Brian Jungen and Duane Linklater. Modest Livelihood

Brian Jungen and Duane Linklater, Modest Livelihood, still, 2012, silent Super 16mm film transferred to HD digital file, 50 min. Courtesy of the artists and Catriona Jeffries, Vancouver.

Brian Jungen and Duane Linklater, Modest Livelihood, still, 2012, silent Super 16mm film transferred to HD digital file, 50 min. Courtesy of the artists and Catriona Jeffries, Vancouver.

Brian Jungen and Duane Linklater, Modest Livelihood, still, 2012, silent Super 16mm film transferred to HD digital file, 50 min. Courtesy of the artists and Catriona Jeffries, Vancouver.

View of the exhibition Brian Jungen and Duane Linklater. Modest Livelihood, VOX, from September 11 to November 1, 2014.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Brian Jungen and Duane Linklater. Modest Livelihood, VOX, from September 11 to November 1, 2014.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.
2014.09.11 - 11.01

Opening on September 11, 2014 at
5:00 pm

Hunting and Looking


It seems a long time since I saw Brian Jungen’s exhibit of moosehide drums in a gallery in Chelsea, New York,1 each drum a little crazier-looking than the next, as if stretching the very concept of the drum along with the moosehide itself. What I thought then was that while the drum could be considered as something “authentic” and ancient (in so many societies), that by no means precludes it being “plastic” and fanciful, playing games with authenticity as well as with ethnic identities. It was subtle, unforced, and simple.

Brian told me that he learnt to make drums with his uncle, who supplied the hide —and then asked if I would like to join in a moose hunt. Well, that hasn’t happened, yet, but at least I got to see the 16mm film he and Duane Linklater made called Modest Livelihood, which includes that very same uncle.

This title bears ironic and not so ironic reference to the 1999 Supreme Court of Canada decision reasserting age-old Native hunting and fishing rights, so long as the hunting and fishing did not exceed a “moderate livelihood” and result in “accumulation of wealth.”

The irony seems obvious enough, but I am more intrigued by the actual modesty of the film as film, especially its speechlessness (and soundlessness), which casts a special pall or “through a glass darkly” feel on watching it. Georg Simmel once observed that “the one who sees, without hearing, is much more. . . worried than the one who hears without seeing.”2 Hence I strain to look at and into the film as if I was some sort of hunter, too. I am disoriented. I have little idea what’s going on or what things mean. Were it not for the professionalized description provided by the gallery, the viewer would be pretty clueless—which is one way, I think, of engaging with the film. You are thrown in at the deep end, sink or swim, and the usual suspects when it comes to the issues of hunting—namely, ethnic identity politics, gun control, gender, and the environment—are, to some extent, unmoored. Of course it could work the other way, too: that we unconsciously filter what we see through our prejudices and expectations. This is the gamble the film takes, bearing in mind that gambling is not that different from hunting.

What you get, in spades, is close description of the landscape through which the hunters walk, together with an invisible tension woven into their gait (you find much the same with Turgenev’s Hunting Sketches).3 The trees bend with the wind, at times the river glistens like a magical serpent aglow, the sun runs straight into the lens through close-ups of river reeds, and always the perplexed and alert bodies of the hunters remind us that we are engaged with some sort of meeting with destiny. Mysterious signs make them pause for a moment, but we don’t often get to see faces, other than behind the mask of binoculars. They see, but we don’t see what they see. Our hunting is of another nature.

The fall colour gives way to winter, less light with more contrast of forms and colour. Occasionally there is what seems like a natural gas flare, and the roads through the forest bespeak a mighty industrial engine infiltrating the forest along with the hunters and their prey. The hunters keep walking, watching, and listening. Given the absence of sound, these movements at times seem as if they are mimed within a flow of onward movement, suggesting that we know where we are going. But do we? Is that the point? Or is it a journey with different rules, like Michel de Certeau’s idea of walking the city according not to the big plan or bird’s-eye view but according to a never-ending loosely aligned series of micrologics he elsewhere calls “the practice of everyday life,” which seems to me modest indeed. This practice, be it noted, is set up by de Certeau specifically to contest Foucault’s idea of discourse with its appeal to the idea of a system such as a panopticon. The hunter “walking the city” bridges and even challenges the sharp distinction so much of our ideology depends upon, dividing country from city, real from artificial. The hunter “walking the city” is Walter Benjamin’s flâneur, who rubs shoulders with the gambler and the hunter, marginal beings half in and half outside the commodity culture. There is a lot of the detective in this too, sifting clues, as Carlo Ginzburg points out, in an alternative mix of science and luck.4

