Sven Augustijnen. Spectres

Sven Augustijnen, photo taken by Fairuz during the shooting of Spectres, 2011. Courtesy of Jan Mot, Brussels.

Sven Augustijnen, Spectres, still, 2011, HD video,
103 min 8 sec. Courtesy of Jan Mot, Brussels.

Sven Augustijnen, Spectres, still, 2011, HD video,
103 min 8 sec. Courtesy of Jan Mot, Brussels.

Sven Augustijnen, Photos taken by Jacques Brassinne in Lubumbashi au Shaba (Katanga)on June 16, 1988, detail, 2011, 80 colour slides. Courtesy of Jan Mot, Brussels.

Sven Augustijnen, Cher Pourquoi Pas?, detail, 2007-2013, posters, vitrines and original publications. Courtesy of Jan Mot, Brussels.

ven Augustijnen, Cher Pourquoi Pas?, detail, 2007-2013, posters, vitrines and original publications. Courtesy of Jan Mot, Brussels.

ven Augustijnen, Cher Pourquoi Pas?, detail, 2007-2013, posters, vitrines and original publications. Courtesy of Jan Mot, Brussels.

ven Augustijnen, Cher Pourquoi Pas?, detail, 2007-2013, posters, vitrines and original publications. Courtesy of Jan Mot, Brussels

ven Augustijnen, Cher Pourquoi Pas?, detail, 2007-2013, posters, vitrines and original publications. Courtesy of Jan Mot, Brussels

ven Augustijnen, Cher Pourquoi Pas?, detail, 2007-2013, posters, vitrines and original publications. Courtesy of Jan Mot, Brussels

ven Augustijnen, Cher Pourquoi Pas?, detail, 2007-2013, posters, vitrines and original publications. Courtesy of Jan Mot, Brussels

View of the exhibition Spectres, VOX, from May 11 to July 13, 2013.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Spectres, VOX, from May 11 to July 13, 2013.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Spectres, VOX, from May 11 to July 13, 2013.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Spectres, VOX, from May 11 to July 13, 2013.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Spectres, VOX, from May 11 to July 13, 2013.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Spectres, VOX, from May 11 to July 13, 2013.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Spectres, VOX, from May 11 to July 13, 2013.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Spectres, VOX, from May 11 to July 13, 2013.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Spectres, VOX, from May 11 to July 13, 2013.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.
2013.05.11 - 07.13

Sven Augustijnen

Opening May 10, 2013

A proposal by Netwerk, center for contemporary art

CATHLEEN CAFFEE

We will institute peace not with guns and bayonets, but with heart and good will. And for all that, dear compatriots, be sure that we can count not only on our enormous strength and immense riches, but also on the assistance of many foreign countries whose collaboration we will welcome so long as it is loyal, and so long as it does not seek to impose a particular politics on us. In this domain, Belgium, which at last has understood the direction of history, has not tried to oppose our independence, and is prepared to give us its help and friendship1 –Patrice Lumumba, June 30, 1960

Spectres is Sven Augustijnen’s most recent in a series of projects to picture the reverberations of colonialism in present-day Europe. To make the feature-length film, book and installation, Augustijnen spent more than six months accompanying Chevalier Jacques Brassinne de La Buissière, a former colonial government official, as he retraced his decades-old research into the January 17, 1961, assassination of Patrice Lumumba.

Through Brassinne’s own biography, viewers are acquainted with some facts. After seventy years of profit, and often violent colonial rule, Belgium acknowledged the inevitability of Congolese independence by 1960. Brassinne was sent to the Congo to help prepare for King Baudouin’s speech welcoming liberation on June 30, 1960. Afterwards, Brassinne stayed as the Congolese military rebelled against its still largely white Belgian officers. Patrice Lumumba, a hugely charismatic leader of the emergent Nationalist party and the first democratically elected prime minister of the Congo, expelled the remaining Belgian officials from the capital in the weeks after independence. Brassinne then established himself in the copper-rich breakaway state of Katanga, one of the few remaining outposts of Belgian power in the country. There, he worked closely with Harold d’Aspremont Lynden, the Belgian Minister for African Affairs, to safeguard Belgian interests under Moïse Tshombe’s leadership of the secession. Brassinne was in Katanga when, as part of their efforts to shore up the Congo as a Cold War “friend” to the West in Africa, the Belgian military and the American CIA successfully labelled Lumumba a communist, and a strong military leader—Joseph Mobutu—assumed power in a coup. But Lumumba’s popularity remained a threat to this new regime and the Katangan state’s interests. Brassinne would be one of the first to know of Lumumba’s assassination less than six months after Congolese independence.

