Lucy Raven

Lucy Raven, Curtains, still, 2014, anaglyph video installation with sound, 50 min. Courtesy of the artist.

Lucy Raven, Curtains, still, 2014, anaglyph video installation with sound, 50 min. Courtesy of the artist.

Lucy Raven, China Town, still, 2009, photographic animation, 51 min 30 sec. Courtesy of the artist.

Lucy Raven, China Town, still, 2009, photographic animation, 51 min 30 sec. Courtesy of the artist.

View of the exhibition Lucy Raven, VOX, from April 17 to June 27, 2015.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.
2015.04.17 - 06.27

Lucy Raven

Opening on April 17, 2015, at 5:00 pm

JOSHUA CLOVER

Lucy Raven’s Curtains presents ten still images over the course of fifty minutes. Each is split into the red and blue panes of anaglyph 3D glasses; for five minutes each they sidle toward one another, overlap, coincide, part ways. The motion is hypnotic and implacable. We cannot help but wait for the moment when they match up and grant us the moment of depth and chromatic range—the moment the images, neither more nor less flat than previously, nonetheless feel real. And then they separate, and we are returned to the sense of constructedness, flatness, of the made. The aesthetic.

Surely there is something here of the paired directors about whom Raven has written, Raoul Walsh and André de Toth—both one-eyed, both of whom made 3D movies. Surely Curtains is haunted by Guy Debord’s Society of the Spectacle, which figured its title with an iconic photograph from Life magazine of a cinema audience staring obliquely past us in their 3D glasses. But the film cannot be reduced to a history of spectacles. If it is “about” the dream factory, it is in a more roundabout and nuanced way.

Before that it is about the flatness of images, a world reduced to screens. The stills depict the labour of image-making: VFX techs lodged before monitors, all different, all the same. Raven notes that for all the bleeding-edge technology, Hollywood post-production preserves an industrial kernel from the last century: “global assembly lines run from Los Angeles through Beijing, Chennai, London, Mumbai, Toronto and Vancouver, capitalizing on cheap labour and government subsidies.” After all, the recent shift from Fordist assembly lines to the proletarianization of the cubicle appeared early on in the film industry, with Disney’s famous team of animators (and their famous strike, the first ever in Hollywood, which Raven investigated in her work Lost Disney Production Cels, 1941).

But to see this as a story of exceptionality is to see a world stood on its head. The work resembles all other cubicle labour. Movies, with their glamour and gore, are an incidental resultant; the work product could be advertisements, resolving someone’s utilities bill, analyses of global derivatives markets, summaries of porn preferences. The labour process is the same. What then is the relation between the curious, patient manipulation of Curtains and the global life of digital labour? Both involve staring at screens. Both offer numbing repetition; the poster which appears for Edge of Tomorrow can only be brutally ironic. “Live. Die. Repeat.”

Against all this, that moment midway through each sequence when the flatness of the aesthetic dissolves into the seeming of life, a moment of desire rhythmically conjured and satisfied, a happy ending doled out at five-minute intervals. A kind of eclipse, the image trues itself; as ever in art, the moment of truth is the greatest falsehood. For the aesthetic dimension vanishes just when it is perfected; we think we are seeing the world as it is precisely when it is most confabulated, most an image. And ain’t that the movies?

And ain’t that the world on offer, its real relations hidden behind seemingly solid objects? This is the secret interrogated by Raven’s pendant film, China Town. It traces the production of copper wire from a Nevada mine to a Chinese smelter. Again it is built from still images, this time proliferating, impatient, ratcheting past in eccentric jags somewhere between stop-motion animation and a dysphoric seizure. Taking its place in the supply-chain cinema alongside Alan Sekula’s The Forgotten Space, China Town asks us to see the unity of the world—or rather, to see it again. If Curtains shows us the unification of the wired world which seems to have annihilated distance itself to put all its resources at our fingertips, China Town offers the unification of global logistics that both requires and is required by the technology of the wire—the elusive economic dominations that hold all of us in relation across vast gulfs of continents and oceans. All the miserable work that puts the tech in cinematheque. The big dig behind big digital. These are the processes that Raven cannot escape any more than can we.

Perhaps this is the logic of still images: because all is process, but that process has become unknowable. To claim a whole and fluid grasp would be to counterfeit knowledge itself. We can at least encounter its madeness, its unnaturalness, the fact that it is brought into being by force and necessity. But not our necessity. We’re just the audience. We just work here.

Lucy Raven’s practice encompasses a wide variety of forms, including animated films, interventions into live television, installations, and performative lectures. They all bear witness to the artist’s exploration of the effects of technology on the world, and the connections between labour and image production.

