John Baldessari

John Baldessari, Six Colorful Inside Jobs, 1977, 16mm film transferred to DVD, 32 min 53 sec. Courtesy of Electronic Arts Intermix.

John Baldessari, Baldessari Sings LeWitt, 1972, video transferred to DVD, 15 min. Courtesy of Electronic Arts Intermix.

John Baldessari, I Will Not Make Any More Boring Art, 1971, video transferred to DVD, 13 min 6 sec. Courtesy of Electronic Arts Intermix.

John Baldessari, Ed Henderson Suggests Sound Tracks for Photographs, 1974, video transferred to DVD,
27 min 51 sec. Courtesy of Electronic Arts Intermix.

John Baldessari, I Am Making Art, 1971, video transferred to DVD, 18 min 40 sec. Courtesy of Electronic Arts Intermix.

View of the exhibition John Baldessari, VOX, from April 1 to May 1, 2010.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition John Baldessari, VOX, from April 1 to May 1, 2010.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition John Baldessari, VOX, from April 1 to May 1, 2010.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition John Baldessari, VOX, from April 1 to May 1, 2010.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.
2010.04.01-2010.05.01

John Baldessari

Curator
Marie-Josée Jean

Opening April 1, 2010

John Baldessari: 1970s Film and Video Work

MARIE-JOSÉE JEAN

“All art comes from art,” John Baldessari has insisted1. Although the Los Angeles artist has often been viewed as one of the most important representatives of West Coast “appropriationism,” his works—especially his films and videos—are not informed merely by the action of appropriating and recontextualizing existing images or text. Rather, Baldessari treats the appropriated material as a problem. This manner of problematizing art was accompanied by an impertinent attitude that locates his 1970s output within a conceptual tradition, marked by an incisive humour that is absolutely delectable.

The anecdote has become legend: in 1968, Baldessari mounted his first solo exhibition at the Molly Barnes Gallery in Los Angeles. He showed a selection of text paintings that include statements like “Everything is purged from this painting but art, no ideas have entered this work” (1968). At the same time, Joseph Kosuth’s show opened at the Eugenia Butler Gallery, just steps away. Kosuth was by then, along with Sol LeWitt, an acclaimed exponent of the New York City brand of conceptual art. Having evidently seen the Baldessari exhibition, he wrote, parenthetically, in the second part of his essay “Art after Philosophy”: “(Although the amusing pop paintings of John Baldessari allude to this sort of work by being ‘conceptual’ cartoons of actual conceptual art, they are not really relevant to this discussion.)”2 It is obvious that Baldessari’s practice is not based on strictly analytical conceptual content. The goal is not to produce theoretical art; it has far more to do with ironic thinking, a questioning of the meaning of art and of its system. The irony is integral to the artist’s conceptual approach because it allowed him to mark out a necessary and meaningful displacement between what is read, what is seen and what is understood. And yet, it was precisely that ironic humour that led Kosuth to relegate Baldessari to the Pop artist category. In response to that text, Baldessari made the video Baldessari Sings LeWitt (1972), in which he sings Lewitt’s 35 seminal Statements on Conceptual Art to the tunes of various popular songs, including The Star-Spangled Banner and Heaven. After all, LeWitt had asserted, in Statement 15: “Since no form is intrinsically superior to another, the artist may use any form, from an expression of words (written or spoken) to physical reality, equally.” Baldessari merely pushed LeWitt’s logic a step further in offering a sung version of the manifesto, in the process liberating conceptual art from the unwarranted divide existing between popular and intellectual art. For—as LeWitt reminds us in Statement 33—“It is difficult to bungle a good idea.”3

The exhibition on show at VOX features a selection of conceptual performances and investigations filmed between 1971 and 1977, offering visitors the opportunity to confront John Baldessari’s lucid witticisms.

 1. Quoted by Russell Ferguson, “Unreliable Narrator,” in John Baldessari: Pure Beauty, exh. cat. (London: Tate Publishing, 2009), p. 92.
2. Joseph Kosuth, “Art after Philosophy,” Part II, Studio International, Vol. 178, No. 916 (November 1969), p. 161. The anecdote has been recounted by, among others, Leslie Jones (“Art Lesson: A Narrative Chronology of John Baldessari’s Life and Work,” in John Baldessari: Pure Beauty, exh. cat. (London: Tate Publishing, 2009), p. 49.
3. Sol LeWitt, “Sentences on Conceptual Art,” in Charles Harrison & Paul Wood, ed., Art in Theory 1900–2000: An Anthology of Changing Ideas (Oxford: Blackwell Publishing), pp. 849–851.

Biography

John Baldessari

John Baldessari was born in 1931.He received a B.A. and an M.A. from San Diego State College. He has been a leading light for an entire generation of artists who followed his teachings at Southwestern…

Read more

John Baldessari

John Baldessari, Six Colorful Inside Jobs, 1977, film 16 mm transféré sur DVD, 32 min 53 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de Electronic Arts Intermix.

John Baldessari, Baldessari Sings LeWitt, 1972, vidéo transféré sur DVD, 15 min. Avec l’aimable permission de Electronic Arts Intermix.

