Hannah Collins

Hannah Collins, La Mina, still, 2001-2003, video installation from a 35 mm film, 40 min. Courtesy of the artist.

Hannah Collins, La Mina, still, 2001-2003, video installation from a 35 mm film, 40 min. Courtesy of the artist.

Hannah Collins, La Mina, still, 2001-2003, video installation from a 35 mm film, 40 min. Courtesy of the artist.

Hannah Collins, La Mina, still, 2001-2003, video installation from a 35 mm film, 40 min. Courtesy of the artist.

Hannah Collins, La Mina, still, 2001-2003, video installation from a 35 mm film, 40 min. Courtesy of the artist.

Credit: Courtesy of the artist.

Hannah Collins, La Mina, still, 2001-2003, video installation from a 35 mm film, 40 min. Courtesy of the artist.

Hannah Collins, Medir la Verdad III, 2002, digital print on canvas, 305 x 601 cm. Courtesy of the artist.

View of the exhibition Hannah Collins, VOX, from October 30 to December 11, 2004.

Credit: Frédéric Bouchard.
2004.10.11 - 12.11

Hannah Collins

Opening October 30, 2004

An exhibition co-produced with the COPEC, Cultura de Catalunya.

VINCENT LAVOIE

Already in 1985, when she made imposing prints of World War Two archival images and thereby initiated a reflection on the photographic and architectural vestiges of contemporary history, Hannah Collins had begun to explore the poetic and historiographic potential of bringing period documents into the present day. Since then, the British-born artist, whose photographic work appears to be impermeable to the prescriptions of the decisive moment, continues to privilege representations of duration and to plumb the temporal depths of things and the memorial density of the world. Time, or rather the course of time, to use the title of one of her series of photographs (In the Course of Time, 1994-96), and the social, economic, and cultural effects of events and not scoops, the privileged credo of news photography, are what her images depict. Not the events linked to a specific news event but the consequences of history: the remnants of a Polish factory, the area around Auschwitz, an abandoned Jewish cemetery, the refuse from a Turkish tannery–even the decay of architectural functionalism, as seen in the work La Mina (2001-03), the work on exhibit here.

This film, shot in 35 mm over a period of 23 days in La Mina, a residential complex built in 1973 under Franco as a Gypsy settlement on the outskirts of Barcelona, and projected in staggered fashion on five screens, is made up of scripted and improvised scenes involving the area’s inhabitants. The choice of 35 mm, logistically more complex than digital video, conveys the artist’s desire to render the act of representation sensitive in order to attract the community’s attention, adhesion, and participation. This is the social and anthropological element of the work, which was developed like a collective event. Hannah Collins’ work is diametrically opposed to images taken on the run. It takes root in the situations she observes: a former actor in spaghetti westerns mediates a dispute; a teenager dreams of becoming an actor, a man collects industrial waste, while another, confined to a wheelchair, sings his cante hondo, or deep song. This flamenco song, with its repetition, refrains, and modulation, found its highest expression in the voice of Camaron, the famous Gypsy singer of the 1970s and 80s. Camaron’s incantations, sublime expressions of Gypsy memory, are immortalised in stone under a bust in one of the squares of La Mina. Behind this bust, we can see, like a grotesque historical counterpoint, the complex’s sinister buildings. The visual telescoping of this bust and these buildings, albeit contemporary, expresses in its entirety the contradiction arising from the head-on collision between a monument, the emblem of a singular cultural tradition, and a form of architecture which is the authoritarian expression of a forced settlement.

La Mina is an extension of Hannah Collins’ previous photographic work, particularly that work in which the constructed environment is represented in light of cultural transmutations. Consider, for example, the image The Hunter’s Space (1995) from the series In the Course of Time, which depicts an improvised Gypsy camp made out of refuse of all kinds. In the background, like a painted backdrop, a forest borders the site, which looks more like a municipal dump than a campground. Despite the site’s disorderly appearance, it preserves some of the basic principles of Gypsy social life, such as the separation of public and private space. Roadways have been created and the shacks are equipped with windows, doors, chimneys and even something resembling a back yard, where garbage is tossed. The attributes of domestic architecture and public spaces have been reproduced according to the model of propriety that governs the use of land and buildings. The right to property, which is to say the “right of occupancy”, derives in this case from the recovery of what are undoubtedly poor materials (pieces of plywood, cardboard, plastic sheeting, etc.). Nevertheless, they have a certain use value. In the same way, one of the chapters of La Mina, shot beyond the complex, opens on a series of chabolas, jerry-rigged dwellings made out of recycled materials which reproduce, after a fashion, the canonical forms of domestic architecture. Refuse can thus become architecture, or at least shelter, screen, or rampart, the site of the final retrenchment of privacy.

