Le Système des Allusions

Kevin Schmidt, 1984 Chevrolet Caprice Classic Wagon94000 kms. Good Condition. Engine Needs Minor Work, $1200 OBO 604 888 3243 (excerpt), 2000, series of fives color prints, 51 x 41 cm. Collection of the Surrey Art Gallery. Courtesy of Catriona Jeffries Gallery and the artist.

Michel de Broin, Stick to Resist, 2004, installation (electromagnet and accessories, six color prints, video, furniture), variable dimensions. Courtesy of the artist.

Cory Arcangel, Super Mario Clouds v2k3, still, 2003, video installation, variable dimensions. Courtesy of Team Gallery and the artist.

Stan Douglas, Every Building on 100 West Hastings, 2001, color print, 66 x 426,9 cm. Collection of the CCA. Courtesy of the artist.

View of the exhibition Le Système des Allusions, VOX, from May 7 to June 25, 2005.

Credit: VOX.

View of the exhibition Le Système des Allusions, VOX, from May 7 to June 25, 2005.

Credit: VOX.

View of the exhibition Le Système des Allusions, VOX, from May 7 to June 25, 2005.

Credit: VOX.

View of the exhibition Le Système des Allusions, VOX, from May 7 to June 25, 2005.

Credit: VOX.

View of the exhibition Le Système des Allusions, VOX, from May 7 to June 25, 2005.

Credit: VOX.
2005.05.07 - 06.25

Cory Arcangel, Michel de Broin, Stan Douglas and Kevin Schmidt

Curator
Marie-Josée Jean

Opening May 7, 2005

MARIE-JOSÉE JEAN

There are numerous artistic practices that appropriate or mimic pre-existing images, drawn from the vast bank of them that makes up visual culture. A considerable number of artists are thus abandoning the work of representing reality, in its immediate, direct form, now preferring to reference this inexhaustible reserve of images. Those attempting to trace the origins of this aesthetic often point to the rhetoric of the ready-made—to the famous appropriation by Marcel Duchamp of a mechanical reproduction of the Mona Lisa—and to the allegorical nature of collage and photomontage as practiced by the artists of the avant-garde. And yet, this “new” imaginative space had already been observed in the 19th century by Gustave Flaubert, for whom, as Michel Foucault writes, “A true image is now a product of learning. It derives from words spoken in the past, exact recensions, the amassing of minute facts, monuments reduced to infinitesimal fragments, and the reproductions of reproductions. In the modem experience, these elements contain the power of the impossible.”1 This relationship to the world of Bouvard and Pécuchet, essentially a relationship to the authority of books—educational works, encyclopedias, literary works, philosophical essays, scientific texts, holy scripture—speaks eloquently to that shift, from the reference drawn from reality to that drawn from books. However, that imaginative space is not erected against reality; on the contrary, it takes shape in the space of existing books and is superimposed on the real world to turn it into a domain of added experiences. Like the library, the image society is a monument to knowledge and an incubator of experience. Can we not today consider that the so-called real world has also become the sum of the images by which it is shown to us, be they fictional or not?

The many references to pictures in artistic practices since the 1960s would seem to suggest so. Several artists—all of them contemporaneous with a society in which reality is increasingly duplicated by signs—appropriate existing images or reproduce their codes and conventions, often with the goal of challenging the experience models to which they are today submitted by advertising, reproductions of works in print publications, and the cinema. This attitude, manifest in the work of several American artists—John Baldessari, Dara Birnbaum, Barbara Kruger, Sherrie Levine, Richard Prince, and Cindy Sherman among them—also provided opportunities, especially in the 1970s and 1980s, to begin explorations of originality, feminism, identity, and the effects of colonialism, as well as reinterpret works from art history. As such, this attitude can be said to rest on a symbolic process of incorporation of visual culture. On the one hand it presents the possibility of appropriating for oneself the aesthetic stakes and allegiances to which the artists lay claim, or else to differentiate oneself from them. On the other, it is symptomatic of a subjectivity now marked by an experience of the world that is image-mediated: every subject perceives the world around her through a cultural and historic screen made up of a repository of images and signifiers that condition her ways of seeing and thinking. This vast bank of images eventually ramifies into a referential system that is irrevocably incorporated into our experience of the world. In the sphere of the visual arts, this process of incorporation has, more often than not, critical designs. Most of the artists who reference existing images in their work deploy a conceptual apparatus that affords them the distancing necessary to add meaning to the incorporated reference. A good number of current photography and videography practitioners are engaged in uncovering the rhetorical strategies of producers of global images; deconstructing the formal codes and conventions of Hollywood films or TV images; or undermining advertising imagery by parodying its tactics, mimicking its slogans or criticizing its stereotypes. This use of reference, so important in art today, offers artists an efficient means of observing visual culture and questioning its role in the production of meaning and ideology.

