Chto Delat? Performative Practices of Our Time

Chto Delat?, The Excluded. In a Moment of Danger, still, 2014, 4-channel video installation, 57 min 35 s (Russian, subtitled in English). Courtesy of KOW Berlin.

Chto Delat?, The Excluded. In a Moment of Danger, still, 2014, 4-channel video installation, 57 min 35 s (Russian, subtitled in English). Courtesy of KOW Berlin.

Chto Delat?, Perestroika Songspiel. Victory over the Coup, still, 2008, video, 26 min 23 s (Russian, subtitled in French and English). Courtesy of KOW Berlin.

Chto Delat?, Perestroika Songspiel. Victory over the Coup, still, 2008, video, 26 min 23 s (Russian, subtitled in French and English). Courtesy of KOW Berlin.

Chto Delat?, Museum Songspiel. The Netherlands 20XX, still, 2011, video, 25 min 21 s (Dutch, subtitled in English). Courtesy of KOW Berlin.

Chto Delat?, Museum Songspiel. The Netherlands 20XX, still, 2011, video, 25 min 21 s (Dutch, subtitled in English). Courtesy of KOW Berlin.

Chto Delat?, Palace Square 100 Years After. Four Seasons of Zombie, still, 2017, film-lecture, 36 min 20 s (Russian, subtitled in English). Courtesy of KOW Berlin.

Chto Delat?, Palace Square 100 Years After. Four Seasons of Zombie, still, 2017, film-lecture, 36 min 20 s (Russian, subtitled in English). Courtesy of KOW Berlin.

2018.02.14 - 03.31

Chto Delat?

Curator
Véronique Leblanc

Opening on February 14, 2018 at 5:00 pm

Chto Delat? Performative Practices of Our Time

VÉRONIQUE LEBLANC

The multidisciplinary, politically charged productions of the collective Chto Delat? (“What is to be done?”1) employ narrative strategies borrowed from the theatre of Bertolt Brecht and reclaim elements of the aesthetic vocabulary of the avant-garde2 to open up a critical space in historical and present-day Russia. The exhibition Chto Delat? Performative Practices of Our Time brings together works created by the collective over a decade, within the post-Soviet context of the 2000s, and which today address the intensifying of the politically repressive climate instituted by the Vladimir Putin regime. Using diverse forms of performativity, these works highlight the clash of multiple forms of discourse—conservative, nationalist, religious, neoliberalist, reformist—permeating contemporary social and political struggles. They examine the ways in which individuals think, live and, especially, feel their relationship to the greater whole.

The installation Performative Practices of Our Time (2017) opens the exhibition, offering an immersion into the recent history of Russia and Ukraine.3 A collection of images gleaned from the Web invades the gallery walls; these include digital photographs, Internet memes, and GIFs, widely circulated on social networks and enlarged for presentation in the installation. They depict military attacks, various kinds of patriotic demonstrations that resonate in popular culture, army hazing rituals, and a host of other representations of events reflecting either dogmatic or anticonformist stances. Positioned in the gallery space so as to contrast with one another, the images make up an inventory of symbolic actions, in varying degrees of strangeness, which manifest themselves as performative rituals. They convey an eclectic array of ideological affiliations and beliefs, all of which function to conceal various forms of violence. Constituting a chronicle of the ongoing catastrophe to which we have become accustomed by the news, the installation explores the power of representation in instituting a certain reality, and the capacity of art to respond to it. Presented in the same space, the installation Dream of a Protester (2016–17) documents an intervention by the collective in a public square in St. Petersburg. Using the same principle, it collates a cross-section of opinions from contemporary Russia, from the most insidious to the most brutal, while insisting on the role of the artist as agitator.

Often based on analysis of social realities, Chto Delat’s works seek to awaken vigilance both with regard to phenomena of social exclusion and to how art relates to the dominant culture. Between 2008 and 2011, taking inspiration from the songspiels created by Bertolt Brecht and Kurt Weill in the 1920s and ’30s  the collective produced video, theatrical and musical works involving dialogues among a series of characters who employ stereotypical speech, confronting one another on the stage space. Chto Delat have thus employed the dialectic method and irony as tools to further development of a critical stance against situations of injustice.

