Jon Knowles. Works with Photography

View of the exhibition Jon Knowles. Working for Photography, VOX, from November 2 to December 21, 2013.

Credit: VOX.

View of the exhibition Jon Knowles. Working for Photography, VOX, from November 2 to December 21, 2013

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Jon Knowles. Working for Photography, VOX, from November 2 to December 21, 2013

Credit: Michel Brunelle.
2013.11.02 - 12.21

Jon Knowles

Opening November 1, 2013 at 5 pm

A discussion with the artist will take place on December 5, 2013 at 5 pm

Works with Photography: Hold that Thought

MICHAEL EDDY

Jon Knowles’ processual work often sources its operations from the traditions of conceptual and appropriation art. Its premises, however, arise in the indirect instruction of a site’s detail, the anecdotal echo licensed to veer on its way, the subjective qualities of making. While his work tends to reference significant portions of recent art history genres, from colour field painting and minimalism through to institutional critique, instead of remaking these aesthetics either to obviously subvert or suggestively cement his position in relation to theirs, it cuts a path through their static meanings by undergoing them as practices. This is in part because of Knowles’ consciousness that history keeps changing—if we can still call it history—along with our means to access it. With incredibly thin delay, images are digitized and fused with experience. With the rise of network culture, history and its documents are picked up with ever higher turnover, exhausting attention in bursts and anticipating later revisitations. Documentation images assume a hugely inflated role in objects’ participation in this social club called contemporary history; but this also means images tend to float through the cultural ether, waiting for the proper moment to condense and descend.

Literally hanging above, the drop ceiling composed of mirrored tiles entitled Working with Photography (Drop Ceiling), is a reference to VOX’s history. Mirrors have by turns featured as among the most symbolically overloaded artistic images (surrealism) or as that most literal of materials (minimalism); here, the mirror returns in the form of document. VOX’s previous location was an arcade adjacent a peep show, the mirrors being the sole elements the gallery retained from this amusements zone. As such, bringing them back functions as a reminder of the transformations the artist-run centre has gone through in its ascent to the present location in the purpose-built “2-22” building in the Quartier des spectacles. Beneath these re-installed mirrors, our thoughts are escorted further back to the arcade itself and its environs, and a feedback system linking these various genealogies converges in the exhibition. Walking into the gallery, the mostly vacant floor space is tinted with a variety of coloured lights, scattering the room with a gradation of affects. A viewer might wonder whether the gallery is prepared for some theatrical action; but then spying their own figures in the looking glass, a type of performance will already be in progress. Privy to the backstory of these mirrors, the viewer might find themselves cast into the ambivalent correspondences between consumer and consumed that characterize this feedback system.

The performance element of the exhibition effectively animates these latent dynamics. For Working with Photography (The Professionals) Knowles has proposed to hire professional documentation photographers to simultaneously document this mirrored ceiling, leaving them to their fancies about the specific approach. The uncertainty around how to picture the mirrors results on the one hand in a heightened sense of authorship on the parts of the documentation photographers. On the other hand, the uncertainty caused by the super-abundance of photographers and the various needs they feel to interact with one another make us aware that they are now faced with the flip-side of their usual task: to recognize their presence in beholding the object, and their own objecthood. As a result, they perform double-time, as documenter and as documenter performing documenter; the photographers’ tango resonates with the gyrations of the exotic dancers in another place and time, dizzyingly displaced by shifts in economics, culture and history itself. To perform as one’s job description already pushes one’s body into a situation of doubling, producing an acute situation of self-reflective professionalism.1 However, being absorbed into the image, while producing new images, refracts the scene into a play of simulations and collusions. These images will eventuate in a series for the exhibition’s accompanying publication, in the end fulfilling their destiny as documentation.

