Erdem Taşdelen. The Curtain Sweeps Down

Erdem Taşdelen, The Curtain Sweeps Down, 2017. Courtesy of the artist.

Erdem Taşdelen, The Curtain Sweeps Down, 2017. Courtesy of the artist.

Erdem Taşdelen, The Curtain Sweeps Down, 2017. Courtesy of the artist.

Erdem Taşdelen, The Curtain Sweeps Down, 2017. Courtesy of the artist.

Erdem Taşdelen, The Curtain Sweeps Down, 2017. Courtesy of the artist.

Erdem Taşdelen, The Curtain Sweeps Down, 2017. Courtesy of the artist.

View of the exhibition Erdem Taşdelen. The Curtain Sweeps Down, VOX, from February 14 to March 31, 2018.

 

Credit: Michel Brunelle

View of the exhibition Erdem Taşdelen. The Curtain Sweeps Down, VOX, from February 14 to March 31, 2018.

Credit: Michel Brunelle

View of the exhibition Erdem Taşdelen. The Curtain Sweeps Down, VOX, from February 14 to March 31, 2018.

Credit: Michel Brunelle

View of the exhibition Erdem Taşdelen. The Curtain Sweeps Down, VOX, from February 14 to March 31, 2018.

Credit: Michel Brunelle

View of the exhibition Erdem Taşdelen. The Curtain Sweeps Down, VOX, from February 14 to March 31, 2018.

Credit: Michel Brunelle

View of the exhibition Erdem Taşdelen. The Curtain Sweeps Down, VOX, from February 14 to March 31, 2018.

Credit: Michel Brunelle

View of the exhibition Erdem Taşdelen. The Curtain Sweeps Down, VOX, from February 14 to March 31, 2018.

Credit: Michel Brunelle

View of the exhibition Erdem Taşdelen. The Curtain Sweeps Down, VOX, from February 14 to March 31, 2018.

Credit: Erdem Taşdelen
2018.02.14 - 03.31

Erdem Taşdelen

Opening on February 14, 2016 at 5:00 p.m.

ÖVÜL Ö. DURMUSOGLU

“Facing east crossing west” is a long-lived story in Turkey’s foundational collective memory. It is an endeavour, a mindset that strives for a bridge but is instead carried along the streams of the gaps between tradition and progress, morals and technology, monarchy and democracy, conservatism and secularism. Translation, therefore, runs on a complex circuit of annotations regarding Turkey’s experience of modernity. The Curtain Sweeps Down is backgrounded by the desires and dilemmas of a changing society: to be able to translate constantly and to be in constant translation. And such desires have been embodied in representations of the female body from early on. To approach Erdem Taşdelen’s fascination with the fictitious translation of the 1950 pulp novel Genç Kızlar (Young Girls) and what it stands for in the post-1950s Turkey that signed the Marshall Plan agreement, it is crucial to draw a brief portrait of this charged site of performance called translation. The way it marks the new and signifies progress has its roots in the late-19th-century efforts to transform the multi-cultured Ottoman Empire and aspirations to catch up with new Western political movements. The first translations from the “West” into Turkish were done in Armenian script; similarly, the first female theatre actors to perform “Western” plays in the country were of Armenian and Greek origin. Tercüme-i Telemak, from 1862, is considered the first “true” Turkish translation (because it used Turkish script). The translator—a well-educated statesman—chose a didactic political novel by Fénelon (Les aventures de Télémaque, 1699) for its democratic aspirations to change.

