Confidences

Gillian Wearing, Trauma, 2000, color video and sound, 30 min. Courtesy of the artist.

2001.12.05 - 2001.15.07

Charlotte Åberg, Didier Bay, Elina Brotherus, Natalie Caron/Charles Guilbert, Donigan Cumming, Wim Delvoye, Doris Drescher, Jean Dubois, Mona Hatoum, Annette Hollywood, Sylvie Laliberté, Laura Letinsky, Hajnal Németh, Pipilotti Ristand Gillian Wearing

Curators
Marie-Josée Jean and Enrico Lunghi


This exhibition is co-produced with the Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain


From Mai 12 to July 15, 2001, Casino Luxembourg - Forum d'art contemporain

About the confidence

Enrico Lunghi : (…) We tried to combine works and artists which would seize the viewer’s interest by the immediacy of an experience while at the same time revealing one or several aspects of interiority, of intimacy, be it their own, that of others, or else their idea of it. And so, we arrived at the concept of “confidence”, which seemed to best explain our quest and, somehow, a phrase from Montaigne came to my mind, in which he admitted, that in the end, the relationship with the other has to do with two beings, two bodies, two souls, which no “reason” could determine: “If you urge me to tell wherefore I loved him, I feel it cannot be expressed but by answering: Because it was he, because it was myself”.*

Marie-Josée Jean : (…) The projects we show in this exhibition give shape to confidences — the artist’s own, as much as those documented by the artists — with the aim of querying these simultaneous relationships from oneself to the other. It also means formulating an image of oneself while delivering it to that other’s personal competences. (…)

E.L. : (…) There might indeed be uncontrollable, terrifying impulses which, once they pierce the surface to appear in full daylight, often leave behind them damaged beings, wounds whose scars remain, until the very end, cracks ready to split open. (…)

M-J.J. : (…) A revelation can also lead to misapprehensions, ambiguities, and even lead to conflicts between individuals.(…)

*Michel de Montaigne, « De l’amitié », Essais 1, (Paris: Éditions Gallimard, 1965), p. 269.

 

Extracts from a conversation between Enrico Lunghi (Casino Luxembourg) and Marie-Josée Jean (VOX) curators of the exhibition, published in the catalogue Confidences, (Luxembourg/ Montréal, Casino Luxembourg/VOX, centre de diffusion de la photographie, 2001).

Publication

Confidences

Videos and photographs illustrating the relations of intimacy, seduction, and complicity between the artist and his work, as well as between the artist’s work and the public.

Read more

Confidences

Gillian Wearing, Trauma, 2000, vidéo couleur et son, 30 min. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

2001.12.05 - 2001.15.07

Charlotte Åberg, Didier Bay, Elina Brotherus, Natalie Caron/Charles Guilbert, Donigan Cumming, Wim Delvoye, Doris Drescher, Jean Dubois, Mona Hatoum, Annette Hollywood, Sylvie Laliberté, Laura Letinsky, Hajnal Németh, Pipilotti Ristet Gillian Wearing

Commissaires
Marie-Josée Jean et Enrico Lunghi


Cette exposition est coproduite avec le Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain


Du 12 mai au 15 juillet 2001, Casino Luxembourg - Forum d'art contemporain

Propos sur la confidence

Enrico Lunghi : (…) Nous avons tenté de réunir des œuvres et des artistes qui interpellent le spectateur par l’immédiateté d’une expérience tout en dévoilant un ou plusieurs aspects de l’intériorité, de l’intimité, que ce soit la leur, celle des autres ou alors de l’idée qu’ils s’en font. Ainsi, nous en sommes arrivés à la notion de confidences, qui nous paraissait exprimer le mieux notre quête, et, quelque part, une phrase de Montaigne m’est revenue à l’esprit, dans laquelle il admet que la relation à l’autre est une affaire de deux corps, de deux âmes, qu’aucune raison ne parvient à circonscrire : « Si on me presse de dire pourquoi je l’aimais, je sens que cela ne peut s’exprimer qu’en répondant : Parce que c’était lui ; parce que c’était moi»*

Marie-Josée Jean : (…) Les projets que nous présentons dans cette exposition mettent en forme des confidences – celles des artistes et celles documentées par les artistes tout autant – dans le but d’interroger ces relations simultanées de soi à l’autre. Cela signifie encore formuler une image de soi en la livrant aux compétences personnelles de cet autre. (…)

E.L. : (…) Il peut en effet y avoir des pulsions,incontrôlables, terribles parfois, qui, lorsquêlles transpercent la surface pour éclater au grand jour, laissent souvent derrière elles des êtres écorchés, des blessures dont les cicatrices restent, jusqu’au bout, des fissures prêtes à éclater. (…)

M.-J.J. : (…) Mais une révélation peut tout aussi bien générer des incompréhensions, des équivoques et même provoquer des conflits entre les individus.(…)

*Michel de Montaigne, « De l’amitié », Essais 1, Paris, Éditions Gallimard, 1965, p. 269.

 

Extraits de la conversation entre Enrico Lunghi (Casino Luxembourg) et Marie-Josée Jean (VOX), commissaires de l’exposition, publié dans le catalogue Confidences, Luxembourg et Montréal, Casino Luxembourg  et VOX, centre de diffusion de la photographie, 2001.

Publication

Confidences

Œuvres qui, autour du thème de la confidence et à travers l’image (vidéo ou photographique), évoquent les rapports d’intimité, de séduction et de complicité entre l’artiste et son œuvre, d’une part, et l’œuvre et le spectateur, de l’autre.

Lire plus