Insofar as Knowles is playing with the professional conventions of image-making, we witness how the complicity of time and value formation is a motif running through all the works in the show. Money converts flows of unperceived duration into inorganic measurements, resulting in accumulations of distinct, unitary fragments. In a side space, a slideshow entitled New York Times is on a loop that promptly advances its carousel to a new slide every second. But the slides, rephotographed images from luxury watch advertisements, project what seems an endless repetition of the same moment in time: roughly 10 minutes after 10 o’clock. The reasons for this tacit standard of the advertising industry bear curiosity,2 but the larger issue is the more general aestheticization of time’s conversion into the cold hatch marks on a luxury watch’s surface and how they find their analogues in our experience. Another work in the show, entitled Worked with Photography (Timeline) is a modest interruption in an endless flow of image production. Knowles bought a trailer reel of a mediocre Hollywood picture, Timeline (2003), online for $9. The plot line centres on a group of archaeology classmates who travel back to 17th-century France to rescue their professor—stimulating hijinks ensue, no doubt, but Knowles’ point lies elsewhere than in an exegesis of an average movie. Indeed, it is the very canned quality of time travel as a genre that makes Timeline’s arbitrariness somewhat precise. Here, extracting frames again into slide format from the slickly produced teaser renders the invested spectacle of motion pictures (even uninspired ones) into a stuttering, unsensual delay.

The exhibition Works with Photography comes together as an ensemble of positions that examine and deconstruct the conversion points where photographic work departs from the valuations of art, and then slips back in through unstable windows of time.

1. Performance is one of those curious kinds of labour where production and display occur simultaneously; some might even claim that performativity is the essence of labour in a post-Fordist, consumer society; Paolo Virno comes close to this in his discussions of virtuosity: “It is enough to say, for now, that contemporary production becomes ‘virtuosic’ (and thus political) precisely because it includes within itself linguistic experience as such. If this is so, the matrix of post-Fordism can be found in the industrial sectors in which there is ‘production of communication by means of communication’; hence, in the culture industry.”A Grammar of the Multitude (Los Angeles / New York: Semiotext(e), 2004), p. 56.
2. 10:10 was apparently settled upon to accommodate the logos and features placed at cardinal points, but a quick search online digs up no shortage of esoteric and personifying interpretations: references to dates of political and historic importance, symmetry, resemblance to the upward angle of a smile (and inversely, at undesirable 8:20, to the downward arc of a frown), hands raised in V for victory, evoking open legs, etc. How time becomes woven with the human figure is certainly an interesting twist, but can’t be pursued here.

Working for Photography

Jon Knowles, Working for Photography, 2013, colour graphics, 10 x 15 cm each. Courtesy of the artist.

See the work in pdf 

Interview

Interview with Jon Knowles during his exhibition.

See interview

Journal # 43 - 11.2013

Read the online journal for the exhibitions Jon Knowles and Zachary Formwalt

Jon Knowles. Works with Photography

Vue de l’exposition Jon Knowles. Working for Photography, VOX, du 2 novembre au 21 décembre 2013.

Crédit : VOX.

Vue de l’exposition Jon Knowles. Working for Photography, VOX, du 2 novembre au 21 décembre 2013.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Jon Knowles. Working for Photography, VOX, du 2 novembre au 21 décembre 2013.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.
2013.11.02 - 12.21

