Chantal Maes. Voyage Out

Chantal Maes, from the serie Voyage Out, 2003-2009, digital pigment print, 60 x 90 cm. Courtesy of the artist.

Chantal Maes, from the serie Voyage Out, 2003-2009, digital pigment print, 60 x 90 cm. Courtesy of the artist.

Chantal Maes, from the serie Voyage Out, 2003-2009, digital pigment print, 60 x 90 cm. Courtesy of the artist.

View of the exhibition Chantal Maes. Voyage Out, VOX, from January 16 to February 27, 2010.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Chantal Maes. Voyage Out, VOX, from January 16 to February 27, 2010.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Chantal Maes. Voyage Out, VOX, from January 16 to February 27, 2010.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Chantal Maes. Voyage Out, VOX, from January 16 to February 27, 2010.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.
2010.01.16 - 03.06

Chantal Maes

Opening January 16, 2012

This exhibition is a collaboration between VOX, centre de l’image contemporaine and Espace photographique Contretype in Brussels. It is a Coopération Wallonie-Bruxelles/ Québec project.

Chantal Maes. Rustlings of the Soul

CATHERINE MAYEUR

Chantal gives us the impression that she believes her rapport with her craft is improbable, constantly postponed. For her photographs leave us on the threshold—welcoming, yes, but offering no express invitation to enter. She seems to want to say a lot, but in subtle, discreet ways, and she seems hesitant. It’s the same as when she speaks: she blushes, searches for just the right words. But we remain transfixed, tranquil, before such mute intensity, such concentration on saying the unsayable. Before the acute attention she pays to silence or to nascent speech. She leaves us in a thought that is no longer sure of itself. This is healthy. She leaves us nearly speechless; the discursive activity that supposedly is the purview of the observer vanishes. Her work makes us see what really goes on when we are in the presence of a work of art: we are, at first contact, plunged into a reservedness where speech is often absent—a mental magma, a close combat that is turbid, dense and silent. It is not easy to put what concerns us into words, even when the emotion is lasting. Or precisely because the emotion is lasting.

In my recollections, even in repeated confrontations with her photographic portraits—and with her videos that, descriptively, show only words—I always think that Chantal is showing lips. It’s a haunting image. Lips half-opened or half-smiling, lips that are thinking, lips that are hesitating before speaking. That are about to enunciate but are endlessly holding back, seeking the right words. We feel as if won over by the photographers’s gentle, discerning, almost jubilant indecision. The form is perpetually in a state of becoming, even when frozen by the camera. This is a consented choice, which satisfies her, and leaves the spectator hanging.

You have seen her photographs (certainly there is no point in reading a text without having seen the work it aims to describe). You have seen Catherine, questioning herself between two suspended utterances. From one image of this diptych to the other, the mouth traces an almost imperceptible movement, while the eyes remain fixed with the same emotion on the rustlings of the soul. It is as if the subject forgot the photographer as she stared at her lens. A moment of grace, they say. Nothing but evanescent, yet complicit, speech. In the case of Laurence, the duration of the thought is spoken in the inconceivable temporal contraction of the single photograph.

With Inward Whispers, begun in the late 1990s, Chantal had already condensed an indeterminate period of time, a hiatus within life, in each image. This series of portraits of airport employees laid bare those moments that we describe as “absent-mindedness” when they in fact afford us an inward perspective, even if it is made up of driftings—of shifts that elude awareness. The widened eyes seem to open up onto a space of sheer inwardness. Their bewitching silence nonetheless hints at an interior monologue, full of breaches and branching-offs, of uncontrolled articulations.

Voyage Out was in a sense an extension of the previous series, since, by her own admission, Chantal strove to “make visible a mental wandering”—a reference to Nathalie Sarraute’s Tropismes. The faces in close-up suggest a subtle oscillation between self-presence and porosity to micro-events occurring outside. The models’ wandering, between concentration and availability for the most unexpected associations, conveys that of the photographer at work, and unmistakably refers to the viewer’s thought processes.

With the video installation Take a Look from the Inside (a title that would be an apt descriptor for all of her work), Chantal follows ever so closely the mental workings generated by the act of reading. Very clearly, she makes them visible through the movement of the camera, recording a printed page, a segment at a time, while speaking the words aloud in a dislocated cadence—that of decryption through the viewfinder. The staccato scrolling of image and speech creates a dizzying mise en abîme of Christian Dotremont’s text Qu’il nous arrive de bafouiller. We are thrust into the very heart of creation in the process of being said, in contrast to the opaque plane of the blank white page.