Kurt Schwitters, in a famous text describing the founding of Merz after the Great War, emphasised the use value of refuse: “It is also possible to create using garbage and this is what I do when I glue and nail things together. . . . In any event, everything had fallen apart, and we had to make new things out of refuse”.1 Today garbage is, above all, an expression of the way the social fabric has been rent and a symptom of cultural ostracism, which Hannah Collins continues to combat.

Like a kaleidoscope, in which colours and patterns cross and collide, Hannah Collins’ work modulates the episodes of history, compresses and distends them, as if under the influence of a secret pulsation. Her entire work is marbled with heterogeneous time, irrigated with multi-polar narratives, and flecked with secular speech. This is where all the complexity and soundness of Hannah Collins’ work can be found: in the temporal and cultural intrications that she brings to light by unveiling the memories we retain and liberating the memories we have preserved.

1. Cited by Jacques Rancière, “Sens et figures de l’histoire”, in Face à l’histoire (Paris: Centre Georges Pompidou, 1996), p. 20.

Biography

Hannah Collins

Hannah Collins

Hannah Collins was born in London in 1956 and lives and works in Barcelona and London. Since 1986, she has been creating monumental work which captures the passage of time and the mark of…

Read more

Journal # 11 - 10.2004

Read the online journal for the exhibition Hannah Collins

Hannah Collins

Hannah Collins, La Mina (extrait), 2001-2003, installation vidéo à partir d’un film 35 mm, 40 min. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Hannah Collins, La Mina (extrait), 2001-2003, installation vidéo à partir d’un film 35 mm, 40 min. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Hannah Collins, La Mina (extrait), 2001-2003, installation vidéo à partir d’un film 35 mm, 40 min. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Hannah Collins, La Mina (extrait), 2001-2003, installation vidéo à partir d’un film 35 mm, 40 min. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Hannah Collins, La Mina (extrait), 2001-2003, installation vidéo à partir d’un film 35 mm, 40 min. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Hannah Collins, La Mina (extrait), 2001-2003, installation vidéo à partir d’un film 35 mm, 40 min. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Hannah Collins, Medir la Verdad III, 2002, impression numérique sur canevas, 305 x 601 cm. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Vue de l’exposition Hannah Collins, VOX, du  30 octobre au 11 décembre 2004.

Crédit : Frédéric Bouchard.
2004.10.11 - 12.11

Hannah Collins

Vernissage le 30 octobre 2004

Une exposition coproduite avec le COPEC, Cultura de Catalunya

VINCENT LAVOIE

Déjà, en 1985, lorsqu’elle réalise d’imposants tirages à partir d’images d’archives de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Hannah Collins, qui amorce ainsi une réflexion sur les vestiges, photographiques et architecturaux, de l’histoire contemporaine, explore le potentiel poético-historiographique propre à l’actualisation des documents d’époque. Depuis lors, l’artiste d’origine britannique, dont le travail photographique paraît imperméable aux prescriptions de l’instant décisif, continue de privilégier les représentations de la durée et de sonder la profondeur temporelle des choses, l’épaisseur mémorielle du monde. Le temps, ou plutôt le cours du temps, pour reprendre le titre d’une de ses séries photographiques (In the Course of Time, 1994-1996), les effets (sociaux, économiques, culturels, etc.) produits par les événements, et non les scoops, credo privilégié de la photographie d’actualité, voilà plutôt ce que représentent ses images ; non pas des événements liés à une actualité particulière mais les séquelles de l’histoire : les restes d’une manufacture polonaise, les environs d’Auschwitz, un cimetière juif abandonné, les déchets d’une tannerie turque, voire la ruine du fonctionnalisme architectural, comme en témoigne La Mina (2001-2003), l’œuvre ici présentée.

