Le Mois de la Photo à Montréal 2013

Max Dean, As Yet Untitled, 1992–95, installation view, Art Gallery of Ontario, Toronto, 1997. Courtesy of the artist and the Art Gallery of Ontario.

ExpVisLab, Swarm Vision, 2013, production screen shot, 2012. Courtesy of the artists.

Craig Kalpakjian, Black Box, 2002-2013, exhibition view, Andrea Rosen Gallery, New York, 2002. Courtesy of the artist.

Barbara Probst, Exposure #55: Munich, Waisenhausstrasse 65, 01.17.08, 1:55 p.m., 2008. Image from the work. Ultrachrome ink on cotton paper, 12 parts, 75 x 112 cm each. Courtesy of the artist and Murray Guy, New York © VG Bild-Kunst, Barbara Probst / SODRAC (2013).

View of the exhibition Le Mois de la Photo à Montréal 2013, VOX, from September 7 to October 19, 2013.

Credit: Corina Ilea.

View of the exhibition Le Mois de la Photo à Montréal 2013, VOX, from September 7 to October 19, 2013.

Credit: Corina Ilea.

View of the exhibition Le Mois de la Photo à Montréal 2013, VOX, from September 7 to October 19, 2013.

Credit: Corina Ilea.

View of the exhibition Le Mois de la Photo à Montréal 2013, VOX, from September 7 to October 19, 2013.

Credit: Corina Ilea.
2013.09.07 - 10.19

Max Dean, ExpVisLab, Craig Kalpakjian and Barbara Probst

Curator
Paul Wombell

Opening on September 7, 2013 at 5:00 pm

For its 13th edition, Le Mois de la Photo à Montréal has invited renowned British curator Paul Wombell to develop an exhibition program around his theme, Drone: The Automated Image. From September 5 to October 19, 2013, more than 25 exhibitions deployed in different sites will transform the city into a vast yet coherent photography exhibition.

Drone: The Automated Image

PAUL WOMBELL

Drones extend the capabilities of the body in the act of looking. The eye has a fixed position on the human body, has limited vision over long distances, and does not work well in reduced lighting conditions. Drones can travel to difficult and remote locations, they can see at all times even in limited light. They can be controlled remotely and be operated from a distance; they can function automatically, have artificial sensing, and also convey a sense that they have an intent or agency of their own. Drones are the robots of seeing. Over the last 40 years the camera has taken on some of the same characteristics of the drone, even to the extent that the camera now has a life of its own and functions more like a computer. There is no need to look through the viewfinder because all the calculations for exposure and focus are automatically completed. You can set the camera to take photographs without the need to be behind it. With motion detectors, remote controls, CCTV, webcams, Google Street View, and the development of robotics, the camera can function without human involvement.

Drone: The Automated Image is a project charting the changing relationship between the camera and the human body. It looks at how photographers and artists are using the automatic devices of the camera in its many different forms in the production of their work.

Max Dean (Ontario, Canada)

The destructive nature of technological innovation makes previous forms of technology obsolete and changes existing social relationships; this is the kernel of Max Dean’s As Yet Untitled (1992–95). A pivoting robotic arm selects and presents the viewer with a family photograph. The viewer can decide to press on the hand-shaped panels in front of the robot, so that the print is saved and placed in an archival box; or do nothing, which causes the print to be shredded, its remains falling onto a conveyor belt to join other destroyed images. The arm then returns to the pile of photographs and repeats the process. The photographic print becomes a disposable item on the quest for a better tomorrow.

ExpVisLab (Hungary / Quebec, Canada / United-States)

Since the 1990s, the discussion about digital photography has centred on the status of the photographic image: its capacity to be easily altered, compressed, and sent around the world in seconds, as well as its capacity to function on different computer-based platforms. However, the camera has come through this transformation in photography’s technological nature with little evolution. This is changing. In computational photography, the camera is being fundamentally reconfigured. The ExpVisLab collective (George Legrady, Danny Bazo, and Marco Pinter) is involved in research on developing an intelligent camera. The interactive installation Swarm Vision (2013) consists of three cameras that respond to human movement in the gallery. They compare and evaluate each other’s results, projecting them onto the gallery wall.