The still-popular cult pulp Genç Kızlar is indeed one of the important cases in Turkish translation studies, being a fictitious or pseudo-translation. The young writer Nihal Yeğinobalı, who had already started to work as a translator, mimicked certain translation patterns she had previously used to boost the credibility of a novel she had been yearning to write for some time: she created a non-existent author, “Vincent Ewing,” gave him a fictitious life story, and invented a singular novel that had found its way to Turkey, titled The Curtain Sweeps Down. The result was a coming-of-age tale of a love triangle, with liberal erotic details that were considered courageous at the time, which used the background of the American missionary school in Istanbul where she had studied. Yeğinobalı is still considered one of the most prolific translators in Turkey, and has authored five more books in the intervening years. In some interviews she gave after “coming out” as the writer of Genç Kızlar rather than the translator of The Curtain Sweeps Down, she said that, in a country where many writers pass off material from non-Turkish writers as their own, she wanted to explain why a young writer had chosen a foreign attribution for her own writing. The story is more complicated than that, however; a hint is hidden in the title of her later memoir: Cumhuriyet Çocuğu (“Child of the Republic”). The new always used the disguise of translation to arrive in the first place; translation accommodated the new in a society striving to move forward while preserving the traditional. It never ceased to be a political gesture: “children of the Republic” always got caught up in a game of translation—a game stigmatized as “fake Western mimicry” by Turkish conservatives. Yeğinobalı, as one such child of the republic, speaks of and to a post-1950s Turkey completely caught up in the wave of Americanization, branded as open-minded and liberal while strongly rejected in left-wing student circles. A year after her novel was written, Turkey entered NATO as a promising ally in the Cold War against the USSR.

Any textual construction has a mirroring potential for Erdem Taşdelen; he chooses to reveal and mystify the world through text. His particular interest accumulates texts narrating or instructing processes of the modern self, which is usually cultivated in categories. Original texts are taken as departure points—just as in a process of translation—to be expanded upon with visual techniques so as to elucidate the ways in which mirroring operates on individual and collective as well as on social and political levels. Crucially, the mirroring he seeks to expand upon signifies what is untranslatable in this process. Genç Kızlar or The Curtain Sweeps Down presents a many-folded case for the artist, and not only because he is equally sensitive to the two languages involved in the pseudo-translation. As an erotic coming-of-age novel, Genç Kızlar works according to a double projection; first, of an Americanized liberal female self from the small town of Manisa in western Turkey; second, of the hidden sexual repression at work in Turkish society. Yeğinobalı’s strategy is built on performing the self in translation in a country where modernity is experienced as a translation in the face of its adversaries. A new open-minded nationhood is marked by a transformed woman figure, and the attempted dismemberment of that figure suggests the silent collapse of the whole project.

In the first “staging” of The Curtain Sweeps Down, with playful zeal and control, Taşdelen adopts pseudo-translation as an artistic methodology to expand on what Genç Kızlar still reflects after nearly seven decades: the contradictions, desires and trajectories embodied by the self-strategizing of a young woman writer. The fiction of Vincent Ewing dissolves into the well-drawn modern street lines of Manisa. The untraceable stories of secondhand portrait photos are woven together with archival materials from the New York–based Turkish Information Office, which worked diligently to brand a new democracy, with its prima donna, “aviatrice”, nurse, sculptress and secretary. The “new” in “New Turkey” highlights a strong irony, considering how the current political project in the country perpetuates the same name. All this expanding upon this complex circuit of annotations constructs a crucial site for self-understanding from the perspective of collective memory. Has the curtain swept down over the Turkish prima donna who was able to take the stage after her Armenian, Greek and Levantine predecessors? Has the curtain swept down over the free will of liberalism? What did free will mean in the first place? This time, the novel is bound to be a mix of historical drama and suspense.

Biography

Erdem Taşdelen

Erdem Taşdelen (b. Ankara, 1985) is a Turkish-Canadian artist based in Toronto. His multidisciplinary practice, rooted in conceptualism, involves a range of media including installation, video, drawing, sculpture, sound and artist books. His diverse projects are often characterized by a mordant humour, bringing self-expression into question within the context of culturally learned behaviors…

Read more

Erdem Taşdelen’s first solo exhibition in Montreal explores the sociopolitical implications of the story behind Genç Kızlar, a work of literature published in Turkey in 1950. Released under the pseudonym Vincent Ewing, this Turkish-language novel was in fact written by 21-year-old Nihal Yeğinobalı, a young woman who had previously translated several books from English to Turkish but never authored one herself. After the publisher of her translations rejected her proposal to write her own novel—implying that writing is an activity better suited for men—Yeğinobalı decided to attribute her manuscript to a fictitious Anglo-American male, and claimed to have only translated it. Upon publication, this pseudotranslation aroused the interest of audiences with its erotically suggestive content, and quickly became a bestseller. It has since been reprinted numerous times, but it wasn’t until 2003 that it was finally published under Yeğinobalı’s name.

