David Maljković

David Maljković, Afterform, still, 2013, video installation. Courtesy of the artist and Metro Pictures, New York.

View of the exhibition David Maljković, VOX, from January 14 to April 2, 2016.

Credit: Michel Brunelle

View of the exhibition David Maljković, VOX, from January 14 to April 2, 2016.

Credit: Michel Brunelle

View of the exhibition David Maljković, VOX, from January 14 to April 2, 2016.

Credit: Michel Brunelle

View of the exhibition David Maljković, VOX, from January 14 to April 2, 2016.

Credit: Michel Brunelle

View of the exhibition David Maljković, VOX, from January 14 to April 2, 2016.

Credit: Michel Brunelle

View of the exhibition David Maljković, VOX, from January 14 to April 2, 2016.

Credit: Michel Brunelle

View of the exhibition David Maljković, VOX, from January 14 to April 2, 2016.

Credit: Michel Brunelle

View of the exhibition David Maljković, VOX, from January 14 to April 2, 2016.

Credit: Michel Brunelle

View of the exhibition David Maljković, VOX, from January 14 to April 2, 2016.

Credit: Michel Brunelle

View of the exhibition David Maljković, VOX, from January 14 to April 2, 2016.

Credit: Michel Brunelle
2016.01.14 - 04.16

David Maljković

Curator
Marie-Josée Jean

Opening on January 14, 2016 at 5:00 pm
Guided tour by the artist at 5:30 pm


This first major exhibition of the artist David Maljković in Canada is presented with the support from the Hrvatska kuća–Croatia House Foundation and in collaboration with Metro Pictures (New York).

VOX also thanks its partners M.F.B.B. and Robert Film Services for their commitment and the quality of their production services.

David Maljković. The Exhibition Is Becoming

MARIE J. JEAN

The exhibition as an art practice is hardly a novel phenomenon when one considers that, beginning in the 19th century and throughout the 20th, artists developed experimental apparatuses that contributed to radicalizing its forms and conventions. The recent work of David Maljković adheres to that practice while at the same time expanding the field of questioning: he stages meticulous environments that manifest themselves, among other things, as commentaries on the fact of exhibiting. As such, his art is about meta-exhibition, because its undergirding issue is exhibition. In short, they are exhibitions about exhibition.

For his first major show in Canada, Maljković has developed a specific exhibition that unfolds as a complex array of forms and references. Its components—white cubes, pedestals, screens, platforms, loudspeakers, projectors—are typically viewed by spectators, or used by exhibition curators, as generally neutral display devices, but Maljković demonstrates that they are in fact an autonomous reality, rooted in the history of Modernism and likely to spark memories of other exhibitions. Consequently, when he mounts an exhibition of his work, he shows the traces of his previous shows; when conceptualizing a new installation, he considers it as a component of a global exhibition; when showing a work on a new occasion, he posits it as a sequence of hypotheses of the same work in the process of becoming. Viewed thusly as a process, the exhibition is the method by which the work is (re)produced again and again—so it remains unfinishable. Because it is clear that making a work of art today signifies that the artist must engage in an undertaking without end, considering that, in being submitted to successive actualizations, it is bound to repeat itself and incorporate new variables each time.

This question was investigated by Étienne Souriau, who in 1968—at the same time as Barthes and Foucault formulated their article-manifestos revisiting authorial function—mapped out a striking conceptual architecture that defined the artist as a “researcher” engaged in a “work to be made,” existentially unfinishable.1 Souriau, a professor of aesthetics, rejected the idea that making a work of art involves inspiration or pure spontaneity, viewing it much more as a continuous activity, wholly determined by a process of “research.” He explored the question of “unfinishedness,” dwelling in particular on the “path” leading from the sketch/outline to the work—and which, in that sense, is the exact opposite of a project (or plan) entirely determined by the result. In the case of a project, Bruno Latour and Isabelle Stengers explain, a “finished work may be merely the final coinciding of a plan with a reality that at last conforms.”2 In fact, it is not so much that process which Souriau designates, but something far more vertiginous, which every designer or maker avoids addressing: the failure of the process, which implicates the work as much as the artist. Latour and Stengers continue: “Souriau transformed the apparently simple path from the idea to its execution into a true obstacle course, for the excellent reason that at each moment the work is in danger as well as the artist.”3 The artist is therefore subject, with no freedom whatsoever, to the “errability” of the path.

