Challenge for Change / Société Nouvelle: Documents in Participatory Democracy

Logo of the documentary program Challenge for Change / Société nouvelle, National Film Board of Canada, 1967-1980. Courtesy of the National Film Board of Canada.

Bill Reid (dir.), Challenge for Change, still, 1968, 16mm film transferred to DVD, 24 min 21 s. Courtesy of the National Film Board of Canada.

Len Chatwin (prod.), VTR Rosendale, still, 1974, videotape recording and 16mm film transferred to DVD, 31 min
17 s. Courtesy of the National Film Board of Canada.

Bonnie Sherr Klein (dir.) and George C. Stoney (prod.), Opération boule de neige, still, 1969, videotape recording and 16mm film transferred to DVD, 26 min
25 s. Courtesy of the National Film Board of Canada.

Tanya Ballantyne (dir.) and John Kemeny (prod.), The Things I Cannot Change, still, 1967, 16mm film transferred to DVD,
55 min 05 s. Courtesy of the National Film Board of Canada.

Bonnie Sherr Klein (dir./prod.), Citizens’ Medecine, still, 1970, 16mm film transferred to DVD, 30 min 18 s. Courtesy of the National Film Board of Canada.

Willie Dunn (dir.) and Barrie Howells (prod.), The Ballad of Crowfoot, still, 1968, 16mm film transferred to DVD, 10 min
18 s. Courtesy of the National Film Board of Canada.

David Hughes (prod.), PowWow at Duck Lake, still, 1967, 16mm film transferred to DVD, 14 min 30 s. Courtesy of the National Film Board of Canada.

Mort Ransen (dir.) and George C. Stoney (prod.), You Are on Indian Land, still, 1969, 16mm film transferred to DVD, 36 min 48 s. Courtesy of the National Film Board of Canada.

Kathleen Shannon (dir./prod.), They appreciate You More, still, 1974, 16mm film transferred to DVD, 14 min 42 s. Courtesy of the National Film Board of Canada.

Kathleen Shannon (dir./prod.), Mothers Are People, still, 1974, 16mm film transferred to DVD, 07 min 18 s. Courtesy of the National Film Board of Canada.

View of the exhibition Challenge for Change / Société Nouvelle: Documents in Participatory Democracy, VOX, from September 11 to November 1, 2014.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Challenge for Change / Société Nouvelle: Documents in Participatory Democracy, VOX, from September 11 to November 1, 2014.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.
2014.09.11 - 11.01

Opening on September 11, 2014 at
5:00 pm

A project by Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen.

This film selection is presented in collaboration with the National Film Board of Canada (NFB).

Please scroll down this page for our detailed programming.

JACQUELINE HOANG NGUYEN

Established in 1939, the National Film Commission—later renamed the National Film Board of Canada / Office national du film du Canada (NFB/ONF)—was created with the guidance of John Grierson. A documentary filmmaker and film critic, Grierson coined the term “documentary” in a film review published in the New York Sun almost nine decades ago. In his terms, “[the] documentary is the branch of film production which goes to the actual, and photographs it and edits it and shapes it. It attempts to give form and pattern to the complex and direct observation.”1 He further continues and explains that “[by] the very conditions of that reality, we are concerned not with a personal work, but with a public work.”2 Grierson had the firm belief that representation is not simply a report of the activities of daily life, but a visual art about the ordinary world for public education. His legacy was unprecedented in laying the groundwork for the Canadian public institution of filmmaking.

During the postwar era, poverty became a public issue in Canada, contrarily to the prevalent vision of affluence of the time. To alleviate the situation, in 1965 the federal Privy Council Office put in place a group of specialists to study and encourage greater federal-provincial co-operation in combating poverty. As part of their mandate, the NFB was asked to make a film reflecting Canadians’ social situation. Tanya Ballantyne Tree’s pilot film, The Things I Cannot Change, was aired on television in 1967 and became one of the most controversial films ever released by the Film Board. It was received with harsh criticism and became a forerunner of the Challenge for Change / Société Nouvelle (CFC/SN) program. The film depicts the life of the Baileys, a family in Montreal’s Pointe-Saint-Charles district, an area riddled with poverty and unemployment. The main point of contention was how the family was manipulated and exploited for the making of the film. Without even knowing about the film’s broadcast, the Bailey family were later teased and ridiculed by their neighbours and, consequently, had to move. In response to these criticisms raised by fellow filmmakers and community activists, the formation of CFC/SN was an effort to allow the disfranchised and the working class to have control over their image.