In the fifty years that followed, Brassinne became a respected, if controversial, historian of the events in which he himself had been an actor, and he spent decades researching who was responsible for Lumumba’s assassination.2 Augustijnen’s film pivots around Brassinne’s conclusion: Belgium did not do right by the Congo throughout much of its history, but in this instance it was innocent. He contends that Tshombe and a number of Belgians acted independently, without orders from officials like d’Aspremont Lynden. To Brassinne, Lumumba was assassinated by the Congolese to silence a powerful enemy.

Augustijnen lets Brassinne pantomime his past research and demonstrate how he created his identity as a historian. We see how much he relishes fighting for the facts as he knows them; we watch his graceful discourse with the descendants of d’Aspremont Lynden, and stilted meetings with the family of Lumumba and Tshombe; we follow his dogged efforts to find the tree where Lumumba was shot, and lurid attempts to anchor the killers’ actions in such relics as well as in boxes of dissertation drafts, audio recordings and copies of telexes. Throughout, Brassinne makes sure we see proof that he was there. Such photographs and memories are evidence of his privileged place as a narrator/witness.

In Spectres, Augustijnen uses Brassinne’s re-enactments, as well as long instructional subtitles, obvious camera movement, and theatrical music—Bach’s St. John Passion. This is the repertoire of devices available to the documentary filmmaker. On first viewing of Spectres, these details may seem like the ornamental flourishes of an artist-as-historian who cannot help but put a creative stamp on his material. It becomes clear, however, that the documentary tropes are an integral component of Augustijnen’s ethic in Spectres : a linear, “rigorous” approach to his subject would have contributed to the pretence of transparency that is proper to the documentary form and which is also Brassinne’s own dangerous fiction. Augustijnen knows he is following someone with skin in the game. His own interventions in Spectres—both didactic and melodramatic—underline the film’s fabricated nature and shine a mirror on its narrator’s self-construction.

In the installation alongside his film, Augustijnen bends objects, books, audio recordings and research photographs from Brassinne’s archive into a kind of bridge between the gallery space and his documentary. Brassinne’s images, which picture the widespread violence and murder of 1960–61, are projected as slides, and framed on the walls, while other materials are shown in vitrines. Augustijnen authored a book as an essential complement to the film that is also available for consultation in the gallery.3 It assembles images, biographies of all those referred to in Spectres, reports by a number of historians who disagree with Brassinne, a long interview between Brassinne and Augustijnen, and a detailed chronology from the birth of the Belgian King Leopold II (who established a private colony in the Congo in 1885) to the present day.

Augustijnen treats these supplementary elements with the same auratic reverence as Brassinne did : the archive is evidentiary, and it is also a reliquary. But it means different things to the artist and his narrator. It is through these documents that Brassinne claims transparency—if proof of Belgian guilt is not here, it does not exist. But in the archive, the Congo’s fleeting brush with democracy and its bloody collapse, we see the context in which Lumumba’s was just one death out of millions. All the events of Spectres are the result of one young King’s decision in 1885 that a profitable colony would put his small nation on the map, and another young King’s judgment in 1960 that after seventy years of profit, Belgium could no longer sustain its position as colonizer. The Belgian government did not exit strategically, but theatrically, like an actor departing stage left, and many Belgians waited in the wings. Augustijnen’s devastating exhibition is only nominally inte-rested in unreliable narrators, or in proof of guilt. It doesn’t have to be : the evidence of culpability surrounds us.

1. Speech at the Ceremony of the Proclamation of Congolese Independence, Palais de la nation, Léopoldville (modern-day Kinshasa). (Freely translated)
2. Brassinne wrote about his findings in a number of books, including one published under a pseudonym, G. Heinz and H. Donnay, Lumumba Patrice. Les cinquante derniers jours de sa vie, (Brussels: C.R.I.S.P., 1966), published in English as Lumumba: The Last Fifty Days, trans. Jane Clark Seitz (New York: Grove Press, 1970); see also Jacques Brassinne and Jean Kestergat, Qui a tué Patrice Lumumba? (Paris: Duculot, 1991).
3. Sven Augustijnen, Spectres, trans. Emiliano Battista (Brussels: ASA, 2011).

Event

Discussion with Sven Augustijnen
2013.05.10

The exhibition will open with a discussion with Patrick Beauduin, executive director of radio at Radio-Canada, on the issues surrounding Sven Augustijnen’s pratice and the history of Congo’s decolonization.

