Fabien Giraud and Raphaël Siboni. The Unmanned

Fabien Giraud and Raphaël Siboni, The Unmanned (1997: The Brute Force), Episode 2, from the series The Unmanned, 2013-2014, video, 26 min. Courtesy of the artists and the Galerie Loevenbruck, Paris.

Fabien Giraud and Raphaël Siboni, The Unmanned (1997: The Brute Force), Episode 2, from the series The Unmanned, 2013-2014, video, 26 min. Courtesy of the artists and the Galerie Loevenbruck, Paris.

Fabien Giraud and Raphaël Siboni, The Unmanned (2045: The Death of Ray Kurzweil), Episode 1, from the series The Unmanned, 2013-2014, video, 26 min. Courtesy of the artists and the Galerie Loevenbruck, Paris.

Fabien Giraud and Raphaël Siboni, The Unmanned (2045: The Death of Ray Kurzweil), Episode 1, from the series The Unmanned, 2013-2014, video, 26 min. Courtesy of the artists and the Galerie Loevenbruck, Paris.

Fabien Giraud and Raphaël Siboni, La Mesure Minérale, 2012, video, 52 min. Courtesy of the artists and the Galerie Loevenbruck, Paris.

Fabien Giraud and Raphaël Siboni, La Mesure Louvre, 2011, video, 35 min. Courtesy of the artists and the Galerie Loevenbruck, Paris.

Fabien Giraud and Raphaël Siboni, La Mesure Louvre, 2011, video, 35 min. Courtesy of the artists and the Galerie Loevenbruck, Paris.

Fabien Giraud and Raphaël Siboni, Sans titre (La Vallée von Uexküll 4036 x 2048), 2011, video, 40 min. Courtesy of the artists and the Galerie Loevenbruck, Paris.

View of the exhibition Fabien Giraud and Raphaël Siboni. The Unmanned, VOX, from May 2 to June 28, 2014.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Fabien Giraud and Raphaël Siboni. The Unmanned, VOX, from May 2 to June 28, 2014.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Fabien Giraud and Raphaël Siboni. The Unmanned, VOX, from May 2 to June 28, 2014.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.
2014.05.02 - 06.28

Fabien Giraud and Raphaël Siboni

Opening on May 1, 2014 at 5:00 pm


The Unmanned
is presented in partnership with the Biennale internationale d’art numérique (BIAN) and the Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain. The project is supported within the context of operation FRIMAS 2014, lauched by the Institut français and the Consulat général de France à Québec.

VINCENT NORMAND

Fabien Giraud’s and Raphaël Siboni’s work begins with a genealogical consideration. To paraphrase the artists’ question1, we might ask ourselves, along with them: what if cinema, somewhere between the two takes that made up the Lumière brothers’ original shot, had kept its promise of emancipation and radical uprooting of vision, and had been something else entirely? The question springs in a way from a contradiction—for the “emancipated” experience promised by the insularity of the movie theatre is inseparable from the technical conditions that, historically, have inscribed the experience of the moving picture at the heart of the modern process of rationalization and reform of vision. From that contradiction inherent in their approach, the artists draw their vocabulary: they aim to use cinema as a viewing machine that looks back upon itself, or rather upon its own stories, to reel in the technological events that constitute the implicit scripts of its mode of existence, all while isolating, within that continuous narrative, various branching, tipping, reversal and rupture points, as well as non-linear and discontinuous spaces, and populating them with images.

To properly grasp the contradictory space of Giraud’s and Siboni’s agency, we must reconstitute its topology. The modern reshaping of vision that included the advent of the moving image developed against a backdrop of great divides that Western modernity had imprinted on the world—dichotomies of natural/technical, empirical/transcendental, rational/non-rational, and reality/fiction, with preferred vectors assigned to those fields: objectivity or subjectivity, objects or subjects. Corresponding to those great divides, therefore, was the separation between two economies of the gaze, two structures of representational production in which subjects and objects were placed, incrusted, and whereby the cleaved cosmography of modernity gained structure: the scientific image and the aesthetic image.