Perestroika Songspiel. Victory over the Coup (2008) revisits the collapse of the USSR, more specifically the discourses around economic and social reform in the Soviet Union of the late 1980s and the ensuing period of disorientation in the 1990s. Each character embodies a particular political stance, while a choir comments on their actions. The dialogues and sung interventions highlight the expected divergences as well as surprising points of convergence between the progressive and conservatives dimensions of these individual aspirations to a brighter future.

Museum Songspiel. The Netherlands 20XX (2011), for its part, is set in the future, in a museum, the better to question the relationship between artists and art institutions and power. In the film, a group of illegal immigrants finds refuge in a museum of modern and contemporary art, in an open-air gallery where urban art pieces are shown. The museum is posited as a paradoxical location, simultaneously functioning as a space of refuge, playing host to subversive practices,4 and a neutralizing space, relegating art to its strictly symbolic dimension—even subjecting it to its interpretation by the dominant ideology. The orchestration of a plurality of perspectives within the discursive spaces of these works permits espousal of the contradictions inherent in any situation of political struggle. It underscores the importance of representations of history to the construction of political subjectivities, while disclosing the mechanisms of manipulation of public opinion by the media and the organization of disciplinary spaces by those who hold power.

Employing a similar polyphonic strategy, the video installation The Excluded. In a Moment of Danger (2014) is based on a series of performative exercises by the students of the School of Engaged Art, founded by Chto Delat in 2013. Instead of reporting the narratives permeating the social space via a theatrical mise en scène, this work provides access to a diversity of personal experiences of the threat that emerged in 2014 with the Russian military incursions into Ukraine.5 It refers more directly to ways of viewing one’s relationship to the other, of behaving in the public sphere, and of connecting a vision of one’s self to events in history. It also relies on an improvised gestural language that presents the body as a vector of communication and a locus of resistance.

Performed gestures are also manifest in Palace Square 100 Years After. Four Seasons of Zombie (2017). The script for this film-lecture combines the discursive presence of a protagonist who has come to “feel this history, with [her] own body”6 in St. Petersburg Palace Square 100 years after the Bolshevik Revolution, the musical presence of ghosts of communism, and the gestural incarnation of the zombie figure, to which the narrator assigns different meanings. This work, which will be screened during the exhibition, seeks to establish, conceptually, the possibility of a revolutionary situation in the present.

The exhibition Chto Delat? Performative Practices of Our Time aims to reveal, in the collective’s most recent projects, the shift from a discursive approach to more radical performance-oriented experimentations, in which the introduction of a corporeal relationship to thought seeks to disable the very principle of rationality. It aims to elicit a reading of history that asks us to take a stance, affectively and corporeally; to adopt a “posture” vis-à-vis its resonances in the news. As such, it addresses the imagined spaces of revolution and speaks the language of the material—that of a collective body bent on interfering.

1. The collective’s name refers to the titles of two writings about social emancipation: a novel by Nikolay Chernyshevsky published in 1863 and an essay by Lenin published in 1902. Chto Delat was founded in early 2003 in St. Petersburg.
2. A selection of terms taken from the Chto Delat? Lexicon is provided in the gallery space and on the VOX website. These definitions testify to the development of theoretical analysis that is integral to Chto Delat’s practice, and emphasize the semantic deviation observed when the words are employed in distinct contexts.
3. Relations between the neighbouring countries, which are culturally quite similar, deteriorated significantly following the ouster of pro-Russian president Viktor Yanukovych and the Russian military intervention in Ukraine in 2014.
4. This concept of the institution of contemporary art as a space of refuge is seen again in the project It Hasn’t Happened With Us Yet. Safe Haven (2016), for which Chto Delat imagined its stay in an international residence in Norway for artists in danger of persecution in their home country.
5. On the occasion of an exhibition at Gävle Konstcentrum, Sweden, in 2015–16, Chto Delat described the situation as follows: “The events of recent year [sic] have lodged all the artists and creative workers from Russia into completely new reality with a new cold war atmosphere, exaltation of the search for enemies, the tightening repression of dissent in all forms, and direct military confrontation with Ukraine which left thousands of dead bodies on both sides.” See: https://chtodelat.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/dossier-galve.pdf
6. Oxana Timofeeva, in the film Palace Square 100 Years After. Four Seasons of Zombie, 2017, 36 min 20 s.

Biography

Chto Delat?