Read more

Talk 2013.06.28

VOX is pleased to invite you to talk with Érika Nimis, Historian of photography and visual media in Africa (Université du Québec à Montréal) and Jean-Marie Mousenga, President of the Communauté congolaise de Montréal-Métropolitain (COCOM) about our current exhibition and the documentary film Spectres on Friday, June 28 from 5:30 pm to 7:30 pm.

Biography

Sven Augustijnen

Sven Augustijnen (b. 1970, Belgium) lives and works in Brussels. He studied at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Antwerp, the Hoger Sint-Lukas Instituut in Brussels…

Read more

Journal # 42 - 05.2013

Read the online journal for the exhibition Sven Augustijnen. Spectres

Sven Augustijnen. Spectres

Sven Augustijnen, photo prise par Fairuz lors du tournage de Spectres, 2011. Avec l’aimable permission de Jan Mot, Bruxelles.

Sven Augustijnen, Spectres, image fixe, 2011, vidéo HD,
103 min 8 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de Jan Mot, Bruxelles.

Sven Augustijnen, Spectres, image fixe, 2011, vidéo HD,
103 min 8 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de Jan Mot, Bruxelles.

Sven Augustijnen, Photos prises par Jacques Brassinne à Lubumbashi au Shaba (Katanga), le 16 juin 1988, détail, 2011, 80 diapositives couleur. Avec l’aimable permission de Jan Mot, Bruxelles.

Sven Augustijnen, Cher Pourquoi Pas?, détail, 2007 – 2013, affiches, vitrine et publications originales. Avec l’aimable permission de Jan Mot, Bruxelles.

Sven Augustijnen, Cher Pourquoi Pas?, détail, 2007 – 2013, affiches, vitrine et publications originales. Avec l’aimable permission de Jan Mot, Bruxelles.

 

Sven Augustijnen, Cher Pourquoi Pas?, détail, 2007 – 2013, affiches, vitrine et publications originales. Avec l’aimable permission de Jan Mot, Bruxelles.

 

Sven Augustijnen, Cher Pourquoi Pas?, détail, 2007 – 2013, affiches, vitrine et publications originales. Avec l’aimable permission de Jan Mot, Bruxelles.

 

Sven Augustijnen, Cher Pourquoi Pas?, détail, 2007 – 2013, affiches, vitrine et publications originales. Avec l’aimable permission de Jan Mot, Bruxelles.

 

Sven Augustijnen, Cher Pourquoi Pas?, détail, 2007 – 2013, affiches, vitrine et publications originales. Avec l’aimable permission de Jan Mot, Bruxelles.

 

Sven Augustijnen, Cher Pourquoi Pas?, détail, 2007 – 2013, affiches, vitrine et publications originales. Avec l’aimable permission de Jan Mot, Bruxelles.

 

Vue de l’exposition Spectres, VOX, du 11 mai au 13 juillet 2013.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Spectres, VOX, du 11 mai au 13 juillet 2013.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Spectres, VOX, du 11 mai au 13 juillet 2013.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Spectres, VOX, du 11 mai au 13 juillet 2013.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Spectres, VOX, du 11 mai au 13 juillet 2013.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Spectres, VOX, du 11 mai au 13 juillet 2013.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Spectres, VOX, du 11 mai au 13 juillet 2013.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Spectres, VOX, du 11 mai au 13 juillet 2013.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Spectres, VOX, du 11 mai au 13 juillet 2013.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.
2013.05.11 - 07.13

Sven Augustijnen

Vernissage le 10 mai 2013

Une proposition de Netwerk, centre d’art comtemporain

CATHLEEN CHAFFEE

Nous allons faire régner non pas la paix des fusils et des baïonnettes, mais la paix des cœurs et des bonnes volontés. Et pour tout cela, chers compatriotes, soyez sûrs que nous pourrons compter non seulement sur nos forces énormes et nos richesses immenses, mais sur l’assistance de nombreux pays étrangers dont nous accepterons la collaboration chaque fois qu’elle sera loyale et ne cherchera pas à nous imposer une politique quelle qu’elle soit. Dans ce domaine, la Belgique qui, comprenant enfin le sens de l’histoire, n’a pas essayé de s’opposer à notre indépendance, est prête à nous accorder son aide et son amitié 1… – Patrice Lumumba, le 30 juin 1960

Spectres est le dernier projet de Sven Augustijnen dans le cadre d’une série visant à illustrer les répercussions du colonialisme sur l’Europe actuelle. Pour réaliser son long métrage, son livre et son installation, Augustijnen a passé plus de six mois en compagnie de Jacques Brassinne de La Buissière, ancien haut fonctionnaire du gouvernement colonial fait par la suite chevalier, avec qui il a repris le parcours d’une recherche de plusieurs décennies sur l’assassinat, le 17 janvier 1961, de Patrice Lumumba.

