Zachary Formwalt

Zachary Formwalt, Unsupported Transit, still, 2011, HD video, 14 min 25 sec. Courtesy of the artist.

Zachary Formwalt, Unsupported Transit, still, 2011, HD video, 14 min 25 sec. Courtesy of the artist.

Zachary Formwalt, Through a Fine Screen, still, 2010, HD video, 20 min 30 sec. Courtesy of the artist.

Zachary Formwalt, Through a Fine Screen, still, 2010, HD video, 20 min 30 sec. Courtesy of the artist.

Zachary Formwalt, Through a Fine Screen, still, 2010, HD video, 20 min 30 sec. Courtesy of the artist.

Zachary Formwalt, Through a Fine Screen, still, 2010, HD video, 20 min 30 sec. Courtesy of the artist.

Zachary Formwalt, Reading the Economist, 2012, artist book, 15,3 x 20 cm, 80 pages, edition of 500 copies.
Courtesy of the artist.

Zachary Formwalt, Reading the Economist, 2012, artist book, 15,3 x 20 cm, 80 pages, edition of 500 copies.
Courtesy of the artist.

Zachary Formwalt, In Place of Movement, photographic essay produced for the newspaper Printed Project, No 12 (Circulation), Irland, 2009. Courtesy of the artist.

 

Zachary Formwalt, In Place of Movement, photographic essay produced for the newspaper Printed Project, No 12 (Circulation), Irland, 2009. Courtesy of the artist.

 

Zachary Formwalt, In Place of Capital, still, 2009, HD video, 24 min 30 sec. Courtesy of the artist.

Zachary Formwalt, In Place of Capital, still, 2009, HD video, 24 min 30 sec. Courtesy of the artist.

View of the exhibition Zachary Formwalt, VOX, from November 2 to December 21, 2013.

Credit: VOX.

View of the exhibition Zachary Formwalt, VOX, from November 2 to December 21, 2013.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Zachary Formwalt, VOX, from November 2 to December 21, 2013.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Zachary Formwalt, VOX, from November 2 to December 21, 2013.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Zachary Formwalt, VOX, from November 2 to December 21, 2013.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.
2013.11.02 - 12.21

Zachary Formwalt

Opening and discussion with the artist on November 1, 2013 at 5:00 pm

This exhibition has received financial support from the Mondriaan Fund.

Capital Imagery and the Traces of the Living

JONHAN HARTLE

The Latin-derived term capital (as echoed in “capital crime” or “capital punishment”) refers to a crime for which one has to pay with one’s life, or more literally (going back to the original caput) one’s head. Also in the Marxist sense of the term and in Marx’s own metaphor, as coagulated “living labour,” or, more explicitly, “dead labour,” capital is linked to death in various ways.

Along these lines, Zachary Formwalt’s reflections on the history of photography are dealing with various forms of capital imagery as well. His materialist approach to the history of photography—embedding the successive development of the medium in the histories of finance, capital accumulation, and urban development—not only emphasizes photography’s structural analogies with the history and development of capital (the effect that the development of capitalism, economic crises, the stock market, bankers, etc. have played in it); it also points to the potential of photography as a space for that which it tends to repress: moving, acting, and productive bodies.

Formwalt thus accentuates the symbolically (or more precisely, ideologically) loaded tensions between photography (the long exposure times of Henry Fox Talbot’s early photographs of architecture, the picturesque representation of nature) and early forms of film (such as Eadweard Muybridge’s chronophotography or forms of time-lapse photography) with bodily motion and the temporality of production, or, more emphatically put: human agency.

This goes far beyond the commonsensical lament concerning the relation between photography and death (which holds a prominent position in the theory of photography). Formwalt’s interest is more precise: seen from a materialist perspective (according to which human beings produce their own circumstances), photographic imagery is interpreted as a form of dead labour, which tends to fetishize the object of its representation as if it was not embedded in social relations, as if it had not been effected by human history.