Curtains (2014) presents ten still images: each stereoscopic photograph has been split into the red and blue panes of anaglyph 3D glasses, and over five minute intervals, the chromatically opposite colours slide toward one another, overlap, coincide, and part ways. The film depicts the painstaking, frame-by-frame process of creating visual effects for 21st-century Hollywood cinema, particularly the conversion of 2D films into 3D: though this is referred to as “post-production,” Raven aptly notes that it still relies on 20th-century modes of industrial production, with global assembly lines running from Los Angeles through Beijing, Chennai, London, Mumbai, Toronto and Vancouver, capitalizing on cheap labour and government subsidies.

One can clearly see here a continuation of ideas, both formal and political, from Raven’s 2009 film China Town. Also built from still images—this time proliferating, reminiscent of stop-motion animation—it traces the production of copper wire from a Nevada mine to a Chinese smelter. “If Curtains shows us the unification of the wired world which seems to have annihilated distance itself to put all its resources at our fingertips, China Town offers the unification of global logistics that both requires and is required by the technology of the wire—the elusive economic dominations that hold all of us in relation across vast gulfs of continents and oceans.”1

1. Joshua Clover, essay commissioned by VOX, 2015.

Biography

Lucy Raven

Lucy Raven was born in 1977 in Tucson, Arizona, and lives and works in New York. She studied at Bard College’s Milton Avery Graduate School of the Arts and works with animation, installation, sound, and the live format of…

Read more

Lucy Raven

Lucy Raven, Curtains, image fixe, 2014, installation vidéo anaglyphe avec son, 50 min. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Lucy Raven, Curtains, image fixe, 2014, installation vidéo anaglyphe avec son, 50 min. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Lucy Raven, China Town, image fixe, 2009, animation photographique, 51 min 30 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Lucy Raven, China Town, image fixe, 2009, animation photographique, 51 min 30 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Vue de l’exposition Lucy Raven, VOX, du 17 avril au 27 juin 2015.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.
2015.04.17 - 06.27

Lucy Raven

Vernissage le 17 avril 2015 à 17 h

JOSHUA CLOVER

Curtains de Lucy Raven est un film constitué de dix images fixes qui se succèdent durant cinquante minutes, chacune d’elles étant divisée en deux panneaux anaglyphes rouge et bleu destinés aux lunettes 3D, qui pendant cinq minutes glissent lentement l’un vers l’autre, se recouvrent, coïncident, s’éloignent, en un mouvement hypnotique et implacable. Nous attendons, malgré nous, le moment où leur union nous restitue leur profondeur et leur gamme chromatique – le moment où ces images, ni plus ni moins planes qu’avant, nous paraissent néanmoins réelles. Puis elles se séparent, et nous retrouvons leur aspect construit, plat, fabriqué. Esthétique.

On repère bien sûr ici la trace de deux cinéastes à propos desquels Raven a écrit, Raoul Walsh et André de Toth : ils ont tous deux perdu l’usage d’un œil, et tous deux réalisé des films en 3D. On y retrouve certainement aussi en filigrane la Société du spectacle de Guy Debord, dont le titre était illustré par une célèbre photographie du magazine Life dans laquelle on voit les spectateurs d’une salle de cinéma, arborant des lunettes 3D, qui regardent vers l’extérieur du cadre. Mais le propos de Raven ne se réduit pas à une histoire de spectacles ou de lunettes. S’il aborde l’industrie du rêve, c’est d’une façon plus indirecte et plus nuancée.

Le film aborde avant tout la planéité/platitude des images, un monde réduit à des écrans. Ses plans fixes successifs représentent le travail de fabrication de l’image : des techniciens en effets visuels alignés devant des moniteurs, tous différents, tous semblables. Raven note que malgré toute sa technologie expérimentale, la post-production hollywoodienne conserve un noyau industriel datant du siècle dernier : « Des chaînes de montage internationales s’étendent de Los Angeles à Beijing, Chennai, Londres, Mumbai, Toronto et Vancouver, exploitant une main-d’œuvre bon marché tout en bénéficiant de subventions gouvernementales. » L’application récente du modèle fordiste à la prolétarisation des postes de travail modulaires avait d’ailleurs affecté relativement tôt l’industrie cinématographique, notamment chez Disney avec sa fameuse équipe d’animateurs (et leur fameuse grève, la toute première à Hollywood, sur laquelle Raven s’était penchée dans Lost Disney Production Cels, 1941).