John Baldessari, I Will Not Make Any More Boring Art, 1971, vidéo transféré sur DVD, 13 min 6 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de Electronic Arts Intermix.

John Baldessari, Ed Henderson Suggests Sound Tracks for Photographs, 1974, vidéo transféré sur DVD,
27 min 51 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de Electronic Arts Intermix.

John Baldessari, I Am Making Art, 1971, vidéo transféré sur DVD, 18 min 40 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de Electronic Arts Intermix.

Vue de l’exposition John Baldessari, VOX, du 1er avril au 1er mai 2010.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition John Baldessari, VOX, du 1er avril au 1er mai 2010.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition John Baldessari, VOX, du 1er avril au 1er mai 2010.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition John Baldessari, VOX, du 1er avril au 1er mai 2010.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.
2010.04.01 - 05.01

John Baldessari

Commissaire
Marie-Josée Jean

Vernissage le 1er avril 2010

John Baldessari. Films et vidéos des années 1970

MARIE J. JEAN

« All art comes from art », soutient John Baldessari1. L’artiste de Los Angeles a souvent été considéré comme l’un des représentants les plus importants de l’art appropriationniste de la Côte ouest américaine. Pourtant son travail, plus particulièrement ses films et ses vidéos, ne repose pas sur le simple geste de s’approprier une image ou un texte déjà existant et de le recontextualiser. Baldessari traite plutôt le matériel approprié comme un problème. À cette manière de problématiser l’art s’ajoute une attitude impertinente qui situent ses œuvres des années 1970 dans une tradition conceptuelle marquée par un humour pénétrant absolument délectable.

L’anecdote est légendaire : en 1968, John Baldessari réalise une première exposition individuelle de son travail à la Molly Barnes Gallery de Los Angeles. Il y présente une sélection de tableaux-textes comprenant des énoncés tel que « Everything is purged from this painting but art, no ideas have entered this work » (1968). Au même moment, à quelques pas seulement de la Molly Barnes Gallery, Joseph Kosuth inaugure une exposition à la Eugenia Butler’s Gallery. Cet artiste est déjà reconnu comme étant, avec Sol LeWitt, l’un des représentants de l’art conceptuel new-yorkais. Ayant de toute évidence vu l’expositon de Baldessari, il écrit entre parenthèses dans la seconde partie de son texte « L’art après la philosophie » : « (Bien que les amusantes peintures pop de John Baldessari se rapportent au travail actuel de l’art conceptuel en prenant la forme de “cartoons” conceptuels, elles ne sont pas significatives pour la présente discussion) »2 . Évidemment, la pratique de Baldessari ne repose pas sur des contenus conceptuels strictement analytiques, elle ne cherche pas à produire un art théorique, elle relève bien davantage d’une pensée ironique qui met en question la signification de l’art et de son système. L’ironie est inhérente à sa démarche conceptuelle puisqu’elle permet d’opérer un décalage nécessaire et significatif entre ce qui est lu, ce qui est vu et ce qui est compris. Pourtant, c’est précisément cet humour ironique qui amène Kosuth à le reléguer dans la catégorie artistes pop. En réaction à ce texte, Baldessari réalise la vidéo Baldessari Sings LeWitt (1972) où il interprète les trente-cinq articles constituant le texte fondateur de l’art conceptuel sur des airs de musique populaire tels que The Star-Spangled Banner et Heaven. Après tout, c’est Sol LeWitt qui affirmait à l’article 15 de ce texte « Puisqu’aucune forme n’est intrinsèquement supérieure à une autre, l’artiste ne doit en privilégier aucune, de la conception (écrite ou parlée) jusqu’à la réalisation ». Baldessari ne fait que pousser un degré plus loin la logique de LeWitt en offrant une version chantée de son texte, libérant ainsi l’art conceptuel du clivage injustifié existant entre art populaire et art intellectuel. Car, comme le rappelle également LeWitt à l’article 33, « Il est difficile de “bousiller” une bonne idée »3.

L’exposition présentée à VOX propose une sélection de performances et d’investigations conceptuelles ayant été filmées entre 1971 et 1977 laquelle offre l’occasion de se mesurer aux jeux d’esprit lucides de John Baldessari.

1. Cité par Russell Ferguson, « Unreliable Narrator », John Baldessari. Pure Beauty, Londres, Tate Publishing, 2009, p. 92.
2. Joseph Kosuth, « Art after Philosophy », partie II, Studio International 178, n° 916, novembre 1969, p. 161. Traduction libre. Anecdote relatée notamment par Leslie Jones, « Art Lesson: A Narrative Chronology of John Baldessari ‘s Life and Work », Pure Beauty, Londres, Tate Publishing, 2009, p. 49.
3. Sol Lewitt, « Positions », Art en théorie 1900-1990. Une anthologie par Charles Harrison et Paul Wood, Paris, Hazan, 1997, p. 913-914.

Biographie

John Baldessari

Baldessari est né en 1931. Il a reçu un B.A. et un M.A. de l’université de San Diego. Il est une figure marquante pour toute une génération d’artistes qui a suivi son enseignement à la Southwestern…

Lire plus