Jean-Marie Delavalle

Jean-Marie Delavalle, from the series The Quebec Filter (Screen no. 3), 1971, projection of 36 slides 35 mm, 15-second intervals. Courtesy of the artist.

Jean-Marie Delavalle, from the series The Quebec Filter (Screen no. 2), 1971, projection of 20 slides 35 mm, 15-second intervals. Courtesy of the artist.

Jean-Marie Delavalle, invitation for the exhibition Screens etc. at the Galerie Média Gravure et Multiples, held from February 7 to 21, 1971. Courtesy of the artist.

Jean-Marie Delavalle, from the series Waiting for a Grant, 1971, 36 silver gelatin prints. Courtesy of the artist.

Jean-Marie Delavalle, from the series Waiting for a Grant, 1971, 36 silver gelatin prints. Courtesy of the artist.

Jean-Marie Delavalle, from the series Waiting for a Grant, 1971, 36 silver gelatin prints. Courtesy of the artist.

Jean-Marie Delavalle, from Cinquante fois, 1971, booklet : 50 pages, 1/25. Courtesy of the artist.

View of the exhibition Jean-Marie Delavalle, VOX, from November 15, 2014 to February 21, 2015.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Jean-Marie Delavalle, VOX, from November 15, 2014 to February 21, 2015.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Jean-Marie Delavalle, VOX, from November 15, 2014 to February 21, 2015.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Jean-Marie Delavalle, VOX, from November 15, 2014 to February 21, 2015.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Jean-Marie Delavalle, VOX, from November 15, 2014 to February 21, 2015.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.
2014.11.15 - 2015.02.21

Jean-Marie Delavalle

Curator
Claudine Roger

Opening on November 15, 2014, at 3:00 pm

CLAUDINE ROGER

Jean-Marie Delavalle is known mainly for his monochrome sculptures and paintings, but between 1970 and 1975 he also tried his hand at experimental works, producing a select corpus of conceptual pieces that were anything but eclectic, exemplifying a rigorous research process that investigated colour and perception. They speak to a practice characterized by originality, with a decisively open-minded aesthetics.

A graduate of the École des beaux-arts de Montréal, Delavalle made his début in the summer of 1967, contributing to the art at the Youth Pavilion at the International and Universal Exposition. Expo 67 was a catalyzing moment that profoundly affected Quebecers’ view of the world and of themselves, and it also revitalized artistic practices. Delavalle’s work again drew notice a few months later as part of the group show Huit jeunes sculpteurs actuels at Galerie du Siècle in Montreal.1 The critical acclaim afforded that exhibition prompted the National Gallery of Canada to organize a touring exhibition in 1969 entitled 7 Montreal Sculptors = 7 sculpteurs de Montréal, attesting to the emergence of a new art scene in Quebec.2 Delavalle showed two initial pieces, minimalist sculptures of painted steel. Around this time, he began to be inspired by novel international trends that laid great emphasis on concept, and imagined several works of a conceptual nature—as seen in his notebooks, which record numerous ideas, unrealized projects, and the works shown here.

In the summer of 1970, Delavalle turned to photography: works included a series of images depicting wave motion; other photographs that juxtaposed units of measure with compositional elements such as windows and snowbanks; self-portraits; as well as several series dedicated to different times of the day. In these, the artist incorporated a number of variables: different light, places and times, but also shifts dependent on specific features of the photographic apparatus and its functions (focus, infrared film, colour filters, etc.). A major work entitled The Quebec Filter dates from this period: a group of 256 slides comprising six phases of photographic notations, all taken through the window of the artist’s apartment.

The six series investigate the same subject: “how the artist sees exterior reality, in the variations of light levels, colour and forms of which it is composed.”3 Delavalle’s action was systematic, revealing a working methodology specific to him: the subject of each image is identical and the frame fixed, but the focal plane is progressively shifted—the process repeated four or eight times depending on the screen. The choice of projection as presentation method was also intended to emphasize the luminous quality of the work, as the artist explained: “[…] I like the slide image better than the print. It is much stronger. It is pure light and colour.”4 The Quebec Filter (“Screen No. 2” and “Screen No. 3”) immerses the viewer in a rhythmic contemplation of a field seen through a window screen, with shifting textures created by the focus adjustments. Looking at this succession of images, even today, demands constant attention: the variations are subtle, often vague, lending the whole a quite atmospheric, even appeasing effect.

