Jeanne Dunning

Jeanne Dunning, The Blob 1, 1999, ilfochrome mounted on plexiglass, 132 x 95 cm. Courtesy of the artist.

Jeanne Dunning, The Blob 3, 1999, ilfochrome mounted on plexiglass, 132 x 95 cm. Courtesy of the artist.

Jeanne Dunning, Extra Skin (Subtracting), still, 1999, 9 min 57 sec. Courtesy of the artist.

Jeanne Dunning, Extra Skin (Subtracting), still, 1999, 9 min 57 sec. Courtesy of the artist.

Jeanne Dunning, Extra Skin (Subtracting), still, 1999, 9 min 57 sec. Courtesy of the artist.

Jeanne Dunning, Extra Skin (Subtracting), still, 1999, 9 min 57 sec. Courtesy of the artist.

View of the exhibition Jeanne Dunning, VOX, from November 3 to December 15, 2007.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Jeanne Dunning, VOX, from November 3 to December 15, 2007.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Jeanne Dunning, VOX, from November 3 to December 15, 2007.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.
2007.11.03 - 12.15

Jeanne Dunning

Opening November 3, 2007

Self, flesh, artificiality

RACHEL LAUZON

By evoking the artificial—flesh-coloured nylons, a false outgrowth, a gelatinous skin-coloured mass—Jeanne Dunning maps out a reflection on the relationship to the female body that, instead of questioning the domain of appearances, is rooted in the deconstruction of the relationship to the flesh. The artist examines the connections between the flesh and the Self, looking beyond questions of seduction and power.

Fragmented bodies (Scattered Parts), inert flesh (Getting Dressed), excess flesh (On a Platter): Dunning’s thematic reinforces the ambiguous and destabilizing scope of her images, and speaks, more specifically, to a certain detachment vis-à-vis the flesh. The artist not only considers the excess flesh as a whole unto itself, she also seems concerned by the paradoxical relations maintained toward the body. Her works are a consideration of the body as being constantly torn between the protective dimension of its flesh and the suffocating nature of its mass. The series The Blob is an eloquent example of this ambivalent relationship. Some of the images present the aqueous mass as burdensome; at other times the same shape seems to be a reassuring presence. Thus, the blob can just as easily evoke the soothing warmth of a body, as it can the clear absence of a true body embodied alongside the subject. As a result, the ambiguity between desire and solitude, solace and emptiness, fantasy and the inability to act problematize the relationship between the Self and the Self’s extension into the corporeal envelope.

This difficulty in establishing a contiguous relationship between the body and the world in which that body exists is evident in the works Extra Skin (Adding) and Extra Skin (Subtracting). In the former, a character pulls on various layers of flesh-coloured clothing, thus alluding to a thickening of the flesh despite the artificial dimension of the beige-y colours—as if this new fleshly coating, almost prosthetic, now has a more protective, rather than sensory, function. In the latter work, a woman delicately (and falsely) peels off the surface of her skin, and lets it pile up on the ground. These images provoke questions that have to do with the Self: is naked contact with the Other (im)possible? How can one really penetrate one’s own mortal coil in order to come into contact with one’s Self? And just where is that Self, after all? Inside the body, or in our relationship to the Other?1.

The work Trying to See Myself seems to sketch out something of a response to those questions, again related to the idea of detachment. When the woman removes all at once the multiple layers of tights that she has brazenly slipped on, when she succeeds in disengaging herself from that envelope of false flesh, when she delicately replaces that synthetic matrix, it appears that she is at last capable of “seeing herself”—as if detaching herself from the cast of her body lying on the ground, like an empty cocoon, were the only way of affirming the reality of her fleshly existence in the world.

1. On this topic, see Karyn Stapleton, « In Search of the Self: Feminism, Postmodernism and Identity », Feminism & Psychology, vol. 10, no 4, 2000, p. 463-469.

Biography

Jeanne Dunning

Jeanne Dunning

Born in 1960 in Granby, Connecticut, U.S. Lives and works in Chicago. The art of Jeanne Dunning, which for several years has been structured around themes of the human body, is most famous for…