Artists deploy many means to signal the presence of a reference in their works. Explicit reference markers are often visible in titles, either through literal citation, indication of origin, or the use of italics or quotation marks. Most often, though, the reference must be divined based on a network of more or less precise clues. This is true in the case of each of the four artists brought together for this exhibition. The works shown by Cory Arcangel, Michel de Broin, Stan Douglas, and Kevin Schmidt use the allusive power of the image to subtly lay bare the social structures, systems of production, or aesthetic conventions that engendered them. In that sense, the allusion might be viewed as a thematic clue based on which these artists’ works establish a dialogue. Indeed this figure of thought does seem well suited to defining an aesthetic attitude that includes all practices that are reliant on a referential mechanism. Allusion has traditionally been defined as a combinatorial way of thinking that deploys the resources of implicit discourse to name something that is related to something else without stating it explicitly. In that sense it is a risky statement because its referential content is likely to be lost on anyone who lacks the necessary knowledge or mental acuity to decode it. Further, it is intrinsically linked to the fact that culture is a social institution, custodian of collective memory and shared knowledge. As defined by Antoine Compagnon, however, allusion has taken on a new meaning since its description by contemporary theorists, according to the logic of “intertextuality” as referring to any device that places two or more texts in relation to one another.2 There is a subtle shift in focus from the source of the allusion to the relationship that it produces. Before, allusion was a justification of erudite knowledge of sources; now it encourages intertextual and semiotic analysis of the relationships between “statements that allude to” and “statements alluded to.” The consequence, Compagnon continues, is that “explicit references are now treated as allusional signals to the same degree as implicit references.”3 This explains how allusion has evolved into a global category that borrows a diversity of means including appropriation, citation, reconstitution, transposition and remaking to establish a variety of relationships between the statements.4 In this sense, allusion is here compared to a dynamic system whose components have interdependent relationships to one another whose effects varying according to their type.

Thus allusion is used by all the artists in this exhibition to posit a relationship between the work and its reference, so as to have their meaning rest on experience models that we are likely to recognize: Stan Douglas borrows from filmmaking techniques to transform a Vancouver street into a static and strange standing set; Kevin Schmidt employs a pastiche of adspeak to lay bare its contrivances; Cory Arcangel appropriates early videogame imagery to create an unexpected experience of landscape; Michel de Broin reproduces the minimalist shapes that he occasionally finds in public spaces. Their works also afford us the opportunity to examine the gap separating the work from the referenced work, so as to understand the critical stance subtending this re-production—which may be ironic, sarcastic, imitative or admiring, but which rarely remains indifferent to the model to which it refers allusively. There are many who criticize these kinds of allusive practices because of their use of detours punctuated by references (impenetrable, to the critics’ eyes) to get to the meaning of the work. On the contrary: the use of allusion stems most often from a desire to more actively involve the spectator in its interpretation. The difficulty, perhaps, lies more in the effort that is demanded.

