Awakening

Isabelle Hayeur, L’Île rouge (in situ project in the window), 2004, digital print on Duratrans, 149 x 277 cm. Courtesy of the artist.

Isabelle Hayeur, Élévation, 2004, digital print, 97 x 348 cm. Courtesy of the artist.

Mary Kunuk, Aqtuqsi (My Nightmare), still, 1996, video Betacam NTSC, 5 min. Courtesy of the artist and of V-Tape.

An aqtuqsi is a dream from which one must wake up, a paralyzing nightmare. “I decided to put my aqtuqsi in video. It’s so interesting because it is not a nightmare or a regular dream. An aqtuqsi is something that can paralyze you when you’re sleeping.”

Mary Kunuk, Aqtuqsi (My Nightmare), still, 1996, video Betacam NTSC, 5 min. Courtesy of the artist and of V-Tape.

Mary Kunuk, Aqtuqsi (My Nightmare), still, 1996, video Betacam NTSC, 5 min. Courtesy of the artist and of V-Tape.

Mary Kunuk, Aqtuqsi (My Nightmare), still, 1996, video Betacam NTSC, 5 min. Courtesy of the artist and of V-Tape.

Mark Lewis, Algonquin Park, Early March, 2002, location photo #1, color print, 52 x 62 cm. Courtesy of the artist.

Mark Lewis, Algonquin Park, September, 2001, color 35 mm film transferred to DVD, 2 min 31 s. Installation view a the Kiasma Museum of Contemporary Art, Helsinki. Courtesy of the artist.

Credit: Pirje Mykkänen.

View of the exhibition Awakening, VOX, from May 8 to July 10, 2004.

 

Credit: Pierre Blache.

View of the exhibition Awakening, VOX, from May 8 to July 10, 2004.

Credit: Pierre Blache.

View of the exhibition Awakening, VOX, from May 8 to July 10, 2004.

Credit: Pierre Blache.

Isabelle Hayeur, L’Île rouge (in situ project in the window), exhibition Awakening, VOX, from May 8 to July 10, 2004.

Credit: Pierre Blache.
2004.05.10 - 07.10

Isabelle Hayeur, Mary Kunuk and Mark Lewis

Curator
Marie Fraser

Opening and discussion with the artists on May 8, 2004

MARIE FRASER

Today, can the image still awaken us to something that is not already in the world, something that is not already constituted in images? Can it still dazzle us? Can it still make us imagine and perceive reality in another way? What place does it give to consciousness? Inspired by the critical reflections of Eduardo Cadava in Words of Light: Theses on the Photography of History, on the German philosopher Walter Benjamin’s concept of photography and memory, this exhibition addresses the image in relation to the process of awakening, as a moment of apparition and unveiling. Evanescent, fluid, and fleeting, awakening is an intermediary state between sleep and consciousness. It is the unique moment in which dreams dissolve into reality and lucidity. The works presented here, in photographs, video, and film, all have this quality of apparition. Although they are very different, these images, emerging from uncertain or unconscious spaces, all seem to spring out of nowhere.

To film, photograph, and record the delicate instant that metaphorically conveys the moment of awakening might seem a true tour de force. Its transitory nature, involving particular attention to movement and its inscription in time, invites those sensitive to it not only to playful and poetic discoveries but also to formal explorations that change our habits and perceptions and our ways of understanding reality. Thus, the camera moves very slowly, the luminous atmospheres are of a powerful and disturbing intensity, the subtle transformations sometimes border on blindness, complex constructions of images topple reality, and visual effects suddenly transport us from a temporal and narrative register to a different one.

By questioning the properties of cinema, Mark Lewis’s films have always had a special quality. While we require cinematographic images to do something – to catch us up in the heart of the action – Lewis lets them simply appear. In the two films shot in Algonquin Park, Algonquin Park, September and Algonquin Park, Early March, the image unveils the setting in an extremely slow movement. As during a slow awakening, the atmospheric qualities of the landscape – an autumn mist and a pure bright winter light – confer upon the image a somnolence that recalls the sublime effects of romantic painting1. Passing from abstract to figurative like an apparition, nature gradually awakens before our eyes until its sublime dimension fades into a more tangible and concrete presence. The image borrows its fluidity from nature. Lewis has finely expressed, in cinematographic language, the extremely evanescent and ephemeral conditions of the image’s moments of blossoming and fading.

It is well known that the strength of the image can awaken the consciousness to greater lucidity while simultaneously as it can, paradoxically, manipulate or blind it. If we look closely, Isabelle Hayeur’s digital images invite us to observe the “landscape” dimension of the world with a foreign sentiment that places us on the lookout for modern and contemporary industrial developments. Each of her panoramic views presents a falsely idyllic landscape, a sort of reconstructed paradise with a disenchanted, and disquieting, element. The digital composition allows for a sophisticated structure in which incoherent places cross over and meet each other through almost imperceptible visual links. But the atmosphere, both familiar and foreign, that floats above the surface reveals the inhuman, artificial aspects of the sites, and the loss of their natural properties. Surveying the landscapes to decipher the smallest details, the eye perceives the ruins and remains on the edges of zones where civilizations have built dreams and utopias.