C’est par la biographie de Brassinne que les spectateurs se familiarisent avec certains faits. Après soixante-dix années de rentabilité et de régime colonial souvent violent, la Belgique reconnaît en 1960 l’inévitabilité de l’indépendance congolaise. Brassinne est alors envoyé au Congo pour préparer le discours du roi Baudouin, le 30 juin 1960, en faveur de la libération. Par la suite, Brassinne reste au pays au moment où l’armée congolaise se rebelle contre ses fonctionnaires, encore en grande partie des Blancs d’origine belge. Patrice Lumumba, leader extrêmement charismatique du parti nationaliste émergent et premier Premier ministre démocratiquement élu du Congo, expulse de la capitale les fonctionnaires belges qui y sont encore dans les semaines suivant l’indépendance. Brassinne s’établit ensuite dans le Katanga, État séparatiste riche en cuivre et l’un des derniers avant-postes du pouvoir belge au pays. Il y travaille de près avec Harold d’Aspremont Lynden, ministre des Affaires africaines de la Belgique, pour protéger les intérêts belges sous la présidence de Moïse Tshombe, leader sécessionniste du Katanga. Brassinne y est lorsque l’armée belge et la CIA américaine, dans le cadre de leur tentative de consolider l’image du Congo comme « ami » de l’Occident en Afrique en période de guerre froide, accolent l’étiquette de communiste à Lumumba et qu’un puissant leader militaire, Joseph Mobutu, prend le pouvoir après un coup d’État. La popularité de Lumumba demeure toutefois une menace pour le nouveau régime de ce dernier et les intérêts du Katanga. Brassinne aurait été l’un des premiers informés de l’assassinat de Lumumba, et ce, six mois à peine après l’accès à l’indépendance du Congo.

Dans les cinquante années qui vont suivre, Brassinne deviendra l’historien respecté, quoique controversé, d’événements auxquels il a lui-même participé, et il passera des décennies à tenter de trouver le responsable de l’assassinat de Lumumba2. Le film d’Augustijnen s’articule autour de la conclusion de Brassinne : la Belgique n’a pas fait ce qu’il fallait pour le Congo durant la majeure partie de son histoire mais, dans ce cas-ci, elle est innocente. Il avance que Tshombe et de nombreux Belges ont agi indépendamment, sans recevoir d’ordre de fonctionnaires comme d’Aspremont Lynden. Selon Brassinne, Lumumba a été assassiné par des Congolais souhaitant faire taire un puissant ennemi.

Augustijnen donne à Brassinne la latitude de revivre sa recherche passée et de démontrer comment il a créé son identité d’historien. On voit combien il se plaît à défendre les faits tels qu’il les connaît; on observe sa conversation distinguée avec les descendants d’Aspremont Lynden et son échange guindé avec les familles de Lumumba et de Tshombe; on suit ses efforts acharnés pour retrouver l’arbre contre lequel Lumumba a été exécuté et ses horribles tentatives d’ancrer les gestes des assassins dans des reliques semblables aussi bien qu’en fouillant des boîtes remplies d’ébauches de thèses, d’enregistrements sonores et de copies de télex. Brassinne fait en sorte, tout au long du film, qu’on voie les preuves de sa présence. Ces images et ces souvenirs démontrent sa place privilégiée en tant que narrateur et témoin.

Dans Spectres, Augustijnen a recours aux reconstitutions de Brassinne, de même qu’à de longs sous-titres explicatifs, à des mouvements de caméra apparents et à la musique dramatique de la Passion selon saint Jean de J.-S. Bach. Il s’agit là du répertoire des dispositifs auquel a accès le documentariste. Quand on voit Spectres pour la première fois, ces détails peuvent donner l’impression d’être les fioritures d’un artiste devenu historien qui ne peut s’empêcher d’apposer son sceau de créateur sur son travail. Il devient clair, cependant, que les tropes documentaires font partie intégrante de l’éthique d’Augustijnen dans Spectres : une approche « rigoureuse » linéaire de son sujet aurait contribué à la prétention de transparence propre au format documentaire, prétention qui marque également la fiction périlleuse de Brassinne. Augustijnen sait qu’il suit quelqu’un dont la peau est en jeu. Ses propres interventions dans Spectres, à la fois didactiques et mélodramatiques, soulignent la nature artificielle du film et mettent en lumière l’auto-représentation du narrateur.