Scientific modernity, born with the mechanist revolution and the parallel invention of the microscope and telescope, is a vision of conquest and a logic of division. The images produced by modern Science are nourished by partitions, casting objects from Nature into the denaturalized space of laboratories, natural history museums and observatories. The instruments of vision brought to bear in isolating factual truths are instruments of measurement and calculation: a measure of the distance between things; a calculation of their inclusion in the positive language of modern knowledge . Optical navigation at the material and cosmic scales has thus proceeded by the invention of progressively more granular benchmarks, new frames and new resolution scales. Thus the scientific image does not close the distance between observed object and observing subject; it continually refines its resolution. Within that image, technics becomes the locus for a deepening of the limit that, in the modern world, is systematically inscribed in objects and subjects, and on the sides of which they, in a constant retreat, are being indefinitely redistributed.

Aesthetic modernity, since the “Copernican Revolution” of the spectator posited by Immanuel Kant, has been a vision of export and a logic of transgression. Paul Cézanne dreamt of an eye “at the heart of things” because the question of the medium crystallized, during the evolution of modernist theory, the conditions for “mediality” between spectator and image. Modernism is the history of the methods of crossing the frames and geometrical limits that are at once positioned and subverted by the medium, inviting the spectator’s interiority to break the bounds of the perceptual experience and enter the purified experience of the aesthetical. The aesthetic image is the one that pays the price of that mediality: technics erects before it an artefactual screen that becomes tangible only at the moment it is pierced by subjectivity.

Technics is on the one hand conceived of as a deepening of the limit and, on the other, as the crossing of the limit: in that necessarily schematic topology of modern representation as a conflict between the scientific image and the aesthetic image, the modern subject has become the site of a technics of separation, a figure oscillating between its objective extraction of animality and its subjective tension toward artefactuality. Mechanical hallucination, the invention of cinema, turned that technics of separation into a space: at the time of of the 1848 Revolution, daguerreotype exposure times were too long to enable passing silhouettes in the streets of Paris to be recorded, and only architecture was preserved on the recording surface, but cinema invented a frequency of image capture that generated a system of visibility commensurate with the scale and frequency of the watcher, the human figure. What modernity purified and cinema synthesized into an autonomous experience was, on the one hand, the subject as archaeological site of the conscious, subconscious and unconscious and, on the other, the object as a stratigraphic site for recording, measuring and calculating the discontinuities of the world: it was in the nervosity of the breach harnessing subjects to objects, that the cinematographic image found its space.

Reconstituting the topology of that breach is important because Giraud and Siboni’s agency is situated precisely in the limit traced by the breach in the very constitution of their images. Whether they are folding the camera back onto its existence as a calculating machine (in the series Untitled [La Vallée Von Uexküll]), organizing the appearance of its frame rate with objects materializing historical time (La Mesure Minérale, La Mesure Louvre), or imagining the consequences of an ultimate reflexivity of the medium of film, underscored in its capacity to produce what Stanley Cavell has termed “the mechanical absentification of the spectator” (in the series The Unmanned), they are indeed working to render explicit that implicit breach synthesized by the medium of film, going as far as to make it the sole locus of the visual experience. What matters here is not art and science, but the formal realms that those domains have projected and pitted against each other: what the artists propose is a recording of the morphological events generated by the ceaseless tipping of one image system into another. Not to further disenchant them, nor to liquefy the cleavage between them by re-enchanting them with subjective narratives, but to make the very experience of the limit that separates them a site of production of figures: a technics, held in a suspended form, and thereby made tangible, of separation.

