Geert Goiris

Geert Goiris, Andrea, 2011, inkjet print, 40 x 50 cm. Courtesy of the artist and Art:Concept, Paris.

Geert Goiris, from the serie Whiteout, 2008-2010, slide projection. Courtesy of the artist.

Geert Goiris, Albino, 2003, inkjet print, 100 x 128 cm. Courtesy of the artist.

Geert Goiris, Subterrain, 2011, inkjet print, 71,5 x 85,5 cm. Courtesy of the artist and Art:Concept, Paris.

View of the exhibition Geert Goiris, VOX, from May 2 to June 28, 2014.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Geert Goiris, VOX, from May 2 to June 28, 2014.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Geert Goiris, VOX, from May 2 to June 28, 2014.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Geert Goiris, VOX, from May 2 to June 28, 2014.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.
2014.05.02 - 06.28

Geert Goiris

Curator
Paul Lagring

Opening on May 1, 2014 at 5:00 pm

VOX presents, in collaboration with Netwerk / center for contemporary art (Aalst, Belgium) and with support from the Flemish authorities, the first major exhibition in Canada of works by artist Geert Goiris.

The Oblique Vision of the Explorer

SERGIO MAH

What is the experiential and perceptual horizon of a photographed landscape? Why does the photographic, with its limitations and possibilities, have the ability to reconfigure the appearance of territory and, as a result, to trigger a perceptibility that goes beyond an experience of the visible? What relationships are interwoven between the real landscape, its representations and social actuality?

Geert Goiris’s work is intimately linked to these issues. Looking at his work, we find a great diversity of subjects and photographic genres, including architecture, portraiture and the photography of objects. Yet landscape is the genre that is at the heart of his photographic practice and imagination. In landscape Goiris reveals a clear attraction to territories that examine geographic boundaries, such as maritime landscapes, the desert, the savannah, volcanic zones, the polar region, glaciers, underground spaces, forests and mountains—in other words distant, remote and inhospitable places that lie at the edges of civilization and are frequently unsuited to human life due to their extreme topographic and climatic conditions, though in some images we glimpse traces of earlier occupation, now condemned to being slowly and patiently absorbed by nature.

Places tend to be represented from a general rather than a particular viewpoint, as metaphors or symptoms of a global rather than a specific reality. One senses the artist’s desire to emphasize a peripheral and oblique view of human presence and action, as if it were necessary to travel to geographical extremes in order to attain a perceptive level from which the full breadth and complexity of certain (historical, psychosocial, ecological, etc.) phenomena can be distinguished and examined.

Goiris is interested in landscape as a theme, but also as a perceptive model, as two absolutely inseparable dimensions that sanction the existence of a fundamental relationship between the gaze and reality, simply because there is no landscape without the gaze to create and frame it. In general, his photographs are notable for their absolute simplicity. It is as if the subjects were simply presenting themselves, free from any artistic mediation. A closer and more sustained analysis, however, reveals to us that Goiris’s photographs are not entirely objective, much less documentary. Their rhetoric lies in the combination of the image’s descriptive capacity with its potential for speculation and reconfiguration, i.e., in the articulation between the desire to represent suggestive and paradigmatic places in visual and symbolic terms and the necessary assumption of the image as a privileged form of aesthetic and critical (re)evaluation.

Another fundamental characteristic of Goiris’s work is the way that certain images instill a feeling of strangeness. Rather than being characteristic of the things themselves, the feeling of strangeness is fundamentally triggered by us as viewers, emerging from our sensibility and perceptivity, the result of a mental predisposition that, stimulated by the spatial and temporal freezing of the image, is able to blur the boundaries between the real and the unreal, between the known and the unknown, reinforcing a disquieting ambiguity, as if they issued from a hypnagogic state—the altered state of consciousness, halfway between wakefulness and sleep, in which the individual is more receptive to the intrusion of other visual frequencies.

In venturing to these sorts of places, the photographer endows the experience of the explorer with a contemporary meaning, more specifically a particular combination between the incursions into nature made by the Romantic painters, as exemplified by the work of Caspar David Friedrich, and the walk undertaken by W.G. Sebald through East Anglia, described in The Rings of Saturn. The contemplation of the ineffable and of the sublime expressions of the natural world is here framed within an analytical attitude that involves a consciousness of history and a critique of current reality.

To sum up, Geert Goiris is not only an explorer of geographical frontiers and expanses; his photographs are also distinguished by the exemplary way that they explore the value of impermanence in images, in the sense that, beyond their specific value, images fulfill a heuristic function, the search for another understanding of the nature of things, privileging this probing movement, in which vision is simultaneously suspended and liberated, the better to stimulate imagination and recollection. They are images that compel us to discover the nature and purpose of our own gaze. We will always have the possibility of looking at the image as something similar to what we have already seen and what we already know. But we can also, as Goiris does, accept the challenge of rethinking everything, knowing, beforehand, that we don’t see only (nor primarily) with our eyes, and that to fully experience the visible requires the mobilization of a body and a mind that are receptive to experiencing a reality that is sensed but that is not entirely seen, but from which starting point everything is imaginable.