The problem was central to Marx’s analysis of capital and its dialectical method of presentation. As he states in his 1844 Paris Manuscripts (anticipating much of Guy Debord’s critique of the spectacle), money (as materialized form of capital) turns “an image into reality and reality into a mere image.” Money, in other words—just like images—reduces complex social processes to something static, thing-like.

In this precise structural sense Formwalt argues that photography and early forms of film are isomorphic and thus complicit with the logics of capital. This critique of photography, however, does not fall from the sky. It echoes a long Marxist tradition of the critique of photography. As Bertolt Brecht had famously argued, “less than ever does the mere reflection of reality reveal anything about reality. A photograph of the Krupp works or the AEG tells us next to nothing about these institutions.” And if a certain practice of images tends to fetishize social reality by reducing it to mere things, which form of aesthetic representation could then most powerfully break this spell ? How could one use images to disenchant the apparent reality of that which is as that which has become, and which could, for precisely that reason, also have become differently ?

In a dialectical fashion, Zachary Formwalt’s critical reconstruction of the history of photography introduces an understanding of photography that may claim to be of such disenchanting—de-fetishizing—power. It does so without lessening the photographic aesthetics of surface, perspectivity, and composition. Formwalt’s expanded version of photography, however, is more than aesthetic in this narrow sense. It is based on a montage of social relations, on precise pictorial analysis, on historical narration and socio-theoretical reflection, which brings the denial of the social reality behind the photographic image back into the picture. In this way photography transcends the “immense accumulation of spectacles,” the mere accumulation of images, and presents itself as both a crystallization of social relations and as the means to their reflection.

The somewhat didactic means of montage, historical reconstruction and theoretical reflection, which find their expression in the monotonous, if not melancholic, voiceover, are not the only means of re-interpreting photography as a subversive medium. If photographic imagery represses residual and resistant layers of social reality, Formwalt has his own techniques of addressing them and bringing them back into vision. By cross-fading still images and moving images (as in the impressively slow and silent last sequence in Through a Fine Screen), employing inverted time-lapse photography (as in the observation of the process of constructing the Shenzhen stock exchange in Unsupported Transit  ), and blending different photographic images of the same object (Henry Fox Talbot’s different versions of the Royal Exchange in In Place of Capital ). In all of these cases, repressed layers of visual representation silently re-appear, indirectly and ambiguously.

These hidden human agents might remain historically abstract in Fox Talbot’s different versions of the Royal Exchange. They become socially concrete in Shenzhen and Central Park: Chinese construction workers who carry the whole megalomaniac development of hypercapitalist China on their shoulders, and the revenants of evicted shantytown inhabitants and squatters in historical New York’s most glamorous developmental project, Central Park.

This ghostly presence of the living, the residual and the resistant, allows another layer of the political to enter Formwalt’s narrative: photography does not only repeat the ideological structure of capital, it also records—and maybe even anticipates—traces of the repressed, as unpredictable and unstable as they are.

Biography

Zachary Formwalt

Zachary Formwalt was born in 1979 in Albany, Georgia (US), and has been living and working in Amsterdam since 2008, when he began a two-year residence period…

Read more

Journal # 43 - 11.2013

Read the online journal for the exhibition Zachary Formwalt and Jon Knowles

Zachary Formwalt

Zachary Formwalt, Unsupported Transit, image fixe, 2011, vidéo HD, 14 min 25 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Zachary Formwalt, Unsupported Transit, image fixe, 2011, vidéo HD, 14 min 25 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Zachary Formwalt, Through a Fine Screen, image fixe, 2010, vidéo HD, 20 min 30 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Zachary Formwalt, Through a Fine Screen, image fixe, 2010, vidéo HD, 20 min 30 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Zachary Formwalt, Through a Fine Screen, image fixe, 2010, vidéo HD, 20 min 30 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Zachary Formwalt, Through a Fine Screen, image fixe, 2010, vidéo HD, 20 min 30 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Zachary Formwalt, Reading the Economist, 2012, livre d’artiste, 15,3 x 20 cm, 80 pages, édition de 50o copies.
Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Zachary Formwalt, Reading the Economist, 2012, livre d’artiste, 15,3 x 20 cm, 80 pages, édition de 50o copies.
Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Zachary Formwalt, In Place of Movement, essai photographique réalisé pour le journal Printed Project, n12 (Circulation), Irlande, 2009. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

