Richard Ibghy and Marilou Lemmens. The Golden USB

Richard Ibghy and Marilou Lemmens, The Golden USB, still, 2014, multi-channel video installation. Produced by La Biennale de Montréal for BNLMTL 2014 : L’avenir (looking forward). Courtesy of the artists.

Richard Ibghy and Marilou Lemmens, The Golden USB, still, 2014, multi-channel video installation. Produced by La Biennale de Montréal for BNLMTL 2014 : L’avenir (looking forward). Courtesy of the artists.

Richard Ibghy and Marilou Lemmens, The Golden USB, production still, 2014, multi-channel video installation. Produced by La Biennale de Montréal for BNLMTL 2014 : L’avenir (looking forward). Courtesy of the artists.

Richard Ibghy and Marilou Lemmens, The Golden USB, production still, 2014, multi-channel video installation. Produced by La Biennale de Montréal for BNLMTL 2014 : L’avenir (looking forward). Courtesy of the artists.

Richard Ibghy and Marilou Lemmens, The Golden USB, digital image, 2014. Produced by La Biennale de Montréal for BNLMTL 2014 : L’avenir (looking forward). Courtesy of the artists.

View of the exhibition Richard Ibghy and Marilou Lemmens. The Golden USB, VOX, from September 11 to November 8, 2014.

Credit: RIML.

View of the exhibition Richard Ibghy and Marilou Lemmens. The Golden USB, VOX, from September 11 to November 8, 2014.

Credit: RIML.

View of the exhibition Richard Ibghy and Marilou Lemmens. The Golden USB, VOX, from September 11 to November 8, 2014.

Credit: RIML.

View of the exhibition Richard Ibghy and Marilou Lemmens. The Golden USB, VOX, from September 11 to November 8, 2014.

Credit: RIML.

View of the exhibition Richard Ibghy and Marilou Lemmens. The Golden USB, VOX, from September 11 to November 8, 2014.

Credit: RIML.
2014.09.11 - 11.08

Richard Ibghy & Marilou Lemmens and Marilou Lemmens & Richard Ibghy

Opening on September 11, 2014 at
5:00 pm

The Golden USB is presented in partnership with Biennale de Montréal (BNLMTL).

Arranging pebbles in a certain way

JOHN MURCHIE

Richard Ibghy and Marilou Lemmens’ recent collaborative practice has been grounded in an ambition to materialize—to demythologize—abstractions and abstract thought, especially in regard to the social science we commonly refer to as “economics.” Such an aesthetic practice might strike us as too likely to be boring, recalling that the 19th-century historian Thomas Carlyle gave it the enduring moniker “the dismal science.” Yet we’d do well to also recall that another influential abstraction, God, had been a traditional subject for artists through many centuries as they attempted to materialize before our eyes, by means of various visual mythologies, that which is profoundly ineffable.

Somewhere at the root of Ibghy & Lemmens’ intellectual, social, and aesthetic concerns is that epochal shift away from one powerful abstraction toward another, an abstraction that now preoccupies modern peoples, and a shift that many consider altogether for the worst. The two artists do not directly ask us to engage such historical questions—although there is, I think, a deeply felt moral imperative that motivates their practice, for all of the playfulness that lies in wait when we enter one of their installations. And, certainly, do not mistake the playfulness that is quietly present throughout their installations!

The word minimal immediately leaps to my mind as an apt descriptor when I look at Ibghy & Lemmens’ works. I suspect it is not appropriate when I consider its association with a specific contemporary art movement. Perhaps words like spare or even austere might be better, or essential? Such words capture for me aspects of their work, their thinking, their practice—but miss something, as I would miss something when looking at a Canadian loonie from one side only.