To delineate that trajectory—and not confound it with the notions of creating, planning and constructing—Souriau refers to “experimental apparatuses,” the “active” role of “observation,” and the “production of facts that have the power to show whether the form realized by an apparatus is or is not able to apprehend them.”4 This notion, Souriau explains, both conveys the freedom and effectiveness necessary for any artmaking, and allows for a share of danger that can potentially compromise its completion. Because during that process a multitude of acts of innovation occur, punctuated by many decisions, trials and errors, wholly determined by the unpredictability of the context. Artists have often described that testing as “experimental research,” as Marcel Broodthaers has explained: “L’Aigle de l’oligocène à nos jours was announced as an experimental exhibition, which is the same thing as saying: your outcome wasn’t assured at the beginning. I could not say for certain if, between my intention and the outcome, certain differences wouldn’t crystallize; I could not express, in advance, a critical opinion on that point.”5 We call “experimental”, Broodthaers suggests, that which materializes the undetermined nature of a process of artistic research. Souriau takes this further, comparing the work to a “character” (personnage) having a concrete existence subjected to the long, undetermined and uncertain process of its advancement.6 At that point the work acquires a “right of existence” even though its autonomy remains entirely relative. Innovation is important, Latour and Stengers remind us, because that statement means “there is not, initially, a thought that would then turn toward an object to extract its form from it.”7 Thus artists do not have necessarily preconceived notions—indeed, they may find something other than what they were looking for—because they proceed, in the course of developing their work, by unexpected discoveries. By that definition of artmaking, it is neither the artist who precedes the work, nor the work that imposes itself on the artist: rather, the two form a productive unit.

Souriau “methodically defends” the idea of the “existential pluralism” of artmaking, but in doing so more attentively observes the path leading from the sketch/outline to the work. Unlike Maljković, however, he was little interested in the mode of circulation and in what works become once they leave the studio. We have an excellent opportunity to revisit the arguments that Souriau developed about the existential unfinishedness of works by having them take a new trajectory: from work to exhibition. A work is the outcome of a complex process, of a great many decisions that contribute to giving it a specific form. Customarily, we consider the exhibition of that work to be, in a sense, its ultimate decision, by which the artist’s action is completed. But this is not the case: each new exhibition assigns to the work of art a new mode of existence. The exhibition could in a way be considered a new sequence taking place within a broader “suspense” under development. David Maljković is an essential case study with respect to this question, because he has understood that the making of a work does not stop with its initial presentation: each new showing continues to make it. Accordingly, this exhibition helps us understand that any exhibition is all at once a material and discursive device and a mode of existence for its practice, for its work, at a given moment along a trajectory.

1. Souriau stated that “present-day artists are primarily researchers. When they talk about their art, whether orally or in writing, it is rare for the words ‘study’ and ‘research’ to not be a part of the vocabulary they use to talk about their activity or their works. Hence the fact that their studios are closer in spirit to a laboratory than to the artist studios of yesteryear.” Étienne Souriau, “L’esthétique et l’artiste contemporain,” Leonardo, Vol. 1, No. 1, January 1968, p. 66. [English translation from Simona Polvani, “Towards a Legal Definition of the Artist-Researcher Status: The Italian Case and the French Case,” p-e-r-f-o-r-m-a-n-c-e, Vol. 1, No. 1, Fall 2014.]
2. Isabelle Stengers and Bruno Latour, “Le Sphynx de l’œuvre” in Étienne Souriau Les différents modes d’existence, suivi de De l’œuvre à faire, Paris: Presses universitaires de France, 2009, pp. 6–7. [Published in English as The Different Modes of Existence, followed by On the Work to Be Made, transl. Erik Beranek and Tim Howles, Minneapolis: Univocal Publishing, 2015.] Latour and Stengers largely contributed to the rediscovery of Souriau’s research.
3. Ibid.
4. Latour and Stengers, op.cit., p. 15.
5. Catherine David, Marcel Broodthaers, Paris: Galerie nationale du Jeu de paume, 1991, p. 218.
6. Souriau, Les différents modes d’existence, pp. 207–208.
7. Latour and Stengers, p. 39.