Tourné en 35 mm sur une période de 23 jours à La Mina, complexe résidentiel construit en 1973 sous Franco destiné à sédentariser les Gitans dans la périphérie de Barcelone, ce film, diffusé sur cinq écrans de manière asynchrone, est composé de scènes scénarisées et de scènes improvisées mettant à contribution les habitants du lieu. Le choix du format 35 mm, plus complexe du point de vue logistique que la vidéo numérique, traduit l’intention de rendre sensible l’acte de représentation, cela afin de susciter l’attention, l’adhésion et la participation de la communauté. Telle est la part sociale et anthropologique de cette œuvre élaborée comme un événement collectif. Aux antipodes des images prises à la sauvette, les représentations réalisées par Hannah Collins s’enracinent dans les situations qu’elle a observées : un ancien acteur de westerns spaghetti arbitre une dispute, un adolescent rêve de devenir acteur, un homme collecte des déchets industriels, un autre cloué à un fauteuil roulant exprime son cante hondo ou chant profond. Répétition, reprise et modulation caractérisent ce chant flamenco, lequel trouve son expression la plus achevée dans la voix de Camaron, célèbre chanteur gitan des années soixante-dix et quatre-vingt. Les incantations de Camaron, sublimes résurgences de la mémoire gitane, ont été immortalisées dans la pierre sous les espèces d’un buste installé sur l’un des squares de La Mina. À l’arrière-plan de celui-ci, on peut apercevoir, tel un grotesque contrepoint historique, les sinistres bâtiments de la cité. Le télescopage visuel de ce buste et des immeubles, au demeurant contemporains, exprime toute la contradiction issue du choc frontal entre un monument, emblème d’une tradition culturelle singulière, et une architecture, expression autoritaire d’une sédentarisation forcée.

La Mina s’inscrit dans le prolongement des travaux photographiques antérieurement réalisés par Hannah Collins, de ceux, plus particulièrement, où l’environnement bâti est représenté sous l’angle de ses trans-mutations culturelles. Voyez, par exemple, cette image (In the Course of TimeThe Hunter’s Space, 1995) représentant un campement gitan improvisé à partir de déchets de toutes sortes. À l’arrière-plan, telle une toile de fond, une forêt délimite un site plus volontiers assimilable à une décharge municipale qu’à un camping. Malgré l’aspect désordonné du lieu, certains principes fondamentaux de la vie sociale, dont le départage des espaces publics et privés, sont préservés. Des aires de circulation ont été aménagées, les abris sont munis de fenêtres, de portes, de cheminées et même d’un semblant d’arrière-cour où jeter ses déchets. Les attributs propres aux architectures domestiques et à l’aménagement des espaces publics sont reproduits conformément au modèle de la propriété foncière et immobilière. Le droit de propriété, c’est-à-dire la « légitimité de l’occupation », procède en l’occurrence de la récupération de matériaux certes pauvres (pièces de contre-plaqué, surfaces de carton, pellicules de plastique, etc.) mais néanmoins pourvus d’une valeur d’usage. De la même manière, l’un des chapitres de La Mina, tourné cette fois à l’extérieur de la cité, s’ouvre en montrant une série de chabolas, habitations de fortune faites de matériaux recyclés, où l’on reproduit, tant bien que mal, les configurations canoniques de l’architecture domestique. Le déchet peut ainsi donc se faire architecture, à tout le moins refuge, écran, rempart, lieu de l’ultime retranchement de l’intimité.

Kurt Schwitters, dans un texte célèbre décrivant la fondation du Merz au lendemain de la Grande Guerre, soulignait ainsi la valeur d’usage du déchet : « On peut aussi créer en utilisant des ordures et c’est ce que je fis en collant et clouant […] De toute façon tout était fichu et il s’agissait de construire des choses nouvelles à partir de débris1.» Aujourd’hui, l’ordure est surtout l’expression d’un déchirement, celui du tissu social, et fonctionne comme le symptôme d’un ostracisme culturel, qu’Hannah Collins persiste à combattre.

À la façon d’un kaléidoscope où couleurs et figures s’entrecroisent et s’entrechoquent, l’œuvre d’Hannah Collins module les épisodes de l’histoire, les comprime et les distend, comme sous l’effet d’une secrète pulsation. Son œuvre entier est persillé de temps hétérogènes, irrigué de récits multipolaires, émaillé de paroles séculaires. C’est là que résident toute la complexité et la justesse des travaux d’Hannah Collins ; dans les intrications temporelles et culturelles qu’elle met au jour, dans le dévoilement des souvenirs retenus, dans la libération des mémoires préservées.

1. Cité par Jacques Rancière, « Sens et figures de l’histoire », dans Face à l’histoire, Paris, Centre Georges Pompidou, 1996, p. 20.

Biographie

Hannah Collins

Née à Londres en 1956, Hannah Collins vit et travaille à Barcelone et à Londres. Depuis 1986, elle réalise des œuvres monumentales qui captent le passage du temps et l’empreinte de l’histoire…

Lire plus

Journal # 11 - 10.2004

Consultez le journal de l’exposition Hannah Collins en ligne