Marcel Duchamp’s Green Box

Marcel Duchamp, La Boîte verte, 1934, 93 documents (photos, drawings, notes from years 1911 to 1915) and one plate. Courtesy of Bill Vazan.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

Marcel Duchamp, La Boîte verte, 1934, 93 documents (photos, drawings, notes from years 1911 to 1915) and one plate. Courtesy of Bill Vazan.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

Marcel Duchamp, La Boîte verte, 1934, 93 documents (photos, drawings, notes from years 1911 to 1915) and one plate. Courtesy of Bill Vazan.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

Marcel Duchamp, La Boîte verte, 1934, 93 documents (photos, drawings, notes from years 1911 to 1915) and one plate. Courtesy of Bill Vazan.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Marcel Duchamp’s Green Box, VOX, from November 6 to December 13, 2008.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Marcel Duchamp’s Green Box, VOX, from November 6 to December 13, 2008.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Marcel Duchamp’s Green Box, VOX, from November 6 to December 13, 2008.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.
2008.11.06 - 12.13

Marcel Duchamp

Curator
Marie-Josée Jean

Opening November 6, 2009

An Undertaking to Preserve Flashes of Brilliance

MARIE-JOSÉE JEAN

To open the Green Box is to access ninety-three notes, sketches and documents—often no more than simple slips of paper—that helped sustain the ideas and conjectures that led to the creation of one of the most fascinating works of the 20th century: The Bride Stripped Bare by her Bachelors, Even. “Every time an idea came to me,” Marcel Duchamp explained, “I would write it down on paper; I would let it simmer. Like that, for eight years. Not all day long: twenty minutes here, twenty minutes there. But still, eight years.”1 Duchamp’s undertaking—determined by his desire to ascribe primacy to the conceptual dimension of the artist’s work—was a long process that did not end with the publication of his Green Box in 1934. It ushered in an era: henceforth, the idea in and of itself became a work.

The Notes became hugely significant to Duchamp and, as early as 1914, he hit upon the idea of producing a facsimile version: “I wanted to reconstitute them as accurately as possible,” he said. “I had lithographs made of all these thoughts, using the same ink as the originals. To find exactly identical paper stock, I had to rummage throughout the most unlikely corners of Paris. Then I cut out three hundred copies of each litho, using zinc stencils that I had fashioned after the contours of the original papers. It was a lot of work, and I had to hire my concierge. . . .”2 The goal of this attention to detail and mimicry was to preserve the original state in which these thoughts had come to him. It speaks to Duchamp’s constant desire to assemble and preserve his works.

Duchamp began The Bride in 1915, but worked on it until 1923, when he left it in its “definitively unfinished” state. The Notes he wrote throughout the production of the work, he explained, were “designed to complement the visual experience as in the manner of a guide.”3 But one must not be fooled by them: the share of mystery contained in the work is also contained in the Notes. They nonetheless have the advantage of opening holes in the mind of the reader-spectator without ever exhausting secrecy: exploring The Bride’s secrets depends on the searcher’s ability to construct its riddles using logic comparable to that of its creator. To achieve that logic one must draw from Stéphane Mallarmé spatial semanticism, Raymond Roussel’s mechanical line of thinking, and Henri Poincaré’s four-dimensional space-time.

VOX is thus delighted to open Marcel Duchamp’s Green Box for our audiences, making available a work that is celebrated, yet little known, and offering a wonderful opportunity for exchange and discussion of the issues it raises. Its exhibition would have been impossible had it not been for the artist and impassioned collector Bill Vazan agreeing to loan it to us. We express our gratitude to him for doing so.

1. Conversation with Otto Hahn (1964) quoted by Françoise Le Penven in L’art d’écrire de Marcel Duchamp: À propos de ses notes manuscrites (Paris: Éditions Jacqueline Chambon, 2003), p. 18 [freely translated].
2. Conversation with Michel Sanouillet (1954), op.cit., p. 45 [freely translated].
3. Marcel Duchamp, in Duchamp du signe: Écrits. Réunis et présentés par Michel Sanouillet (Paris: Flammarion, 1994), p. 228 [freely translated].

Biography

Marcel Duchamp

Marcel Duchamp

Marcel Duchamp (1887-1968) was a French painter, sculptor and writer, naturalized U.S. citizen in 1955. Inventor of ready-mades in the early twentieth century, his artistic approach still has a major…

Read more

Journal # 28 - 11.2008

Read the online journal for the exhibitions Marcel Duchamp and Tractatus logico-catalogicus