In addition to the pairing of technological improvements and governmental support, it was the CFC/SN program that really defined the participatory model of documentary filmmaking by putting the media into the “hands of the people.” Technological advancements, particularly during the second half of the 20th century, were instrumental in the development of the documentary tradition. For example, lighter and smaller recording equipment, synchronized sound and image, and smaller crews contributed to greater mobility out in the field and transformed documentary filmmaking practices at large. “Directors” were no longer directors but “media counsellors,” and they were in charge of helping local citizens use the media more effectively. Workshops were offered to community members to learn how to use recording devices and editing equipment, and council meetings were organized to review raw footage and edit material collectively. Thus, the streets of the citizens became the site for audio-visual inscription. Certain films were subsequently aired on television, and the Film Board would sometimes conduct surveys about the reception of the work, randomly telephoning viewers and asking if they had watched a given film.3 The aim of CFC/SN was not only to capture “reality,” but to re-organize social relations through the making of images to create a new public voice. CFC/SN envisioned the kinds of communities, collectivities, spaces and dialogues that are central to the making of a new society. Documentary films were not merely mirrors for reality anymore, but rather something socially useful for change.

The films selected for this series Challenge for Change / Société Nouvelle: Documents in Participatory Democracy revisit the questions once posed by the CFC/SN program and, in today’s light, resonate with some of the existing pressing issues within Canadian society. Divided into five blocks, each segment explores a key theme of CFC/SN and serves as proof in visual experimentations for political change (although some of the changes are yet to be realized): Introduction to CFC/SN, The Activist Image in the Hands of Its Citizens, Social Changes for the Poor, For Indigenous Governance and the Autonomous Image, and Not All Working Mothers Are Equal. In these times of austerity, where in the government’s eyes culture must take a back seat to capitalism, the culled films are examples of alternative social relations for image-making, for a dialogical relation between the film and the filmed, thus for a commitment to moving images and public change.

1. John Grierson, “Postwar Patterns,” Hollywood Quarterly, Vol. 1, No. 2 (January 1946), p. 159–65.
2. Ibid.
3. For a more in-depth analysis of the strategies deployed by CFC/SN and the program’s social impact, the essays published in the book Challenge for Change: Activist Documentary at the National Film Board of Canada (ed. Thomas Waugh, Michael Brendan Baker and Ezra Winton, Montreal and Kingston: McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2010), are paramount.

“A program designed to improve communications, create greater understanding, promote new ideas and provoke social change.”
— From the promotional poster of the film Challenge for Change (1968)

Between 1967 and 1980 the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) created an unparalleled effort between government bureaucrats, documentary filmmakers, community activists and “common” citizens under the banner Challenge for Change / Société Nouvelle (CFC/SN). Approximately 145 films and videos were produced in English, and another 60 or so in French. Mostly shot on 16mm film or Sony Portapak video, the documentaries were made collaboratively with their subjects, and their aim was to seize and disseminate pressing issues in Canadian society, in turn generating social change. The methods employed were radical for the time and raised questions such as: “Can an on-going film project serve as a cohesive agent and catalyst for change within a community, and serve as a means of communication with government?” “What is community organizing?” and “What role can film play in participatory democracy?” The films selected for the series Challenge for Change / Société Nouvelle: Documents in Participatory Democracy revisit the questions once posed by the CFC/SN program, while serving as proofs in visual experimentations for political change.

Event

Discussion with Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen
2014.11.01

Join us as of 11 am on Saturday, November 1st, for Challenge for Change / Société Nouvelle‘s finissage. After a screening of all ten films selected by Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen, stay with us from 3:30 to 5:00 pm for an intimate discussion with her. 

Read more

Programming

Programming divided into five thematic blocks

A : Introduction to CFC/SN
• Challenge for Change (OEV), 1968, 24 min 21 s.

B : The Activist Image in the Hands of Its Citizens
• VTR Rosedale (OEV), 1974, 31 min 17 s.
• Opération boule de neige (OFV), 1969, 26 min 25 s.

C : Social Changes for the Poor
• The Things I Cannot Change (OEV), 1967, 55 min 05 s.
• Citizens’ Medecine (bilingual), 1970, 30 min 18 s.

D : For Indigenous Governance and the Autonomous Image
• The Ballad of Crowfoot (OEV), 1968, 10 min 18 s.
• PowWow at Duck Lake (OEV), 1967, 14 min 30 s.
• You Are on Indian Land (OEV, French SUB), 1969, 36 min 48 s.

