday, March 26, 2005, 3:30 p.m.
A fair on the Dam, Amsterdam

Alain Declercq is in town for an event devoted to conspiracy theories. He screens a short film and talks about the new project he’s currently working on, Mike, which will follow the odyssey of a secret agent seeking answers to questions raised by the events of September 11, 2001. […]

Friday, June 24, 2005, between 11 a.m. and 4 p.m.
Alain Declercq’s apartment, Rue Brulatour, Bordeaux

While Declercq is busy putting the finishing touches on his film in a nearby studio, the Bordeaux apartment he’s sharing with a journalist friend, C.P., is the scene of an unannounced visit by a delegation from the French Crime and Anti-Terrorism bureau. The fifteen-man squad searches the apartment, turning up a fair amount of suspect materials: a text on Al-Qaeda, replica weapons, airline tickets, photocopied 500-Euro notes, a Polaroid picture of a missile hitting the Pentagon… Certain they have stumbled upon a secret Al-Qaeda cell in France, which surely has links to the Madrid network, they immediately bring charges against Declercq. Several times during their investigation, a name crops up: “Mike.” It takes five hours of interrogation for the authorities to begin to wonder who this Mike is, and finally query Declercq on the nature of his relationship with the enigmatic figure, who isn’t mentioned anywhere in their records. Declercq tries to explain: the entire thing is a work of art, a fiction. He is neither a criminal nor a terrorist—indeed, he works in a field where one aspires to openly engage as wide an audience as possible! Declercq takes up the narrative: “The problem was, at one point, they started wondering whether ‘artist’ wasn’t precisely the perfect alias, the most brilliant cover for terrorist activities. At that point, obviously, if you want to be persuasive, you’d better hold tight.” When I ask whether the file has been closed since then, his answer is noncommital. His house, he says, is still under surveillance; his phone line tapped. Packages he mails rarely get to their destinations. “I only saw the tip of the iceberg: fifteen cops, a five-hour interrogation, a judge. I don’t know what it’s all hiding, or what might come next.”

Later the same day, between 3:00 and 4:10 p.m.
C.P.’s apartment, 77 rue Lamarck, Paris

Scant hours after the police raid in Bordeaux, C.P., Declerq’s journalist friend, gets a call informing him that his Paris apartment has been burgled. The break-in took place sometime between 3:00 and 4:10 p.m. A notebook computer and digital camera are gone, yet a DVD player and cheque-book that were lying in plain view remain. An official inquiry ensues, and concludes there was no evidence of any link between the two events.

Elementary conspiracy theory, however, teaches us that there is no such thing as a coincidence. In this way of apprehending the world, everything is connected. There are no simple facts and no fortuitous consequences; “it all means something.” That no doubt explains why the logic of conspiracy theorizing has met with such popular success, as seen in Dan Brown’s Da Vinci Code, Michael Moore’s Fahrenheit 9/11, or the final film by Theo van Gogh, 06/05, about the murder of Pim Fortuyn. Conspiracy theories do paint a fairly accurate picture of reality. Invisible outlaw terrorist networks. Shady operations. Hidden information. And the question is always the same: Who profits from it all? The rich and powerful, the multinationals, the elites! cry the theorists. Surely we can prove that there’s an Evil-Genius Bad Guy lurking behind every detail, every anecdote and the slightest morsel of information lying around… Conspiracy theories are reassuring: in a world that’s becoming more and more complex and difficult to understand, they offers a simple, coherent—and therefore vastly appealing—paradigm for apprehending the world.

Thursday, September 15, 2005, 6:00 p.m.
40 rue de Seine / 2, rue de l’Échaudé, Galerie Loevenbruck, Paris

A fairly standard desk stands in the middle of the room. […] Across from it, a staircase leads to the cellar. There, in a small room, unspools Mike, the most recent, highly anticipated film by Alain Declercq, at a sneak-preview screening.

he work is made up of shots seemingly captured clandestinely, edited together like a reel of rushes. The first segment takes place Somewhere in the Middle East. A group of men are on their knees right in the middle of a street; the muezzin’s wail ululates across the rooftops; a Jeep slices through desert sands, past a soldiers’ encampment. Next we’re in Washington: sombre-suited men shuttle between luxury hotels doing their business; diplomatic vehicles glide in circles in front of the Pentagon. The film is brimming with recognizable signifiers, whose charge and suggestive power assert themselves, little by little. The last segment takes us to Europe: the fair in Amsterdam; a Paris office complex; a U.S. military base in the south of England. All the images are filmed by the same individual: Mike, who styles himself an intelligence agent. Occasionally, he appears on screen, to recount what he has seen and heard on a given day. But virtually everything Mike is able to observe seems to lead down a blind alley. Suddenly, plenty of things are left without explanation. At the same time, Declercq tells me, his film contains an abundance of coded information. Nearly every shot, every name and every codename is inspired by a theory or actual fact. The film is a mélange of demonstrations and speculations that breeds confusion. Is Mike a secret agent? Is he a terrorist? Which part of the narrative is reality, and which part fiction? What is certain is that Alain Declercq, with this film, shows how easy it is to fan the flames of fear and mistrust in this day and age. And what is even more certain is that the filmmaker in this instance was able to appreciate, at the risk of his life, the consequences of his little excursion onto politically shifting sands. And must not be forgotten is that the artist in this instance produced a work of fiction. He did not allow himself to be drawn into the current vogue of paranoia, or to the idée fixe that shadowy forces are controlling our lives. His judgement is sound: he is capable of having doubts about his own doubts. And his imagination enables him to relate, based on proven facts, a parallel story—in the process suggesting reality an alternative. And, in so doing, demonstrating the critical and creative possibilities that conspiracy theorizing offers.