Turn, if you would, to their website, with its front-page image of their 2011 work Supply and Demand for Immortality, and click to almost any installation, such as the 2012 exhibition I’d gladly surrender myself to you, body and soul. The installation strikes me as decidedly spare, as if reduced to the bare essentials, maybe even to the essential, although saying it that way would wrongly suggest the kind of abstract thinking from which the artists want to draw us. Spare, but with an intense randomness that also pervades the space through a compilation of incommensurable objects and images:

– a vitrine with an object;
– delicate line drawings framed;
– an array of sans-serif words hanging in rigid but colourful order;
– a small plinth with small fragile-looking sculptural drawings that allude both to mathematical visualizations and Constructivist sculptures;
– a protean-looking linear sculpture;
– a pair of monitors on the floor; and
– the pre-existing white cube that contains and incorporates the objects and images.

It is the impression of bare essentials against incidental location that creates a very real tension—visual and therein conceptual. This tension animates our encounter with what might have been a lacklustre abstraction and takes us in the direction of a demythologized experience. Because Ibghy & Lemmens’ work seems so materially reductionist, it is more important than usual to pay particular attention to the details and elements that comprise what we actually see. How these may signify to each of us is, as it always is, another matter altogether. While we may feel—I certainly do—the urgency of a didactic mission, it is held at bay by the formal infrastructures that Ibghy & Lemmens have been developing in their practice and, secondarily, by their playful humour.

Ibghy & Lemmens’ new installation The Golden USB takes further the forms, the formal elements, that the two artists have been evolving and developing: an audio recording with isolated word/concepts—the Trade Catalogue of Everything; a vitrine highlighting and isolating a useful object—the Golden USB; and a series of isolated monitors and projections with videos obliquely exploring the notion of exchange—“an act of giving one thing and receiving another (especially of the same type or value) in return.”

I imagine a quiet cacophony of sound and image, and perhaps of sense?

The language and logic of economy is Ibghy & Lemmens’ subject here, as it has been for a number of years. With The Golden USB, the collaborators take the next logical step—or take the current conception of economy to its reductio ad absurdum?

When we have exhausted the possible here, our exploration of space has powerfully shown us that “here” is a drop in a bucket—and not even—when compared with everywhere else.

John Murchie
July 2014

“We are told of him (Eurytos, a Pythagorean) that he used to give the number of all sorts of things, such as horses and men, and that he demonstrated these by arranging pebbles in a certain way.” John Burnet, Early Greek Philosophy (1908)1

1. I read this in Yves Abrioux’s Ian Hamilton Finlay: a visual primer (1985). I often return to Finlay’s work when looking at and thinking about Ibghy & Lemmens’ work.

The Golden USB is an installation by Richard Ibghy and Marilou Lemmens that gives form to the idea of an interstellar trade capsule. Housed in a gold USB flash memory device, the capsule is intended for travel aboard a probe headed towards the stars beyond our solar system. Following in the footsteps of the Pioneer Plaque (1972-1973) and The Golden Record (1977), which introduced human civilization to extraterrestrials, The Golden USB (2014) is an invitation to make contact and begin a trade relationship.

The work revolves around the Trade Catalogue of Everything, a digital file listing everything and anything—land, water, air, plants, animals, fragments of nature, but also the products of human culture, industry, invention and know-how—that may be of interest to alien life. Through a proliferation of spoken words, filmed performances and actual specimens, the contents of the catalogue are revealed in the exhibition space, transforming the items presented into “samples,” that is to say, objects of appropriation and speculation.

By raising timely questions regarding the limits of commodification, including the ownership of the Earth and of the life forms that inhabit it, The Golden USB considers the prospect of interstellar trade as the logical extension into the future of the economic paradigm of a planet without boundaries or borders, in other words, of global capitalism.

The artists would like to thank Michael Belmore, Nicole Giard, Jesse Gray, Rodrigo Martí, Bronwen Moen, and Kevin Rodgers for their participation.

Interview

Interview with Richard Ibghy and Marilou Lemmens during their exhibition The Golden USB, presented at VOX in partnership with Biennale de Montréal.