In February 1971, Delavalle took part in the exhibition 45° 30′ N – 73° 36′ W,5 held at the Sir George Williams Art Galleries and the Saidye Bronfman Centre for the Arts in Montreal, presenting an initial series of photographs of waves. The following autumn, the artist broke up the different series from The Quebec Filter and showed them simultaneously at the VII Paris Biennial, where he represented Canada; at the Stable Gallery of the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts; in the National Gallery of Canada’s touring exhibition Cozic-Delavalle; and at the Royan International Festival of Contemporary Art in France, representing Québec. It was not until the summer of 1973, however, when the National Gallery of Canada included The Quebec Filter and the self-portrait Bleu, jaune, rouge, vert in the exhibition Boucherville, Montreal, Toronto, London, that the importance of Jean-Marie Delavalle’s works was truly recognized. Selected among other Canadian artists representative of the period, he received an enthusiastic reception from both critics and the public for the originality of his works.6

Between 1973 and 1975, the artist broadened his experimentation—purely visual to that point—to include sound works, creating a series of transcriptions while travelling by car, by bicycle and on foot. The pieces 1 heure (marche), 1 heure (vélo) and Clonk, presented at Galerie Média in Montreal in November 1973, signalled a change of sensibility, or of attitude, with regard to the traditional ways of apprehending an art object. The recordings were presented in the form of audio tape, maps, photographs and even a vinyl record (Une demi-heure, 33 1/3 rpm). These objects (including the artist’s bicycle!) became the “documents,” or the traces, of artistic experimentation; the visitor’s participation is essential to assimilating all of these works’ subtleties.

By limiting the visual clues in these early pieces and in his later monochromal painted-aluminum surfaces, Jean-Marie Delavalle has consistently forced spectators to invoke their imaginations: the better to grasp, for a moment, the “surrounding reality.”

1. The “eight young contemporary sculptors,” Jacques Cleary, Serge Cournoyer, Jean-Marie Delavalle, Claire Hogenkamp, Jean-Claude Lajeunie, Jean Noël, Serge Otis and Roger Paquin, broke with traditional processes, incorporating industrial treatments and materials into their works and thereby challenging “the very definition of sculpture.” Francine Couture (ed.), “Technologies et art québécois 1965-1970,” in Cahiers du Département d’histoire de l’art de l’Université du Québec à Montréal, Spring 1988.
2. The show included works by Serge Cournoyer, Yvon Cozic, Jean-Marie Delavalle, Jean Noël, Serge Otis, Serge Tousignant and Roger Vilder. See Danielle Corbeil, “12 Young Montreal Artists: An Interview,” artscanada, No. 140–141, February 1970, p. 32.
3. Catalogue, VII Paris Biennial, Paris: [n.p.], 1971, p. 220.
4. Artist’s statement from article by Michael White, “Two Montreal Artists Exhibiting in Paris,” The Gazette, August 28, 1971, p. 42.
5. Put together by Gary Coward, Arthur Bardo and Bill Vazan, this event would come to be considered the first Conceptual Art exhibition in Quebec, and was also the catalyst for the creation of Véhicule Art, the province’s first artist-run centre. Delavalle was one of the founders of the co-op, which was incorporated in 1972.
6. The exhibition was organized by Brydon Smith and Pierre Théberge, and outlined the state of art in Canada in 1973 via works by six artists (Robin Collyer, Jean-Marie Delavalle, Murray Favro, Ron Martin, Henry Saxe and James B. Spencer) that were “doing, during the past year, the most imaginative and accomplished work of all the artists visited” (Brydon Smith and Pierre Théberge, Boucherville, Montreal, Toronto, London, Ottawa: National Gallery of Canada, 1973, p. 11).

Jean-Marie Delavalle’s work has been widely shown as part of group exhibitions and has been featured in a few solo shows in Toronto, but in Quebec, the artist has kept a relatively low profile for the past twenty years. Working initially in sculpture, Jean-Marie Delavalle produced a few experimental works between 1970 and 1975: a select corpus of conceptual pieces that were anything but eclectic, exemplifying a rigorous research process that investigated colour and perceptual phenomena. This practice is characterized by originality, and is decisively open-minded aesthetically.