An assemblage of works in sound, photography, painting and text, Taşdelen’s project offers a semi-fictionalized narrative of these events to underscore the systematic ways in which certain voices are muted while others are permitted to enter into the mainstream. The exhibition seeks to stimulate dialogue on tactics that may result in effective resistance against censorship and discrimination, and considers self-concealment as a strategic tool to advance progressive politics in environments where open dissent may be too risky.

Canada Council for the Arts and SAHA provided support for the production of the new works by Erdem Taşdelen.

Interview

Interview with Erdem Taşdelen during his exhibition at VOX.

See interview

Event

Nuit blanche at VOX
2018.03.03

For Nuit blanche à Montréal, VOX will be open until midnight! Cultural mediators will be on-site to welcome you and discuss our current exhibitions.

Read more

Event

Discussion with Erdem Taşdelen, Oxana Timofeeva and Véronique Leblanc
2018.03.23

VOX invites you to a discussion around the analogous issues raised by the exhibitions The Curtain Sweeps Down and Chto Delat? Performative Practices of Our Time. This roundtable will bring together artists Erdem Taşdelen (Toronto) and Oxana Timofeeva (St. Petersburg), as well as curator Véronique Leblanc.

Read more

Erdem Taşdelen. The Curtain Sweeps Down

Erdem Taşdelen, The Curtain Sweeps Down, 2017. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Erdem Taşdelen, The Curtain Sweeps Down, 2017. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Erdem Taşdelen, The Curtain Sweeps Down, 2017. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Erdem Taşdelen, The Curtain Sweeps Down, 2017. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Erdem Taşdelen, The Curtain Sweeps Down, 2017. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Erdem Taşdelen, The Curtain Sweeps Down, 2017. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

2018.02.14 - 03.31

Erdem Taşdelen

Vernissage le 14 février 2018 à 17 h

ÖVÜL Ö. DURMUSOGLU

« En route vers l’ouest, le regard tourné en direction de l’est » est une histoire de toujours dans la mémoire collective fondatrice de la Turquie. C’est un état d’esprit, une tentative de créer un pont entre tradition et progrès, moralité et technologie, monarchie et démocratie, conservatisme et laïcité, mais qui est emporté par le courant des fossés qui les séparent. La traduction, par conséquent, emprunte un circuit complexe d’annotations concernant l’expérience turque de la modernité. The Curtain Sweeps Down (« Le rideau tombe ») a pour trame de fond les désirs et les dilemmes d’une société en mouvement : être en mesure de traduire constamment et être en constant processus de traduction. De tels désirs ont été incarnés assez tôt par les représentations du corps féminin. Avant d’aborder la fascination d’Erdem Taşdelen pour la traduction fictive du roman à sensation de 1950 Genç Kızlar (Jeunes filles) – et pour ce qu’il représente dans la Turquie d’après les années 1950 à la suite de son adhésion au plan Marshall –, il est primordial de brosser un bref tableau de l’espace de performance chargé qu’on appelle « traduction ». Sa manière de marquer la nouveauté et d’indiquer le progrès trouve ses sources dans les efforts de la fin du XIXe siècle pour transformer l’Empire ottoman, carrefour de cultures, et le désir de rattraper les nouveaux mouvements politiques de l’Occident. Les premières traductions venues de l’« Ouest » en Turquie étaient écrites en alphabet arménien ; de même, les premières comédiennes de théâtre à interpréter des pièces occidentales au pays étaient d’origine arménienne ou grecque. Tercüme-i Telemak, parue en 1862, est considérée comme étant la première « véritable » traduction turque (parce qu’elle utilisait l’alphabet turc). Le traducteur – un homme d’État instruit – a choisi un roman politique du genre didactique écrit par Fénelon, Les aventures de Télémaque (1699), pour ses aspirations démocratiques au changement.