Pourtant, considérer ceci comme l’histoire d’une exception reviendrait à regarder le monde à l’envers. Ces tâches s’apparentent à celles de n’importe quel travail modulaire. Les films, avec tout leur glamour et leur violence spectaculaire, n’en sont qu’un résultat accessoire ; le produit pourrait aussi bien être de la publicité, la négociation d’un arrangement pour des factures impayées, l’analyse de marchés mondiaux dérivés ou une liste de préférences pornographiques. Le processus de travail est le même. Quel est alors le lien entre la curieuse, patiente manipulation à l’œuvre dans Curtains et l’univers mondial du travail numérique ? Tous deux impliquent de fixer des écrans. Tous deux présentent des répétitions abrutissantes ; l’affiche du film Un jour sans lendemain (Edge of Tomorrow) le proclame ici avec une ironie brutale : « Vivre. Mourir. Recommencer. »

En contrepoint à tout ceci, le moment suspendu où, au milieu de chaque séquence, la planéité de l’esthétique se dissout dans une apparence de vie, un désir rythmiquement suscité et comblé, un happy end distribué au compte-gouttes toutes les cinq minutes. Une sorte d’éclipse où l’image devient vraie – or, comme toujours en art, l’instant de vérité est celui où l’illusion est la plus accomplie. Car la dimension esthétique disparaît au moment même où elle est réalisée ; c’est précisément lorsqu’il est le plus affabulé, lorsqu’il se fond dans l’image, que nous croyons voir le monde tel qu’il est. N’est-ce pas là le principe du cinéma ?

Et n’est-ce pas là le monde qu’on nous propose, celui qui dissimule ses liens véritables derrière des objets apparemment solides ? C’est le secret que Lucy Raven explore dans un film analogue, China Town, où elle retrace la production du fil de cuivre depuis une mine du Nevada jusqu’à une fonderie chinoise. Là encore, le film est construit à partir d’images fixes, cette fois profuses, impatientes, cliquetant sous nos yeux à un rythme capricieux, quelque part entre une animation image par image et une crise d’épilepsie. Tout comme The Forgotten Space d’Alan Sekula, China Town s’inscrit dans un cinéma consacré à la logistique globale de l’approvisionnement, et nous invite à voir l’unité du monde – ou plutôt, elle nous invite à la revoir. Si Curtains illustre l’unification d’un univers branché qui semble avoir aboli la distance pour mettre toutes ses ressources à notre service, China Town montre l’unification d’une logistique mondialisée, requise (et permise) par la technologie du câble, les réseaux subtils de domination économique qui nous relient les uns aux autres, par-delà continents et océans. Tout le travail pénible qui fait rimer cinéma avec technologie. Derrière l’écran plat, l’ampleur du chantier. Autant de processus auxquels Raven n’échappe pas plus que nous.

C’est peut-être ici la logique des images fixes : parce que tout est processus, et que ce processus est devenu méconnaissable. Prétendre l’appréhender de façon complète et fluide serait contrefaire la connaissance elle-même. Nous pouvons, à tout le moins, nous confronter à sa nature fabriquée, à son absence de naturel, au fait qu’il soit obtenu par la contrainte et par la nécessité. Mais cette nécessité n’est pas la nôtre. Nous sommes de simples spectateurs. Nous travaillons ici, c’est tout.

Biographie

Lucy Raven

Née en 1977 à Tucson (Arizona), Lucy Raven a étudié au Bard College’s Milton Avery Graduate School of the Arts, et vit désormais à New York. Elle travaille en particulier avec l’animation, l’installation, le son, ou le format performatif…

Lire plus

La pratique de Lucy Raven se présente sous de nombreuses formes, notamment des films d’animation, des interventions en direct à la télévision, des installations et des conférences performatives. Elles témoignent toutes des explorations de l’artiste quant aux effets de la technologie sur le monde ainsi qu’aux liens entre le travail et la production d’images.

Curtains (2014) présente dix images fixes. Chacune de ces photographies stéréoscopiques a été dédoublée pour correspondre aux filtres rouge et bleu des lunettes anaglyphes (3D). Toutes les cinq minutes, deux images de couleurs opposées glissent l’une vers l’autre, se recouvrent, coïncident et se séparent à nouveau. Le film évoque ainsi le procédé laborieux par lequel on crée, image par image, des effets visuels pour le cinéma hollywoodien du 21e siècle, notamment pour la conversion de films 2D en 3D. Même si l’on parle de « post-production », Raven observe à juste titre qu’on utilise toujours les modes de production industrielle du 20e siècle, en l’occurrence des chaînes de montage internationales qui vont de Los Angeles à Beijing, Chennai, Londres, Mumbai, Toronto et Vancouver, exploitant une main-d’œuvre bon marché tout en bénéficiant de subventions gouvernementales.

On peut voir dans cette œuvre un prolongement évident, à la fois formel et politique, du film China Town que Raven a réalisé en 2009. Construit également à partir d’images fixes – dont l’abondance rappelle cette fois l’animation image par image – le film retrace la production du fil de cuivre depuis une mine du Nevada jusqu’à une fonderie chinoise. « Si Curtains illustre l’unification d’un monde branché qui semble avoir aboli la distance pour mettre toutes ses ressources à notre service, China Town montre l’unification d’une logistique mondialisée, requise (et permise) par la technologie du câble, les réseaux subtils de domination économique qui nous relient les uns aux autres, par-delà les continents et les océans1. »

1. Joshua Clover, essai rédigé pour VOX, 2015.