Dans l’installation qui accompagne le film, Augustijnen manipule les objets, les livres, les enregistrements sonores et le matériel photographique de recherche puisés dans les archives de Brassinne, pour créer en quelque sorte un pont entre l’espace de la galerie et son documentaire. Les images de Brassinne, qui montrent l’étendue de la violence et des meurtres en 1960 et 1961, sont projetées sous forme de diapositives et encadrées au mur, tandis que d’autres documents sont présentés sous vitrine. Augustijnen a écrit un livre, complément essentiel au film, qui est disponible pour consultation en galerie3. Cet ouvrage réunit des images, des biographies de toutes les personnes dont il est question dans Spectres, des comptes rendus de plusieurs historiens qui sont en désaccord avec Brassinne, un long échange entre Brassinne et Augustijnen, ainsi qu’une chronologie détaillée allant de la naissance de Léopold II, roi des Belges, (qui a établi sa colonie privée au Congo en 1885) jusqu’à aujourd’hui.

Augustijnen traite ces éléments supplémentaires avec la même aura de respect que Brassinne : l’archive a non seulement une valeur probante, mais elle est aussi un reliquaire. Elle représente toutefois quelque chose de différent pour l’artiste et son narrateur. C’est par ces documents que Brassinne revendique la transparence : si la preuve de la culpabilité belge ne s’y trouve pas, alors elle n’existe pas. Par contre, dans l’aperçu que donnent les archives de la courte période de démocratie au Congo et de son effondrement dans le sang, on peut voir un contexte dans lequel la mort de Lumumba n’en était qu’une parmi des millions. Tous les événements dans Spectres découlent de la décision d’un jeune roi, en 1885, de hisser sa petite nation au rang des grands grâce à l’établissement d’une colonie rentable, et du jugement d’un autre jeune roi, en 1960, selon lequel la Belgique, après soixante-dix années de bénéfice, ne pouvait plus soutenir sa position de colonisateur. Le gouvernement belge ne s’est pas retiré stratégiquement, mais théâtralement, tel un acteur sortant côté cour, pendant que plusieurs Belges attendaient dans les coulisses. L’exposition d’Augustijnen, aux répercussions accablantes, ne s’intéresse qu’en théorie à ces narrateurs peu fiables et à ces preuves de culpabilité. Elle n’a pas à le faire : ces preuves nous entourent.

1. Discours tenu lors de la cérémonie de l’indépendance du Congo, Palais de la nation, Léopoldville (aujourd’hui Kinshasa).
2. Brassinne a écrit plusieurs livres sur ses recherches, notamment un ouvrage publié sous un pseudonyme, soit G. Heinz et H. Donnay, Lumumba Patrice. Les cinquante derniers jours de sa vie, Bruxelles, C.R.I.S.P., 1966; voir également Jacques Brassinne et Jean Kestergat, Qui a tué Patrice Lumumba?, Paris, Duculot, 1991.
3. Sven Augustijnen, Spectres, Bruxelles, WIELS et ASA, 2011.

Événement

Discussion avec Sven Augustijnen
2013.05.10

Le vernissage sera introduit par une discussion avec Patrick Beauduin, directeur général de la radio de Radio-Canada, sur les enjeux du travail de Sven Augustijinen et l’histoire de la décolonisation du Congo.

Lire plus

Rencontre-discussion 2013.06.28

VOX vous invite à discuter avec Érika Nimis, Historienne de la photographie et des médias visuels en Afrique (Université du Québec à Montréal) et Jean-Marie Mousenga, Président de la Communauté congolaise de Montréal-Métropolitain (COCOM), de l’exposition et du film documentaire Spectres le vendredi 28 juin de 17 h 30 à 19 h 30.

Biographie

Sven Augustijnen

Sven Augustijnen (1970, Belgique) vit et travaille à Bruxelles. Il a étudié à l’Académie Royale des Beaux-Arts d’Anvers, au Hoger Instituut Sint-Lukas à Bruxelles…

Lire plus

Journal # 42 - 05.2013

Consultez le journal de l’exposition Sven Augustijnen. Spectres en ligne