He began working with photography in the summer of 1970, producing a series of images on wave motion, then self-portraits, and finally a series dedicated to different times of day. This led him to incorporate a number of variables into the work: different light, places and times, but also shifts dependent on specific features of the photographic apparatus and its functions (focus, infrared film, colour filters, etc.). Jean-Marie Delavalle also moved from purely visual experiments to works incorporating sound, creating a series of transcriptions of auditory phenomena heard during various travels (by car, by bicycle and on foot). By limiting visual clues to the nature of his creative process in this way, the artist forces us to invoke our imagination to grasp, for a moment, the “surrounding reality.”

Biography

Jean-Marie Delavalle

Jean-Marie Delavalle’s artistic career extends over nearly fifty years. Born in Clermont-Ferrand, France, in 1944, he arrived in Montreal with his family in 1954…

Read more

Biography

Claudine Roger

Claudine Roger is Director of Operations and Coordinator of Publications at VOX, centre de l’image contemporaine. She holds a B.A. in Art History and an M.A. in Museology from Université du Québec à Montréal…

Read more

Interview

Interview with Jean-Marie Delavalle during his exhibition at VOX.

See interview

Jean-Marie Delavalle

Jean-Marie Delavalle, de la série The Quebec Filter (Screen no. 3), 1971, projection de 36 diapositives 35 mm, intervalle de 15 secondes. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Jean-Marie Delavalle, de la série The Quebec Filter (Screen no. 2), 1971, projection de 20 diapositives 35 mm, intervalle de 15 secondes. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Jean-Marie Delavalle, carton d’invitation de l’exposition Screens etc. à Galerie Média Gravure et Multiples, tenue du 7 au 21 février 1971. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Jean-Marie Delavalle, de la série Waiting for a Grant, 1971, 36 épreuves argentiques. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Jean-Marie Delavalle, de la série Waiting for a Grant, 1971, 36 épreuves argentiques. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Jean-Marie Delavalle, de la série Waiting for a Grant, 1971, 36 épreuves argentiques. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Jean-Marie Delavalle, extrait de Cinquante fois, 1971, livret : 50 pages, 1/25. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Vue de l’exposition Jean-Marie Delavalle, VOX, du 15 novembre 2014 au 21 février 2015.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Jean-Marie Delavalle, VOX, du 15 novembre 2014 au 21 février 2015.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Jean-Marie Delavalle, VOX, du 15 novembre 2014 au 21 février 2015.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Jean-Marie Delavalle, VOX, du 15 novembre 2014 au 21 février 2015.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Jean-Marie Delavalle, VOX, du 15 novembre 2014 au 21 février 2015.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.
2014.11.15 - 2015.02.21

Jean-Marie Delavalle

Commissaire
Claudine Roger

Vernissage le 15 novembre 2014 à 15 h

CLAUDINE ROGER

Artiste reconnu avant tout pour ses œuvres monochromes sculpturales et picturales, Jean-Marie Delavalle a également tenté quelques expérimentations : entre 1970 et 1975, il réalise un corpus restreint d’œuvres conceptuelles qui, loin d’être éclectique, découle d’une recherche rigoureuse, axée sur la couleur et sur la perception. Ses travaux témoignent d’une pratique originale et résolument ouverte sur le plan esthétique.

Finissant de l’École des beaux-arts de Montréal, Jean-Marie Delavalle a fait ses débuts à l’été 1967, au pavillon de la Jeunesse de l’Exposition universelle, un événement catalyseur qui bouleverse profondément la vision qu’a la société québécoise du monde et d’elle-même, et qui apporte un souffle nouveau aux pratiques artistiques d’ici. Son travail est remarqué quelques mois plus tard, lors de l’exposition collective Huit jeunes sculpteurs actuels, présentée à la Galerie du Siècle à Montréal1. Suite au succès critique de cette exposition, la Galerie nationale du Canada organise, en 1969, une exposition itinérante intitulée 7 sculpteurs de Montréal, qui atteste de l’émergence d’une nouvelle « scène » artistique québécoise2. Jean-Marie Delavalle présente là deux premières sculptures en acier peint, de facture minimaliste. Au même moment, l’artiste s’inspire des tendances nouvelles et internationales en laissant une grande place au concept. Il réalise des propositions de nature conceptuelle, comme en font foi ses cahiers de notes, qui regroupent de nombreuses idées, des projets non réalisés et les œuvres ici exposées.