Excerpted from an article published in Metropolis M, No. 6, 2005.

Biography

Alain Declercq

Alain Declercq

Various structures of power, the forces of order, contemporary forms of oppression and security, and media manipulation are the core concerns of French artist Alain Declercq…

Read more

Journal # 18 - 09.2006

Read the online journal for the exhibition Alain Declercq and Mathieu Beauséjour

Alain Declercq. Embedded versus Wildcat

Alain Declercq, I am Mike, 2005, épreuve photographique. Avec l’aimable permission de la Galerie Lœvenbruck.

Alain Declercq, Sheraton Hotel, Pentagon West-South West, 2005, épreuve photographique. Avec l’aimable permission de la Galerie Lœvenbruck.

Alain Declercq, Mike’s suitcase, 2005, épreuve photographique. Avec l’aimable permission de la Galerie Lœvenbruck.

Alain Declercq,  Hidden Camera, 2005, épreuve photographique. Avec l’aimable permission de la Galerie Lœvenbruck.

Vue de l’exposition Embedded Versus Wildcat, VOX, du 9 septembre au 21 octobre 2006.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Embedded Versus Wildcat, VOX, du 9 septembre au 21 octobre 2006.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Embedded Versus Wildcat, VOX, du 9 septembre au 21 octobre 2006.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Embedded Versus Wildcat, VOX, du 9 septembre au 21 octobre 2006.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.
2006.09.09 - 10.21

Alain Declercq

Vernissage le 9 septembre 2006

Cette exposition est présentée avec le soutien du Consulat général de France à Québec.

Extraits du dossier Alain Declercq

NINA FOLKERSMA

Le samedi 26 mars 2005, 15 h 30
Fête foraine sur le Dam, Amsterdam

Alain Declercq est en visite à Amsterdam, à l’occasion d’un événement consacré aux théories du complot. Il projette un court métrage et explique que le film auquel il travaille, Mike, traitera des pérégrinations d’un agent secret en quête de réponses aux questions soulevées par les événements du 11 septembre. […]

Le vendredi 24 juin 2005, entre 11 h et 16 h
Rue Brulatour, chez Alain Declercq, Bordeaux

Tandis qu’il met la dernière main à son film dans un studio bordelais, Declercq reçoit la visite impromptue d’une délégation des brigades criminelles et antiterroristes françaises. Ils sont une quinzaine. Ils fouillent l’appartement qu’il occupe alors avec un ami journaliste, C.P. Les policiers trouvent un important matériel suspect : une notice sur Al-Qaida, des armes factices, des billets d’avion, des photocopies de billets de 500 euros, un polaroïd montrant un missile s’abattant sur le Pentagone, etc. Ils pensent être tombés sur une cellule secrète française d’Al-Qaida, qui entretient même probablement des liens avec le réseau madrilène, et engagent illico une procédure judiciaire contre Alain Declercq. Au cours de leurs investigations, ils butent à plusieurs reprises sur un certain « Mike ». Cinq heures d’interrogatoire ne seront pas de trop pour tenter de percer qui est ce Mike, et quelles relations Declercq entretient avec cet étrange personnage, absent de leurs fichiers. Declercq essaie d’expliquer qu’il s’agit d’une œuvre d’art, que tout cela est fictif. Qu’il n’est pas un criminel ni un terroriste, et qu’il exerce même dans un domaine qui aspire à s’adresser, ouvertement, à un public aussi large que possible… Declercq racontera : « Le problème c’est qu’à un moment, ils se sont mis à se demander si “artiste” n’était pas, justement, la meilleure et la plus rusée des couvertures – le moyen idéal de dissimuler des activités terroristes. À partir de là, évidemment, si on veut être convaincant, on a intérêt à bien s’accrocher. » Quand je lui demande si le dossier a été classé depuis, il laisse sa réponse en suspens. Sa maison, dit-il, serait toujours surveillée, et son téléphone sur écoute. Les colis qu’il envoie parviennent rarement à bon port. « Je n’ai vu que le sommet de l’iceberg, une quinzaine de policiers, un interrogatoire de cinq heures, un juge… mais je ne sais pas ce que cela cache ni ce qui s’annonce. »

Le même jour, entre 15 h et 16 h 10
77, rue Lamarck, appartement de C.P., Paris

Quelques heures après cette descente de police, C.P., l’ami journaliste, est prévenu par téléphone que son appartement a été cambriolé. L’effraction a été commise entre 15 h et 16 h 10. Un ordinateur portable et une caméra numérique ont disparu, alors qu’un lecteur DVD et un carnet de chèques qui traînait à vue sont restés à leur place. L’enquête officielle qui s’ensuit conclut à un manque de preuves d’un quelconque lien entre les deux événements.