1. Michel Foucault: “Fantasia of the Library.” Translation by Donald F. Bouchard and Sherry Simon. In Michel Foucault: Language, Counter-Memory, Practice: Selected Essays and Interviews, Donald F. Bouchard, ed. (Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 1977), pp. 87­-109.
2. He references English- and German-speaking theorists, among others, such as Udo J. Hebel, author of “Towards a Descriptive Poetics of Allusion.” Antoine Compagnon, “L’allusion et le fait littéraire,” quoted in L’allusion dans la littérature (Paris: Presses de l’Université de Paris-Sorbonne, 2000). The author had previously conducted an exhaustive of study on citation; see La seconde main, ou, Le travail de la citation (Paris: Seuil, 1979).
3. Compagnon, p. 246 [our translation].
4. Here this remark of Compagnon’s is particularly apt: “[C]ontrary to Genette’s system, allusion encompasses citation. Therefore it does not merely point back at the text alluded to, as to a footnote, but enriches the text containing the allusion through associations and connotations that are unlimited and unforeseeable, like thick alluvial deposits.” Compagnon, p. 247 [our translation].

 

This text is an excerpt adapted from the essay “The System of Allusions” to be published in an anthology by Gallery 44 and YYZ Books.

Journal # 15 - 05.2005

Read the online journal for the exhibition Le Système des Allusions

Le système des allusions

Kevin Schmidt, 1984 Chevrolet Caprice Classic Wagon94000 kms. Good Condition. Engine Needs Minor Work, $1200 OBO 604 888 3243 (extrait), 2000, série de cinq épreuves couleur, 51 x 41 cm. Collection de la Surrey Art Gallery. Avec l’aimable permission de la Catriona Jeffries Gallery.

Michel de Broin, Stick to Resist, 2004, installation (électro-aimant et ses accessoires, six épreuves couleur, vidéo, mobilier), dimensions variables. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Cory Arcangel, Super Mario Clouds v2k3, (détail), 2003, installation vidéo, dimensions variables. Avec l’aimable permission de la Team Gallery.

Stan Douglas, Every Building on 100 West Hastings, 2001, épreuve couleur, 66 x 426,9 cm. Collection du Centre canadien d’architecture. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Vue de l’exposition Le système des allusions, VOX du 7 mai au 25 juin 2005.

Crédit : VOX.

Vue de l’exposition Le système des allusions, VOX du 7 mai au 25 juin 2005.

Crédit : VOX.

Vue de l’exposition Le système des allusions, VOX du 7 mai au 25 juin 2005.

Crédit : VOX.

Vue de l’exposition Le système des allusions, VOX du 7 mai au 25 juin 2005.

Crédit : VOX.

Vue de l’exposition Le système des allusions, VOX du 7 mai au 25 juin 2005.

Crédit : VOX.
2005.05.07 - 06.25

Cory Arcangel, Michel de Broin, Stan Douglas et Kevin Schmidt

Commissaire
Marie-Josée Jean

Vernissage le 7 mai 2005

MARIE-JOSÉE JEAN

Nombreuses sont les pratiques artistiques s’appropriant ou mimant des images préexistantes tirées du vaste répertoire d’images que constitue la culture visuelle. Un nombre considérable d’artistes délaissent alors le travail de captation de la réalité, dans sa forme immédiate et directe, pour puiser désormais leur référence à même cette réserve inépuisable. L’origine de cette attitude esthétique est souvent associée à la rhétorique du ready-made, à l’appropriation célèbre que Marcel Duchamp a faite de la reproduction mécanique de la Mona Lisa, ainsi qu’à la nature allégorique du collage et du photomontage pratiqués par les artistes d’avant-garde. Pourtant, ce nouvel espace d’imagination avait déjà été observé au XIXe siècle par Gustave Flaubert pour qui, comme le rapporte ici Michel Foucault, « La vraie image est connaissance. Ce sont des mots déjà dits, des recensions exactes, des masses d’informations minuscules, d’infimes parcelles de monuments et des reproductions de reproductions qui portent dans l’expérience moderne les pouvoirs de l’impossible »1. Le rapport au monde de Bouvard et Pécuchet qui se rapporte essentiellement à l’autorité des livres – ouvrages didactiques, encyclopédies, œuvres littéraires, essais philosophiques, textes scientifiques, écritures saintes – marque avec éloquence ce passage de la référence puisée dans le réel à la référence tirée des livres. Toutefois, cet imaginaire ne se constitue pas contre le réel, au contraire, il prend forme dans l’espace des livres existants et se rabat sur le monde réel pour en constituer un champ d’expériences ajoutées. Tout comme la bibliothèque, la société de l’image représente un monument de savoir et un incubateur d’expériences. Ne peut-on penser aujourd’hui que le monde dit réel est aussi devenu la somme des images qui le montrent, que celles-ci soient fictives ou non ?

