Maria Eichhorn. Film, vidéo, œuvre sonore

Maria Eichhorn, The Artist’s Reserved Rights Transfer and Sale Agreement by Robert Projansky and Seth Siegelaub, 1998, video documentation. Lecture by Seth Siegelaub The Social Historical Background to the Artist’s ContractCourtesy of the artist.

Maria Eichhorn, Film Lexicon of Sexual Practices, Breast licking, Cunnilingus, Eyes, Mouth, French kissing, Ear licking, Love bite, 1999-2005, still 16 mm films, colour, each 3 min, performance. Courtesy Barbara Weiss Gallery, Berlin.

Credit: Jeans Ziehe.

View of the exhibition Maria Eichhorn. Film, vidéo, œuvre sonore, from November 4 to December 16, 2006.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Maria Eichhorn. Film, vidéo, œuvre sonore, from November 4 to December 16, 2006.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Maria Eichhorn. Film, vidéo, œuvre sonore, from November 4 to December 16, 2006.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Maria Eichhorn. Film, vidéo, œuvre sonore, from November 4 to December 16, 2006.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Maria Eichhorn. Film, vidéo, œuvre sonore, from November 4 to December 16, 2006.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.
2006.11.04 - 12.16

Maria Eichhorn

Opening November 4, 2006

Exhibition presented with the support of the Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen.

Maria Eichhorn’s Projections

NORA M. ALTER

Maria Eichhorn’s artistic practice defies facile categorization. With strong roots in the legacies of Fluxus and the Conceptual art tradition, Eichhorn’s work has spanned a variety of genres and media: from wall texts to artist books, staged events to probing interviews, broad-ranging symposia to public billboards, and film and video. The latter are the focus of the VOX exhibition, which includes Eichhorn’s 16mm Film Lexicon of Sexual Practices (1999-2005), the video Shares in the Kunsthalle Bern (2005), as well as the video documentation The Social-Historical Background to the Artist’s Contract from her project The Artist’s Reserved Rights Transfer and Sale Agreement by Robert Projansky and Seth Siegelaub (1998), and references to Billboard Istanbul Biennial 1995 (2005).

The elusiveness of Eichhorn’s artistic practice is perhaps best encapsulated by the title of a collaborative book project, No Credits (2005), with which she was involved. The volume, like much of the artist’s work, consists of a joint project initiated by Eichhorn’s students in Zurich and which is composed of statements, interviews, and artistic interventions that comment on and examine the institution of an art school. Eichhorn’s function is that of a catalyst, prompting and coordinating a dialogue with an array of participants. Indeed, Eichhorn’s strategy of serving as a metteur en scene drives many of her projects. These include Curtain (Denim)/Lectures by Yuko Fujita, Mika Obayashi (1989/1997/1998) for which the artist organized an anti-nuclear lecture series followed by a book publication and her contribution to the group show Kopfbahnhof/Terminal (1995) presented at the central train station in Leipzig. For the latter, Eichhorn arranged a raffle of roundtrip tickets between Leipzig and twenty-one diverse destinations. Travellers thus became direct participants and the act of travelling an integral part of the art work. Similarly, for Arbeit/Freizeit, (Work time/ Leisure time) (1996), Eichhorn surveyed employees of the Generali Foundation in Berlin, asking each to describe the relationship between labour and leisure, and to select an object that for them best signified leisure and/or work time. An array of these objects was then displayed in a vitrine in the lobby of the Generali Foundation.

Eichhorn pushes the limits of what conventionally constitutes an artist’s role—she often steers institutional forces in an attempt to subvert their logic. If the public was the central player in earlier projects, since her 1997 contribution to the public sphere exhibition Sculpture. Projects in Münster (Purchase of the Plot at Corner Tibusstrasse/ Breul, Province Münster, Hall 5, No. 672 ) Eichhorn increasingly mobilizes legal documents, contracts, and economic laws that determine the flow of capital. Thus, in the much-noted and award-winning project Maria Eichhorn Public Limited Company, exhibited at the Documenta 11 in 2002, the artist used the production funds she was allotted to incorporate a new company complete with shares.