1. See the artists’ statement at www.theunmanned.com

Fabien Giraud and Raphaël Siboni focus their research on the notion of the measurement and perception of the world. Their questioning of the evolution of techniques, time and relationships of scale leads them beyond the human perspective, towards an image outside of the world. Whether by reducing film to a pure quantity of light (Untitled: La Vallée von Uexküll), synchronizing our experience of a museum to the immensity of geological time (La Mesure Minérale), or confronting a camera with the destructive vision of a particle accelerator (La Mesure Louvre), they imagine the possibility of a cinema that would not subject bodies to the frame nor bend gestures to time length, and in which the human figure would not be the only standard of measurement. The new film series entitled The Unmanned, which gives its name to the exhibition, is constructed as an attempt to navigate within all of these excesses. Conceived as a non-human and backwards history of technics, it opens in 2045 with the death of Ray Kurzweil at the threshold point of technological singularity.

Biography

Fabien Giraud and Raphaël Siboni

Fabien Giraud (1980) and Raphaël Siboni (1981) live and work in Paris. They met at the École nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs in Paris, but only began collaborating as artists when both were studying at Le Fresnoy…

Read more

Interview

Interview with the artists during the exhibition The Unmanned presented at Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain in 2014.

See interview

Fabien Giraud et Raphaël Siboni. The Unmanned

Fabien Giraud et Raphaël Siboni, The Unmanned (1997: The Brute Force), épisode 2 de la série The Unmanned, 2013-2014, vidéo, 26 min. Avec l’aimable permission des artistes et de la Galerie Loevenbruck, Paris.

Fabien Giraud et Raphaël Siboni, The Unmanned (1997: The Brute Force), épisode 2 de la série The Unmanned, 2013-2014, vidéo, 26 min. Avec l’aimable permission des artistes et de la Galerie Loevenbruck, Paris.

Fabien Giraud et Raphaël Siboni, The Unmanned (2045: The Death of Ray Kurzweil), épisode 1 de la série The Unmanned, 2013-2014, vidéo, 26 min. Avec l’aimable permission des artistes et de la Galerie Loevenbruck, Paris.

Fabien Giraud et Raphaël Siboni, The Unmanned (2045: The Death of Ray Kurzweil), épisode 1 de la série The Unmanned, 2013-2014, vidéo, 26 min. Avec l’aimable permission des artistes et de la Galerie Loevenbruck, Paris.

Fabien Giraud et Raphaël Siboni, La Mesure Minérale, 2012, vidéo, 52 min. Avec l’aimable permission des artistes et de la Galerie Loevenbruck, Paris.

Fabien Giraud et Raphaël Siboni, La Mesure Louvre, 2011, vidéo, 35 min. Avec l’aimable permission des artistes et de la Galerie Loevenbruck, Paris.

Fabien Giraud et Raphaël Siboni, La Mesure Louvre, 2011, vidéo, 35 min. Avec l’aimable permission des artistes et de la Galerie Loevenbruck, Paris.

Fabien Giraud et Raphaël Siboni, Sans titre (La Vallée von Uexküll 4036 x 2048), 2011, vidéo, 40 min. Avec l’aimable permission des artistes et de la Galerie Loevenbruck, Paris.

Vue de l’exposition Fabien Giraud et Raphaël Siboni. The Unmanned, VOX, du 2 mai au 28 juin 2014.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Fabien Giraud et Raphaël Siboni. The Unmanned, VOX, du 2 mai au 28 juin 2014.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Fabien Giraud et Raphaël Siboni. The Unmanned, VOX, du 2 mai au 28 juin 2014.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.
2014.05.02 - 06.28



Vernissage le 1er mai 2014 à 17 h


The Unmanned
est une exposition présentée en partenariat avec la Biennale internationale d’art numérique (BIAN) et le Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain. Le projet est soutenu dans le cadre de l’opération FRIMAS 2014, lancée par l’Institut français et le Consulat général de France à Québec.

