Life in Real Time. Quick Mode

Nicolas Baier, Oli, 2001, Lambda print, 240 x 150 cm. Courtesy of the artist.

Dorion Berg, ASCI Alphabet, 1999, video, 5 min. Courtesy of the artist.

Dorion Berg, ASCI Alphabet, 1999, video, 5 min. Courtesy of the artist.

Isabelle Grosse, Beaubourg (detail), 2001, colour print, 122 x 147 cm. Courtesy of Galerie Anton Weller, Paris.

Isabelle Grosse, Les Champs Élysées, 2001, colour print, 144 x 110 cm. Courtesy of Galerie Anton Weller, Paris.

Mathias Hoch, Paris #8, 1999, colour print, 100 x 120 cm. Courtesy of Rena Bransten Gallery, San Francisco.

Mathias Hoch, Paris #34, 1999, colour print, 100 x 120 cm. Courtesy of Rena Bransten Gallery, San Francisco.

Thomas Kneubühler, from the serie Absence, 2001,
colour print, 75 x 75 cm. Courtesy of the artist.

Yudi Sewraj, The Middle Distance (extract), 2000, video, 9 min. Courtesy of the artist.

Yudi Sewraj, The Middle Distance (extract), 2000, video, 9 min. Courtesy of the artist.

View of the exhibition Life in Real Time. Quick Mode, VOX, from december 13, 2001 to March 3, 2002.

Credit: Élène Tremblay
2001.12.13 - 2002.03.03

Nicolas Baier, Dorion Berg, Isabelle Grosse, Matthias Hoch, Thomas Kneubühler and Yudi Sewraj

Curator
Élène Tremblay

Opening December 13, 2001

Quick Time

ÉLÈNE TREMBLAY

The subjection of human beings and their environment to ever-increasing speed is not a new phenomenon, but in recent decades it has undergone astonishing acceleration. In fact, we no longer realize the point to which our lives are affected by the shaping of the urban space, the space of exchange, communications, and our working tools to meet the goal of favouring speed. Our relationship to time, space, and other people is constantly changing.

As Paul Virilio emphasized in Cybermonde, la politique du pire, the possibility of “real time,” which arose with the creation of the Internet and automatic stock-market quotes, provokes a proportional shrinking of territory and a disappearance of local time. Distant continents and their inhabitants appear to be within our grasp, and yet capital withdrawals and investments are done abstractly, to the detriment of recognition of how they affect populations. “Real time” eliminates time differences, discrepancies, and delays, and it subjects the entire world to the hegemony of the clock. Living without a schedule and all the technological tools available today, as a large part of humanity does, seems unimaginable to those who are engaged in the race against time. The hegemony of speed is established. Highways, concrete or electronic, allow rapid circulation of goods and information and, in this sense, are the truest allies of power.

Addressing the question of speed mainly through the lens of the still image may seem paradoxical. As photography was invented and popularized at about the same time as was the automobile, it seems to have wanted to arrest the increased motion caused by growing industrialization and urbanization. But its use by the masses, its rapidity of execution, and its omnipresence are playing an increasingly important role in the acceleration of the pace of consumption.

In both cities and cyberspace, the vertigo of numbers is combined with that of speed. Mega-stores, mega-parking lots, highways, e-business, home entertainment centres, cell phones, and portable computers are all tools and structures favouring speed at work and leisure alike. The stress caused by the pace to be sustained has become an acknowledged factor in daily life.

If we are getting more productive and efficient at work, our bodies are becoming immobile while our nervous systems are racing. Being able to do more in less time, however, does not leave us more free time. We have known for a long time that this old dream will never be realized. In fact, there is so little free time left in our days that we must consume, entertain ourselves, and inform ourselves at top speed. The crazy race to productivity and competitiveness overflows into all areas of human activity.

In this exhibition are works that highlight the issues of vertiginous speed and vertiginous numbers, a vertigo perceptible among the spaces and technologies created to house them as well as among their users. Into this oppressive, rapid, and dense world glimpsed in the works of Isabelle Grosse, Thomas Kneubühler, Matthias Hoch, and Dorion Berg slide the voices of Yudi Sewraj and Nicolas Baier, whose works propose a return to humanity, a counterpoint, a way out of the dizzying merry-go-round of life in accelerated mode.

Journal # 01 - 12.2001

Read the online journal for the exhibition Life in Real Time. Quick Mode

La vie en temps réel. Mode accéléré

Nicolas Baier, Oli, 2001, épreuve Lambda, 240 x 150 cm. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Dorion Berg, ASCI Alphabet, 1999, vidéo, 5 min. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Dorion Berg, ASCI Alphabet, 1999, vidéo, 5 min. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Isabelle Grosse, Beaubourg (détail), 2001, épreuve couleur, 122 x 147 cm. Avec l’aimable permission de la Galerie Anton Weller, Paris.