See interview

Other Events

In the context of their participation in La Biennale de Montréal, Richard Ibghy and Marilou Lemmens will be giving a conference as part of the series Programme ICI at UQAM. See you in room A-M204 of UQAM’s Bibliothèque centrale (Pavillon Hubert-Aquin: 400, Ste-Catherine Street East, Berri-UQAM Metro).

Biography

Richard Ibghy & Marilou Lemmens

Richard Ibghy and Marilou Lemmens have developed a collaborative practice that combines a concise approach to the form and construction of the art object with…

Read more

Biography

Marilou Lemmens & Richard Ibghy

Marilou Lemmens and Richard Ibghy have developed a collaborative practice that combines a concise approach to the form and construction of the art object with…

Read more

Richard Ibghy et Marilou Lemmens. The Golden USB

Richard Ibghy et Marilou Lemmens, The Golden USB, image fixe, 2014, installation vidéo à multiples projections. Produite par La Biennale de Montréal pour BNLMTL 2014 : L’avenir (looking forward). Avec l’aimable permission des artistes.

Richard Ibghy et Marilou Lemmens, The Golden USB, image fixe, 2014, installation vidéo à multiples projections. Produite par La Biennale de Montréal pour BNLMTL 2014 : L’avenir (looking forward). Avec l’aimable permission des artistes.

Richard Ibghy et Marilou Lemmens, The Golden USB, photo prise lors du tournage, 2014, installation vidéo à multiples projections. Produite par La Biennale de Montréal pour BNLMTL 2014 : L’avenir (looking forward). Avec l’aimable permission des artistes.

Richard Ibghy et Marilou Lemmens, The Golden USB, photo prise lors du tournage, 2014, installation vidéo à multiples projections. Produite par La Biennale de Montréal pour BNLMTL 2014 : L’avenir (looking forward). Avec l’aimable permission des artistes.

Richard Ibghy et Marilou Lemmens, The Golden USB, image numérique, 2014. Produite par La Biennale de Montréal pour BNLMTL 2014 : L’avenir (looking forward). Avec l’aimable permission des artistes.

Vue de l’exposition Richard Ibghy et Marilou Lemmens. The Golden USB, VOX, du 11 septembre au 8 novembre 2014.

Crédit : RIML.

Vue de l’exposition Richard Ibghy et Marilou Lemmens. The Golden USB, VOX, du 11 septembre au 8 novembre 2014.

Crédit : RIML.

Vue de l’exposition Richard Ibghy et Marilou Lemmens. The Golden USB, VOX, du 11 septembre au 8 novembre 2014.

Crédit : RIML.

Vue de l’exposition Richard Ibghy et Marilou Lemmens. The Golden USB, VOX, du 11 septembre au 8 novembre 2014.

Crédit : RIML.

Vue de l’exposition Richard Ibghy et Marilou Lemmens. The Golden USB, VOX, du 11 septembre au 8 novembre 2014.

Crédit : RIML.
2014.09.11 - 11.08

Richard Ibghy & Marilou Lemmens et Marilou Lemmens & Richard Ibghy

Vernissage le 11 septembre 2014 à 17 h

The Golden USB est une exposition présentée en partenariat avec la Biennale de Montréal (BNLMTL).

Arranger des cailloux d’une certaine manière

JOHN MURCHIE

Richard Ibghy et Marilou Lemmens ancrent leur pratique collaborative récente dans une volonté de matérialiser – ou de démythologiser – les abstractions et la pensée abstraite, particulièrement à l’égard de cette science sociale que l’on appelle « science économique ». Ce genre de pratique esthétique semble à priori peu susceptible d’accrocher le spectateur, à en croire la réputation tenace de « science lugubre » que l’économie doit à l’historien du 19e siècle Thomas Carlyle. Mais n’oublions pas qu’une autre abstraction influente – Dieu – fut au cours des siècles un sujet classique pour les artistes, qui s’efforçaient de matérialiser devant nos yeux, par l’intermédiaire de diverses mythologies visuelles, la nature de ce qui est profondément ineffable.