Awakening is also an opening to memories and unconscious processes where images are encrusted, that at any moment, threaten to emerge and reappear. With Aqtuqsi (My Nightmare), one of her first narrative videos, Mary Kunuk presents a nightmare that terrified her in her sleep when she was eleven or twelve years old. We have all encountered the resistance of a dream to let itself be told. Borne by emotion or sensation, oniric images lose their preciseness at the moment we awake, and when we try to express or recount them, we are inevitably faced with forgetfulness and the difficult task of re-remembering. To illustrate her dream, Kunuk has played on different qualities and textures. We travel from one place and time to another, from thought to reality, while the image itself changes visual and narrative register, from documentary to fiction, from black and white to colour, from video to computer animation. These passages are also marked by rhythmic changes that affect how the image and sound unfold. Fluctuating and discontinuous, like memory flashes, the movement varies in parallel to the staccato rhythm of an Inuit song, which, off-screen, recounts the young girl’s nightmare.

The exhibition Fabulation, which will be presented from August 28th to October 16th, will address another particularity of contemporary images through the inverse movement of the awakening process, not from the viewpoint of apparition but from that of transfiguration..

1. For a more in-depth discussion of the relationship between the two versions of Algonquin Park and the sublime in painting, see Bernard Fibicher, “Painterly Aspects: Mark Lewis’s New Films,” Canadian Art, vol. 20, no. 3 (Fall 2003): 90–93.

Journal # 09 - 05.2004

Read the online journal for the exhibition Awakening

Éveil

Isabelle Hayeur, L’Île rouge (projet in situ dans la vitrine), 2004, épreuve numérique sur Duratrans, 149 x 277 cm. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Isabelle Hayeur, Élévation, 2004, épreuve numérique, 97 x 348 cm. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Mary Kunuk, Aqtuqsi (My Nightmare), (extrait), 1996, vidéo Betacam NTSC, 5 min. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste et de V-Tape.

Aqtuqsi est un rêve dont il faut s’éveiller, un cauchemar paralysant. « J’ai décidé de filmer mon aqtuqsi. C’est vraiment très intéressant, car ce n’est pas seulement un cauchemar ou un rêve au sens où on l’entend. Un aqtuqsi est quelque chose qui vous paralyse lorsque vous dormez ».

Mary Kunuk, Aqtuqsi (My Nightmare), (extrait), 1996, vidéo Betacam NTSC, 5 min. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste et de V-Tape.

Mary Kunuk, Aqtuqsi (My Nightmare), (extrait), 1996, vidéo Betacam NTSC, 5 min. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste et de V-Tape.

Mary Kunuk, Aqtuqsi (My Nightmare), (extrait), 1996, vidéo Betacam NTSC, 5 min. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste et de V-Tape.

Mark Lewis, Algonquin Park, Early March, 2002, location photo #1, épreuve couleur, 52 x 62 cm. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Mark Lewis, Algonquin Park, September, 2001, film 35 mm couleur transféré sur DVD, 2 min 31 s. Vue de l’installation au Musée d’art contemporain Kiasma, Helsinki. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Crédit : Pirje Mykkänen.

Vue de l’exposition Éveil, VOX, du 8 mai au 10 juillet 2004.

Crédit : Pierre Blache.

Vue de l’exposition Éveil, VOX, du 8 mai au 10 juillet 2004.

Crédit : Pierre Blache.

Vue de l’exposition Éveil, VOX, du 8 mai au 10 juillet 2004.

Crédit : Pierre Blache.

Isabelle Hayeur, détail du projet in situ dans la vitrine, exposition Éveil, VOX, du 8 mai au 10 juillet 2004.

Crédit : Pierre Blache.
2004.05.10 - 07.10

Isabelle Hayeur, Mary Kunuk et Mark Lewis

Commissaire
Marie Fraser

Vernissage et rencontre avec les artistes le 8 mai 2004

MARIE FRASER

L’image peut-elle encore aujourd’hui nous éveiller à quelque chose qui ne soit pas déjà dans le monde, à quelque chose qui ne soit pas déjà constitué en image ? Peut-elle encore nous éblouir ? Peut-elle encore conduire à imaginer et à percevoir la réalité autrement ? Quelle place accorde-t-elle à la conscience ? Inspirée de la réflexion critique d’Eduardo Cadava, dans Words of Light: Theses on the Photography of History, sur la conception de la photographie et de la mémoire chez le philosophe allemand Walter Benjamin, cette exposition aborde l’image en fonction du processus d’éveil, comme un moment d’apparition et de dévoilement. Évanescent, fluide et transitoire, l’éveil est l’état intermédiaire d’un mouvement entre le sommeil et la conscience, il est ce moment très singulier où le rêve se dissipe au profit d’une réalité, d’une lucidité. Utilisant la photographie, la vidéo ou le film, les œuvres qui sont présentées ont toutes cette qualité d’apparition. Quoique fort différentes, ce sont des images émergeant de lieux incertains ou inconscients qui semblent surgir de nulle part.

