Kelly Mark. Stupid Heaven

Kelly Mark, Glow House #3, 2005 (House and 50 television sets to the same channel). Courtesy of the artist.

Kelly Mark, The Kiss, from the serie Glow Video, 2007, 2 channel DVD installation, 15 min, loop. Courtesy of the artist.

Kelly Mark, REM, stills, 2007, 2 channel version of a 4 channel video installation, DVD, 2 h 16 min. Courtesy of the artist.

Kelly Mark, REM, 2007, 2 channel version of a 4 channel video installation, DVD, 2 h 16 min. Detail of the installation at the Justina M. Barnicke Gallery (Hart House, University of Toronto), 2007. Courtesy of the artist.

Kelly Mark, In and Out, 1997 – ongoing until 2032, detail of the installation : 33 steel time card racks and punched cards, 96,5 x 12,7 x 5 cm each. Collection of Dr. Paul Marks. Courtesy of the artist.

Kelly Mark, Everything is Interesting (Badges), 2003, badges, 3,8 cm dia. each. Courtesy of the artist.

View of the exhibition Kelly Mark. Stupid Heaven, VOX, from September 6 to October 18, 2008.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Kelly Mark. Stupid Heaven, VOX, from September 6 to October 18, 2008.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Kelly Mark. Stupid Heaven, VOX, from September 6 to October 18, 2008.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Kelly Mark. Stupid Heaven, VOX, from September 6 to October 18, 2008.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Kelly Mark. Stupid Heaven, VOX, from September 6 to October 18, 2008.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.
2008.09.06 - 10.18

Kelly Mark

Curator
Barbara Fischer

Opening September 6, 2008


This exhibition is presented in collaboration with Justina M. Barnicke Gallery (Hart House, University of Toronto).

BARBARA FISCHER

Among the shelves stacked with CDs, books and bottles of scotch, a punch clock flashes up and rings with a hard clang in one-hour intervals. The visitor is in Kelly Mark’s studio, and In and Out is the monumentally conceived evidence of her work. Hundreds of time cards, stacked up in steel racks, bear the stamps of the time that Kelly Mark has punched in and out of work as an artist. Each rack comprises the weekly logs for one year—from 1997 to the present (and pledged to go beyond). In proto-conceptual manner, In and Out commits artistic creativity to mechanical process, biography to administrative system, and life to “file.”

Over several years now, Kelly Mark has been concerned with time. In and Out, with its indexical preoccupation, mimics industrial or service sector—type human-resource tracking methods. But the records show nothing resembling a nine-to-five occupation. Measuring the capricious durations of the working life of an artist, In and Out’s hardcore conceptualist format, that grey-in-grey of the file, unexpectedly returns something of the unpredictability of “life.” In fact, the tension between formal methods of time management and the interest in duration (the way in which, in an ongoing complex moment, life actually feels lived) underlies much of Kelly Mark’s interests.

In some of the early works Kelly Mark would set up a task to follow it through methodically, echoing an industrial mode that found its appropriate counterpoint in the concerns of minimalism, process art and conceptualism. Here the idea is a machine, such as in a series of drawings made by setting a graphite pencil to paper and drawing tight spiralling circles until the graphite was gone. The material is consumed by mechanical execution, and the artist’s time is its aura.

More recently, Kelly Mark’s focus has shifted from the tautological nature of “a work made by time spent working” to frame the poignant actions of others and the residual flotsam of the everyday, instead. The conceptual format becomes an indexical medium, taking account of a particular, observed phenomenon—whether repetitious or unpredictable in nature. A series of photographs reports on the way in which desperate people have affixed, with great ingenuity and creativity, comedic notices on broken parking meters, seeking to avert ticketing. Notably, the new, more efficient sun-powered devices now in operation everywhere no longer allow for grey zones of freedom granted by mechanical failure. The administration of time has hardened its grip, and creative forms of “talk-back” have disappeared.

Kelly Mark’s work demonstrates low-key attitude and slow-burning resistance to the abstract administration of time, registered precisely within its system. Sometimes, suspension in the automaton of a task, the absorption within it, suggests a preferred mode of being—the task that requires no thought at all allows thought to take its own course. Within the stupid there lies heaven. At other times, Kelly Mark’s work seeks to terminate tasks that are obsessive in the focus on achievement—which is perhaps the very same thing. For a while her work concerned itself obsessively with the incomplete sentence “I really should. . .” Indexing the innumerable ways that define what one indeed should do, an audio track spells out the contents of I.R.S. to the point of sheer excess. If obligation is bound up in social structures (family, health, work), to refuse it (by procrastination or resistance) casts doubt on their values and diligent striving. Such existentialism underlies much of Kelly Mark’s humour, as when an orchestrated demonstration puts an end to the historical, conventional form of social demands: in front of a gallery’s black-tie fundraising event, a group of artist friends bearing blank placards declare, “What do we want? Nothing!”. . . “When do we want it? Whenever”. . . and “Hell no. We don’t know.”