The collective Chto Delat? (What is to be done?) was founded in early 2003 in St. Petersburg by a workgroup of artists, critics, philosophers, and writers from Russia with the goal of merging political theory, art, and activism. They create interventions in public spaces, video projects…

Read more

Biography

Véronique Leblanc

Véronique Leblanc is an independent curator, writer and lecturer at Université du Québec à Montréal. She is interested in context, process and relational-based practices as well as connections between art, ethics and politics…

Read more

Chto Delat? Pratiques performatives de notre temps

Chto Delat?, The Excluded. In a Moment of Danger, image fixe, 2014, installation vidéo 4 canaux, 57 min 35 s (en russe, sous-titré en anglais). Avec l’aimable permission de KOW Berlin.

Chto Delat?, The Excluded. In a Moment of Danger, image fixe, 2014, installation vidéo 4 canaux, 57 min 35 s (en russe, sous-titré en anglais). Avec l’aimable permission de KOW Berlin.

Chto Delat?, Perestroika Songspiel. Victory over the Coup, image fixe, 2008, vidéo, 26 min 23 s (en russe, sous-titré en français et en anglais). Avec l’aimable permission de KOW Berlin.

Chto Delat?, Perestroika Songspiel. Victory over the Coup, image fixe, 2008, vidéo, 26 min 23 s (en russe, sous-titré en français et en anglais). Avec l’aimable permission de KOW Berlin.

Chto Delat?, Museum Songspiel. The Netherlands 20XX, image fixe, 2011, vidéo, 25 min 21 s (en néerlandais, sous-titré en anglais). Avec l’aimable permission de KOW Berlin.

Chto Delat?, Museum Songspiel. The Netherlands 20XX, image fixe, 2011, vidéo, 25 min 21 s (en néerlandais, sous-titré en anglais). Avec l’aimable permission de KOW Berlin.

Chto Delat?, Palace Square 100 Years After. Four Seasons of Zombie, image fixe, 2017, film-conférence, 36 min 20 s (en russe, sous-titré en anglais). Avec l’aimable permission de KOW Berlin.

Chto Delat?, Palace Square 100 Years After. Four Seasons of Zombie, image fixe, 2017, film-conférence, 36 min 20 s (en russe, sous-titré en anglais). Avec l’aimable permission de KOW Berlin.

Vue de l’exposition Chto Delat? Pratiques performatives de notre temps, VOX, du 14 février au 31 mars 2018.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Chto Delat? Pratiques performatives de notre temps, VOX, du 14 février au 31 mars 2018.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Chto Delat? Pratiques performatives de notre temps, VOX, du 14 février au 31 mars 2018.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Chto Delat? Pratiques performatives de notre temps, VOX, du 14 février au 31 mars 2018.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Chto Delat? Pratiques performatives de notre temps, VOX, du 14 février au 31 mars 2018.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.
2018.02.14 - 03.31

Chto Delat?

Commissaire
Véronique Leblanc

Vernissage le 14 février 2018 à 17 h

Chto Delat? Pratiques performatives de notre temps

VÉRONIQUE LEBLANC

Multidisciplinaires et politisées, les œuvres du collectif Chto Delat? (Que faire?1) empruntent leurs stratégies narratives au théâtre de Bertolt Brecht et rejouent certains éléments du vocabulaire esthétique de l’avant-garde2 afin d’ouvrir un espace critique dans l’histoire et l’actualité de la Russie. L’exposition Chto Delat? Pratiques performatives de notre temps réunit des œuvres, réalisées au fil d’une dizaine d’années par le collectif, qui s’inscrivent dans le contexte postsoviétique des années 2000 et répondent aujourd’hui à l’intensification du climat de répression politique installé par le régime de Vladimir Poutine. Axées sur différentes formes de performativités, ces œuvres mettent en scène la confrontation de plusieurs types de discours – conservateur, nationaliste, religieux, néolibéraliste, réformiste – qui hantent les luttes sociales et politiques actuelles. Elles abordent les manières dont les individus pensent, vivent, et surtout, ressentent leur rapport à la collectivité.