E : Not All Working Mothers Are Equal
• They appreciate You More (OEV), 1974, 14 min 42 s.
• Mothers Are People (OEV), 1974, 07 min 18 s.

Films shown in a loop Tuesday to Friday
A and E: Tuesday
B: Wednesday
C: Thursday
D: Friday

Complete programming on Saturday (approximate schedule)
A: 12:00 pm
B: 12:30 pm
C: 1:30 pm
D: 3:00 pm
E: 4:00 pm

Follow this link for brief abstracts of all ten films, as provided by the NFB.

Biography

Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen

French-Canadian of Vietnamese origin, Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen is a research-based artist currently living and working in Montreal (CA) and Stockholm (SE). Using a broad range of mediums…

Read more

Challenge for Change / Société Nouvelle: Documents in Participatory Democracy

Logo du programme de documentaires Challenge for Change / Société nouvelle, Office national du film du Canada, 1967-1980. Avec l’aimable permission de l’Office national du film du Canada.

Bill Reid (réal.), Challenge for Change, image fixe, 1968, film 16mm transféré sur DVD, 24 min 21 s. Avec l’aimable permission de l’Office national du film du Canada.

Len Chatwin (prod.), VTR Rosendale, image fixe, 1974, magnétoscope à bandes et film 16mm transféré sur DVD, 31 min 17 s. Avec l’aimable permission de l’Office national du film du Canada.

Bonnie Sherr Klein (réal.) et George C. Stoney (prod.), Opération boule de neige, image fixe, 1969, magnétoscope à bandes et film 16mm transféré sur DVD, 26 min 25 s. Avec l’aimable permission de l’Office national du film du Canada.

Tanya Ballantyne (réal.) et John Kemeny (prod.), The Things I Cannot Change, image fixe, 1967, film 16mm transféré sur DVD, 55 min 05 s. Avec l’aimable permission de l’Office national du film du Canada.

Bonnie Sherr Klein (réal./prod.), Citizens’ Medecine, image fixe, 1970, film 16mm transféré sur DVD, 30 min 18 s. Avec l’aimable permission de l’Office national du film du Canada.

Willie Dunn (réal.) et Barrie Howells (prod.), The Ballad of Crowfoot, image fixe, 1968, film 16mm transféré sur DVD, 10 min 18 s. Avec l’aimable permission de l’Office national du film du Canada.

David Hughes (prod.), PowWow at Duck Lake, image fixe, 1967, film 16mm transféré sur DVD, 14 min 30 s. Avec l’aimable permission de l’Office national du film du Canada.

Mort Ransen (réal.) et George C. Stoney (prod.), You Are on Indian Land, image fixe, 1969, film 16mm transféré sur DVD, 36 min 48 s. Avec l’aimable permission de l’Office national du film du Canada.

Kathleen Shannon (réal./prod.), They appreciate You More, image fixe, 1974, film 16mm transféré sur DVD, 14 min 42 s. Avec l’aimable permission de l’Office national du film du Canada.

Kathleen Shannon (réal./prod.), Mothers Are People, image fixe, 1974, film 16mm transféré sur DVD, 07 min 18 s. Avec l’aimable permission de l’Office national du film du Canada.

Vue de l’exposition Challenge for Change / Société Nouvelle: Documents in Participatory Democracy, VOX, du 11 septembre au 1er novembre 2014.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Challenge for Change / Société Nouvelle: Documents in Participatory Democracy, VOX, du 11 septembre au 1er novembre 2014.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.
2014.09.11 - 11.01

Vernissage le 11 septembre 2014 à 17 h

Une proposition de Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen.

Cette sélection de films est présentée en collaboration avec l’Office national du film du Canada (ONF).

Veuillez faire défiler cette page vers le bas pour consulter notre programmation détaillée.

JACQUELINE HOANG NGUYEN

Établie en 1939, la Commission nationale du film – renommée par la suite Office national du film du Canada / National Film Board of Canada (ONF/NFB) – fut créée sous la houlette de John Grierson. Réalisateur de documentaires et critique de films, Grierson fut le premier à utiliser le terme « documentaire », dans une analyse de film publiée par le New York Sun il y a près de quatre-vingt-dix ans. Selon lui, « [le] documentaire est la branche de la production filmique qui s’occupe du factuel, qui le photographie, le monte et l’agence. Il tente de donner forme et structure à l’observation directe et complexe1 ». Il poursuit en expliquant que « [par] les conditions mêmes de cette réalité, nous avons affaire à une œuvre non pas personnelle, mais publique2 ». Grierson était fermement convaincu que la représentation constitue non pas un simple compte rendu des activités de la vie quotidienne, mais un art visuel décrivant le monde ordinaire pour l’éducation du public. Sa contribution à l’établissement des fondations de l’institution publique canadienne consacrée à la réalisation de films fut sans précédent.