In many artists’ work, the exhibition has become both object and subject. The work of David Maljković is no exception. In his practice, though, the exhibition refers not only to a material or contextual space, but also to a process, during which the work of art undergoes successive adaptations. This exhibition at VOX extends a line of thinking initiated by the gallery about the role artists play in transforming the forms, conventions and practice of the exhibition.

Biography

David Maljković

A major artist on the contemporary European scene, David Maljković (born in 1973, works and lives in Zagreb) is known for his installations, sculptures, drawings, videos and photomontages, which draw on the former Yugoslavia’s rich modernist legacy…

Read more

Interview

Interview with David Maljkovićduring his exhibition at VOX.

See interview

David Maljković

David Maljković, Afterform, image fixe, 2013, installation vidéo. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste et de Metro Pictures, New York.

Vue de l’exposition David Maljković, VOX, du 14 janvier au 2 avril 2016.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle

Vue de l’exposition David Maljković, VOX, du 14 janvier au 2 avril 2016.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle

Vue de l’exposition David Maljković, VOX, du 14 janvier au 2 avril 2016.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle

Vue de l’exposition David Maljković, VOX, du 14 janvier au 2 avril 2016.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle

Vue de l’exposition David Maljković, VOX, du 14 janvier au 2 avril 2016.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle

Vue de l’exposition David Maljković, VOX, du 14 janvier au 2 avril 2016.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle

Vue de l’exposition David Maljković, VOX, du 14 janvier au 2 avril 2016.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle

Vue de l’exposition David Maljković, VOX, du 14 janvier au 2 avril 2016.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle

Vue de l’exposition David Maljković, VOX, du 14 janvier au 2 avril 2016.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle

Vue de l’exposition David Maljković, VOX, du 14 janvier au 2 avril 2016.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle
2016.01.14 - 04.16

David Maljković

Commissaire
Marie-Josée Jean

Vernissage le 14 janvier 2016 à 17 h
Visite commentée par l’artiste à 17 h 30


Cette première exposition d’envergure de l’artiste David Maljković au Canada est présentée grâce au soutien de la fondation Hrvatska kuća – Croatia House et en collaboration avec Metro Pictures (New York).

VOX tient également à remercier ses partenaires M.F.B.B. et Robert Film Services pour leur engagement et la qualité de leur réalisation.

David Maljković. L’exposition à faire

MARIE J. JEAN

L’exposition comme pratique artistique est loin d’être un phénomène nouveau si on considère que, dès le XIXe siècle et tout au long du XXe siècle, des artistes ont élaboré des dispositifs expérimentaux qui ont contribué à radicaliser ses formes et ses conventions. Tout en adhérant à cette pratique, David Maljković apporte dans son travail récent de nouvelles balises au questionnement : il conçoit de minutieuses scénographies qui se présentent, notamment, comme un commentaire sur l’exposition. Ce faisant, sa pratique relève de la méta-exposition puisque l’enjeu qui la détermine est celui de l’exposition elle-même. C’est une exposition à propos de l’exposition.

Pour sa première présentation majeure au Canada, Maljković a conçu une exposition spécifique qui s’offre à la manière d’un jeu complexe de formes et de références. Si les composantes qui la caractérisent – cubes blancs, socles, écrans, plateformes, enceintes acoustiques, projecteurs – sont le plus souvent observées par les spectateurs ou utilisées par les commissaires d’exposition en tant que dispositifs généralement neutres, Maljković démontre qu’elles constituent en fait une réalité autonome, ancrée dans l’histoire du modernisme et susceptible de faire surgir des souvenirs d’autres expositions. Ainsi, lorsque Maljković organise une exposition de son travail, il montre les traces de ses expositions précédentes ; lorsqu’il conçoit une nouvelle installation, il la considère comme la composante d’une exposition globale ; et, lorsqu’il réexpose une œuvre, il la propose comme une séquence d’hypothèses de la même œuvre en devenir. L’exposition, ainsi considérée comme un processus, devient ce mode à travers lequel l’œuvre se (re)produit sans cesse et, par conséquent, demeure inachevable. Il faut s’y résigner, produire une œuvre d’art aujourd’hui signifie que l’artiste doit s’engager dans une entreprise sans fin puisque, soumise à des actualisations successives, l’œuvre est contrainte de se répéter en intégrant chaque fois de nouvelles variables.