Watching television is perhaps the greatest means of contemporary distraction and procrastination. It is also the greatest tool of time management and immersive pleasure ever devised. If television constructs and dominates “free” time, it has substantially altered the once “natural” pulse of day and night, waking and sleeping, by absorbing its audience into an interstitial day-dreaming, time-eating, surreal time. After being concerned with the glow of television for a while, Kelly Mark’s new installation, titled REM 1 is nothing short of a tour de force, featuring a movie that illuminates the experience of channel-surfing television time. An encyclopedic array of segments of movies taped off television is edited and strung together into a new, two-hour-and-sixteen-minute “thriller” complete with title, warnings, ads, network logos and credits. The story follows a protagonist who seeks to escape the law, and who changes shape like an avatar, appearing with each edit in the body of a different actor. He (and through him the audience) perpetually loses and regains track of where he is—whether in a dream, asleep, awake or in a drug-induced state. These states are not only the means of narrative propulsion and the content of the new film; they also elucidate the subject of television as such: consciousness recycles and strings together changing attention spans and pursuits in a combination of narrative bits. The meshing of production and consumption in narrative hyper-time informs a new sense of subjectivity and artistic practice.

1. REM is the acronym for rapid eye movement, which occurs as a result of brain activity during sleep.

Biography

Kelly Mark

Kelly Mark

Born in 1967, Kelly Mark studied at the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design in Halifax before moving to Toronto. Her work has been shown in numerous exhibitions across…

Read more

Journal # 27 - 09.2008

Read the online journal for the exhibition Kelly Mark. Stupid Heaven

Kelly Mark. Stupid Heaven

Kelly Mark, Glow House #3, 2005 (House and 50 television sets to the same channel). Avec la permission de l’artiste.

Kelly Mark, The Kiss, de la série Glow Video, 2007, installation avec 2 moniteurs, DVD, 15 min en boucle. Avec la permission de l’artiste.

Kelly Mark, REM, images fixes, 2007, 4 installations avec moniteurs, DVD, 2 h 16 min. Avec la permission de l’artiste.

Kelly Mark, REM, 2007, 4 installations avec moniteurs, DVD, 2 h 16 min. Détail de l’installation à la Justina M. Barnicke Gallery (Hart House, University of Toronto), 2007. Avec la permission de l’artiste.

Kelly Mark, In and Out, 1997 – en cours jusqu’en 2032, détail de l’installation : 33 supports en métal et cartes de pointage, 96,5 x 12,7 x 5 cm chacun. Collection du Dr. Paul Marks. Avec la permission de l’artiste.

Kelly Mark, Everything is Interesting (Badges), 2003, macarons, 3,8 cm dia. chacun. Avec la permission de l’artiste.

Vue de l’exposition Kelly Mark. Stupid Heaven, VOX, du 6 septembre au 18 octobre 2008.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Kelly Mark. Stupid Heaven, VOX, du 6 septembre au 18 octobre 2008.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Kelly Mark. Stupid Heaven, VOX, du 6 septembre au18 octobre 2008.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Kelly Mark. Stupid Heaven, VOX, du 6 septembre au 18 octobre 2008.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Kelly Mark. Stupid Heaven, VOX, du 6 septembre au 18 octobre 2008.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.
2008.09.06 - 10.18

Kelly Mark

Commissaire
Barbara Fischer

Vernissage le 6 septembre 2008


Exposition présentée en collaboration avec la Justina M. Barnicke Gallery (Hart House, University of Toronto).

BARBARA FISCHER

Parmi les étagères couvertes de disques compacts, de livres et de bouteilles de scotch, un horodateur s’allume et marque chaque heure d’un son métallique. Nous sommes dans l’atelier de Kelly Mark, et In and Out est la preuve monumentale – sur le plan de la conception – de son labeur. Des centaines de cartes, empilées sur des supports d’acier, portent les marques temporelles que Kelly Mark a perforées en arrivant à son lieu de travail et en le quittant. Chaque support comprend les entrées hebdomadaires d’une année, allant de 1997 à aujourd’hui (avec promesse de continuer). Sur un mode conceptuel primaire, In and Out confie la créativité artistique au processus mécanique, la biographie au système administratif et la vie aux archives.

Depuis plusieurs années maintenant, Kelly Mark s’intéresse à la temporalité. Avec ses préoccupations indicielles, In and Out imite les méthodes de contrôle des ressources humaines utilisées dans l’industrie ou le secteur des services. Les registres n’affichent toutefois rien qui ressemblerait à un boulot de neuf à cinq. Mesurant les périodes de travail capricieuses d’un artiste, la forme indiscutablement conceptuelle d’In and Out, avec le gris sur gris des dossiers, redonne étonnamment quelque chose de l’imprévisibilité de la « vie ». En fait, c’est la tension entre les méthodes formelles de gestion du temps et l’intérêt de l’artiste pour la durée (comment il arrive subitement, dans un moment complexe, qu’on ait le sentiment aigu d’être en vie) qui sous-tend en bonne partie la démarche de Kelly Mark.