Le roman à sensation Genç Kızlar, toujours populaire, est un exemple parmi les plus importants en études de la traduction turque puisqu’il s’agit d’une traduction fictive, ou pseudo-traduction. La jeune écrivaine Nihal Yeğinobalı, qui avait d’abord travaillé à titre de traductrice, a imité quelques-uns des motifs qu’elle avait utilisés auparavant dans ses traductions afin de renforcer la crédibilité de cet ouvrage qu’elle souhaitait écrire depuis un certain temps. Elle a inventé un auteur de toutes pièces, « Vincent Ewing », et lui a créé une biographie ainsi qu’un roman singulier qui se serait rendu jusqu’en Turquie, intitulé The Curtain Sweeps Down. Le résultat est un récit initiatique parsemé de détails érotiques considérés audacieux à l’époque, mettant en scène un triangle amoureux et ayant pour toile de fond l’école des missionnaires américains à Istanbul où l’auteure elle-même avait étudié. Yeğinobalı, qui est encore classée parmi les traducteurs les plus prolifiques en Turquie, a écrit cinq autres ouvrages par la suite. Dans les entrevues qu’elle a accordées après avoir révélé être l’auteure de Genç Kızlar et non la traductrice de The Curtain Sweeps Down, elle a déclaré que, dans ce pays où bien des écrivains s’approprient du matériel d’auteurs non-turcs, elle désirait expliquer pourquoi une jeune auteure avait choisi d’attribuer ses propres écrits à un étranger. La réalité est plus complexe, cependant ; un indice se cache dans le titre de l’autobiographie qu’elle a publiée plus tard, Cumhuriyet Çocuğu (« Enfant de la République »). La nouveauté s’est toujours d’abord présentée sous le couvert de la traduction ; la traduction convenait à la nouveauté dans une société qui s’efforçait de progresser tout en préservant ses traditions. Le geste n’a jamais cessé d’être politique : les « enfants de la République » se trouvaient toujours pris dans le jeu de la traduction – un jeu qualifié de « pâle imitation de l’Ouest » par les conservateurs trucs. Yeğinobalı, une de ces enfants de la République, raconte la Turquie d’après les années 1950, submergée par la vague de l’américanisation, étiquetée comme ouverte et tolérante, tout en étant fortement rejetée dans les cercles étudiants de gauche. Un an après l’écriture du roman, le pays est entré dans les rangs de l’OTAN en tant qu’allié prometteur dans la guerre froide contre l’URSS.

Toute construction textuelle comporte un potentiel d’effet miroir pour Erdem Taşdelen ; il choisit de révéler le monde et de l’envelopper de mystère à l’aide du texte. Son intérêt particulier l’amène à rassembler des textes qui narrent ou enseignent les processus du soi moderne, lequel est habituellement cultivé selon des catégories. Les textes d’origine lui servent de points de départ – comme dans le procédé de la traduction – qu’il développe au moyen de techniques visuelles afin d’illustrer les façons dont cet effet miroir agit sur les plans individuel et collectif, ainsi que sur les plans social et politique. Fondamentalement, l’effet miroir qu’il cherche à approfondir fait ressortir ce qui est intraduisible dans ce procédé. Genç Kızlar, ou The Curtain Sweeps Down, offre un cas multidimensionnel à l’artiste, et ce, non pas seulement parce que ce dernier est également sensible aux deux langues dans l’équation de la pseudo-traduction. En tant que récit initiatique et érotique, Genç Kızlar fonctionne en double projection ; d’abord, celle du soi féminin américanisé de la petite ville de Manisa, en Turquie occidentale ; ensuite, celle de la répression sexuelle sous-jacente dans la société turque. La stratégie de Yeğinobalı repose sur l’interprétation du soi traduit dans un pays où la modernité se vit à titre de traduction face à ses adversaires. Une nouvelle identité nationale à l’esprit ouvert est incarnée par une figure féminine transformée, et la tentative de démembrement de cette figure laisse entendre l’effondrement silencieux de l’ensemble du projet.