Cette question a occupé Étienne Souriau, qui élabore dès 1968 – au même moment où Barthes et Foucault formulaient leurs articles-manifestes revisitant la fonction d’auteur – une étonnante architecture conceptuelle définissant l’artiste comme un « chercheur » engagé dans une « œuvre à faire », existentiellement inachevable1. Le professeur d’esthétique rejette l’idée que la production d’une œuvre d’art relève de l’inspiration ou de la pure spontanéité ; il la considère bien davantage comme une activité continue, entièrement déterminée par une « recherche ». Il s’intéresse alors à la question de l’inachèvement en faisant porter plus spécifiquement son attention sur le « trajet » qui va de l’ébauche à l’œuvre et qui, en ce sens, est l’exact contraire du projet tout entier déterminé par le résultat. Dans un projet, précisent Bruno Latour et Isabelle Stengers, « l’achèvement ne serait que la coïncidence finale entre un plan et une réalité enfin conforme2 ». En fait, Souriau ne désigne pas tant ce processus qu’il fait référence à une chose bien plus vertigineuse, que tout concepteur ou réalisateur évite d’aborder : l’échec de ce processus, qui implique aussi bien l’œuvre que l’artiste. Latour et Stengers précisent : « Souriau va transformer le trajet apparemment si simple qui allait de l’idée à sa réalisation en un vrai parcours du combattant pour cette excellente raison qu’à tout moment l’œuvre est en péril aussi bien que l’artiste3. » L’artiste est ainsi soumis, sans liberté aucune, à « l’errabilité » du trajet.

Pour désigner cette trajectoire – en évitant de la confondre avec les notions de création, planification, construction –, Souriau évoque des « dispositifs expérimentaux », la part « active de l’observation » et la « production de faits dotés du pouvoir de montrer si la forme réalisée par un dispositif est ou non apte à les saisir4 ». Cette notion apporte à la fois la liberté et l’efficacité nécessaires à toute production artistique, en même temps, précise Souriau, qu’elle comporte une part de péril susceptible de compromettre son aboutissement. Car il survient, au cours de ce processus, une multitude d’actes innovateurs ponctués de nombreuses décisions, d’essais et d’erreurs, entièrement déterminés par l’imprévisibilité du contexte. Les artistes ont souvent qualifié cette mise à l’épreuve de « recherche expérimentale », comme l’explique Marcel Broodthaers : « L’aigle de l’oligocène à nos jours a été annoncée comme une exposition expérimentale, ce qui signifie la même chose que : votre résultat n’était pas d’emblée assuré. Je ne pouvais pas dire avec certitude si, entre mon intention et le résultat, des différences ne se cristalliseraient pas, je ne pouvais exprimer à l’avance un avis critique sur ce point5. » On qualifie d’« expérimental », suggère Broodthaers, ce qui matérialise la nature indéterminée d’une recherche artistique. Souriau ira plus loin, comparant l’œuvre à un « personnage » ayant une existence concrète soumise au long processus indéterminé et incertain de son avancement6. L’œuvre acquiert dès lors un « droit d’existence » bien que son autonomie demeure toute relative. L’innovation est d’importance, rappellent Latour et Stengers, puisque cet énoncé signifie qu’« il n’y a pas d’abord une pensée qui se tournerait ensuite vers un objet pour en extraire la forme7 ». Ainsi, l’artiste n’a pas d’idées forcément préconçues – il peut d’ailleurs trouver autre chose que ce qu’il cherchait – puisqu’il procède, au cours de l’élaboration de son œuvre, par découvertes inattendues. Selon cette définition de la production artistique, ce n’est pas l’artiste qui précède l’œuvre ni l’œuvre qui s’impose à l’artiste, les deux formant plutôt une unité productive.