Les références nombreuses aux images dans les pratiques artistiques depuis les années 1960 semblent le suggérer. Plusieurs artistes – tous contemporains d’une société où la réalité est de plus en plus souvent redoublée par ses signes – s’approprient des images existantes ou reproduisent leurs codes et conventions souvent dans le but d’interroger les modèles d’expérience auxquels la publicité, les reproductions d’œuvres dans les imprimés ou le cinéma les soumettent désormais. Cette attitude que l’on retrouve chez plusieurs artistes américains – John Baldessari, Dara Birnbaum, Barbara Kruger, Sherrie Levine, Richard Prince, Cindy Sherman, entre autres – offre également l’occasion d’initier, surtout dans les années 1970 et 1980, des questionnements sur l’originalité, le féminisme, l’identité ou les effets du colonialisme et de réinterpréter des œuvres tirées de l’histoire de l’art. En ce sens, cette attitude repose sur un processus symbolique d’incorporation de la culture visuelle. D’une part, elle représente la possibilité de s’approprier les enjeux et les filiations esthétiques desquels les artistes se réclament sinon elle permet de s’en distinguer. D’autre part, elle est symptomatique d’une subjectivité désormais marquée par une expérience du monde qui transite par l’image. Tout sujet aperçoit en effet le monde qui l’entoure à travers un écran culturel et historique constitué d’un répertoire d’images et de significations qui conditionne sa manière de voir et de penser. Cette vaste réserve d’images se développe en un système référentiel désormais incorporé à notre expérience du monde. Or, dans le domaine des arts visuels, ce processus d’incorporation a souvent une visée critique. La plupart des artistes qui renvoient à des images déjà existantes mettent en œuvre un dispositif conceptuel qui leur permet d’opérer une distanciation essentielle pour ajouter un sens à la référence convoquée. C’est ainsi que plusieurs pratiques photographiques et vidéographiques actuelles mettent à jour les stratégies rhétoriques des producteurs d’images globales; désarticulent les codes et les conventions formelles du cinéma hollywoodien ou des images télévisuelles; déstabilisent les images publicitaires en parodiant leurs tactiques, en mimant leurs slogans ou en critiquant leurs stéréotypes. L’usage de la référence, si important dans l’art actuel, offre aux artistes un dispositif efficace pour observer la culture visuelle et interroger son rôle dans la production du sens et de l’idéologie.