La pauvreté était un problème public au Canada au cours de l’après-guerre, contrairement à l’idée répandue voulant qu’il s’agisse d’une période d’abondance. Afin d’améliorer la situation, le Bureau du Conseil privé fédéral mit sur pied en 1965 un groupe de spécialistes chargés d’étudier la question et d’encourager une meilleure coopération entre les organismes fédéraux et provinciaux pour lutter contre la pauvreté. Dans le cadre de ce mandat, l’ONF reçut la mission de réaliser un film reflétant la situation sociale des Canadiens. Le film pilote, The Things I Cannot Change de Tanya Ballantyne Tree, fut diffusé à la télévision en 1967 et reste l’un des films les plus controversés jamais produits par l’Office national du film. Âprement critiqué, il fut néanmoins l’un des ancêtres du programme Challenge for Change / Société nouvelle (CFC/SN). Le film décrit la vie des Baileys, une famille habitant à Montréal dans le quartier Pointe-Saint-Charles, un coin largement affecté par la pauvreté et le chômage. Ce qui a suscité la controverse, c’est la manière dont la famille a été manipulée et exploitée pour les besoins du film. Les Baileys, auxquels on avait d’ailleurs négligé de signaler que le film serait diffusé à la télévision, furent par la suite harcelés et ridiculisés par leurs voisins, et finirent par déménager. En réponse aux critiques soulevées par d’autres réalisateurs et par des activistes communautaires, la création de CFC/SN symbolisait une volonté de permettre aux gens démunis et aux travailleurs de contrôler leur image.

Parallèlement aux effets combinés du progrès technique et du soutien gouvernemental, ce fut le programme CFC/SN qui permit d’établir un modèle participatif de réalisation documentaire en remettant le médium entre les « mains du peuple ». Les avancées technologiques, particulièrement durant la seconde moitié du 20e siècle, jouèrent un rôle déterminant dans le développement de la tradition documentaire. Des appareils d’enregistrement plus petits et plus légers, la synchronisation du son et de l’image, et des équipes réduites contribuèrent notamment à une plus grande mobilité sur le terrain et transformèrent les pratiques de réalisation documentaire dans leur ensemble. Les « réalisateurs » n’étaient plus des réalisateurs, ils étaient désormais des « conseillers techniques », chargés d’aider les citoyens des communautés concernées à utiliser le médium plus efficacement. Des ateliers étaient offerts aux membres des communautés pour leur apprendre à utiliser le matériel d’enregistrement et de montage, et des réunions de comité étaient organisées afin de passer les rushs en revue et de faire le montage collectivement. La rue des citoyens devenait ainsi un lieu d’inscription audiovisuelle. Certains de ces films furent par la suite diffusés à la télévision, et l’Office national du film effectuait parfois des sondages sur la réception des œuvres en appelant des spectateurs au hasard et en leur demandant s’ils avaient regardé tel film3. Le but de CFC/SN était non seulement de saisir la « réalité », mais également de réorganiser les relations sociales à travers la production d’images afin de faire entendre une nouvelle voix publique. CFC/SN permettait de concevoir le type de communautés, de collectivités, d’espaces et de dialogues qui sont essentiels à la formation d’une nouvelle société. Les documentaires étaient non plus de simples miroirs de la réalité, mais plutôt un outil de changement socialement utile.

Les films sélectionnés pour la série Challenge for Change / Société Nouvelle: Documents in Participatory Democracy revisitent les questions posées autrefois par CFC/SN, et, comme on le constate aujourd’hui, font écho à des problèmes qui sont toujours d’actualité au sein de la société canadienne. La série comprend cinq volets : Introduction to CFC/SN, The Activist Image in the Hands of Its Citizens, Social Changes for the Poor, For Indigenous Governance and the Autonomous Image et Not All Working Mothers Are Equal. Chacun explore un thème central de CFC/SN et présente un éventail d’expérimentations visuelles au service du changement politique (bien que certains de ces changements restent à réaliser). En cette époque d’austérité, où la culture doit, aux yeux du gouvernement, céder la place au capitalisme, les films présentés ici montrent comment un autre type de rapports sociaux est possible dans le cadre de la production d’images, d’une relation dialogique entre le film et les sujets filmés, ainsi que d’un réel engagement envers le cinéma et le changement social.