Dans quelques-uns de ses premiers travaux, Kelly Mark s’est assigné une tâche qu’elle devait exécuter méthodiquement, renvoyant ainsi à un fonctionnement de type industriel qui trouvait un juste contrepoint dans les préoccupations du minimalisme, de l’art processuel et de l’art conceptuel. Ici, l’idée devenait une machine, comme dans cette série de dessins réalisés en posant une mine de plomb sur une feuille et en dessinant des cercles spiralés jusqu’à l’épuisement du plomb. Le matériau était consumé par une exécution mécanique, et le nom de l’artiste était son aura.

Plus récemment, le centre d’intérêt de Kelly Mark s’est déplacé, passant de la nature tautologique d’« une œuvre réalisée en y consacrant du temps » à la volonté de capter les gestes émouvants des autres et les résidus du quotidien. La forme conceptuelle devient un médium indiciel, prenant en compte un phénomène précis, observé, qu’il soit répétitif ou imprévisible dans la nature. Ainsi, une série photographique documente comment des gens, cherchant désespérément à éviter une contravention, ont fixé avec beaucoup d’ingéniosité et de créativité des avis amusants sur des parcomètres défectueux. Il est significatif que les dispositifs fonctionnant maintenant à l’énergie solaire, utilisés partout, ne permettent plus à la liberté de s’exercer comme lors de bris mécaniques. On a raffermi la poigne sur la gestion du temps et les formes créatives de « riposte » ont disparu.

Dans sa pratique, Kelly Mark se fait discrète et résiste tout en lenteur à la gestion abstraite du temps, système dans lequel elle se manifeste précisément. Il arrive que l’état de suspension créée par une tâche automatisée, l’absorption qui s’y opère, suggère une manière d’être privilégiée : la tâche qui ne requiert aucune pensée permet à la pensée de suivre son propre cours. Dans l’idiotie se trouve le paradis. À d’autres moments, les travaux de Kelly Mark cherchent à compléter des tâches qui sont obsessives dans leur volonté d’accomplissement, ce qui revient probablement à la même chose. Pendant un certain temps, elle s’est attachée de manière compulsive à cette phrase incomplète : « I really should… » (« Je devrais vraiment… »). Répertoriant les innombrables façons de définir ce qu’une personne devrait faire, une bande sonore énumère, presque ad nauseam, le contenu de tous ces « Je devrais vraiment… ». Si l’obligation est liée aux structures sociales (famille, santé, travail), la refuser (par procrastination ou par résistance) sème le doute sur les valeurs de ces dernières et sur la constance de nos efforts. Cette attitude étaye une bonne part de l’humour de Kelly Mark, par exemple lorsqu’une manifestation orchestrée met un terme à une forme historique et conventionnelle de revendication sociale : en face d’un événement de collecte de fonds se déroulant dans une galerie, un groupe d’amis artistes portant des pancartes sans texte déclame : « Que veut-on ? Rien ! », « Quand le veut-on ? N’importe quand ! » et « Merde, non. On sait pas. »

Regarder la télévision est peut-être le plus grand mode de distraction et de procrastination contemporaines. C’est également le plus grand outil de gestion de temps et pourvoyeur d’euphorie jamais conçu. Si la télévision construit et domine nos temps « libres », elle a substantiellement altéré le rythme autrefois « naturel » du jour et de la nuit, de l’éveil et du sommeil, en absorbant son public dans un temps surréaliste et interstitiel, fait de rêvasserie et de temps perdu. S’intéressant depuis un certain temps à la télévision, l’artiste a réussi rien de moins qu’un tour de force avec sa nouvelle installation REM 1 en réalisant un film qui met en lumière l’expérience du temps consacré au zapping. Une énorme collection de fragments de films, tirés de la télévision, a été montée et réunie pour composer un nouveau « thriller » de deux heures et seize minutes, avec titres, avertissements, publicités, logos de chaînes de télévision et génériques. Nous suivons là un protagoniste qui cherche à échapper à la loi et qui change d’apparence ou d’avatar, prenant dans chaque nouvelle scène le corps d’un acteur différent. Il (et, par lui, le public) oublie et retrouve constamment le fil de sa situation : rêvant, dormant, éveillé ou drogué. Ces états ne constituent pas uniquement les modes de propulsion narrative et le contenu d’un nouveau film, ils élucident également le sujet de la télévision comme tel : la conscience recycle et assemble divers champs d’intérêt dans une combinaison de morceaux narratifs. L’enchaînement de la production et de la consommation dans un hyper-temps narratif contribue à une subjectivité et à une pratique artistique nouvelles.

1. REM est l’acronyme anglais de « rapid eye movement », soit les mouvements oculaires rapides qui se produisent durant le sommeil paradoxal.

Biographie

Kelly Mark

Née en 1967, Kelly Mark a étudié au Nova Scotia College of Art and Desing à Halifax avant de s’installer à Toronto. Ses oeuvres ont fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions au Canada et…

Lire plus

Journal # 27 - 09.2008

Consultez le journal de l’exposition Kelly Mark. Stupid Heaven en ligne