Il y a plusieurs moyens utilisés par les artistes pour signaler la présence d’une référence dans une œuvre. Les marqueurs de références explicites sont souvent visibles dans les titres par une mention littérale, par l’indication de l’origine, par l’usage de l’italique ou des guillemets. Mais le plus souvent, la référence apparaît à travers un réseau d’indices plus ou moins clairs. C’est ce qui se produit dans les pratiques des quatre artistes réunis dans la présente exposition. Les œuvres de Cory Arcangel, Michel de Broin, Stan Douglas et Kevin Schmidt utilisent le pouvoir allusif de l’image pour faire subtilement voir les structures sociales, les systèmes de production ou les conventions esthétiques qui les engendrent. En ce sens, l’allusion pourrait être considérée comme l’indice thématique à partir duquel leurs œuvres établissent un dialogue. Cette figure de pensée semble en effet appropriée pour définir cette attitude esthétique qui inclut toutes les pratiques reposant sur un mécanisme référentiel. L’allusion a été traditionnellement définie comme une manière de penser par combinaison qui met en œuvre les ressources de l’implicite discursif pour dire une chose qui a rapport à une autre sans l’énoncer explicitement. En ce sens, elle est un énoncé à risque puisque son contenu référentiel est susceptible d’échapper à tous ceux qui ne possèdent pas les connaissances ou l’acuité d’esprit nécessaires. Elle est intrinsèquement liée au fait que la culture est une institution sociale, dépositaire d’une mémoire collective et de savoirs partagés. Mais d’après Antoine Compagnon, l’allusion a connu un nouveau sens depuis que des théoriciens contemporains l’ont décrite selon la logique de l’« intertextualité » renvoyant à tout dispositif mettant deux ou plusieurs textes en relation l’un avec l’autre2. L’attention s’est ainsi subtilement déplacée de la source de l’allusion à la relation qu’elle nouait désormais. Auparavant l’allusion justifiait la connaissance érudite des sources alors que maintenant elle favorise l’analyse intertextuelle et sémiotique des relations entre énoncés « allusionnant » et énoncés « allusionnés ». Cela a pour conséquence, précise encore Compagnon, que « les références explicites sont donc traitées désormais comme des signaux allusionnels au même titre que les références implicites »3. C’est ce qui explique que l’allusion est devenue une catégorie globale qui emprunte différents moyens comme l’appropriation, la citation, la reconstitution, la transposition ou le remake pour établir diverses relations entre les énoncés4. C’est en ce sens que l’allusion est ici comparée à un système dynamique dont les composantes sont rapportées l’une à l’autre selon une interdépendance dont les effets varient en fonction du type de relation qu’elles entretiennent.

L’allusion est ainsi utilisée par les artistes de la présente exposition pour établir une relation entre l’œuvre et sa référence de manière à faire reposer la signification sur des modèles d’expérience que nous sommes susceptibles de reconnaître : Stan Douglas emprunte la manière de faire du cinéma pour transformer une rue de Vancouver en un décor statique et étrange; Kevin Schmidt pastiche le langage publicitaire pour en rendre visibles les manigances; Cory Arcangel s’approprie l’imagerie du jeu vidéo pour proposer une expérience inattendue du paysage; Michel de Broin reproduit des formes minimalistes qu’il trouve parfois dans l’espace public. Leurs travaux nous offrent également l’occasion d’observer l’écart qui sépare l’œuvre et sa référence de façon à saisir la position critique que sous-entend ce redoublement: elle peut être ironique, sarcastique, imitative ou admirative mais elle reste rarement indifférente au modèle auquel elle fait allusivement référence. Nombreux sont ceux qui reprochent à de telles pratiques allusives d’user d’un détour, ponctué de références qui sont à leurs yeux impénétrables, pour accéder au sens d’une œuvre. Pourtant l’usage de l’allusion est le plus souvent lié à une volonté d’impliquer activement le spectateur dans son interprétation. La difficulté repose peut-être bien davantage sur l’effort qu’elle exige.

1. Michel Foucault, « La bibliothèque fantastique », Travail de Flaubert, Paris, Seuil, Points, 1983, p. 104-107.
2. Il se réfère notamment à des théoriciens anglophones et germanophones comme Udo J. Hebel, « Towards a Descriptive Poetics of Allusion », cité dans Antoine Compagnon, « L’allusion et le fait littéraire », L’allusion dans la littérature, Paris, Presses de l’Université de Paris-Sorbonne, 2000. L’auteur avait auparavant réalisé une étude exhaustive sur la citation. Voir La seconde main, Paris, Seuil, 1979.
3. Op. cit., p. 246.
4. Comme Compagnon l’a si justement relevé : « En particulier, et à la différence du système de Genette, l’allusion englobe la citation. Elle ne fait donc pas que renvoyer au texte allusionné, comme une dénotation, mais elle enrichit le texte allusionnant par des associations et connotations illimitées et imprévisibles, des alluvionnements épais ». Op. cit., p. 247.

 

Le présent texte est un extrait adapté de l’essai « Le système des allusions » qui sera publié dans un ouvrage collectif édité par la Gallery 44 et YYZ Books.

Journal # 15 - 05.2005

Consultez le journal de l’exposition Le système des allusions en ligne