Dès l’été 1970, l’artiste privilégie la photographie et produit, notamment, une suite d’images sur le mouvement des vagues, puis des photographies incorporant des unités de mesure avec certains éléments (fenêtres et bancs de neige), des autoportraits et, finalement, des séries portant sur divers moments de la journée. L’artiste intègre, à ce moment, différentes variables relatives à la lumière, au lieu, au temps, mais aussi aux spécificités de l’appareil photographique et à ses emplois (mise au foyer, film infra-rouge, filtre de couleur, etc.). Il conçoit alors une grande œuvre intitulée The Quebec Filter, qui réunit, en deux cent cinquante-six diapositives, six phases de notations photographiques, toutes réalisées à partir de la fenêtre de son appartement.

Les six suites qui composent cette série traitent du même sujet, soit « le regard que l’artiste porte sur la réalité extérieure, dans les variations d’intensité lumineuse, de couleur et de formes qui la composent3 ». L’action est systématique et révèle une méthodologie de travail propre à Delavalle : le sujet est identique ; le cadrage, fixe ; la mise au point, progressive ; et le processus, répété quatre ou huit fois, selon les suites. Le mode de présentation, la projection, vise aussi à accentuer la luminosité de l’œuvre, comme le précise l’artiste : « […] I like the slide image better than the print. It is much stronger. It is pure light and color4 ». The Quebec Filter (« Screen no. 2 » et « Screen no. 3 ») nous plonge dans la contemplation rythmée d’un champ perçu à travers la grille d’une moustiquaire, tel que vu lorsque la mise au point de l’appareil photographique est modifiée. Se pencher sur cette succession d’images exige, encore aujourd’hui, une attention à tout instant. Les variations sont subtiles, souvent floues, et confèrent à l’ensemble un effet plutôt atmosphérique, et même apaisant.

En février 1971, Jean-Marie Delavalle prend part à l’exposition 45° 30′ N – 73° 36′ W 5, présentée aux Sir George Williams Art Galleries et au Centre des arts Saidye Bronfman à Montréal, en y dévoilant une première série de photographies de vagues. L’automne suivant, l’artiste expose simultanément différentes suites tirées de The Quebec Filter : à la VIIe Biennale de Paris, où il représente le Canada ; à la Galerie de l’Étable du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal ; lors de l’exposition Cozic-Delavalle, mise en circulation par la Galerie nationale du Canada ; au Festival international d’art contemporain de Royan, en France, où Delavalle est le représentant du Québec. Toutefois, c’est réellement à l’été 1973, lorsque la Galerie nationale du Canada présente The Quebec Filter et l’autoportrait intitulé Bleu, jaune, rouge, vert dans l’exposition Boucherville, Montréal, Toronto, London, que l’importance de l’œuvre de Jean-Marie Delavalle est reconnue. Sélectionné parmi les artistes canadiens de l’époque, il reçoit pour l’originalité de son travail un accueil enthousiaste, que lui réserve tant la critique que le grand public6.

Entre 1973 et 1975, l’artiste élargit ses expériences, purement visuelles, avec des œuvres sonores en réalisant une série de transcriptions lors de différentes promenades (en voiture, à vélo, à pied). Les pièces 1 heure (marche), 1 heure (vélo) et Clonk, rassemblées à la Galerie Média à Montréal en novembre 1973, signalent un changement de sensibilité, ou d’attitude, face à la contemplation traditionnelle de l’objet d’art. Les enregistrements sont présentés sous la forme de bandes sonores, de cartes, de photographies et comptent aussi un disque (Une demi-heure, 33 tours). Ces objets (incluant la bicyclette de l’artiste !) deviennent les « documents », ou les traces, d’une expérience artistique ; pour en saisir toutes les subtilités, la participation du visiteur est essentielle.

En limitant les indices visuels au sein de ses différentes interventions et, plus tard, dans ses surfaces monochromes, peintes sur aluminium, Jean-Marie Delavalle laisse place à l’imagination du spectateur et l’oblige, durant un instant, à saisir la « réalité environnante ».