Filmer, capter et enregistrer l’instant fragile que traduit métaphoriquement la notion d’éveil peut sembler un véritable tour de force. Impliquant une attention particulière au mouvement et à son inscription dans le temps, sa nature transitoire invite à être sensible non seulement à des aspects oniriques et poétiques mais aussi à des explorations formelles qui transforment nos habitudes de perception et nos manières de comprendre la réalité. Ainsi, la caméra bouge vraiment lentement, les atmosphères lumineuses sont d’une intensité forte et trouble, les transformations subtiles frôlent parfois l’aveuglement, des échafaudages complexes d’images font basculer la réalité, des effets visuels nous font passer brusquement d’un registre temporel et narratif à un autre.

Remettant en question les propriétés du cinéma, les films de Mark Lewis ont toujours eu une qualité particulière. Alors qu’on exige des images cinématographiques qu’elles fassent quelque chose, qu’elles nous happent au centre d’une action, Mark Lewis leur permet tout simplement d’apparaître. Dans les deux films tournés au parc Algonquin, Algonquin Park, September et Algonquin Park, Early March, l’image dévoile les lieux dans un mouvement extrêmement ralenti. Comme lors d’un lent processus d’éveil, les qualités atmosphériques du paysage – une brume automnale et un pur éclat de lumière hivernale – confèrent à l’image une somnolence qui rappelle les effets sublimes de la peinture romantique1. Passant de l’abstrait au figuratif telle une apparition, la nature s’éveille progressivement sous nos yeux jusqu’à ce que sa dimension sublime s’évanouisse au profit d’une présence plus tangible et concrète des lieux. L’image emprunte sa fluidité à la nature. Mark Lewis a finement exprimé dans un langage cinématographique les conditions extrêmement évanescentes et éphémères de l’image, ses moments d’éblouissement et d’évanouissement.

Il est bien connu que la force de l’image peut éveiller la conscience à une plus grande lucidité en même temps qu’elle peut paradoxalement la manipuler ou la rendre aveugle. Si l’on y regarde de près, les images numériques d’Isabelle Hayeur invitent à observer la dimension « paysage » du monde avec un sentiment d’étrangeté qui nous met à l’affût des développements industriels modernes et contemporains. Sous forme de vues panoramiques, chacune présente un paysage trompeusement idyllique, une sorte de paradis reconstruit que la dimension désenchantée vient toutefois rendre inquiétant. La composition numérique permet un échafaudage sophistiqué où des lieux sans cohérence se croisent et se rencontrent grâce à des raccords visuels quasi imperceptibles. Mais l’atmosphère à la fois familière et étrange qui plane sur toute la surface révèle l’aspect inhumain des lieux, leur facticité, la perte de leurs propriétés naturelles. Parcourant les paysages pour en déchiffrer les moindres détails, l’œil captera les ruines et les restes en marge des zones où les civilisations ont bâti leurs rêves et leurs utopies.

L’éveil ouvre également sur la mémoire et les processus inconscients où s’incrustent des images qui, à tout instant, menacent de surgir et de réapparaître. Avec Aqtuqsi (My Nightmare), une de ses premières vidéos narratives, Mary Kunuk met en scène un cauchemar qui l’a terrifiée dans son sommeil alors qu’elle avait onze ou douze ans. On s’est tous un jour heurté à la résistance du rêve à se laisser raconter. Portées par une émotion, une sensation, les images oniriques perdent leur précision au moment du réveil et, lorsqu’on tente de les exprimer ou de les raconter, on se heurte inévitablement à l’oubli ainsi qu’au difficile travail de remémoration. Pour figurer son rêve, Mary Kunuk a joué sur différentes qualités et textures. On voyage d’un lieu et d’un temps à un autre, du songe à la réalité, alors que l’image elle-même change de registre visuel et narratif, du documentaire à la fiction, du noir et blanc à la couleur, des images tournées en vidéo à des dessins animés par ordinateur. Ces passages sont aussi marqués par des changements rythmiques qui affectent le défilement de l’image et du son. Fluctuant et discontinu, comme l’irruption – les flashes – de la mémoire, le mouvement varie parallèlement au rythme saccadé d’un chant inuit qui, en hors-champ, raconte le cauchemar de la jeune fille.

L’exposition Fabulation abordera une autre particularité des images contemporaines à travers le mouvement inverse du processus d’éveil, non pas du côté de l’apparition mais de celui de la transfiguration.

1. Pour une discussion plus approfondie du rapprochement entre les deux versions d’Algonquin Park et le sublime en peinture, voir Bernard Fibicher, « Painterly Aspects. Mark Lewis’s New Films », Canadian Art, vol. 20, n° 3, automne 2003, p. 90-93.

Journal # 09 - 05.2004

Consultez le journal de l’exposition Éveil en ligne