 

Zachary Formwalt, In Place of Movement, essai photographique réalisé pour le journal Printed Project, n12 (Circulation), Irlande, 2009. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

 

Zachary Formwalt, In Place of Capital, image fixe, 2009, vidéo HD, 24 min 30 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Zachary Formwalt, In Place of Capital, image fixe, 2009, vidéo HD, 24 min 30 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Vue de l’exposition Zachary Formwalt, VOX, du 2 novembre au 21 décembre 2013.

Crédit : VOX

Vue de l’exposition Zachary Formwalt, VOX, du 2 novembre au 21 décembre 2013.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Zachary Formwalt, VOX, du 2 novembre au 21 décembre 2013.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Zachary Formwalt, VOX, du 2 novembre au 21 décembre 2013.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Zachary Formwalt, VOX, du 2 novembre au 21 décembre 2013.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.
2013.11.02 - 12.21

Zachary Formwalt

Vernissage et discussion avec l’artiste le 1er novembre 2013 à 17 h

Cette exposition a bénéficié de l’appui financier de la Mondriaan Fund.

Image du capital et traces du vivant

JOHAN HARTLE

Dérivé du latin, le mot capital (comme dans « crime capital » ou « peine capitale ») renvoie à un crime pour lequel il faut payer de sa propre vie ou, pris au pied de la lettre (en retournant au sens original de caput), de sa propre tête. Dans le sens marxiste du terme et d’après la métaphore de Marx qui le désigne comme « travail vivant coagulé » ou, plus précisément, « travail mort », le capital est également lié à la mort de différentes manières.

C’est dans cet esprit que les réflexions de Zachary Formwalt sur l’histoire de la photographie traitent de diverses formes d’images du capital. Sa conception matérialiste de l’histoire de la photographie – qui inscrit les changements successifs du médium dans les histoires de la finance, de l’accumulation du capital et de l’aménagement urbain – ne se borne pas à souligner les analogies structurelles de la photographie avec l’histoire et le développement du capital (le rôle qu’y ont joué l’évolution du capitalisme, les crises économiques, le marché boursier et les banquiers, entre autres), mais elle signale aussi le potentiel de la photographie comme espace d’accueil de cela même qu’elle cherche à réprimer : des corps qui bougent, jouent et produisent.

Formwalt accentue ainsi les tensions symboliquement (ou, plus précisément, idéologiquement) chargées entre la photographie (longues expositions pour les premières photographies d’architecture de Henry Fox Talbot, représentation pittoresque de la nature) et les premières formes de cinéma (dont la chronophotographie d’Eadweard Muybridge ou différentes déclinaisons de l’accéléré), avec son mouvement corporel et sa temporalité de production ou, en termes plus clairs, son action humaine.

Cela va au-delà de la doléance pleine de bons sens sur la relation entre la photographie et la mort (qui occupe une place de choix dans la théorie de la photographie). L’intérêt de Formwalt est plus précis : prise d’un point de vue matérialiste (selon lequel les êtres humains produisent leurs propres conditions), l’image photographique est interprétée comme une forme de travail mort, ce qui a tendance à fétichiser l’objet de sa représentation comme si celui-ci n’était pas inscrit dans des relations sociales, comme si l’histoire humaine n’avait pas eu d’incidence sur lui.

Ce problème était au cœur de l’analyse du capital faite par Marx et du mode de présentation dialectique qu’il a choisi. Comme il l’écrit dans ses Manuscrits de Paris de 1844 (qui anticipe une bonne part de la critique du spectacle de Guy Debord), l’argent (en tant que forme matérialisée du capital) convertit « la représentation en réalité et la réalité en simple représentation ». Autrement dit, tout comme l’image, l’argent réduit les processus sociaux complexes à quelque chose de statique, proche de l’objet.