Dans la première « mise en scène » de The Curtain Sweeps Down, Taşdelen adopte avec doigté et une ferveur enjouée la pseudo-traduction en guise de méthodologie artistique afin de développer ce que Genç Kızlar reflète encore près de soixante-dix ans après sa publication : les contradictions, les désirs et les trajectoires incarnées par la stratégie de carrière d’une jeune écrivaine. L’invention de Vincent Ewing se fond dans les lignes nettement définies des rues modernes de Manisa. Des portraits photographiques d’occasion aux origines inconnues se mêlent à des documents d’archives du bureau new-yorkais de l’Office du tourisme de Turquie, qui a œuvré assidûment pour composer l’image d’une nouvelle démocratie avec ses portraits de prima donna, d’aviatrice, d’infirmière, de sculpteuse et de secrétaire. Le mot nouvelle dans « nouvelle Turquie » est hautement ironique, étant donné que le projet politique actuel de ce pays continue de porter ce nom. Tout ce qui est ici développé à partir du circuit complexe d’annotations aménage un espace crucial pour la compréhension de soi du point de vue de la mémoire collective. Le rideau est-il tombé sur la prima donna turque, qui a pu monter sur scène après ses prédécesseures arméniennes, grecques et levantines ? Le rideau est-il tombé sur le libre arbitre du libéralisme ? Que signifiait libre arbitre à l’origine ? Cette fois, le roman sera sûrement un mélange de drame historique et de suspense.

Biographie

Erdem Taşdelen

Né à Ankara en 1985, Erdem Taşdelen vit et travaille à Toronto. Sa pratique multidisciplinaire, ancrée dans le conceptualisme, intègre autant l’installation, la vidéo, le dessin, la sculpture, l’œuvre sonore que le livre d’artiste. Caractérisé par un humour incisif, ses œuvres interrogent l’expression de soi exposée aux comportements culturellement acquis…

Lire plus

La première exposition individuelle d’Erdem Taşdelen à Montréal explore les implications sociopolitiques de l’histoire entourant Genç Kızlar, une œuvre littéraire publiée en Turquie en 1950. Paru sous le pseudonyme de Vincent Ewing, ce roman en langue turque était en réalité l’œuvre d’une jeune femme de 21 ans, Nihal Yeğinobalı, qui avait auparavant traduit plusieurs livres de l’anglais au turc, mais qui elle-même n’en avait jamais écrit. Après que l’éditeur de ses traductions eut rejeté son projet d’écrire un roman — en sous-entendant que l’écriture était une activité plus appropriée pour un homme —, Yeğinobalı décida d’attribuer son manuscrit à un auteur Anglo-Américain fictif, puis prétendit l’avoir simplement traduit. Lors de sa publication, la pseudo-traduction suscita l’intérêt du public par son contenu érotiquement suggestif et devint rapidement un livre à succès. Genç Kızlar a fait l’objet de nombreuses réimpressions depuis, mais ce n’est qu’en 2003 qu’il a enfin été publié sous le nom de Yeğinobalı.

Regroupant œuvres sonores, photographies, peintures et textes, le projet de Taşdelen propose un récit semi-romancé de ces événements afin de souligner comment certaines voix sont tues de manière systématique, tandis que d’autres ont la possibilité de rejoindre le grand public. L’exposition vise à favoriser un dialogue sur les tactiques pouvant mener à une résistance efficace contre la censure et la discrimination. Elle examine l’autodissimulation comme outil stratégique pour faire la promotion de politiques progressistes dans des milieux où la dissidence ouverte peut s’avérer trop risquée.

Le Conseil des arts du Canada et la SAHA Association ont contribué à la production des nouvelles œuvres d’Erdem Taşdelen.