La théorie élémentaire des complots vous l’apprendra : il n’y a pas de hasards. Dans cette façon d’envisager les choses, tout est lié. Il n’y a pas de faits simples ni de conséquences fortuites. Et tout a un sens. Voilà qui explique probablement le succès de cette logique (voyez le succès du livre Da Vinci Code, de Fahrenheit 9/11 de Michael Moore ou du dernier film de Theo van Gogh, 0605, à propos de l’assassinat de Pim Fortuyn). Les théories du complot donnent un aperçu assez fidèle de la réalité. Des réseaux terroristes invisibles et fugitifs? Des opérations douteuses ? Des informations cachées ? On en revient toujours à se demander à qui cela profite. Les puissants, les multinationales, les élites. On arrivera bien à prouver qu’il y a un méchant là-derrière, chaque détail, chaque anecdote et la moindre bribe d’information qui traîne finiront bien par en attester. C’est plutôt rassurant. Dans un monde qu’il est de plus en plus compliqué et difficile d’appréhender, la théorie des complots offre un schéma de compréhension simple, cohérent, donc séduisant.

Le jeudi 15 septembre 2005, 18 h
40, rue de Seine/ 2, rue de l’Échaudé, galerie Lœvenbruck, Paris

Un bureau à peu près réglementaire trône au milieu de la pièce. […] En face du bureau, un escalier mène au sous-sol. Là, dans une petite salle, on projette Mike, le dernier film d’Alain Declercq, tant attendu, et dont c’est l’avant-première.

Le film est fait d’images prises à la dérobade, montées comme un ensemble de rushes. La première partie se déroule quelque part au Moyen-Orient. Un groupe d’hommes s’agenouille en pleine rue, l’appel à la prière musulmane retentit par-dessus les toits, une Jeep fend le désert et traverse un camp de soldats. Nous voilà ensuite à Washington : des hommes en costume sombre s’affairent autour d’hôtels luxueux et des voitures diplomatiques glissent en rond au pied du Pentagone. Le film regorge de signes de reconnaissance dont la charge et la puissance suggestives s’affirment peu à peu. La dernière partie nous ramène en Europe : la foire à Amsterdam, un quartier de bureaux parisien, une base militaire américaine au sud de l’Angleterre. Tout est filmé par une seule et même personne, Mike, qui se dit agent de renseignements. De temps en temps il apparaît à l’écran et raconte ce qu’il a vu et entendu ce jour-là. Mais presque tout ce que Mike peut observer semble le conduire à une impasse. Du coup, bien des choses demeurent sans explication. En même temps, m’apprend Declercq, le film renferme d’abondantes informations codées. Presque chaque plan, chaque nom, chaque nom de code s’inspire de théories et de faits réels. Le film est un mélange de démonstrations et de spéculations qui sème la confusion. Mike est-il un agent secret, ou peut-être un terroriste ?… Où est la réalité, où est la fiction ? Ce qui est sûr, c’est qu’Alain Declercq, dans ce film, indique combien il est facile d’attiser l’angoisse et la méfiance par les temps qui courent. Et ce qui est encore plus sûr, c’est qu’il a pu mesurer, à son corps défendant, les conséquences de ses petites pérégrinations sur des sables politiquement mouvants. Mais n’oublions pas que l’artiste a produit une fiction. Il ne s’est pas laissé aspirer par la tendance à la paranoïa, ni par l’idée fixe que des forces obscures dirigent nos vies. Son jugement est sain : il est capable de douter de son propre doute. Son imagination lui donne la possibilité de raconter, d’après des faits authentiques, une histoire parallèle, d’aiguiller la réalité vers une alternative. Et il montre par là le potentiel critique et créatif dont la théorie des complots peut, elle aussi, se révéler porteuse.

Texte extrait d’un article publié dans Metropolis M, n° 6, 2005.

Biographie

Alain Declercq

Les diverses structures du pouvoir, les forces de l’ordre, les formes d’oppression et de sécurité contemporaines, la manipulation des médias sont au cœur des préoccupations…

Lire plus

Journal # 18 - 09.2006

Consultez le journal des exposition Alain Declercq et Mathieu Beauséjour en ligne