Craig Kalpakjian (United-States)

In 1999 Sony introduced a new gadget, the AIBO pet dog. This robot was able to learn, adapt to its home environment, and respond to its owner’s functional and emotional needs. It could emit friendly sounds and take its own photographs. Three years later, in his work Black Box (2002-2013), Craig Kalpakjian placed a Sony AIBO robot dog inside a sealed wooden box, not unlike a larger version of a Skinner box used by researchers to study the behaviour of animals in a controlled environment. It is not possible to see into the box, but each day the robot dog takes a photograph of the interior. These photographs are then displayed outside the box on the gallery wall.

Barbara Prost (Germany / United-States)

By using multiple cameras placed in different locations, and with exposures simultaneously triggered by a radio-controlled release, Barbara Probst dissects the photographic moment. The mise en scène of Exposure #55: Munich, Waisenhausstrasse 65, 01.17.08, 1:55 p.m. (2008) is a sparsely furnished apartment. Twelve cameras, disposed at various angles and distances, peer through keyholes and doorways and around furniture, framing figures in ambiguous arrangements. Cameras take photographs of cameras taking photographs of cameras. The viewer enters a labyrinth of vision with no easy route out.

Le Mois de la Photo à Montréal 2013

Max Dean, As Yet Untitled, 1992-1995, vue d’installation, Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario, Toronto, 1997. Avec l’aimable autorisation de l’artiste et du Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario, Toronto.

ExpVisLab, Swarm Vision, 2013. Capture d’écran réalisée en cours de création, 2012. Avec l’aimable autorisation des artistes.

Craig Kalpakjian, Black Box, 2002-2013, vue d’installation, Andrea Rosen Gallery, New York, 2002. Avec l’aimable autorisation de l’artiste.

Barbara Probst, Exposure #55: Munich, Waisenhausstrasse 65, 01.17.08, 1:55 p.m., 2008, image tirée de l’œuvre, 12 épreuves à jet d’encre UltraChrome sur papier coton, 75 x 112 cm chacune. Avec l’aimable autorisation de l’artiste et de Murray Guy, New York © VG Bild-Kunst, Barbara Probst / SODRAC (2013)

Vue de l’exposition Le Mois de la Photo à Montréal 2013, VOX, du 7 septembre au 19 octobre 2013.

Crédit : Corina Ilea.

Vue de l’exposition Le Mois de la Photo à Montréal 2013, VOX, du 7 septembre au 19 octobre 2013.

Crédit : Corina Ilea.

Vue de l’exposition Le Mois de la Photo à Montréal 2013, VOX, du 7 septembre au 19 octobre 2013.

Crédit : Corina Ilea.

Vue de l’exposition Le Mois de la Photo à Montréal 2013, VOX, du 7 septembre au 19 octobre 2013.

Crédit : Corina Ilea.
2013.09.07 - 10.19

Max Dean, ExpVisLab, Craig Kalpakjian et Barbara Probst

Commissaire
Paul Wombell

Vernissage le 7 septembre à 17 h

À l’occasion de sa 13e édition, Le Mois de la Photo à Montréal a invité le réputé commissaire britannique Paul Wombell à articuler sa programmation autour du thème Drone : l’image automatisée. Du 5 septembre au 19 octobre 2013, plus de 25 expositions déployées sur différents sites, transformeront la ville en une vaste exposition de photographie.

Drone : l’image automatisée

PAUL WOMBELL

Les drones prolongent les capacités visuelles du corps. L’œil a une position fixe sur le corps, une vision limitée à longue distance et diminuée dans de mauvaises conditions d’éclairage. Les drones peuvent se rendre à des endroits dangereux et éloignés, et peuvent voir même par faible luminosité. On peut les contrôler et les opérer à distance, et les faire fonctionner automatiquement. Dotés d’un mode de détection artificielle, ils semblent être capables d’intention et d’action. Les drones sont les robots de la vision. Au cours des quarante dernières années, l’appareil photo a adopté certaines caractéristiques des drones, à tel point qu’il a maintenant sa propre vie et fonctionne davantage comme un ordinateur. Il n’est plus nécessaire de regarder par le viseur, puisque le temps de pose est calculé automatiquement. L’appareil peut être ajusté pour saisir des images sans qu’il soit nécessaire d’être derrière lui. Avec les détecteurs de mouvement, les contrôles à distance, la télévision en circuit fermé, la webcam, Google Street View et le développement de la robotique, l’appareil photo peut fonctionner sans intervention humaine.