Film and video comprise but a small portion of Eichhorn’s artistic practice. As with other media with which she works, the material specificity of these media is less important than the critique she uses them to develop. In some instances, such as Billboard Istanbul Biennial 1995 (2005), video functions in a manner that is similar to an artist book—in both cases, what is exhibited is a trace of a previous event or action organized by the artist. But such traces do not simply function as documents, for Eichhorn purposefully and dialogically addresses the present condition and its reflection on the past by inserting footage of recent interviews and other materials. In contrast, Shares in the Kunsthalle Bern is a promotional film, in line with the generic specifications of corporate advertising that functions to promote the sales of stocks or shares in a company—in this instance the Kunsthalle. With more than a small dose of undercutting irony, Eichhorn includes staged shots of potential “buyers.” The film is exhibited along with a two-volume printed matter edition that details the underlying logic of the project and the elegantly framed shares. Eichhorn’s Film Lexicon of Sexual Practices contains seven silent three-minute, 16mm colour clips. In each sequence, a static camera is positioned to film in close-up the representation of one of the terms in the lexicon. These range from activities such as “Cunnilingus,” “Coitus,” and “Breast Licking,” to practices such as “Bondage,” to body parts such as “Mouth,” “Clitoris,” or “Eyes.” The artist provided a dictionary definition of each term. The immobile camera, the silence, and the fragmented view produce the effect of a visual lexicon in which the encyclopaedic definitions are translated into a filmic form. In this work, the presentation of these films is as important as the films themselves. They are designed to be screened as single film, not as loops, with the actual image quite small (about 60 cm wide). A professional film projectionist is present in the exhibition space and is responsible for presenting whichever film a visitor chooses. If there are no requests then no images is projected. The performance of the projectionist is as much a part of the work as the films themselves. In addition, a film projector stands in the exhibition space which is not darkened but filled with natural light. Thus, film in this instance encompasses an entire practice and event and not simply a celluloid image.

Biography

Maria Eichhorn

Maria Eichhorn

Maria Eichhorn was born in 1962 in Bamberg Germany. She currently lives and works in Berlin. She studied at the Berlin University of the Arts and has been teaching at the School of Art and Design in Zurich since 2003…

Read more

Journal # 19 - 10.2006

Read the online journal for the exhibition Maria Eichhorn

Maria Eichhorn. Film, vidéo, œuvre sonore

Maria Eichhorn, The Artist’s Reserved Rights Transfer and Sale Agreement by Robert Projansky and Seth Siegelaub, 1998, documentation vidéo. Conférence de Seth Siegelaub : The Social Historical Background to the Artist’s Contract. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Maria Eichhorn, Film Lexicon of Sexual Practices, Breast licking, Cunnilingus, Eyes, Mouth, French kissing, Ear licking, Love bite, 1999-2005, image fixe, film 16 mm, couleur, 3 min chacun. Avec l’aimable permission de Barbara Weiss Gallery, Berlin.

Crédit : Jeans Ziehe.

Vue de l’exposition Maria Eichhorn. Film, vidéo, œuvre sonore, VOX, du 4 novembre au 16 décembre 2006.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Maria Eichhorn. Film, vidéo, œuvre sonore, VOX, du 4 novembre au 16 décembre 2006.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Maria Eichhorn. Film, vidéo, œuvre sonore, VOX, du 4 novembre au 16 décembre 2006.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Maria Eichhorn. Film, vidéo, œuvre sonore, VOX, du 4 novembre au 16 décembre 2006.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Maria Eichhorn. Film, vidéo, œuvre sonore, VOX, du 4 novembre au 16 décembre 2006.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.
2006.11.04 - 12.16

Maria Eichhorn

Vernissage le 4 novembre 2006

Cette exposition est présentée avec le soutien de l’Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen.

Les projections de Maria Eichhorn

NORA M. ALTER

La pratique artistique de Maria Eichhorn défie toute catégorisation facile. Son œuvre originant de l’héritage Fluxus et de la tradition de l’art conceptuel couvre une vaste gamme de genres et de médias allant des textes muraux aux livres d’artistes, des événements mis en scène aux entrevues approfondies, des colloques multithèmes aux panneaux d’affichage publics, du film à la vidéo. L’exposition de VOX se concentre sur ces deux derniers. Elle se compose, entre autres, du film 16 mm Film Lexicon of Sexual Practices (1999-2005), de la vidéo Shares in the Kunsthalle Bern (2005), de même que du documentaire vidéo The Social-Historical Background to the Artist’s Contract tiré de son projet sur « The Artist’s Reserved Rights Transfer and Sale Agreement » by Robert Projansky and Seth Siegelaub (1998). Elle inclut également un documentaire en référence à Billboard Istanbul Biennial 1995 (2005).