Ce passage historique d’une influence abstraite majeure à une autre dans les sociétés modernes – une transformation au cours de laquelle beaucoup estiment que nous avons globalement perdu au change – se situe au cœur des préoccupations intellectuelles, sociales et esthétiques d’Ibghy et Lemmens. Les deux artistes ne nous incitent pas directement à nous pencher sur ces considérations historiques, bien que leur pratique soit motivée, je crois, par un impératif moral très perceptible, malgré l’esprit ludique qui imprègne discrètement chacune de leurs installations (et qui n’est pas à prendre au premier degré !)

Le terme minimal me vient immédiatement à l’esprit quand je regarde les œuvres d’Ibghy et Lemmens, mais ce n’est sans doute pas le terme le plus adéquat si je pense au mouvement d’art contemporain qui lui est associé. Peut-être que sobre, voire austère conviendraient mieux, ou essentiel ? Ces mots sont pour moi représentatifs d’un certain aspect de leur travail, de leur pensée, de leur pratique, du moins partiellement – de la même manière que j’aurais une vue partielle d’une pièce de monnaie si je n’en voyais qu’un seul côté.

Je vous propose donc, si vous le voulez bien, de visiter leur site Internet, dont la page d’accueil affiche une image de leur œuvre Supply and Demand for Immortality (2011), et de cliquer au hasard sur une exposition : par exemple I’d gladly surrender myself to you, body and soul (2012). L’installation me frappe par son indéniable sobriété, qui la réduit en quelque sorte à ses éléments essentiels, ou peut-être à l’essentiel, bien que cette formulation suggère à tort un type de pensée abstraite dont les deux artistes souhaitent justement nous éloigner.

Cette sobriété présente cependant un caractère profondément aléatoire, qui s’impose aussi à nous par la juxtaposition d’objets et d’images incommensurables :

• une vitrine contenant un objet;
• quelques délicats dessins au trait encadrés;
• une série de mots en caractères sans empattement accrochés dans un arrangement strict mais coloré;
• un petit socle où sont posés de petits dessins sculpturaux d’apparence fragile, rappelant à la fois des représentations mathématiques et des sculptures constructivistes;
• une sculpture linéaire à l’allure protéiforme;
• deux écrans vidéo posés sur le sol;
• le cube blanc de la galerie, qui contient et incorpore les objets et images.

En effet, la sobre disparité de ces éléments dans un espace fortuit crée une réelle tension visuelle, et donc conceptuelle. Cette tension anime notre rencontre avec ce qui aurait pu être une terne abstraction, et nous entraîne vers une expérience démythologisée. C’est précisément parce que le travail d’Ibghy et Lemmens semble suivre un tel réductionnisme matériel qu’il faut être particulièrement attentif aux détails et aux éléments concrets que nous voyons. Le sens que nous leur attribuons est, comme toujours, une autre question. On peut y percevoir – et c’est mon cas – une mission didactique dictée par un sentiment d’urgence, mais cet effet est tenu à distance par les infrastructures formelles qu’Ibghy et Lemmens ont élaborées dans leur pratique, et, à un second niveau, par l’aspect humoristique et ludique de celle-ci.

La dernière installation d’Ibghy et Lemmens, The Golden USB, développe les formes, ou les éléments formels, qui ont évolué au fil de leur travail : on y rencontre un enregistrement audio de mots/concepts isolés, le « Catalogue commercial de Tout » (the Trade Catalogue of Everything); une vitrine qui met en valeur et isole un objet utile, The Golden USB; une série d’écrans et de projections montrant des vidéos qui explorent indirectement la notion d’échange, soit « l’acte de donner une chose et d’en recevoir une autre (particulièrement de même nature ou valeur) en retour ».

J’imagine une tranquille cacophonie de sons et d’images, et peut-être de sens ?