Jon Knowles

Vernissage le 1er novembre 2013 à 17 h

Discussion avec l’artiste le 5 décembre 2103

Travailler avec la photographie : l’idée en suspens

MICHAEL EDDY

Le travail processuel de Jon Knowles trouve souvent l’origine de ses opérations dans les traditions de l’art conceptuel et de l’appropriation. Ses prémisses découlent toutefois de l’enseignement indirect fourni par les particularités d’un site, la résonance anecdotique laissée à la dérive et les qualités subjectives du faire. Bien que son travail ait tendance à renvoyer à des segments importants de genres entrés en histoire de l’art – allant du color-field painting et du minimalisme à la critique institutionnelle –, plutôt que de reprendre ces esthétiques pour subvertir ou pour cimenter, en la suggérant, sa position par rapport à celles-ci –, il se fraye un chemin à travers la fixité de leurs significations en les traitant comme des pratiques. Cette situation provient en partie du fait que Knowles est conscient que tant l’histoire – si l’on peut encore lui donner ce nom – que nos moyens d’y accéder changent continuellement. Dans un espace de temps incroyablement bref, les images sont aujourd’hui numérisées et assimilées à l’expérience. Avec l’essor de la culture des réseaux, l’histoire et ses documents sont repris en compte à un rythme de plus en plus rapide, pulvérisant notre attention et anticipant les prochaines relectures. Les images documentaires jouent un rôle grandement exagéré dans la participation des objets à ce club social qu’on appelle l’histoire contemporaine; mais cela signifie aussi que les images ont tendance à demeurer en suspens dans l’éther culturel, dans l’attente du bon moment pour se condenser et atterrir.

Littéralement suspendue, sur un faux plafond composé de tuiles en miroir, se trouve une référence à l’histoire de VOX. Les miroirs ont tour à tour compté parmi les images artistiques les plus symboliquement chargées (surréalisme) ou parmi les matériaux les plus littéraux (minimalisme); ici, le miroir effectue un retour sous forme de document. L’emplacement antérieur de VOX était une salle de jeux située à côté d’un peep-show, et les miroirs étaient les seuls éléments que la galerie avait conservés de ce lieu d’amusements. La réutilisation de miroirs agit ici comme un rappel des transformations que ce centre d’artistes autogéré a vécues depuis son réaménagement dans Le 2-22, un édifice situé dans le Quartier des spectacles. La réinstallation de miroirs nous ramène en pensées jusqu’à la salle de jeux et ses alentours faisant converger dans l’exposition un système de rétroaction reliant ces différentes temporalités. Lorsqu’on entre dans la salle, le regard est attiré par le plancher pratiquement vide, teinté de diverses lumières colorées dont les effets se dispersent graduellement dans l’espace. On pourrait se demander si le lieu ne se prépare pas à accueillir quelque geste théâtral; mais aussitôt qu’on perçoit sa propre image dans le miroir, on se rend compte qu’un genre de performance est déjà en cours. Connaissant le passé de ces miroirs, on pourrait se retrouver plongé au cœur des correspondances ambivalentes existant entre le consommateur et le consommé qui caractérisent ce système de rétroaction.

L’élément « performance » de l’exposition anime efficacement cette dynamique latente. En effet, pour Working with Photography (The Professionals) Knowles a suggéré l’embauche de photographes professionnels pour documenter de concert ce plafond en miroir, laissant à chacun le loisir de choisir son approche. D’un côté, l’incertitude liée à la manière de photographier les miroirs a pour effet d’accentuer chez ces photographes documentaires le sentiment d’être un auteur. De l’autre, l’incertitude résultant de la surabondance de photographes et des différents besoins qu’ils ont d’interagir entre eux nous fait prendre conscience qu’ils sont maintenant confrontés au revers de leur tâche habituelle, c’est-à-dire au fait de reconnaître la présence du regard qu’ils posent sur l’objet et leur propre objectité. Donc, ils performent à temps double, à la fois comme documentaristes et comme documentaristes interprétant un documentariste; le tango des photographes fait écho aux mouvements suggestifs des danseuses exotiques d’un autre espace-temps, vertigineusement déplacés par les glissements dans l’économie, la culture et l’histoire elle-même. Quand jouer fait partie de votre description de tâche, votre corps se trouve déjà dans un état de dédoublement, ce qui mène à une situation grave de professionnalisme réflexif1. Cependant, être absorbé dans l’image, tout en produisant de nouvelles images, réfracte la scène dans un jeu de simulations et de collusions. Ces images composeront une série qui paraîtra dans la publication accompagnant l’exposition, accomplissant ainsi, finalement, leur destin documentaire.