C’est peut-être le titre d’un projet de livre collectif, No Credits (2005), auquel elle a participé, qui rend le mieux le caractère insaisissable de la pratique artistique d’Eichhorn. L’ouvrage consiste en un projet conjoint conçu par des étudiants d’Eichhorn à Zurich. Il est composé de déclarations, d’entrevues et d’interventions artistiques qui commentent et interrogent le fonctionnement de l’école d’art en tant qu’institution. Le rôle d’Eichhorn est celui de catalyseur; elle invite un grand nombre de participants à un dialogue et coordonne celui-ci. En réalité, la stratégie d’Eichhorn agissant comme metteur en scène est caractéristique de beaucoup de ses projets. Parmi ceux-ci, notons Curtain (Denim)/Lectures by Yuko Fujita, Mika Obayashi 1989/1997/1998 dans le cadre duquel elle a organisé une série de conférences anti-nucléaire, suivie de la publication d’un livre, et sa participation à l’exposition collective Kopfbahnhof/ Terminal (1995) présentée dans la gare centrale de Leipzig. Pour cette dernière, Eichhorn a organisé une tombola dont les prix étaient des billets aller-retour entre Leipzig et vingt et une destinations diverses. Les voyageurs participaient ainsi activement à l’œuvre et l’acte de voyager y devenait une partie intégrante. De même, pour Arbeit/Freizeit (Work time/Leisure Time, 1996), Eichhorn a mené une enquête auprès des employés de la Fondation Generali à Berlin, demandant à chacun de décrire le rapport entre le travail et les loisirs, et de choisir un objet qui, pour eux, représentait le mieux ces deux réalités. Une grande quantité de ces objets ont ensuite été exposés dans une vitrine du hall de la Generali Foundation.

Eichhorn repousse les limites de ce qui constitue traditionnellement le rôle de l’artiste – elle se sert souvent des forces institutionnelles dans une tentative de subvertir leur logique. Si le public était l’acteur principal dans ses premiers projets, depuis sa participation en 1997 à l’exposition Skulptur Projekte Münster/Sculpture. Projects in Münster (Purchase of the Plot at Corner Tibusstrasse/Breul, Province Münster, Hall 5, No. 672), Eichhorn mobilise de plus en plus documents juridiques, contrats et lois économiques qui déterminent les mouvements des capitaux. Ainsi, dans Maria Eichhorn Public Limited Company, œuvre désormais célèbre depuis son exposition en 2002 à la Documenta 11, l’artiste a utilisé les fonds de production qui lui avaient été alloués pour créer une véritable société par actions.

Le film et la vidéo ne constituent qu’une mince portion de la pratique artistique d’Eichhorn. Tout comme pour les autres supports avec lesquels elle travaille, la spécificité matérielle de ces médias est moins importante que la vision critique sur laquelle elle fait reposer son œuvre. Dans certains cas, comme dans Billboard Istanbul Biennial 1995 (2005), la vidéo fonctionne comme un livre d’artiste – dans les deux cas, ce qui est montré est la trace d’une action ou d’un événement antérieur organisé par l’artiste. De telles traces ne servent pas seulement de documentation puisque Eichhorn intègre également des séquences d’entrevues récentes et d’autres documents qui traitent délibérément et de manière dialogique de l’état actuel des événements tout en posant une réflexion sur le passé. Par contraste, Shares in the Kunsthalle Bern est un film promotionnel, conforme aux dispositions de la publicité institutionnelle qui sert à promouvoir la vente d’actions d’une société – dans ce cas-ci le Kunsthalle. Avec une bonne dose d’ironie corrosive, Eichhorn propose des images mises en scène d’« acheteurs » potentiels. Le film est présenté accompagné d’imprimés reliés en deux volumes exposant en détail la logique sous-tendant le projet ainsi que des actions élégamment encadrées. Pour sa part, Film Lexicon of Sexual Practices comprend sept clips muets 16 mm couleur de trois minutes. Dans chaque séquence, une caméra statique a filmé en gros plan la représentation de l’un des termes du glossaire qui décrivent des activités comme le « Cunnilingus », le « Coït », le « Lèchement de sein » et le « Ligotage » ou des parties du corps comme la « Bouche », le « Clitoris » et les « Yeux ». L’artiste a fourni une définition de dictionnaire pour chaque terme. La caméra immobile, le silence et la vue fragmentée produisent un effet de glossaire visuel où les définitions encyclopédiques sont traduites dans une forme cinématographique. Dans cette œuvre, la présentation des films est aussi importante que les films eux-mêmes. Ils sont conçus pour être visionnés comme film unique, et non en boucle, et leur projection est de taille plutôt petite (environ 60 cm de largeur). Un projectionniste professionnel présent dans la salle d’exposition est chargé de présenter les films choisis par les visiteurs. Si aucune demande n’est faite, aucune image n’est projetée. La performance du projectionniste fait partie de l’œuvre au même titre que les films. Contrairement à l’habitude, le projecteur de films est installé dans un espace d’exposition baigné de lumière naturelle. Dans ce cas-ci, le film n’est pas constitué simplement d’images sur celluloïd, mais englobe toute une pratique et un événement.

Biographie

Maria Eichhorn

Maria Eichhorn est née en 1962 à Bamberg en Allemagne. Elle vit et travaille actuellement à Berlin. Elle a étudié au Berlin University of the Arts et elle enseigne au School of Art and Design à Zurich…

Lire plus

Journal # 19 - 10.2006

Consultez le journal de l’exposition Maria Eichhorn en ligne