Souriau défend « méthodiquement » l’idée du « pluralisme existentiel » d’une production artistique, mais en observant plus attentivement le trajet qui mène de l’ébauche à l’œuvre. En revanche, à la différence de Maljković, il s’est peu intéressé au mode de circulation et au devenir des œuvres, une fois sorties de l’atelier. L’occasion est belle de reprendre les arguments que Souriau a développés sur l’inachèvement existentiel des œuvres en leur faisant suivre une nouvelle trajectoire : de l’œuvre à l’exposition. Une œuvre est le résultat d’un processus complexe, le résultat d’un grand nombre de prises de décisions qui contribuent à lui donner une forme spécifique. L’usage veut que l’exposition de celle-ci constitue en quelque sorte la décision ultime, celle par laquelle s’achève l’action de l’artiste. Pourtant, il n’en est rien puisque chaque nouvelle exposition assigne à l’œuvre d’art un nouveau mode existentiel. L’exposition pourrait en quelque sorte être considérée comme une nouvelle séquence qui se situe à l’intérieur d’un « suspense » plus vaste en cours d’élaboration. David Maljković demeure un cas d’étude incontournable sur cette question, puisqu’il a compris que la production d’une œuvre ne s’arrête pas à sa présentation initiale, chaque nouvelle mise en vue continuant de la produire. Par conséquent, la présente exposition nous permet de saisir qu’une exposition est tout autant un dispositif matériel et discursif qu’un mode d’existence de sa pratique, de son travail, à un moment donné d’une trajectoire.

1. Souriau y affirme que les « artistes du temps présent sont avant tout des chercheurs. Quand ils parlent de leur art, oralement ou par écrit, il est bien rare que les mots d’“étude” et de “recherche” ne s’imposent pas à eux pour parler de leur activité ou de leurs œuvres. D’où un climat spirituel de leurs ateliers bien plus proche souvent du climat spirituel d’un laboratoire que de celui des ateliers d’artiste d’antan ». Étienne Souriau, « L’esthétique et l’artiste contemporain », Leonardo, vol. 1, no 1 (janvier 1968), p. 66.
2. Isabelle Stengers et Bruno Latour, « Le sphynx de l’œuvre », dans Étienne Souriau, Les différents modes d’existence, suivi de De l’œuvre à faire, Paris, Presses universitaires de France, 2009, p. 6 et 7. Bruno Latour et Isabelle Stengers ont largement contribué à la redécouverte des recherches de Souriau.
3. Ibid.
4. Latour and Stengers, op.cit., p. 15.
5. Catherine David, Marcel Broodthaers, Paris, Galerie nationale du Jeu de paume, 1991, p. 218.
6. Souriau, Les différents modes d’existence, p. 207-208.
7. Latour et Stengers, p. 39.

L’exposition est devenue l’objet et le sujet de la pratique de plusieurs artistes. David Maljković ne fait pas exception, bien que dans sa pratique l’exposition fasse référence non pas seulement à un espace matériel ou contextuel, mais aussi à un processus au cours duquel l’œuvre d’art est soumise à des adaptations successives. La présente exposition poursuit une réflexion lancée par VOX sur le rôle que les artistes jouent dans la transformation des formes, des conventions et de la pratique de l’exposition.

Biographie

David Maljković

Artiste majeur de la scène européenne contemporaine, David Maljković (né en 1973, vit et travaille à Zagreb) est connu pour ses installations, sculptures, dessins, films et photomontages prenant leur source dans l’héritage moderniste de l’ex-Yougoslavie.

Lire plus

Biographie

Marie J. Jean

Marie J. Jean est directrice générale et artistique de VOX, centre de l’image contemporaine et commissaire d’expositions en plus d’enseigner à l’Université du Québec à Montréal et à l’Université Laval à Québec….

Lire plus

Entretien

Visionner l’entretien réalisé avec David Maljković dans le cadre de son exposition à VOX.

Voir l’entretien