Dans la mesure où Knowles joue avec les conventions professionnelles de production d’images, nous sommes témoins de la manière dont la complicité du temps et de la valeur en formation constitue un motif dans toutes les œuvres de l’exposition. L’argent convertit des flux de durée imperceptible en mesures inorganiques, résultant en des accumulations de fragments unitaires distincts. Dans un espace annexe, un diaporama en boucle intitulé New York Times déplace son carrousel rapidement, faisant apparaître à chaque seconde une nouvelle diapositive. Mais les diapositives, qui sont des images re-photographiées de publicités pour montres de luxe, semblent projeter la répétition sans fin du même moment précis : 10 minutes après 10 heures. Les raisons derrière ce cliché tacite de l’industrie de la publicité sont curieuses en soi2, mais l’enjeu principal ici est l’esthétisation généralisée de la conversion du temps en froides hachures gravées sur la surface d’une montre de luxe et ses répercussions dans notre expérience. L’exposition propose aussi Worked with Photography (Timeline) une œuvre qui représente une interruption modeste dans le courant infini de la production d’images : Knowles a acheté en ligne, pour la somme de 9 $, la bande-annonce d’un film hollywoodien médiocre, intitulé Timeline (2003). L’intrigue porte sur un groupe d’étudiants en archéologie qui voyagent dans le temps et se retrouvent en France au dix-septième siècle pour venir en aide à leur professeur, ce qui donne sans doute lieu à diverses pitreries, mais l’objectif de Knowles se trouve ailleurs que dans l’exégèse d’un film ordinaire. En fait, c’est la qualité très préfabriquée du voyage dans le temps comme genre qui rend l’aspect arbitraire de Timeline en quelque sorte précis. Ici, la transformation de plans extraits d’une bande-annonce habilement produite en diapositives métamorphose le spectacle élaboré d’un film (même fade) en un différé bredouillant, dépourvu de sensualité.L’exposition Works with Photography s’offre comme un ensemble de positions qui examinent et déconstruisent les points de conversion où l’œuvre photographique s’écarte des estimations de l’art et s’en retourne dans les fenêtres instables du temps.

1. La performance constitue l’un de ces curieux genres opératoires où production et présentation se déroulent en même temps; certains diraient même que la performativité est l’essence du travail dans une société de consommation post-fordienne; Paolo Virno se rapproche de cette vision dans son étude de la virtuosité : « Il suffit de dire, pour le moment, que la production contemporaine devient “virtuose” (et donc politique) justement parce qu’elle contient en elle-même l’expérience linguistique en tant que telle. S’il en est ainsi, la matrice du post-fordisme se trouve dans les secteurs industriels dans lesquels on a “production de communication par voie de communication”. Donc dans l’industrie culturelle. » Paulo Virno, Grammaire de la multitude, 2002, traduit de l’italien par Véronique Dassas. [Consulté en ligne http://www.lyber-eclat.net/lyber/virno4/grammaire04.html, le 4 octobre 2013].
2. On en est apparemment arrivé à 10 h 10 pour placer les logos et autres caractéristiques aux points cardinaux, mais une recherche rapide en ligne révèle une abondance d’interprétations ésotériques et personnifiées : renvois à des dates d’importance politique et historique, symétrie, similitude avec un sourire (et, inversement, l’indésirable 8 h 20 qui se rapproche de l’arc descendant d’une grimace), bras levés en signe de victoire, jambes ouvertes, et ainsi de suite. La manière dont le temps s’entremêle à la figure humaine est certainement intéressante, mais l’espace nous manque ici pour l’approfondir.

Working for Photography

Jon Knowles, Working for Photography, 2013, image numérique couleur, 10 x 15 cm chacune. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Consultez l’œuvre en version pdf

Entretien

Entretien avec Jon Knowles dans le cadre de son exposition.

Voir l’entretien

Journal # 43 - 11.2013

Consultez le journal des expositions Jon Knowles et Zachary Formwalt en ligne