1. John Grierson, « Postwar Patterns », Hollywood Quarterly, vol. 1, no 2 (janvier 1946), p. 159-165. Notre traduction.
2. Ibid.
3. Pour une analyse plus approfondie des stratégies déployées par CFC/SN et de l’impact social du programme, les essais publiés dans l’ouvrage Challenge for Change: Activist Documentary at the National Film Board of Canada (sous la direction de Thomas Waugh, Michael Brendan Baker et Ezra Winton, Montréal et Kingston, McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2010) sont essentiels.

 

« Un programme conçu pour améliorer la communication, instaurer une meilleure compréhension, promouvoir de nouvelles idées et provoquer un changement social. »1
— Affiche promotionnelle du film Challenge for Change (1968)

De 1967 à 1980, l’Office national du film (ONF) a mis en place une démarche sans précédent réunissant des fonctionnaires, des réalisateurs de documentaires, des activistes communautaires et des citoyens « ordinaires » sous la bannière Challenge for Change / Société nouvelle (CFC/SN). Environ cent quarante-cinq films et vidéos furent produits en anglais, et une soixantaine en français. Tournés essentiellement en 16 mm ou à l’aide d’une caméra vidéo Sony Portapak, les documentaires étaient réalisés en collaboration avec leurs sujets, et avaient pour but de saisir et de faire connaître les problèmes les plus urgents de la société canadienne, devenant à leur tour des outils de changement. Les méthodes employées étaient radicales pour l’époque et soulevaient des questions telles que : « Un projet de film mené sur plusieurs années peut-il être un agent de cohésion et un catalyseur de changement au sein d’une communauté ainsi qu’un moyen de communication avec le gouvernement ? », « Qu’est-ce que l’organisation communautaire ? » et « Quel rôle le film peut-il jouer dans une démocratie participative ? » Les films choisis pour la série Challenge for Change / Société Nouvelle: Documents in Participatory Democracy revisitent les questions posées autrefois par le programme CFC/SN, tout en montrant que l’expérimentation visuelle peut devenir un vecteur de changement politique.

1. Notre traduction.

Événement

Discussion avec Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen
2014.11.01

Dans le cadre du finissage de Challenge for Change / Société Nouvelle, rendez-vous dès 11 h le samedi 1er novembre pour un visionnement en rafale des dix films sélectionnés par Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen. Restez des nôtres de 15 h 30 à 17 h pour une rencontre-discussion.

Lire plus

Programmation

Programmation en cinq volets thématiques

A : Introduction to CFC/SN
• Challenge for Change (v.o. en anglais), 1968, 24 min 21 s.

B : The Activist Image in the Hands of Its Citizens
• VTR Rosedale (v.o. en anglais), 1974, 31 min 17 s.
• Opération boule de neige (v.o. en français), 1969, 26 min 25 s.

C : Social Changes for the Poor
• The Things I Cannot Change (v.o. en anglais), 1967, 55 min 5 s.
• Citizens’ Medecine (v.o. bilingue), 1970, 30 min 18 s.

D : For Indigenous Governance and the Autonomous Image
• The Ballad of Crowfoot (v.o. en anglais), 1968, 10 min 18 s.
• PowWow at Duck Lake (v.o. en anglais, 1967, 14 min 30 s.
• You Are on Indian Land, 1969, 36 min 48 s.

E : Not All Working Mothers Are Equal
• They appreciate You More (v.o. en anglais), 1974, 14 min 42 s.
• Mothers Are People (v.o. en anglais), 1974, 07 min 18 s.

Films présentés en boucle du mardi au vendredi
A et E : mardi
B : mercredi
C : jeudi
D : vendredi

Programmation complète le samedi (horaire approximatif)
A : 12 h
B : 12 h 30
C : 13 h 30
D : 15 h
E : 16 h

Suivez ce lien pour de brèves descriptions des dix films, telles que fournies par L’ONF.

Biographie

Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen

Québécoise d’origine vietnamienne, Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen est une artiste qui vit et travaille actuellement à Montréal et Stockholm, en Suède. Utilisant un large éventail de médiums…

Lire plus