1. Ces jeunes sculpteurs (Jacques Cleary, Serge Cournoyer, Jean-Marie Delavalle, Claire Hogenkamp, Jean-Claude Lajeunie, Jean Noël, Serge Otis et Roger Paquin) repoussent les procédés traditionnels en intégrant à leurs œuvres des traitements et des matériaux industriels et remettent ainsi en cause la « définition même de la sculpture ». Francine Couture (sous la dir.), « Technologies et art québécois 1965-1970 », Cahiers du Département d’histoire de l’art de l’Université du Québec à Montréal, printemps 1988.
2. L’exposition regroupait les travaux de Serge Cournoyer, Yvon Cozic, Jean-Marie Delavalle, Jean Noël, Serge Otis, Serge Tousignant et Roger Vilder. Voir, à ce sujet, Danielle Corbeil, « 12 Young Montreal Artists: An Interview », artscanada, no 140-141, février 1970, p. 32.
3. Catalogue de la VIIe Biennale de Paris, Paris, [ s.n.], 1971, p. 220.
4. Propos de l’artiste extraits de l’article de Michael White, « Two Montreal Artists Exhibiting in Paris », The Gazette, 28 août 1971, p. 42.
5. Organisé par Gary Coward, Arthur Bardo et Bill Vazan, cet événement est considéré comme la première exposition de nature conceptuelle au Québec. Il est vu, aussi, comme le catalyseur ayant mené à la création de Véhicule Art, tout premier centre d’artistes autogéré du Québec. Jean-Marie Delavalle est l’un des fondateurs de cette coopérative, incorporée en 1972.
6. L’exposition organisée par Brydon Smith et Pierre Théberge présente la situation de l’art au Canada en 1973 à partir d’œuvres de six artistes (Robin Collyer, Jean-Marie Delavalle, Murray Favro, Ron Martin, Henry Saxe et James B. Spencer), qui ont « produit les œuvres les plus originales et les plus réussies parmi celles de tous les artistes visités » (Brydon Smith et Pierre Théberge, Boucherville, Montréal, Toronto, London, Ottawa, Galerie nationale du Canada, 1973, p. 11).

Le travail de Jean-Marie Delavalle a été présenté à maintes reprises lors d’expositions collectives. Cependant, à l’exception de quelques expositions individuelles à Toronto, l’artiste s’est montré assez discret ces vingt dernières années au Québec. Issu de la sculpture, Jean-Marie Delavalle a tenté quelques expérimentations entre 1970 et 1975 : il a réalisé un corpus restreint d’œuvres conceptuelles qui, loin d’être éclectiques, découlent d’une recherche rigoureuse, axée sur la couleur et sur la perception. Ces travaux témoignent d’une pratique originale et résolument ouverte sur le plan esthétique.

Dès l’été 1970, l’artiste privilégie la photographie et produit, notamment, une suite d’images sur le mouvement des vagues, puis des autoportraits et, finalement, des séries portant sur divers moments de la journée. Il intègre alors différentes variables, relatives à la lumière, au lieu, au temps, mais aussi aux spécificités de l’appareil photographique et à ses emplois (mise au foyer, film infra-rouge, filtre de couleur, etc.). Jean-Marie Delavalle élargit également ses expériences, purement visuelles, avec des œuvres sonores en réalisant une série de transcriptions de phénomènes auditifs, lors de promenades (en voiture, à vélo, à pied). En limitant les indices visuels de ses interventions, l’artiste laisse place à l’imagination et nous oblige, durant un instant, à saisir la « réalité environnante ».

Biographie

Jean-Marie Delavalle

La carrière artistique de Jean-Marie Delavalle s’étend sur près de cinquante ans. Né en 1944, à Clermont-Ferrand (France), il s’est établi à Montréal en 1954, avec sa famille…

Lire plus

Biographie

Claudine Roger

Claudine Roger est directrice des opérations et coordonnatrice des publications à VOX. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en histoire de l’art et d’une maîtrise en muséologie de l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Elle a effectué…

Lire plus

Entretien

Visionnez l’entretien réalisé avec Jean-Marie Delavalle dans le cadre de son exposition à VOX.

Voir l’entretien