Which brings us back to photography, to the screens/faces, which paradoxically afford glimpses into the unplumbable depths of being, and to the recent landscapes. The centrepoint of these views of urban space is a pair of images that, according to the artist, mark a return to awareness, a surging forth of the present tense. A child dressed as Spider-Man runs through a park; a white, blurred van seems to float in a street. They are headed toward us, indeed revealing an incursion from the outside—but, to my mind, these enigmatic loomings still engender a feeling of absence. The arrested movement of the masked boy and the spectral, derealized appearance of the vehicle manifest themselves in a similarly suspended space and time. And indeed Chantal had to return to the scene with her view camera, reducing the playground to a space of singular emptiness. The landscapes, though still linked to the city, seem dehumanized, establishing themselves as deserted scenes, where even the sky is absent, and one comes up against these highly constructed two-dimensional expanses. The all-over depiction of the trimmed hedge proves emblematic, its opaque surface intensifying the flatness of the photograph. These views—which in fact are no more “landscapes” than the faces are “portraits”—also evoke trains of thought, here exteriorized by a spatial shift (the modified perspective, the blurriness) or a temporal one (marked, for example, by the change in climate). Repetition functions like a spreading-out of thought. The coherence of the work asserts itself, beyond all thematic concerns.

A few days ago, Chantal mentioned to me a certain affinity with the work of Walker Evans. Though I hadn’t made the association before, I can well understand it now. She initially referred, not surprisingly, to the New York City subway studies, Many Are Called, with their testimonials to errant thoughts in that transitional space-time, where close quarters demand a retreat into oneself. But what unites these two vastly different auteurs, more generally, may well be a belief in the aporia of the photographic portrait. That, and the assertion that the image cannot extend beyond the surface of the visible. Even more so, their works remind us of the vanity inherent in the desire to say or show everything—and in the conviction that pictures reveal some kind of truth.

Biography

Chantal Maes

Chantal Maes

Chantal Maes was born in 1965 in Brussels, Belgium, where she lives and works. She has a diploma in photography from the École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Visuels de la Cambre in Brussels (1989). Her most…

Read more

Journal # 32 - 01.2010

Read the online journal for the exhibition Chantal Maes. Voyage Out

Chantal Maes. Voyage Out

Chantal Maes, extrait de la série Voyage Out, 2003-2009, tirage numérique aux pigments, 60 x 90 cm. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Chantal Maes, extrait de la série Voyage Out, 2003-2009, tirage numérique aux pigments, 60 x 90 cm. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Chantal Maes, extrait de la série Voyage Out, 2003-2009, tirage numérique aux pigments, 60 x 90 cm. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Vue de l’exposition Chantal Maes. Voyage Out, VOX, du 16 janvier au 3 mars 2010.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Chantal Maes. Voyage Out, VOX, du 16 janvier au 3 mars 2010.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Chantal Maes. Voyage Out, VOX, du 16 janvier au 3 mars 2010.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Chantal Maes. Voyage Out, VOX, du 16 janvier au 3 mars 2010.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.
2010.01.16 - 03.06

Chantal Maes

Vernissage le 16 janvier 2010

Cette exposition est une collaboration entre VOX et l’Espace photographique Contretype à Bruxelles et s’inscrit dans le projet de coopération Wallonie-Bruxelles/Québec.

Chantal Maes. Les bruissements de l'âme

CATHERINE MAYEUR

Chantal, on dirait qu’elle croit la rencontre improbable, toujours différée, avec son travail. Ses photographies, en effet, nous laissent sur le seuil, certes accueillant, mais sans l’invite expresse d’entrer. Elle voudrait dire beaucoup, mais tout en nuances, avec discrétion, et elle semble hésiter. C’est comme lorsqu’elle parle : elle rougit, elle cherche avec précision ses mots. Mais l’on reste médusé, coi, devant cette intensité muette, cette concentration pour dire l’indicible, devant son attention aiguë au silence ou à la parole émergente. Elle nous laisse dans une pensée qui n’est plus sûre d’elle-même. C’est salutaire. Elle nous laisse presque sans mot et l’activité discursive qui revient, paraît-il, au regardeur, s’estompe. Son travail nous fait voir ce qui se passe vraiment devant l’œuvre d’art : nous sommes, au premier contact, plongés dans un quant-à-soi où le langage fait souvent défaut, dans un magma mental et un corps à corps trouble, dense et silencieux. Il n’est pas aisé de formuler ce qui nous regarde, même quand l’émotion est durable. Ou justement parce que l’émotion est durable.

Dans mon souvenir, ou même dans le face-à-face réitéré avec ses portraits photographiques, avec ses vidéos qui, de manière descriptive, ne montrent que des mots, je pense toujours que Chantal montre des lèvres. Une image obsédante. Des lèvres entrouvertes ou mi-souriantes, des lèvres qui pensent, des lèvres qui hésitent sur le dire. Qui sont sur le point d’énoncer mais qui se retiennent, indéfiniment, pour trouver une juste formulation. L’on se sent comme gagné par la douce et perspicace, presque jubilatoire, indécision de la photographe. La forme est en devenir, même figée par l’appareil. C’est un choix consenti, qui la satisfait, et qui laisse le spectateur en suspens.