In his both poetic and meticulously formal work the Belgian photographer Geert Goiris evokes an elusive space between himself and his surroundings. In various views on natural phenomena, landscapes, man-made objects and architectural monuments, the artist seemingly builds open narratives that the viewer can tap into. The carefully selected scenes, however, create an uncanny aggregate, luring the viewer into an intersubjective play, propelling the visual experience into another dimension. Beyond the linear reading of documented observations lies an invitation to look at the photographic work on an abstract level of artistic intention, presentation and perception.

In this exhibition, the artist brings together Resonance, a series of analogue photographs appearing both as wallpapers and framed prints, and the large format slide projection Whiteout. This clever idiosyncratic body of “encountering photography” takes the viewer on a voyage to discover a sublime space where all matter dissolves into light, and where visual reference points cease to be.

Biography

Geert Goiris

Geert Goiris (Born in, 1971) lives and works in Antwerp, Belgium. He teaches practice-based research at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Antwerp and at the Sint-Lukas Brussels University College of Art and Design…

Read more

Biography

Paul Lagring

Paul Lagring (born in 1951) is Artistic Director of Netwerk / centre for contemporary art in Aalst (Belgium), a place where fine art is presented in dialogue with other disciplines and situated in a broad…

Read more

Interview

Interview with Geert Goiris during his exhibition.

See interview

Geert Goiris

Geert Goiris, Andrea, 2011, impression jet d’encre sur papier archives, 40 x 50 cm. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste et de Art:Concept, Paris.

Geert Goiris, de la série Whiteout, 2008-2010, projection diapositive. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Geert Goiris, Albino, 2003, impression jet d’encre, 100 x 128 cm. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Geert Goiris, Subterrain, 2011, impression jet d’encre sur papier archives, 71,5 x 85,5 cm  Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste et de Art:Concept, Paris.

Vue de l’exposition Geert Goiris, VOX, du 2 mai au 28 juin 2014.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Geert Goiris, VOX, du 2 mai au 28 juin 2014.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Geert Goiris, VOX, du 2 mai au 28 juin 2014.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Geert Goiris, VOX, du 2 mai au 28 juin 2014.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.
2014.05.02 - 06.28

Geert Goiris

Commissaire
Paul Lagring

Vernissage le 1er mai 2014 à 17 h

VOX présente, en collaboration avec Netwerk / centre d’art contemporain (Alost, Belgique) et avec le soutien de l’Autorité flamande, la première exposition d’envergure de l’artiste Geert Goiris au Canada.

La vision oblique de l’explorateur

SERGIO MAH

Quel est l’horizon expérientiel et perceptif d’un paysage photographié ? En quoi la photographie, avec ses limites et ses possibilités, parvient-elle à reconfigurer l’apparence du territoire et, par conséquent, à susciter une perceptibilité qui se situe au-delà de l’expérience du visible ? Quelles sont les relations qui se tissent entre le paysage réel, ses représentations et l’actualité sociale ?

Le travail de Geert Goiris est intimement lié à ces questions. Ses œuvres témoignent d’une grande diversité de sujets et de genres photographiques, notamment l’architecture, le portrait et la photographie d’objets. Mais c’est le paysage qui est au cœur de sa pratique photographique et de son imaginaire. Avec ses paysages, Goiris révèle un attrait indéniable pour les territoires qui interrogent les frontières géographiques : paysages maritimes, déserts, savanes, zones volcaniques, régions polaires, glaciers, lieux souterrains, forêts et montagnes – autant d’endroits lointains, isolés et inhospitaliers qui s’étendent en marge de la civilisation, et que le caractère extrême de leur climat ou de leur topographie rend généralement défavorables à la vie humaine, bien qu’on aperçoive dans certaines images les vestiges d’une occupation passée, désormais condamnée à être lentement et patiemment absorbée par la nature.

Ces lieux nous sont présentés sous un angle plus général que particulier, comme des métaphores ou des symptômes d’une réalité globale, plutôt que spécifique. L’artiste semble vouloir faire émerger une vision périphérique et oblique de la présence et de l’intervention humaines, comme s’il fallait se rendre jusqu’aux extrêmes géographiques pour atteindre un niveau de perception d’où la portée et la complexité de certains phénomènes (historiques, psychosociaux, écologiques, etc.) puissent être examinées avec un recul suffisant.