Then suddenly, almost at the end—yes, there is an end—in an ever-so-brief blur of movement in the last shards of twilight, a big animal tumbles. We barely see this. It is surely an essential part of the film, yet just as we don’t hear anything, we barely see this dénouement, which, right at the end, gives the film its body, both the body of this large animal and the body of the narrative without narration. After so much walking and waiting, the hunters are successful. But here we must ask, Is death the point of hunting? Does the hunter hunt in order to kill, or instead kill in order to hunt?5

Here at the end, another landscape intrudes as night falls on the glistening snow and the hunters with urgent haste eviscerate the animal. The landscape of vistas, of a nature “out there,” changes to close-ups of an “in there,” also known as the optical unconscious, in which the camera reveals unexpected textures and shapes. A great rib cage like the interior of a ship emerges, with blood and fat spread out on the snow like a halo. The hands work frenetically, cutting sideways through the sponge-like, foamy fascia connecting the body to the skin, to this vast tent-like skin.

Finally done, the skin is tightly rolled and inserted into a dark plastic bag, like some conjuring trick from which, eventually, who knows, may emerge more strange drums.

1. Casey Kaplan Gallery, 525 West 21st St., New York, NY, September 8–October 22, 2011.
2. Quoted in Walter Benjamin, The Arcades Project, Cambridge, MA, and London, England: The Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1999, p. 433.
3. This classic of 19th-century Russian literature and the literature on hunting is outstanding for its controlled lyricism and gentle description of nature, with, however, barely a word on the kill.
4. Carlo Ginzburg, “Morelli, Freud, and Sherlock Holmes: Clues and Scientific Method,” History Workshop Journal, No. 9, (Spring 1980).
5. Taken from José Ortega y Gasset, Meditations on Hunting, trans. Howard B. Westcott, New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons, 1972, p. 110–11.

Brian Jungen and Duane Linklater’s collaborative film Modest Livelihood follows the artists as they set out from Fort St. John, British Columbia, on a series of moose-hunting trips. The film’s premise alludes to a 1999 Canadian Supreme Court ruling that validates First Nations hunting and fishing rights for a “moderate livelihood,” but not in order to accumulate wealth. For Jungen—a Swiss and Dane-zaa First Nation artist internationally recognized for his sculptures—and Linklater—an Omaskêko Cree working with moving image and performance to portray Native oral histories and learning methods—the act of hunting is connected to their identity and heritage.

Shot in Super 16mm by a professional camera operator, Modest Livelihood collapses documentary and narrative genres, and acknowledges anthropological documentary films produced by the National Film Board of Canada, such as Cree Hunters of Mistassini (1974). The silence of the work is deliberate, encouraging us to contemplate the sacred nature of what we are witnessing. As they learn from their elders through experience and observation, Jungen and Linklater also seek to remind us that this knowledge is passed down and reaffirmed for each succeeding generation.

Adapted from Art Gallery of Ontario texts.


Discussion with Brian Jungen and Duane Linklater

Discussion with Brian Jungen (a Swiss and Dane-zaa First Nation artist who was the first recipient of the Sobey Art Award in 2002) and Duane Linklater (an Omaskêko Cree who notably earned the same distinction in 2013).

Read more


Interview with Brian Jungen and Duane Linklater during their exhibition Modest Livelihood, presented at VOX.

See interview

Brian Jungen et Duane Linklater. Modest Livelihood

Brian Jungen et Duane Linklater, Modest Livelihood, image fixe, 2012, film Super 16mm muet transféré en fichier numérique HD, 50 min. Avec l’aimable permission des artistes et de Catriona Jeffries, Vancouver.

Brian Jungen et Duane Linklater, Modest Livelihood, image fixe, 2012, film Super 16mm muet transféré en fichier numérique HD, 50 min. Avec l’aimable permission des artistes et de Catriona Jeffries, Vancouver.

Brian Jungen et Duane Linklater, Modest Livelihood, image fixe, 2012, film Super 16mm muet transféré en fichier numérique HD, 50 min. Avec l’aimable permission des artistes et de Catriona Jeffries, Vancouver.

Vue de l’exposition Brian Jungen et Duane Linklater. Modest Livelihood, VOX, du 11 septembre au 1er novembre 2014.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Brian Jungen et Duane Linklater. Modest Livelihood, VOX, du 11 septembre au 1er novembre 2014.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.
2014.09.11 - 11.01

Vernissage le 11 septembre 2014 à 17 h

Chasser et regarder

MICHAEL TAUSSIG

Il me semble que bien du temps s’est écoulé depuis le jour où j’ai vu, dans une galerie de Chelsea, à New York, une exposition de tambours en peau d’orignal créés par Brian Jungen1. Chaque tambour rivalisait d’étrangeté avec son voisin, comme si le concept de tambour s’y trouvait étiré en même temps que les peaux. J’avais alors pris conscience que si le tambour peut être considéré comme un objet « authentique » et ancien dans de nombreuses sociétés, cela ne l’empêche en rien d’être « plastique » et original, et de jouer aussi bien sur l’idée d’authenticité que sur celle d’identité ethnique. Le résultat était subtil, spontané et simple.