L’installation Performative Practices of Our Time (2017) débute l’exposition en proposant de s’immerger dans l’histoire récente de la Russie et de l’Ukraine3. Une collection d’images glanées sur le web envahit les murs de la galerie. Des photographies numériques, des mèmes internet et des gif, abondamment mis en circulation sur les réseaux sociaux, ont ici été agrandis pour leur présentation. Ils montrent des attaques militaires, diverses formes de manifestations patriotiques inscrites dans la culture populaire, des rituels d’humiliation pratiqués dans l’armée et une foule d’autres représentations d’événements qui témoignent d’attitudes soit dogmatiques, soit anticonformistes. Mises en parallèle par leur disposition dans l’espace d’exposition, ces images composent un inventaire d’actions symboliques plus ou moins insolites qui se manifestent sous la forme de rituels performatifs ; elles véhiculent des affiliations idéologiques et des croyances éclectiques ayant en commun de dissimuler diverses formes de violence. L’installation, qui constitue une chronique de la catastrophe permanente à laquelle l’actualité nous a désormais habitués, traite du pouvoir des représentations à instituer une réalité et de la capacité de l’art à y répondre. Présentée dans le même espace d’exposition, l’installation Dream of a Protester (2016-2017) documente une intervention menée par le collectif sur une place publique de Saint-Pétersbourg. Elle accumule selon le même principe des opinions qui sillonnent la Russie contemporaine, de la plus insidieuse à la plus brutale, tout en insistant sur le rôle de l’artiste en tant qu’agitateur.

Souvent basée sur l’analyse de réalités sociales, la pratique de Chto Delat cherche à éveiller une vigilance tant à l’égard de phénomènes d’exclusion sociale qu’envers le type de relation qu’entretient l’art avec la culture dominante. Entre 2008 et 2011, le collectif a réalisé des œuvres vidéographiques, théâtrales et musicales inspirées des songspiels créés par Bertolt Brecht et Kurt Weill dans les années 1920-1930. Ces œuvres mettent en dialogue une série de personnages incarnant des discours stéréotypés qui se confrontent dans l’espace scénique. Chto Delat utilise ainsi la méthode dialectique et l’ironie comme des outils permettant de favoriser le développement d’une posture critique face à des situations d’injustice.

Perestroika Songspiel. Victory over the Coup (2008) revient sur la chute de l’URSS, et plus précisément sur les discours entourant les réformes économiques et sociales effectuées en Union soviétique à la fin des années 1980 et la période de désorientation des années 1990. Chacun des personnages incarne des allégeances politiques singulières tandis qu’un chœur commente leurs actions. Les interventions chantées et les dialogues mettent en évidence les divergences attendues et les points de rencontre étonnants entre les dimensions progressistes et conservatrices des aspirations de chacun à un avenir meilleur.

Museum Songspiel. The Netherlands 20XX (2011) situe plutôt son action au futur, dans un musée, afin de questionner la relation qu’entretiennent l’artiste et l’institution artistique avec le pouvoir. Le film met en scène des immigrants illégaux qui trouvent refuge dans un musée d’art moderne et contemporain, dans une salle à ciel ouvert destinée à la présentation de projets d’art urbain. Il pose le musée comme un lieu paradoxal, jouant à la fois le rôle d’espace refuge, accueillant les pratiques subversives4, et celui d’espace neutralisant, reléguant l’art à sa dimension strictement symbolique, voire l’assujettissant à son interprétation par l’idéologie dominante. L’orchestration d’une multiplicité de points de vue dans l’espace discursif de ces œuvres permet d’embrasser les contradictions inhérentes à toute situation de lutte politique. Elle souligne l’importance de la représentation de l’histoire pour la construction de subjectivités politiques, tout en dévoilant les mécanismes de manipulation de l’opinion publique par les médias et l’organisation d’espaces disciplinaires par les détenteurs du pouvoir.

Utilisant une stratégie polyphonique similaire, l’installation vidéo The Excluded. In a Moment of Danger (2014) est quant à elle basée sur une série d’exercices performatifs exécutés par les étudiantes et les étudiants de la School of Engaged Art, l’école d’art engagée que Chto Delat a fondée en 2013. Au lieu de rapporter les propos qui traversent l’espace social par le biais d’une mise en scène théâtrale, cette œuvre donne accès à une diversité d’expériences personnelles de la menace telle qu’elle apparaît en 2014 avec l’intervention militaire russe en Ukraine5. Elle fait plus directement référence à des manières d’envisager son rapport à l’autre, de se comporter dans l’espace public et de rattacher une vision de soi à des événements de l’histoire. Elle recourt également à une gestuelle improvisée qui présente le corps comme vecteur de communication et lieu de résistance.