Drone : l’image automatisée est un projet qui vise à cartographier la relation en constante mutation entre l’appareil photo et le corps humain. Il examine la manière dont les photographes et les artistes utilisent les mécanismes automatiques de l’appareil sous toutes ses formes dans leur production artistique.

Max Dean (Ontario, Canada)

Au cœur de l’œuvre As Yet Untitled (1992-1995) de Max Dean, il y a la nature délétère de l’innovation technologique qui rend les anciennes formes de technologie obsolètes et change les relations sociales actuelles. Un bras robotique pivote pour sélectionner une photographie de famille qui est ensuite offerte au visiteur. Celui-ci peut presser contre les silhouettes de mains devant le robot, de façon à préserver la photo et à la placer dans une boîte d’archives ; ou encore choisir de ne rien faire, ce qui entraîne alors le déchiquetage de l’épreuve dont les résidus atterrissent sur un tapis roulant pour rejoindre les autres images détruites. Le bras retourne alors à la pile de photographies et réitère le processus. L’épreuve photographique devient un objet jetable en quête de jours meilleurs.

ExpVisLab (Hongrie / Québec, Canada / États-Unis)

Depuis les années 1990, le débat sur la photographie numérique porte sur le statut de l’image, que ce soit sa capacité à se modifier, se compresser et se diffuser partout dans le monde en quelques secondes ou son fonctionnement polyvalent sur diverses plateformes informatiques. Mais l’appareil photo a peu évolué à travers cette transformation de la nature technologique de la photographie. Or, les choses changent. Dans la photographie computationnelle (ou informatisée), l’appareil photo est entièrement reconfiguré. Le collectif ExpVisLab (George Legrady, Danny Bazo et Marco Pinter) travaille au développement d’un dispositif optique intelligent. L’installation interactive Swarm Vision (2013) se compose de trois caméras sensibles aux mouvements humains. Elles comparent et évaluent leurs résultats respectifs qu’elles projettent sur le mur de la galerie.

Craig Kalpakjian (États-Unis)

En 1999, Sony lance un nouveau gadget, le chien AIBO. Ce robot est capable d’apprendre, de s’adapter à son environnement domestique et de réagir aux besoins fonctionnels et émotionnels de son propriétaire. Il peut émettre des sons amicaux et prendre ses propres photographies. Trois ans plus tard, Craig Kalpakjian crée son œuvre Black Box (2002-2013) dans laquelle il a placé un chien Sony AIBO à l’intérieur d’une boîte en bois scellée, rappelant la Skinner Box dont se servent les chercheurs pour étudier le comportement animal dans un environnement contrôlé. Confiné dans la boîte à l’abri des regards, le chien robot prend un cliché une fois par jour. Ses photographies sont ensuite exposées sur les murs de la galerie.

Barbara Prost (Allemagne / États-Unis)

À l’aide de multiples appareils photo placés en différents endroits, et d’un dispositif radio déclenchant simultanément les prises, Barbara Probst dissèque le moment photographique. Ayant pour toile de fond un appartement à peine meublé, Exposure #55: Munich, Waisenhausstrasse 65, 01.17.08, 1:55 p.m. (2008) se compose de douze photographies prises par autant d’appareils orientés selon des angles et des distances variés. Ceux-ci regardent par des trous de serrure et des embrasures de porte, suivent les contours d’un meuble, et choisissent pour sujets des cadrages ambigus. Les appareils prennent des photographies d’appareils en train de photographier des appareils. Le visiteur pénètre dans un labyrinthe visuel dont il n’est pas simple de s’extraire.