Ibghy et Lemmens examinent ici le langage et la logique économiques, comme ils le font depuis un certain nombre d’années. Avec The Golden USB, ils poussent cette logique encore plus loin, à moins qu’ils n’appliquent un raisonnement par l’absurde à la conception actuelle de l’économie ?

Lorsque nous aurons épuisé toutes les possibilités qui nous sont offertes ici, notre exploration de l’espace nous aura pleinement démontré que cet « ici » représente – à peine – une goutte d’eau dans l’océan par rapport à tout ce qui nous entoure.

John Murchie
2014

« On nous dit de lui [Eurytos, un Pythagoricien] qu’il avait l’habitude d’indiquer les nombres de toutes sortes de choses, par exemple du cheval et de l’homme, et qu’il représentait ces choses en arrangeant des cailloux d’une certaine manière1. »

1. John Burnet, L’aurore de la philosophie grecque, Paris, Payot, 1919. Cette citation figure dans l’ouvrage d’Yves Abrioux, Ian Hamilton Finlay: A Visual Primer, Édimbourg, Reaktion Books, 1985. Il est d’ailleurs intéressant de mettre en parallèle le travail de Finlay avec celui d’Ibghy et Lemmens.

L’installation de Richard Ibghy et Marilou Lemmens, The Golden USB, explore l’idée d’une capsule de commerce interstellaire. Gravée sur un disque mémoire flash USB en or, la capsule est destinée à voyager à bord d’une sonde en route vers les étoiles situées au-delà de notre système solaire. Dans la lignée de la Pioneer Plaque (1972-1973) et The Golden Record (1977), qui présentaient la civilisation humaine aux extraterrestres, The Golden USB (2014) les invite à entrer en contact avec nous et à établir des relations commerciales.

L’œuvre s’articule autour du Trade Catalogue of Everything, un fichier numérique qui recense absolument tout ce qui pourrait intéresser les civilisations éloignées – terre, eau, air, plantes, animaux, fragments de nature, mais aussi les produits de la culture, de l’industrie, de l’invention et du savoir-faire humains. À travers une profusion de mots enregistrés, de performances filmées et de spécimens concrets, le contenu du catalogue est révélé dans l’espace d’exposition, où les items présentés deviennent des « échantillons », autrement dit des objets d’appropriation et de spéculation.

En soulevant des questions sur les limites de la marchandisation, y compris sur la propriété de la Terre et des formes de vie qui l’habitent, The Golden USB considère la perspective du commerce interstellaire comme le prolongement logique du paradigme économique d’une planète sans frontières ni limites, autrement dit du capitalisme mondial.

Les artistes souhaitent remercier Michael Belmore, Nicole Giard, Jesse Gray, Rodrigo Martí, Bronwen Moen et Kevin Rodgers pour leur participation.

Entretien

Visionnez l’entretien réalisé avec Richard Ibghy et Marilou Lemmens dans le cadre de leur exposition The Golden USB, présentée à VOX en partenariat avec la Biennale de Montréal.

Voir l’entretien

Autres événements

À l’occasion de leur participation à la Biennale de Montréal, Richard Ibghy et Marilou Lemmens donneront une conférence dans le cadre du Programme ICI à l’UQAM. Rendez-vous au local A-M204 de la Bibliothèque centrale de l’UQAM (Pavillon Hubert-Aquin : 400, rue Ste-Catherine est, métro Berri-UQAM).

Biographie

Richard Ibghy & Marilou Lemmens

Richard Ibghy et Marilou Lemmens ont développé une pratique collaborative qui combine une approche concise de la forme et de la construction de l’œuvre d’art avec…

Lire plus

Biographie

Marilou Lemmens & Richard Ibghy

Marilou Lemmens et Richard Ibghy ont développé une pratique collaborative qui combine une approche concise de la forme et la construction de l’œuvre d’art avec…

Lire plus