VINCENT NORMAND

Le travail de Fabien Giraud et Raphaël Siboni s’ouvre par une considération d’ordre généalogique. On pourrait en effet paraphraser la question que se posent les artistes1 et se demander avec eux : et si le cinéma, entre les deux captures de son plan inaugural par les frères Lumière, avait tenu sa promesse d’émancipation et de déracinement radical de la vision, et avait été tout autre ? Cette question est en quelque sorte posée sur une contradiction, car l’expérience « émancipée » promise par l’insularité de la salle de cinéma est inséparable des conditions techniques qui, historiquement, ont fait de l’image cinématographique une expérience inscrite au cœur du processus moderne de rationalisation et de réforme de la vision. De cette contradiction logée au cœur de leur projet, les artistes tirent leur vocabulaire : il s’agit pour eux d’utiliser le cinéma comme une machine de vision retournée contre elle-même, ou plutôt contre ses propres récits, pour remonter le fil des événements techniques qui forment les scripts implicites de son mode d’existence, tout en travaillant à isoler dans ce récit continu des bifurcations, des points de bascule, de retournement et de rupture, des espaces non linéaires et discontinus, en les peuplant d’images.

Pour comprendre l’espace contradictoire dans lequel Fabien Giraud et Raphaël Siboni opèrent, il faut en reconstituer une topologie. La reconfiguration moderne de la vision dans laquelle est inscrite l’apparition de l’image cinématographique s’est établie sur fond de grands partages que la modernité occidentale a imprimés dans le monde, dichotomies installées entre la nature et la technique, l’empirique et le transcendant, la raison et la non-raison, la réalité et la fiction, en attribuant à ces domaines leurs vecteurs privilégiés : l’objectivité ou la subjectivité, les objets ou les sujets. À ces grands partages a ainsi correspondu la séparation entre deux économies du regard, deux structures de production de représentations dans lesquelles sujets et objets ont été logés, incrustés, et par laquelle la cosmographie clivée de la modernité s’est structurée : l’image scientifique et l’image esthétique.

La modernité scientifique, dès la révolution mécaniste et l’invention parallèle du microscope et du télescope, c’est une vision de la conquête et une logique de la division. Les images que la Science moderne produit se nourrissent de partitions, en projetant les objets de la Nature dans l’espace dénaturalisé du laboratoire, du musée d’histoire naturelle et de l’analyse. Les instruments de vision mobilisés pour l’isolement de vérités factuelles sont des instruments de mesure et de calcul : mesure de la distance entre les choses, entre l’homme et l’animal, calcul de leur inscription dans le langage positif du savoir moderne. Aussi la navigation optique dans les échelles de la matière et du cosmos s’opère-t-elle par l’invention toujours plus fine de nouveaux étalons, de nouveaux cadres et de nouvelles échelles de résolution. Ainsi, l’image scientifique ne comble pas la distance entre l’objet observé et le sujet observant, mais en augmente sans cesse la résolution. La technique y est le lieu d’un approfondissement de la limite qui, dans le monde moderne, s’inscrit symétriquement dans les objets et les sujets, et autour de laquelle ceux-ci, dans une constante retraite, sont indéfiniment redistribués.

La modernité esthétique, depuis la « révolution copernicienne » du spectateur proposée par Emmanuel Kant, c’est une vision de l’export et une logique de la transgression. Si Paul Cézanne rêvait d’un œil « situé au cœur des choses », c’est que la question du médium a cristallisé au cours de l’évolution de la théorie moderniste les conditions d’une « médialité » entre le spectateur et l’image. Le modernisme, c’est l’histoire des modes de traversée des cadres et limites géométriques que le médium à la fois pose et subvertit, invitant l’intériorité du spectateur à franchir la frontière de l’expérience perceptuelle pour pénétrer celle, purifiée, de l’esthétique. L’image esthétique, c’est celle qui paie le prix de cette médialité : la technique y érige un écran artefactuel ne devenant palpable que dans le moment de sa traversée par la subjectivité.