Read more

Journal # 24 - 10.2007

Read the online journal for the exhibitions Jeanne Dunning and Samuel Beckett

Jeanne Dunning

Jeanne Dunning, The Blob 1, 1999, ilfochrome sur plexiglass, 132 x 95 cm. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Jeanne Dunning, The Blob 3, 1999, ilfochrome monté sur plexiglass, 86 x 126 cm. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Jeanne Dunning, Extra Skin (Subtracting), image fixe, 1999, 9 min 57 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Jeanne Dunning, Extra Skin (Subtracting), image fixe, 1999, 9 min 57 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Jeanne Dunning, Extra Skin (Subtracting), image fixe, 1999, 9 min 57 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Jeanne Dunning, Extra Skin (Subtracting), image fixe, 1999, 9 min 57 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Vue de l’exposition Jeanne Dunning, VOX, du 3 novembre au 15 décembre 2007.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Jeanne Dunning, VOX, du 3 novembre au 15 décembre 2007.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Jeanne Dunning, VOX, du 3 novembre au 15 décembre 2007.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.
2007.11.03 - 12.15

Jeanne Dunning

Vernissage le 3 novembre 2007

Le soi, la chair, le factice

RACHEL LAUZON

C’est en évoquant le factice – bas nylon couleur chair, fausse excroissance, masse molle couleur peau – que Jeanne Dunning élabore une réflexion sur le rapport au corps féminin qui, au lieu d’interroger le domaine des apparences, s’enracine plutôt dans la dé-construction du rapport à la matière charnelle. L’artiste scrute donc les liens entre la chair et le soi, par-delà des questions de séduction et de pouvoir.

Corps fragmentés (Scattered Parts), chair inerte (Getting Dressed), surplus de peau (On a Platter) : ces thèmes renforcent la portée équivoque et déstabilisante des images de Dunning, qui évoquent plus précisément un certain détachement à l’égard de la chair. En effet, en plus de considérer le surplus de chair comme un tout à part entière, l’artiste semble préoccupée par les relations paradoxales entretenues envers le corps, ce qui s’actualise dans son travail par une considération du corps s’avérant constamment déchiré entre la dimension protectrice de sa chair et le caractère étouffant de sa masse. La série The Blob rend bien compte de ce rapport ambivalent. Ces images montrent quelquefois le poids gênant de cette masse aqueuse, tandis que cette même forme incarne parfois une présence rassurante. Ce blob évoque donc tout aussi bien la chaleur apaisante d’un corps que l’absence évidente d’un véritable corps incarné aux côtés du sujet; du coup, ce sont les rapports ambigus entre désir et solitude, réconfort et vide, fantasme et immobilisme, qui viennent problématiser la relation entre le soi et le prolongement du soi dans l’enveloppe corporelle.

Cette difficile capacité à établir un rapport contigu entre le corps et le monde dans lequel ce corps existe ressort des œuvres Extra Skin (Adding) et Extra Skin (Subtracting). Dans la première, un personnage enfile plusieurs couches de vêtements couleur peau, faisant ainsi allusion à un épaississement de la chair malgré la dimension factice de cette couleur beigeâtre. Comme si cette nouvelle couche charnelle quasi prothétique remplissait désormais un rôle plus près de la protection que du sensitif. Dans la seconde œuvre, une femme pèle délicatement (et faussement) la surface de son épiderme qui s’amoncelle par terre. Ce sont donc des questionnements reliés au soi qui émanent de ces images : un contact à nu avec autrui est-il (im)possible ? Comment peut-on réellement pénétrer sa propre enveloppe corporelle afin d’entrer en contact avec soi ? Et où se situerait, somme toute, ce soi ? À l’intérieur du corps, ou bien dans notre rapport à l’autre ?1.

L’œuvre Trying to See Myself esquisse sans doute une certaine réponse à ces questionnements, toujours liés à l’idée de détachement. Lorsque la femme enlève en un bloc les épaisseurs de bas nylon enfilés avec hardiesse, qu’elle réussit à se dégager de cette enveloppe de fausse chair, qu’elle replace délicatement ce moule synthétique, il semble qu’elle soit enfin capable de se « voir elle-même »; comme si se détacher de l’empreinte de son corps gisant au sol, tel un cocon vide, demeurait la seule manière de constater la réalité de son existence charnelle dans le monde.

1. Notons que cet intérêt pour une localisation du soi est aussi au centre des réflexions de la troisième vague féministe sur l’identité. Voir à ce sujet Karyn Stapleton, « In Search of the Self: Feminism, Postmodernism and Identity », Feminism & Psychology, vol. 10, no 4, 2000, p. 463-469.

Biographie

Jeanne Dunning

Née en 1960 à Granby, Connecticut, États-Unis. Vit et travaille à Chicago. La pratique artistique de Jeanne Dunning, qui s’articule depuis plusieurs années autour de la thématique…

Lire plus

Journal # 24 - 10.2007

Consultez le journal des expositions Jeanne Dunning et Samuel Beckett en ligne