Goiris s’intéresse au paysage en tant que thème, mais aussi en tant que modèle perceptif, deux dimensions absolument inséparables qui sanctionnent l’existence d’un lien fondamental entre le regard et la réalité – car il n’y a tout simplement pas de paysage sans le regard qui le crée et le cadre dans l’espace. En général, ses photographies sont remarquables pour leur grande simplicité. Les sujets semblent simplement se présenter d’eux-mêmes, libres de toute médiation artistique. Une analyse plus attentive nous révèle cependant que les images de Goiris ne sont pas complètement objectives, et encore moins documentaires. Leur rhétorique s’appuie sur un jeu entre la qualité descriptive de l’image et son potentiel de spéculation et de reconfiguration – autrement dit, sur l’articulation entre le désir de représenter des lieux suggestifs et paradigmatiques en termes visuels et symboliques, et la nécessité d’envisager l’image comme une forme privilégiée de (ré)évaluation esthétique et critique.

L’étrangeté qui se dégage de certaines images est également une caractéristique fondamentale de l’œuvre de Goiris. Or cette étrangeté ne caractérise pas les choses elles-mêmes : elle est fondamentalement suscitée par notre regard, elle naît de notre sensibilité et de notre perceptivité. Le sentiment d’étrangeté apparaît à la faveur d’une prédisposition mentale qui, stimulée par l’immobilisation spatiale et temporelle de l’image, parvient à brouiller la démarcation entre le réel et l’irréel, entre le connu et l’inconnu, accentuant ainsi une ambiguïté inquiétante, comme si elle était provoquée par un état hypnagogique – cet état altéré de conscience, entre veille et sommeil, où l’on est plus réceptif à l’intrusion de fréquences visuelles différentes.

En s’aventurant dans ces contrées, le photographe confère à l’expérience de l’explorateur une portée contemporaine que l’on pourrait situer plus spécifiquement entre les incursions des peintres romantiques dans la nature sauvage, exemplifiées par l’œuvre de Caspar David Friedrich, et la randonnée de W. G. Sebald à travers l’Est-Anglie, décrite dans Les anneaux de Saturne. La contemplation du monde naturel dans ce qu’il a d’ineffable et de sublime s’inscrit ici dans un cadre analytique, qui implique une conscience historique et une critique de la réalité actuelle.

En somme, Geert Goiris n’est pas seulement un explorateur de territoires et de frontières géographiques; ses photographies se démarquent aussi par la manière exemplaire dont elles explorent la valeur de l’impermanence dans les images : au-delà de leur valeur spécifique, elles ont une fonction heuristique, puisqu’elles encouragent une autre compréhension de la nature des choses, en privilégiant cet instant tâtonnant où la vision est simultanément suspendue et libérée, pour mieux stimuler l’imagination et la réminiscence. Ce sont des images qui nous incitent à découvrir la nature et la finalité de notre propre regard. Nous avons toujours la possibilité de considérer l’image comme quelque chose de similaire à ce que nous avons déjà vu, ou à ce que nous connaissons déjà. Mais nous pouvons aussi, comme le fait Goiris, relever le défi de tout repenser, en étant conscients par avance que nous ne voyons pas uniquement (ni d’abord) avec nos yeux, et que la pleine expérience du visible requiert la mobilisation d’un corps et d’un esprit réceptifs à une réalité qui est ressentie sans être entièrement vue, mais à partir de laquelle tout est imaginable.

Dans une œuvre à la fois poétique et méticuleusement formelle, le photographe belge Geert Goiris évoque un espace insaisissable entre lui-même et son environnement immédiat. Devant son objectif, les phénomènes naturels, les paysages, les objets fabriqués par l’homme et les ouvrages architecturaux semblent construire des récits ouverts, offerts à notre imagination. Mais la juxtaposition de ces scènes soigneusement choisies crée une atmosphère étrange qui attire le spectateur dans un jeu intersubjectif et fait basculer l’expérience visuelle dans une autre dimension. Au-delà d’une lecture linéaire des observations documentées par le photographe, celui-ci nous invite à considérer ses œuvres à un niveau plus abstrait d’intention artistique, de présentation et de perception.

Pour cette exposition, l’artiste a réuni deux projets : Resonance, une série de photographies argentiques présentées à la fois sous forme de papier peint et de tirages encadrés, et Whiteout, une projection de diapositives grand format. Ce corpus singulier et fascinant de « rencontres photographiques » nous entraîne à la découverte d’un espace sublime où toute matière se dissout dans la lumière, et où les repères visuels cessent d’exister.

Biographie

Geert Goiris

Geert Goiris (né en 1971) vit et travaille à Anvers, en Belgique. Il enseigne la pratique artistique en tant que recherche à l’Académie royale des beaux-arts d’Anvers, au Sint-Lukas Hogeschool de Bruxelles et à l’Académie Gerrit Rietveld, à Amsterdam…

Lire plus

Biographie

Paul Lagring

Paul Lagring (né en 1951) est le directeur artistique de Netwerk / centre d’art contemporain à Alost en Belgique, un lieu où les arts visuels sont mis en relation avec d’autres disciplines et situés dans…

Lire plus

Entretien

Entretien avec Geert Goiris dans le cadre de son exposition.

Voir l’entretien