Une technique conçue, d’une part, comme approfondissement de la limite, de l’autre, comme sa traversée : dans cette topologie nécessairement schématique de la représentation moderne comme conflit entre image scientifique et image esthétique, le sujet moderne est devenu le site d’une technique de la séparation, figure oscillant entre son extraction objective de l’animalité et sa tension subjective vers l’artefactualité. De cette technique de la séparation, l’hallucination mécanique inventée par le cinéma a fait un lieu : si lors de la révolution de 1848 le temps d’exposition du daguerréotype était trop long pour permettre d’enregistrer le passage des silhouettes dans les rues de Paris et ne conservait que l’architecture sur sa surface d’enregistrement, le cinéma a inventé une fréquence d’apparition des images produisant un régime de visibilité construit à la mesure et à la fréquence de celui qui regarde, la figure humaine. Ce que la modernité a purifié et ce que le cinéma a synthétisé en une expérience autonome, c’est, d’une part, le sujet comme site archéologique des niveaux conscients, subconscients et inconscients, et, d’autre part, l’objet comme site stratigraphique d’enregistrement, de mesure et de calcul des discontinuités du monde : c’est dans la nervosité de la faille qui articule les sujets aux objets que l’image cinématographique a trouvé son espace.

S’il importe de reconstituer la topologie de cette faille, c’est que c’est précisément dans la limite qu’elle trace dans la constitution même de leurs images que Fabien Giraud et Raphaël Siboni travaillent. Qu’il s’agisse de replier la caméra sur son existence comme machine de calcul (dans la série Untitled [La Vallée Von Uexküll]), d’organiser la comparution de sa fréquence de production d’images avec des objets matérialisant le temps historique (La Mesure Minérale, La Mesure Louvre), ou encore d’imaginer les conséquences d’une ultime réflexivité du médium cinématographique, souligné dans sa capacité à produire ce que Stanley Cavell a appelé « l’absentification mécanique du spectateur » (dans la série The Unmanned), c’est bien cette faille implicite synthétisée par le médium cinématographique que les artistes travaillent à rendre explicite, jusqu’à en faire le lieu seul de l’expérience visuelle. C’est non pas d’art et de science dont il s’agit ici, mais des mondes formels que ces domaines ont projetés et opposés : ce que les artistes proposent, c’est l’enregistrement des événements morphologiques produits par le basculement incessant d’un régime d’image dans l’autre. Non pour les désenchanter davantage, ni pour en liquéfier le clivage en les ré-enchantant de récits subjectifs, mais pour faire de l’expérience même de la limite qui les sépare le lieu de production des figures : une technique tenue dans une forme suspendue – et par là même rendue palpable – de séparation.

1. Voir les propos des artistes sur www.theunmanned.com

Fabien Giraud et Raphaël Siboni concentrent leurs recherches autour des notions de mesure et de vision du monde. Leur questionnement sur l’évolution des techniques, du temps et des rapports d’échelle les mène au-delà de la mesure humaine vers une image hors-monde. Que ce soit en réduisant un film à une pure quantité de lumière (Sans titre : La Vallée von Uexküll), en synchronisant notre expérience du musée avec la démesure d’échelle des temps géologiques (La Mesure Minérale) ou en confrontant une caméra à la vision destructrice d’un accélérateur de particules (La Mesure Louvre), ils imaginent la possibilité d’un cinéma qui n’aurait pas assujetti les corps au cadre ni ployé les gestes à la durée, et dont la figure humaine ne serait pas l’unique étalon de mesure.

La nouvelle série de films intitulée The Unmanned, qui donne ici son nom à l’exposition, se construit comme une tentative de navigation au sein de toutes ces démesures. Conçue comme une histoire non humaine et à rebours de la Technique, elle s’ouvre en 2045 avec la mort de Ray Kurzweil, au seuil du point de singularité technologique.

Biographie

Fabien Giraud et Raphaël Siboni

Fabien Giraud (1980) et Raphaël Siboni (1981) vivent et travaillent à Paris. Ils se sont rencontrés à l’École nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs de Paris, mais ils ne commencent à collaborer que lors de leur passage au Fresnoy…

Lire plus

Entretien

Entretien réalisé avec les artistes dans le cadre de l’exposition The Unmanned présentée au Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain en 2014.

Voir l’entretien