Vous avez vu ses photographies (il n’y a aucun intérêt à lire un texte, j’en suis convaincue, avant d’avoir vu le travail auquel il tente de se rapporter). Vous avez vu cette Catherine, qui s’interroge entre deux suspensions de mots. D’une image à l’autre de ce diptyque, la bouche esquisse un mouvement presque imperceptible, tandis que les yeux restent fixés avec la même émotion sur les bruissements de l’âme. C’est comme si elle avait oublié la photographe, alors qu’elle fixe son objectif. Un moment de grâce, dit-on. Rien que cette évanescence de la parole, pourtant complice. Quant à Laurence, la durée de la pensée se dit dans l’inconcevable contraction temporelle de l’unique photographie.

Déjà Inward Whispers, travail entrepris à la fin des années 1990, condensait, dans chaque image, un laps de temps indéterminé, un hiatus dans la vie. Cette série de portraits d’employés d’aéroport mettait à nu ces moments que l’on dit d’absence alors qu’ils permettent un retour sur soi, même s’il est fait de dérives, de déplacements qui échappent à la conscience. Les yeux écarquillés semblent s’ouvrir sur un espace tout d’intériorité. Leur fascinant silence n’en laisse pas moins deviner un monologue privé, plein de ruptures et de bifurcations, d’articulations incontrôlées.

Voyage Out poursuit en quelque sorte cette précédente série car, selon ses propres mots, Chantal tend à « rendre visible une errance mentale », en référence aux Tropismes de Nathalie Sarraute. Les visages en gros plan évoquent un va-et-vient subtil entre présence à soi et porosité aux micro-événements extérieurs. L’errance des modèles, entre concentration et disponibilité aux associations les plus inattendues, traduit celle de la photographe à l’œuvre et renvoie immanquablement aux mouvements de pensée du spectateur.

Avec la vidéo Take a Look from the Inside, titre qui pourrait concerner tout son travail, Chantal suit au plus près les jeux de l’esprit que suscite la lecture. De manière très nette, elle les donne à voir par le déplacement de la caméra qui filme une page imprimée, bribe par bribe, tout en prononçant les mots à voix haute, sur un rythme disloqué, celui du déchiffrement à travers le viseur. Le défilement saccadé de l’image et de la parole opère une vertigineuse mise en abîme du texte de Christian Dotremont, Qu’il nous arrive de bafouiller. Une plongée au cœur même de la création en train de se dire, en contraste avec le plan opaque de la feuille blanche.

Celui-ci nous ramène à la photographie, aux visages-écrans, qui laissent pourtant entrevoir l’insondable profondeur de l’être, et aux récents paysages. Les vues de l’espace urbain ont pour point central deux images qui, selon l’artiste, marquent un retour à la conscience, une irruption du temps présent. Un enfant déguisé en Spiderman court dans un parc, une camionnette blanche et floue semble flotter dans une rue. Ils se dirigent vers nous, accusent en effet une incursion de l’extérieur, mais, à mon sens, ces surgissements énigmatiques donnent encore un sentiment d’absence. Le mouvement figé du gamin, masqué, l’apparition fantomatique, déréalisée, du véhicule, se manifestent dans une semblable suspension de l’espace et du temps. Et en effet Chantal a dû revenir sur les lieux avec sa chambre technique, pour ne montrer de la plaine de jeux qu’un espace d’une singulière vacuité. Les paysages, bien que toujours liés à la ville, semblent déshumanisés, s’érigent en scènes désertes, où même le ciel fait défaut, et l’on se heurte à ces pans très construits en deux dimensions. Le all-over de haie taillée s’avère emblématique de par sa surface opaque qui redouble la planéité de la photographie. Ces vues – qui ne sont en fait pas plus des « paysages » que les visages des « portraits » – traduisent aussi des cheminements de l’esprit, extériorisés ici par le déplacement spatial (la modification du point de vue, le flou) ou temporel (marqué par exemple par le changement de climat). La répétition opère comme un déploiement de la pensée. La cohérence du travail s’affirme, au-delà de toute thématique.

Il y a quelques jours, Chantal m’évoquait quelque relation avec le travail de Walker Evans. Si je ne fis pas d’abord cette association, je la comprends bien maintenant. Elle a d’abord mentionné, bien sûr, la série réalisée dans le métro new-yorkais, Many Are Called, témoin des égarements de la pensée dans ce lieu de transition spatiotemporelle, où la promiscuité réclame un repli sur soi. Mais c’est peut-être, d’une manière plus générale, la conviction de l’aporie du portrait photographique qui relie ces deux auteurs si différents. Et aussi l’affirmation que l’image ne peut aller au-delà de la surface du visible. Plus encore, leurs travaux nous rappellent la vanité de vouloir tout dire, tout montrer, de croire que l’image révélerait une vérité.

Biographie

Chantal Maes

Chantal Maes est née en 1965 à Bruxelles, Belgique, où elle vit et travaille. Elle détient un diplôme en photographie de l’École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Visuels de la Cambre à Bruxelles (1989)…

Lire plus

Journal # 32 - 01.2010

Consulter le journal de l’exposition Chantal Maes. Voyage Out en ligne