Brian m’expliqua qu’il avait appris à fabriquer des tambours avec son oncle, lequel lui fournissait les peaux, et me proposa alors de me joindre à une expédition de chasse à l’orignal. Je n’en ai pas encore eu l’occasion, mais j’ai tout de même pu voir Modest Livelihood, le film qu’il a réalisé avec Duane Linklater et auquel participe ce même oncle.

Le titre fait ironiquement, ou pas si ironiquement, référence à la décision de la Cour suprême du Canada qui, en 1999, réaffirmait les droits ancestraux des Premières Nations à chasser et pêcher, à condition que le produit de ces activités n’excède pas une « subsistance convenable » (moderate livelihood) et ne vise pas à « accumuler des richesses ».

L’ironie est assez évidente, mais je suis plus intrigué par la modestie du film même en tant que film, particulièrement le fait qu’il soit sans dialogue (ni bande sonore), ce qui nous plonge dans une atmosphère vaguement oppressante, un univers énigmatique. Georg Simmel notait que « celui qui voit sans entendre est plus […] inquiet que celui qui entend sans voir2 ». C’est donc avec une certaine tension que je regarde et scrute le film, un peu comme si j’étais un chasseur, moi aussi. Je suis désorienté. Je n’ai qu’une vague idée de ce qui se passe, et de ce que tout cela signifie. Sans la description fournie par la galerie, nous n’aurions aucune indication sur ce qui est montré – ce qui est une façon de s’immerger dans le film, me semble-t-il. Nous sommes plongés d’emblée dans l’eau profonde (débrouillez-vous pour nager), et les thèmes habituels lorsqu’il s’agit de chasse – les politiques identitaires, le contrôle des armes à feu, les rôles de genre, l’environnement – sont, dans une certaine mesure, laissés de côté. Cela peut bien sûr jouer dans l’autre sens aussi, si nous interprétons inconsciemment ce que nous voyons à travers le filtre de nos préjugés et de nos attentes. C’est le pari que prend le film – et n’oublions pas qu’il n’y a pas beaucoup de différences entre prendre un pari et chasser.

Ce qui nous est offert, à profusion, est une description rapprochée du paysage à travers lequel marchent les chasseurs, ainsi qu’une tension invisible mais présente dans chacun de leurs pas (l’ensemble évoque souvent les Mémoires d’un chasseur de Tourgueniev3). Les arbres s’inclinent sous le vent, la rivière scintille parfois comme un serpent magique illuminé, le reflet du soleil entre directement dans l’objectif à la faveur de gros plans sur des roseaux, et sans cesse les silhouettes perplexes et attentives des chasseurs nous rappellent que nous sommes engagés dans une sorte de rendez-vous avec le destin. Ils s’arrêtent un moment, obéissant à des signes mystérieux, mais leur visage nous est rarement montré, sauf derrière le masque des jumelles. Eux-mêmes voient, mais nous ne voyons pas ce qu’ils voient. Notre chasse est d’une autre nature.

Les nuances de l’automne font place aux tonalités hivernales, moins lumineuses, où formes et couleurs sont plus contrastées. On aperçoit occasionnellement ce qui semble être une torchère de gaz naturel, et les routes traversant la forêt révèlent l’infiltration d’une puissante machine industrielle dans le territoire des chasseurs et de leur proie. Les chasseurs continuent à marcher, observer, écouter. Étant donné l’absence de son, ces gestes semblent parfois mimés au sein d’un mouvement continu vers l’avant qui suggère que nous savons où nous allons. Est-ce le cas ? Est-ce le but ? À moins que ce voyage suive des règles différentes, comme dans le cas du marcheur de Michel de Certeau, qui marche dans la ville en suivant non pas un plan d’ensemble ou une vue aérienne, mais l’enchaînement naturel d’une série continue de micrologies, ce que l’auteur nomme ailleurs l’invention du quotidien, notion qui me semble en l’occurrence faire appel au domaine du modeste. Il faut noter que de Certeau met en place cette approche pour contester spécifiquement l’idée du discours élaborée par Foucault, inspirée d’un système de type panoptique. Le chasseur « marchant dans la ville » comble un fossé qu’il remet d’ailleurs en question, et sur lequel repose tout un pan de notre idéologie : celui qui sépare radicalement la nature et la ville, le réel et l’artificiel. Le chasseur « marchant dans la ville » est semblable au flâneur de Walter Benjamin : le flâneur côtoie le joueur et le chasseur, êtres marginaux vivant à moitié en dehors de la société de consommation. Il s’apparente aussi grandement au détective, qui examine ses indices en utilisant une combinaison variable de science et de chance, comme le fait remarquer Carlo Ginzburg4.