Isabelle GrosseLes Champs Élysées, 2001, épreuve couleur, 144 x 110 cm. Avec l’aimable permission de la Galerie Anton Weller, Paris.

Matthias Hoch, Paris #8, 1999, épreuve couleur, 100 x 120 cm. Avec l’aimable permission de la galerie Rena Bransten, San Francisco.

Matthias Hoch, Paris #34, 1999, épreuve couleur, 100 x 120 cm. Avec l’aimable permission de la galerie Rena Bransten, San Francisco.

Thomas Kneubühler, de la série Absence, 2001, épreuve couleur, 75 x 75 cm. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Yudi Sewraj, The Middle Distance (extrait), 2000, vidéo, 9 min. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Yudi Sewraj, The Middle Distance (extrait), 2000, vidéo, 9 min. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Vue de l’exposition La vie en temps réel. Mode accéléré, VOX, du 13 décembre 2001 au 3 mars 2002.

Crédit : Élène Tremblay
2001.12.13 - 2002.03.03

Nicolas Baier, Dorion Berg, Isabelle Grosse, Matthias Hoch, Thomas Kneubühler et Yudi Sewraj

Commissaire
Élène Tremblay

Vernissage le 13 décembre 2001

Mode accéléré

ÉLÈNE TREMBLAY

L’assujettissement de l’humain et de son environnement au profit d’une vitesse toujours plus grande n’est pas un phénomène nouveau mais il a connu depuis ces dernières décennies, une accélération fulgurante. Nous ne réalisons même plus à quel point le façonnement de l’espace urbain, de l’espace de l’échange, de la communication et de nos outils de travail dans le but de favoriser la vitesse, affecte nos vies. Notre rapport au temps, à l’espace et aux autres s’en trouve constamment modifié.

Comme l’a soulevé Paul Virilio dans Cybermonde, la politique du pire, la possibilité d’un temps réel, survenue lors de la création de l’Internet et de la cotation automatique en bourse, provoque proportionnellement un rétrécissement du territoire et une disparition du temps local. Des continents éloignés et leurs habitants paraissent à notre portée et pourtant, les retraits et investissements de capitaux se font de manière abstraite, au détriment de la reconnaissance de leurs effets sur les populations. Ce temps réel élimine la différence, le décalage et les délais et soumet le monde entier à l’hégémonie de ce chronomètre. Vivre sans agenda et sans tous les outils technologiques aujourd’hui disponibles, comme le fait une grande partie de l’humanité, paraît inimaginable à ceux qui sont engagés dans cette course contre la montre. L’hégémonie de la vitesse s’est installée. Les autoroutes, qu’elles soient de béton ou électroniques, permettent une circulation rapide de biens et d’informations et en ce sens, sont les plus sûrs alliées du pouvoir.

Aborder la question de la vitesse par le biais principal de l’image fixe peut sembler paradoxal. La photographie ayant été inventée et popularisée à peu près au même moment que l’automobile, elle paraît vouloir immobiliser le mouvement accru causé par l’industrialisation et l’urbanisation grandissante. Mais son usage massif, sa rapidité d’exécution, son omniprésence joue un rôle de plus en plus important dans l’accélération du rythme de la consommation.

Dans les villes et dans le cyberespace, le vertige du nombre se combine à celui de la vitesse. Les grandes surfaces, les mégastationnements, les autoroutes, le commerce électronique, le cinéma maison, les cellulaires, les ordinateurs portatifs sont autant d’outils et de structures favorisant la vitesse au travail comme dans les loisirs. Le stress engendré par le rythme à soutenir devient un élément courant de la vie quotidienne.

Si au travail nous devenons plus productifs et performants, nos corps, eux, s’immobilisent tandis que notre système nerveux s’emballe. Pouvoir faire plus en moins de temps ne laisse pourtant pas plus de temps libre. Il y a belle lurette que nous savons que ce rêve, déjà ancien, a perdu toute réalité. En fait, il reste si peu de temps libre dans nos journées que nous devons consommer, nous divertir et nous informer à toute vitesse. La course folle de la productivité et de la compétitivité déborde sur tous les champs de l’activité humaine.

Nous retrouvons dans cette exposition des ouvres mettant en lumière tant cette question du vertige de la vitesse que celle du vertige du nombre, un vertige perceptible dans les espaces et les technologies créés pour les accueillir ainsi que chez leurs utilisateurs. Dans ce monde étouffant, rapide et dense entrevu dans les travaux d’Isabelle Grosse, Thomas Kneubühler, Matthias Hoch et Dorion Berg, viennent se glisser les voix de Yudi Sewraj et de Nicolas Baier, proposant dans leurs ouvres un retour à l’humanité, un contrepoint, une porte de sortie du manège étourdissant de la vie en mode accéléré.

Journal # 01 - 12.2001

Consultez le journal de l’exposition La vie en temps réel. Mode accéléré en ligne