Dans ce sens précisément structurel, Formwalt avance que la photographie et les premières formes cinématographiques sont isomorphes et donc complices de la logique du capital. Cette critique de la photographie ne tombe toutefois pas des nues. Elle fait écho à une longue tradition marxiste de critique de la photographie. Comme l’a affirmé Bertolt Brecht, « moins que jamais, le simple fait de rendre la réalité n’énonce rien quant à cette réalité. Une photo des usines de Krupp ou de l’A.E.G. ne révèle pas grand-chose sur ces institutions ». Et si une certaine pratique de l’image a tendance à fétichiser la réalité sociale en la réduisant à de simples choses, quelle forme de représentation esthétique pourrait donc briser le plus sûrement possible cet ensorcèlement ? Comment pourrait-on utiliser l’image pour désenchanter la réalité apparente de cela qui est comme cela qui est advenu et qui pourrait aussi, pour cette raison même, être advenu de façon différente ?

De manière dialectique, la reconstruction critique que fait Zachary Formwalt de l’histoire de la photographie introduit une conception de la photographie qui pourrait revendiquer un tel pouvoir de désenchantement – de dé-fétichisation. Elle y arrive sans pour autant diminuer l’esthétique de la surface, de la perspective et de la composition qui est propre à la photographie. La version élargie de la photographie de Formwalt va toutefois au-delà de cette esthétique dans son sens étroit. Elle s’appuie sur un montage de relations sociales, sur une analyse picturale précise, une narration historique et une réflexion socio-théorique qui ramènent dans l’image le déni de la réalité sociale qui est tapi derrière l’image photographique. De cette manière, la photographie transcende « l’immense accumulation de spectacles », la simple accumulation d’images, et se présente à la fois comme une cristallisation des relations sociales et comme un moyen de les penser.

Les modes de montage, de reconstruction historique et de réflexion théorique quelque peu didactiques, qui s’expriment par la voix hors champ monotone, voire mélancolique, ne sont pas les seules façons de réinterpréter la photographie en tant que médium subversif. Si l’image photographique réprime des strates de réalité sociale résiduelles et résistantes, Formwalt dispose de ses propres techniques pour les aborder et les remettre dans le champ de la vision. Ainsi, il utilise le fondu enchaîné entre images fixes et en mouvement (comme dans la dernière séquence remarquablement lente et muette de Through a Fine Screen); il emploie l’accéléré, mais inversé (par exemple, pour l’observation du processus de construction de la bourse de Shenzhen dans Unsupported Transit ); et il combine diverses images photographiques du même objet (différentes versions du Royal Exchange de Henry Fox Talbot dans In Place of Capital). Dans tous ces cas, les strates réprimées de la représentation visuelle réapparaissent en silence, indirectement et dans l’ambiguïté.

Ces agents humains cachés pourraient demeurer historiquement abstraits dans les différentes versions du Royal Exchange de Fox Talbot. Formwalt leur donne une forme socialement concrète à Shenzhen et dans Central Park, montrant d’une part des ouvriers de la construction chinois portant sur leurs épaules le poids du développement mégalomaniaque de la Chine hyper capitaliste, et, d’autre part, les revenants que sont devenus les habitants d’un bidonville et les squatteurs expulsés dans le cadre du projet d’aménagement urbain le plus prestigieux dans l’histoire de New York que fut Central Park.

Cette présence fantomatique du vivant, du résiduel et du résistant, permet à une autre strate du politique d’entrer dans le récit de Formwalt : la photographie ne fait pas que répéter la structure idéologique du capital, mais elle enregistre, voire même anticipe, les traces du réprimé, aussi imprévisibles et instables soient-elles.

Biographie

Zachary Formwalt

Zachary Formwalt est né en 1979 à Albany, en Géorgie (États-Unis). Il vit et travaille à Amsterdam depuis une résidence qu’il a réalisé…

Lire plus

Journal # 43 - 11.2013

Consultez le journal des expositions Zachary Formwalt et Jon Knowles en ligne