Alors soudainement, presque à la fin – oui, il y a une fin – aux dernières lueurs du crépuscule, dans un mouvement flou et étonnamment fugace, un grand animal tombe. Nous voyons à peine cette scène. C’est certainement une part essentielle du film, mais, de la même façon que nous sommes privés de son, nous apercevons à peine ce dénouement qui, tout à la fin, donne au film son corps – à la fois le corps de cet animal imposant, et le corps de ce récit sans narration. Après toutes ces heures de marche et d’attente, les chasseurs ont réussi. Mais une question se pose alors : la mort est-elle le but de la chasse ? Le chasseur chasse-t-il pour tuer, ou tue-t-il pour chasser5 ?

C’est là, tout à la fin, qu’un autre type de paysage fait intrusion, tandis que la nuit tombe sur la neige scintillante et que les chasseurs éviscèrent l’animal avec une hâte fébrile. Les panoramas et scènes de nature « extérieure » font place à des gros plans sur un paysage « intérieur », l’inconscient optique, où la caméra révèle des textures et des formes inattendues. Une imposante cage thoracique apparaît, semblable à l’intérieur d’un navire; tout autour le sang et la graisse s’étalent sur la neige comme un halo. Les mains travaillent avec frénésie, coupant latéralement à travers les fascias spongieux et mousseux qui relient au corps cette peau vaste comme une tente.

Enfin prête, la peau est roulée étroitement sur elle-même, puis insérée dans un sac en plastique sombre, évoquant quelque tour de passe-passe d’où émergeront peut-être – qui sait ? – d’autres tambours étranges.

1. Casey Kaplan Gallery, 525 West 21st St., New York, NY, 8 septembre – 22 octobre 2011.
2. Cité dans Walter Benjamin, Paris, capitale du XIXe siècle. Le livre des passages, Paris, Éditions du Cerf, 2009, p. 451.
3. Ce classique de la littérature russe du 19e siècle et de la littérature sur la chasse se distingue par son lyrisme maîtrisé et sa description subtile de la nature, ainsi que le fait que la mise à mort de la proie y est à peine mentionnée.
4. Carlo Ginzburg, « Signes, traces, pistes. Racines d’un paradigme de l’indice », dans Le Débat, nov. 1980, p. 3-44.
5. D’après José Ortega y Gasset, Méditations sur la chasse, Québec, Septentrion, 2006, p. 114.

Œuvre collaborative de Brian Jungen et Duane Linklater, Modest Livelihood suit les artistes depuis Fort St. John, en Colombie-Britannique, au long de plusieurs voyages de chasse à l’orignal. Le titre du film fait allusion à une décision de la Cour suprême du Canada qui, en 1999, confirme le droit des Premières Nations de pratiquer la chasse et la pêche afin d’en tirer une « subsistance convenable » (moderate livelihood), et non pour accumuler des richesses. Pour Jungen – un artiste d’origine suisse et dane-zaa dont les sculptures sont reconnues à l’échelle internationale – ainsi que pour Linklater – un membre de la nation Cree Omaskêko qui explore les histoires et les méthodes d’apprentissage orales autochtones par l’image et la performance – la chasse est intimement liée à l’identité et à l’héritage culturel.

Filmé par un caméraman professionnel en Super 16 mm, Modest Livelihood navigue au croisement du documentaire et de la fiction, et fait référence à des documentaires anthropologiques produits par l’Office national du film du Canada tels que Cree Hunters of Mistassini (1974). Le silence délibéré de l’œuvre nous invite à contempler le caractère sacré de ce dont nous sommes témoins. En apprenant de leurs aînés par l’expérience directe et l’observation, Jungen et Linklater cherchent aussi à nous rappeler que cette connaissance est transmise et réaffirmée par chaque génération suivante.

Adaptation de textes du Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario.

Événement

Discussion avec Brian Jungen et Duane Linklater
2014.09.12

Rencontre-discussion avec Brian Jungen (artiste d’origine suisse et dane-zaa, premier lauréat du Prix artistique Sobey en 2002) et Duane Linklater (membre de la nation Cree Omaskêko ayant notamment remporté la même distinction en 2013).

Lire plus

Entretien

Visionnez l’entretien réalisé avec Brian Jungen et Duane Linklater dans le cadre de leur exposition Modest Livelihood, présentée à VOX.

Voir l’entretien