La présence de gestes performés se manifeste de même dans Palace Square 100 Years After. Four Seasons of Zombie (2017). Le scénario de ce film-conférence combine la présence discursive d’une protagoniste, venue « ressentir son propre rapport à l’histoire6 » sur la place du Palais de Saint-Pétersbourg cent ans après la révolution bolchévique, la présence musicale de spectres du communisme et l’incarnation gestuelle de la figure du zombie à laquelle la narratrice attribue différentes significations. Cette œuvre, qui fera l’objet d’une séance de projection pendant l’exposition, vise à établir, conceptuellement, la possibilité d’une situation révolutionnaire au présent.

L’exposition Chto Delat? Pratiques performatives de notre temps cherche à déceler, dans les projets les plus récents du collectif, le passage d’une approche discursive vers des formes d’expérimentations performatives plus radicales, par lesquelles l’instauration d’un rapport corporel à la pensée vise à désactiver le principe même de rationalité. Elle entend déclencher une lecture de l’histoire qui nous invite à nous situer, affectivement et corporellement, à adopter une « posture » face à ses résonances dans l’actualité. L’exposition s’adresse ainsi aux imaginaires de la révolte et parle le langage de la matière, celle d’un corps collectif qui fait entrave.

1. Le nom du collectif, fondé à Saint-Pétersbourg en 2003, fait référence aux titres de deux textes porteurs de projets d’émancipation sociale : un roman de Nikolaï Tchernychevski publié en 1863 et un texte de Lénine publié en 1902.
2. Une sélection de termes issus du Lexique Chto Delat? est présentée dans l’espace d’exposition et sur le site web de VOX. Ces définitions, élaborées par le collectif en 2014, témoignent du développement d’une réflexion théorique qui fait partie intégrante de la pratique de Chto Delat et mettent l’accent sur l’écart sémantique qui peut être observé lorsque ces mots sont utilisés dans des contextes distincts.
3. Les relations entre ces deux pays voisins, très proches culturellement l’un de l’autre, se sont considérablement détériorées à la suite du renversement du président ukrainien pro-russe Viktor Ianoukovitch et à l’intervention militaire de la Russie en Ukraine en 2014.
4. Cette idée de l’institution d’art contemporain comme espace refuge revient dans le projet It Hasn’t Happened To Us Yet. Safe Haven (2016), dans lequel Chto Delat met en scène sa participation à une résidence internationale en Norvège dédiée aux artistes persécutés dans leur pays d’origine.
5. À l’occasion d’une exposition au Gävle Konstcentrum en Suède en 2015-2016, Chto Delat décrit ainsi la situation : « Les événements des dernières années ont placé les artistes et les travailleurs culturels de la Russie dans une nouvelle réalité marquée par une nouvelle atmosphère de guerre froide, l’exaltation de la recherche d’ennemis, la répression sévère de toute forme de dissidence et une confrontation militaire directe avec l’Ukraine, qui laisse des milliers de morts des deux côtés. » [traduction libre]. Voir : https://chtodelat.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/dossier-galve.pdf
6. Oxana Timofeeva, dans le film Palace Square 100 Years After. Four Seasons of Zombie, 2017, 36 min 20 s.

Biographie

Chto Delat?

Fondé en 2003 à Saint-Pétersbourg par des artistes, critiques, philosophes et chercheurs, le collectif Chto Delat? (Que faire?) développe des projets à la croisée de l’art, de la théorie politique et de l’activisme. Il réalise des interventions dans l’espace public, des projets vidéographiques…

Lire plus

Biographie

Véronique Leblanc

Véronique Leblanc est commissaire indépendante, auteure et chargée de cours en histoire de l’art à l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Elle s’intéresse aux pratiques contextuelles, processuelles et relationnelles ainsi qu’aux liens qui se tissent entre art, éthique et politique…

Lire plus

Événement

Nuit blanche à VOX
2018.03.03

Dans le cadre de la Nuit blanche à Montréal, VOX sera ouvert jusqu’à minuit ! Venez rencontrer nos médiateurs, qui seront présents pour discuter avec vous des expositions en cours.

Lire plus

Événement

Discussion avec Erdem Taşdelen, Oxana Timofeeva et Véronique Leblanc
2018.03.23

VOX vous convie à une discussion autour des enjeux analogues soulevés par les expositions The Curtain Sweeps Down et Chto Delat? Pratiques performatives de notre temps. Cette table ronde rassemblera les artistes Erdem Taşdelen (Toronto), Oxana Timofeeva (Russie), ainsi que la commissaire Véronique Leblanc.

Lire plus