Marcel Duchamp. La Boîte verte

Marcel Duchamp, La Boîte verte, 1934, 93 documents (photos, dessins, notes des années 1911-1915) et 1 planche. Avec l’aimable permission de Bill Vazan.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Marcel Duchamp, La Boîte verte, 1934, 93 documents (photos, dessins, notes des années 1911-1915) et 1 planche. Avec l’aimable permission de Bill Vazan.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Marcel Duchamp, La Boîte verte, 1934, 93 documents (photos, dessins, notes des années 1911-1915) et 1 planche. Avec l’aimable permission de Bill Vazan.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Marcel Duchamp, La Boîte verte, 1934, 93 documents (photos, dessins, notes des années 1911-1915) et 1 planche. Avec l’aimable permission de Bill Vazan.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Marcel Duchamp. La Boîte verte, VOX, du 6 novembre au 13 décembre 2008.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Marcel Duchamp. La Boîte verte, VOX, du 6 novembre au 13 décembre 2008.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Marcel Duchamp. La Boîte verte, VOX, du 6 novembre au 13 décembre 2008.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.
2008.11.06 - 12.13

Marcel Duchamp

Commissaire
Marie-Josée Jean

Vernissage le 6 novembre 2009

Entreprise de conservation d’une pensée fulgurante

MARIE JOSÉE JEAN

Ouvrir la Boîte verte, c’est accéder à quatre-vingt-treize notes, esquisses, documents – souvent de simples bouts de papier –, qui ont servi de support aux idées et conjectures menant à la conception d’une des œuvres les plus fascinantes du XXe siècle : La Mariée mise à nu par ses célibataires, même. « Chaque fois qu’une idée me venait », précise Marcel Duchamp, « je la notais sur papier, je la faisais mijoter. Comme ça pendant huit ans. Pas toute la journée, vingt minutes par-ci, vingt minutes par-là. Mais huit ans quand même »1. Cette entreprise de Marcel Duchamp – déterminée par sa volonté de donner préséance à la dimension conceptuelle du travail artistique – est un long processus qui ne s’achève pas avec la parution de la Boîte verte en 1934. Elle inaugure une ère où l’idée fera désormais œuvre.

Les Notes ont ainsi pris une importance majeure dans la conscience de Marcel Duchamp et, dès 1914, il eut l’idée d’en produire le fac-similé : « J’ai voulu les restituer aussi exactement que possible. J’ai donc fait lithographier toutes ces pensées avec la même encre que les originaux. Pour trouver des papiers absolument identiques, j’ai dû fouiller les recoins de Paris les plus invraisemblables. Il a fallu ensuite découper trois cents exemplaires de chaque litho, à l’aide de patrons de zinc que j’avais taillés sur le pourtour des papiers originaux. C’était un gros travail et j’ai dû embaucher ma concierge… »2. Ce souci du détail et du mimétisme visait à conserver l’état originel dans lequel les pensées lui étaient advenues. Il manifeste la préoccupation constante de Marcel Duchamp de rassembler son œuvre et de la préserver.

Marcel Duchamp a entrepris la production de La Mariée en 1915 mais elle ne fut pas terminée avant 1923, date à laquelle il l’abandonna à son état d’inachèvement. Les Notes qu’il a rédigées tout au long de son exécution, explique-t-il, étaient « destinées à compléter l’expérience visuelle comme au moyen d’un guide »3. Mais il ne faut pas s’y tromper, la part de mystère contenue dans l’œuvre est maintenue dans les Notes. Ces dernières ont toutefois le mérite de pratiquer des ouvertures dans l’esprit du lecteur-spectateur sans jamais en épuiser les secrets. Car la découverte des secrets de La Mariée dépend de la capacité de celui qui cherche à poser les énigmes dans une logique comparable à celle de son concepteur. Cette logique trouve ses fondements dans le sémantisme spatial de Stéphane Mallarmé, dans la pensée mécanique de Raymond Roussel tout comme dans l’espace-temps en quatre dimensions d’Henri Poincaré.

C’est donc avec plaisir que VOX ouvre la Boîte verte à ses publics en rendant accessible une œuvre célèbre bien que peu connue et dont l’exposition offre une belle occasion d’échanger et de discuter des enjeux. Sa présentation n’aurait pu se concrétiser sans que Bill Vazan, artiste et collectionneur passionné, n’en consentît le prêt. Nous lui en sommes reconnaissants.

1. Entretien avec Otto Hahn (1964) cité par Françoise Le Penven, L’art d’écrire de Marcel Duchamp. À propos de ses notes manuscrites, Paris, Éditions Jacqueline Chambon, 2003, p. 18
2. Entretien avec Michel Sanouillet (1954), op.cit., p. 45.
3. Marcel Duchamp, Duchamp du signe, écrits réunis et présentés par Michel Sanouillet, Paris, Flammarion, 1994, p. 228.

Biographie

Marcel Duchamp

Marcel Duchamp (1887-1968) est un peintre, plasticien et homme de lettres français, naturalisé américain en 1955. Inventeur des ready-made au début du XXe siècle, sa démarche artistique…

Lire plus

Journal # 28 - 11.2008

Consulter le journal des expositions Marcel Duchamp et Tractatus logico-catalogicus en ligne